Members Login to See the Full Images

"Receptor" was my practice for this update to an old favorite from '02.
I still have a tweak or two I would like to make so consider this render a "release candidate" for now. Let me know what you think!

8.50/10 rating (130 votes)

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

8.82/10 rating (62 votes)

8.88/10 rating (17 votes)

8.50/10 rating (8 votes)

Member Comments

I love the mix of nature with 'sci-fi', Ryan. I agree with some that the boat could be more pronounced, as it is the 'second' focal point, subtlety drawing attention from the central tree to the less obvious channels of water. Regardless, "mystical" describes it for me .... I really love this wallpaper, Ryan! Thank you for this site!

Tue May 19, 2015 at 12:57 pm

Yes, a lot of people liked that concept. I thought it was a little too unfinished for my gallery though.

Mon June 30, 2014 at 3:17 pm

Linda Hall
I like!

Mon June 30, 2014 at 2:08 pm

I love them all! especially with the water effects, you are GREAT!

Sun May 4, 2014 at 12:17 pm

I was going to ask "is that a canoe?" and then saw some comments referring to the boat... I'll have to get the larger images and get a closer look. But... is this in some kind of preserve or inside some kind of barrier? What's with the wall/fence/whatever? Your pictures always have me wondering about the backstory.

Sat March 29, 2014 at 3:22 pm

For ten years, I've been a fan of your work. It just keeps getting better (so I guess the "grading standards" have to get tougher too... ;) ). Once again, you have done something special.

Many of your images tempt me to "pixel spot," and this is one of those. What's found at the pixel level is usually not the point of the piece, but I still see and learn there.

In this instance, the looking at that level revealed something small that was nagging at me. It's a very small nit to be picking, admittedly. Look at the boat in the near-ground. Up close, it's just sort of there. I don't see any of the rippling, froth, and so forth that would be there, even if the boat were silently gliding along. The lack of natural effects seems to take away a bit from the superb job done on the surrounding water.

The little boat is clearly an element that will, or is meant to, draw attention, so in my opinion, it should get a tad more blending with its surroundings.

Beyond this very minor point, I love it. It's my desktop -- until you come up with something better!

Thank you Ryan.

Wed March 12, 2014 at 5:02 pm

"Amazed rough."
Love this version!

Sun March 9, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Not my favourite render, but it's still pretty cool (a bit busy). I would really like to see a multiscreen of the amazedrough one in the Pickle Jar.

Sun March 2, 2014 at 7:18 pm

Prefer the bare stone Pickle Jar variation to the finished piece. Final piece is a bit too busy and almost appears muddy because of that.

Sat March 1, 2014 at 11:31 pm

Thank you for the multiscreens, Ryan. Awesome, as usual. I wish a few more members had voted "10" for this render so it could have stayed in the top 5; I thought it deserved it. Still, 8.93 isn't at all shabby.

It seems that the little guy's boat has sunk. Or perhaps he made it to safety (wherever "safety" might be in this place), or maybe he arrived at the tree and was drawn up into the white light. I guess we will never know. :)

Fri February 28, 2014 at 11:02 am

I read a trilogy called Obsidian and Blood, it's set in Tenochtitlan. The action set on and in the canals in the book at night were all brought back in full, glorious HD.

Wed February 26, 2014 at 6:32 am

I read a trilogy called Obsidian and Blood, it's set in Tenochtitlan. The action set on and in the canals in the book at night were all brought back in full, glorious HD.

Wed February 26, 2014 at 6:32 am

Amazing. Any chance at a triple screen variant?

Tue February 25, 2014 at 8:45 am

This is such a cool place. I want to go there! Any chance of a night version?

Sat February 22, 2014 at 11:53 pm

Laura M
What I like about this one is the visual effect of the tree looking at once tiny and huge. Either it's a very very large maze, or the tree is very very small. Cool.

Fri February 21, 2014 at 10:09 am

"Love it!"
I love the amazedrough! It reminds me of Knack!

Thu February 20, 2014 at 7:56 pm

I love the richer colors (blue!) too, and it's surreal, mystical feel. Beautiful!

Thu February 20, 2014 at 1:55 pm

My first impression was this would be great for a video game.

Thu February 20, 2014 at 1:39 pm

I love the richer colors in this one, it makes it feel more tropical! (It kind of gives the impression of looking at the previous version with polarized glasses on). Images like this one with so much detail make me a little sad I only have a laptop to view them on....

and that I can't go there in person!

Thu February 20, 2014 at 12:54 pm

Easiest 10/10 I've given for your work in a long time

Thu February 20, 2014 at 12:45 pm

All three pickle jar variations are better than the final. There is too much going on in the water, the trees have become a brighter green which doesn't suit this, and the boat is now so undefined.

Thu February 20, 2014 at 12:10 pm

"One of the Best Ever"
Any chance of getting the original "work in progress" version in the pickle jar? (It was my favorite because it was the most dark and austere so far, IMO)

Thu February 20, 2014 at 10:20 am

Amazing! Great work! I especially enjoyed the first and third render of this image.

Thu February 20, 2014 at 10:17 am

I'm astounded by the quality and quantity of work you've done so far this year, Ryan. You really hit the ground running. This render is the very best of your very best!

And I just love the PJ "drought" version you've so thoughtfully provided for us California fans. It fully captures the upcoming barren landscape around here. However (sorry, please don't mutter swear words at me), you've misspelled "drought." :)

Thu February 20, 2014 at 9:52 am

"Rough version"
I like it. Complex maze surrounding a tree... I guess you have to be the maze fanatic that I am...

Wed February 19, 2014 at 2:45 pm

Nice, bit for my taste too bright for a wallpaper. A "night" version, maybe?

Wed February 19, 2014 at 7:04 am

I love the look and feel of this one. Want to see what tweaks you have because I do think this is my favorite so far this year.

Tue February 18, 2014 at 2:03 pm

"Thank you!"
I've waited years for an update to the original "Amazed" and it's finally here! Better than i could've imagined and worth the wait.

Tue February 18, 2014 at 1:13 pm

I will love this piece tremendously almost no matter what you do with it! I do find, however, that the less that is added to a scene like this the more the viewer can project into it, and that makes it fun and interesting (Are we in space? Are we underground? What was this place? What is that beam of light?)

Tue February 18, 2014 at 10:26 am

Can't wait for the new version, because this one is already awesome. You've got some great nit-pickers. So far they are spot on with anything I would have said and then some.

Hoping there will be 2x & 3x sizes. Plus one - for changing seasons, or is this a perpetual Spring (in space) thing?


Tue February 18, 2014 at 9:06 am

I love the concept of this one and I love the execution too. High-imagination pieces are my favourite. I finally worked out what it was about it that felt strange - the light falling on the tree is the exact same colour as the mist, so it kind of looks like the light is pouring off the tree and disobeying the laws of physics. :) I think the only other thing I would change is straightening it up (the current angle makes me a bit dizzy) and shifting the tree off-centre to compensate.

Tue February 18, 2014 at 7:13 am

great peice, but I agree that the boat looks pasted on top, and doesn't blend in with the image around it.

Tue February 18, 2014 at 5:12 am

I can't give this a 10 because the boat looks out of place. I think it's because it doesn't cast a shadow like everything else.

Mon February 17, 2014 at 8:28 pm

"holding out for final version"
Wow. The detail on this one.... how long did it take to render?? I agree that a little bit more color would be nice--I'd like to see a little more of the turquoise water, but centralizing the color by putting it on the main tree is probably a better idea. I would also love to see this one as a seasonal!

Mon February 17, 2014 at 3:13 pm

Wow! This is just -- amazing. I've been eagerly awaiting this to appear and would have given it a 10 except you're coming out with a new and improved version that undoubtedly will deserve that vote. I could do without the guy/girl in the boat, but it's no biggie. You are the best, Ryan!

Mon February 17, 2014 at 1:54 pm

I absolutely love the concept. It feels like there isn't quite enough contract between the water and the walls though, the gray of the water that is in shadow blends with the walls too much.

Mon February 17, 2014 at 12:54 pm

Love it. The conceptual art is what drew me to DB over 10 years ago and it keeps me coming back.

Mon February 17, 2014 at 11:54 am

Thank you! I am adding some underwater plants to break up the blue caustics. When I made the tree larger it unbalanced the top of the frame so I am adjusting the camera angle. I'm growing some more trees in the background maze (they are too small in this render).

Lastly I am thinking about adding some color to the central tree to break up all of the green.

Hopefully the new render will be ready by tomorrow morning!

Mon February 17, 2014 at 10:52 am

This is seriously the best wallpaper you have done in a long time & I think everything you create is beautiful. If you're still working on it I can't believe what you're tweaking. I would love this to be the candidate for the season changes.

Mon February 17, 2014 at 10:37 am


Mon February 17, 2014 at 9:41 am

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓


Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)


Recent Guardians:

  • Kevin Lynch ('Crimmy') -- (11/2/15)
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)

Recent Sponsors:

  • Jonathan Stanley -- (11/1/15)
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)

Recent Patrons:

  • Richard Month -- (11/1/15)
  • Cliff Bloom -- (10/25/15)
  • Michael Swanson -- (10/16/15)
  • Eric Eidson -- (9/30/15)
  • Tim Honkalammi -- (09/22/15)

Recent Donors:

  • De Beers -- (11/19/15)
  • Alisa McKeehan -- (11/7/15)
  • Patrick Biggs -- (11/6/15)
  • Dean Andrews -- (11/5/15)
  • Technovation Design -- (11/4/15)

Digital Blasphemy 2016 Wall Calendar

On Sale!! 60% off if you use coupon code "PREP4HOLIDAY"!

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy