Free Downloads:

Single-Screen Downloads (Members Only)

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)


Random DB

Yuletide (2007) -- Christmas 2007
"Yuletide (2007) -- Christmas 2007"

8.15/10 rating
(88 votes)

Print Available!
Ryan's TipJar

Created using World Machine and Vue d'Esprit 2015 and rendered on Bucephalus. Check out the original "Autumn Cliffs" here. This is one of two similarly themed Autumn wallpapers I am working on at the moment. . .

Member Comments

wildthotz
"Easy to impress"
Perhaps I'm too easy to impress, but I'm really pleased with both versions, and to have more autumn views. Very nice!!

Tue March 1, 2016 at 9:00 pm

Richard H.
"Thanks"
@Ryan: Thanks! Have you actually uploaded the files, though? Because I can't seem to find new versions…

Fri October 30, 2015 at 12:54 pm

Ryan
"@Richard H"
Wow, you are indeed correct. Not sure what happened to the correct files but I am uploading them now.

Thu October 29, 2015 at 3:58 pm

Richard H.
"Honestly, I'm right! :-)"
@Ryan: Given what you've just said, I've checked carefully. The two 5K versions really *ARE* the same, I'm promise you! Aside from having the exact same byte count (8,985,371), they're completely indistinguishable, and I've used dedicated image comparison software (Kaleidoscope on the Mac) to confirm this. I'm 100% certain they're the same. Maybe you uploaded the wrong file by accident?



To be sure of what we're talking about, the URLs of the two identical files are: http://digitalblasphemy.com/content/picklejar/autumncliffs2k152/autumncliffs2k152-pullback5ktv.jpg and http://digitalblasphemy.com/content/jpgs/5k/autumncliffs2k1525ktv.jpg

Thu October 29, 2015 at 12:52 pm

Ryan
"@Richard H"
Similar but not identical. My camera is zoomed out a bit further in the Pickle Jar version.

Thu October 29, 2015 at 8:16 am

Richard H.
"Pullback is identical!"
@Ryan: I've just discovered the new 'pullback' version (added since I last saw this page) and downloaded the 5K version… but it seems to be absolutely identical to the 5K version of the main (non-Pickle Jar) scene. Is that a mistake?

Thu October 29, 2015 at 7:29 am

Jenanne
"Magnificent! "
I really love this and all your autumn offerings -- I liked the original red trees but I must admit this does look better with more orange and yellow. I have your Halloween renders up at the moment, but on Nov. 1 your fall collection goes into rotation again. Splendid work, as always.

Sat October 17, 2015 at 12:23 pm

Ginger
"Too much and not enough"
Not into this or the last few that have come out. Clouds and trees look way off. I'm not a fan of this, nor of the last few that have come out.

Tue October 13, 2015 at 11:12 am

PentecostalGeek
"I love the pops of yellow"
The pickle jar is a great image. However, I prefer this one. You get the entire range of Autumn colors in this one. I wouldn't mind the bolder red colors if it had some of the yellow thrown in as well.

Mon October 12, 2015 at 1:22 pm

Brett
"Love the single screen version"
my new ipad background yay!

Mon October 12, 2015 at 3:52 am

Laura
"Like the pickle jar better :)"
Much more realistic looking, but I prefer the pickle jar version. Thanks for always leaving pickle jar too!

Sun October 11, 2015 at 11:59 am

Paul
"Much better."
It looks so much better without all the excess red.

Thu October 8, 2015 at 11:01 pm

Steve
"Better"
I would suggest also that the yellow trees seem a little too randomly distributed. I would expect in real life to see clusters of yellow... Their tonal contrast makes them stand out a bit. Otherwise, I like the toned-down red.

Thu October 8, 2015 at 10:28 am

Zach
"@Ryan"
Wow, thanks for the explanation; that completely makes sense! Keep on doin' what you're doin'. I have been staring at the remarkable Shades of Autumn for days now. Definitely my favourite of the year so far!



http://digitalblasphemy.com/preview.shtml?i=autumnshades1

Thu October 8, 2015 at 10:12 am

Ryan
"@Zach"
Unfortunately the camera in Vue d'Esprit doesn't allow me to frame the multiscreen images with as much top/bottom space as the single-screen images.

I create the multiscreen images first with the camera pulled way back, and then zoomed in to minimize the barrel distortion(where everything on the sides is slanted in extremely wide-frame images).

When I reset the aspect-ratio for the single-screen image then, the top and bottom of the frame get extra space and the width stays the same.

If I used to create my multi-screens after the single-screen framing and everyone complained that the sides were distorted. Unfortunately it's a give-take situation :-(

Thu October 8, 2015 at 8:17 am

Zach
"Multis not as nice as single"
With the newer version, I also wish that the camera was back farther so that the blues of the sky and water could be more readily seen. The only other note that I have is that this newer version seems quite grainy.

Wed October 7, 2015 at 10:12 pm

Husker4Life!
"Ahhh!"
Much better with the red toned down. I love Fall!

Wed October 7, 2015 at 6:23 pm

jmk in CT
"Nice but..."
I really prefer the pickle jar version. Love the reds and having the mountain closer.

Wed October 7, 2015 at 2:53 pm

Italo
"autumncliffs"
I like to show more sky and water, but I prefer more red among the trees

Wed October 7, 2015 at 1:16 pm

Kyle
"More Blue"
I love the contrast of the blue on the new single-screen... wish the dual had more of it.

Wed October 7, 2015 at 11:11 am

Karolyn
"Love this with the lighter colors!"
I love this one! So many of your renders have dark tones that make it hard for me to see my desktop icons clearly, but this one is lovely! Downloaded today.

Wed October 7, 2015 at 10:53 am

Lynn
"Autumn Cliffs"
Ryan, you are a genius! As unworthy as I am to criticize, I have to tell you that in the mountains, there are a lot of pine trees that stay green - as you know. Also, the trees at the highest altitudes (furthest up the mountain) are always pines and become very sparse as the altitude grows. I see that many people have discussed this issue, and this is the situation to which they are referring. I do love all of your work, and this is quite spectacular in its own right.

Tue October 6, 2015 at 9:01 am

Ryan
"@Zealot"
I will keep supporting it. My system needs to change though. I upload over 70 different files each to their own directories now and sometimes a few go missing.

Sun October 4, 2015 at 10:10 am

Zealot
"Great Work als always"
A great work als always Ryan. But not at 1680x1050... will you not support that reolution in future, or did you just forgot that?

Sun October 4, 2015 at 10:01 am

Paul
"Automn cliffs"
The colors, clouds, and the cliff itself look great. It took me a bit to figure out what it was, but the trees on the front slope of the cliff just look off to me

Thu October 1, 2015 at 10:00 pm

Vivian
"Autumn Cliffs"
~~ Beautiful Colors! ~~

Wed September 30, 2015 at 9:14 pm

mabrown
"Breathtaking"
Absolutely gorgeous.

Wed September 30, 2015 at 6:14 pm

weathertop
"Autumn Cliffs (2015)"
as others have said, much magenta as you head up the cliffs.



Only slightly off-putting that the pine shaped trees are colored similar to deciduous trees (not green). I would be curious in a pickle jar version (read: not too much effort) to test the theory of more evergreens spaced throughout, even pockets of them.

Wed September 30, 2015 at 3:12 pm

J Wilson
" Autumn Cliffs "
On the right side in the clouds is a face.

Wed September 30, 2015 at 1:27 pm

Russ
"Great Stuff"
A beauty as always! Looking forward to the 1680x1050 so I can apply it to my background. Keep the hits rollin'!!

Wed September 30, 2015 at 12:21 pm

cmmnoble
"Wow!"
I like how all the different colors balance throughout the scene. What a great addition to the DB Autumn collection.

Wed September 30, 2015 at 11:31 am

Mike_NJ
"Gorgeous"
I love this for itself



But I've also been watching some of Bob Ross' old shows (they're on Youtube now) and this is very reminiscent of some of his work. Super awesome!

Wed September 30, 2015 at 11:29 am

jmk in ct
"Me like"
Love those mountains. Very realistic. Love the colors on the trees.

Wed September 30, 2015 at 9:18 am

Tom
"Wow"
Terrific Autumn scene!

Wed September 30, 2015 at 6:51 am

Mike
"Wonderful"
I love the original, but this rises above all that. This technique you seem to be using now rises to the level of "digital painting." Amazing work, man.

Wed September 30, 2015 at 1:51 am

Littlemom
"Really Beautiful!!!"
This is so beautiful!!! Thanks for such a great render.

Tue September 29, 2015 at 11:05 pm

Brandi U.
"Autumn Cliffs"
I agree there is too much red and the image needs more orange/yellow. I'd also like to see something along the shoreline, some kind of plant - it seems too abrupt against the water. Love the mountain and clouds!

Tue September 29, 2015 at 10:59 pm

Angelique
"Autumn Cliffs (2015)"
out of curiousity: when you make trees with the program that does that, do they let you make them with leaves of varying colors or do you have the make the entire foliage of each tree all the same color?

Tue September 29, 2015 at 6:37 pm

Angelique
"Autumn Cliffs (2015)"
beautiful! it has a texture that makes it seem kind of like an oil painting. was that intentional?

Tue September 29, 2015 at 6:34 pm

Zach
"Getting there"
When I commented on the WIP version, I even said it reminded me of one of my favourites of yours (Autumn Cliffs), so I'm glad to see that it is indeed a new version of it. The colours seem a little bit unnatural to me (very shifted to the magenta side of the tint scale), and it lacks a little bit of that warm glow of the original (which I'm really hoping will make its way into this version), but overall, quite nice! Thanks for your great work, Ryan, and I'm looking forward to seeing the final version. :-)

Tue September 29, 2015 at 4:48 pm

Oldrich
"Agree"
Agree with Kana. Also I would the distant places are too sharp, don't make the feeling it's real, although it might not be the goal. I mean I would expect "depth of field" applied. But it's gorgeous as usual :-)

Tue September 29, 2015 at 4:46 pm

Kana
"RED"
Looking good so far. However, it's waaaaaaay too red for my taste. Needs more oranges, yellows, & greens.



:)

Tue September 29, 2015 at 3:39 pm

Multiple Monitors?
DB Recommends DisplayFusion

Multiscreen Downloads (Members Only)

Dualscreen:

Triple-screen:

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?
autumncliffs2k151
8.58/10 rating (84 votes)

autumncliffs2k152-pullback
8.36/10 rating (11 votes)

Digital Blasphemy 2018 Wall Calendar

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play Get it on Windows 10

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2017 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy