Shades of Autumn

Free Downloads:

Single-Screen Downloads (Members Only)

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)


Random DB

Serpentine
"Serpentine"

8.82/10 rating
(173 votes)

Ryan's TipJar

This one started out as an attempt to create a "hero tree" (basically a very complex foreground object as opposed to a simple background object) using my Plant Factory software. The background mountains were created using World Machine and my work on them lead to the creation of my Autumn Cliffs render.

Member Comments

RWParker
"The Light and the Storm"
I LOVE this. This is that perfect, split-second moment of sunlight while a storm is rolling in -- I've seen it on our farm over and over. Everything behind it is black and all the light just saturates this small space in front just before the clouds slam shut and the lightning and thunder start. The dappling on the grass is great foreshadowing. This one leaves me breathless. Well done!

Thu September 22, 2016 at 11:28 pm

Cameo
"Lighting"
I like the scenery itself, especially the tree, but I think softer lighting would suit it better; the green of the grass and the red and yellow of the leaves look unnaturally saturated in the bright white light, and I'm not entirely sure where the light is coming from in the first place since the sky is so dark and there's no lamps or anything in the scene.

Thu July 28, 2016 at 1:29 am

Ron Herbst
"Awesome"
Absolutely drop dead gorgeous my Last Name means "Autumn" in German so this is my theme for a long time.

Thu May 19, 2016 at 3:20 pm

docster
"Center migration"
Love this one, Ryan, but I appreciate when you place a focused component farther away from the horizontal center, to minimize the impact of bezels of dual monitors. Come to think of it, though, I believe I can correct for the...uh...bezel state through a DisplayFusion option. Gotta check it out....

Wed March 16, 2016 at 9:26 pm

Terry T.
"Always loved this particular picture."
And this version is no exception! It's awesome!

Fri February 5, 2016 at 8:37 pm

der_erl
"hmmm..."
It reminded me immedeatly of "Red and Gold" from 2008, which I like much better. This one just looks somehow unnatural to me. - I don't really know what it is, but I noticed this in a lot of your newer works. It is also true for "Above the Canopy" and your recent "... Cliffs" series. - But not for "Valley of the Stars/Sun", they are fantastic.

Mon December 7, 2015 at 5:19 pm

sirmikon
"fantastic"
This is one of the first images I download every single time I get a new digital screen of any size. Whether it's on my phone or my new 21:9 ultra widescreen. I'm grabbing some wallpapers for my new screen but just had to comment.



The whole series of images with the hero tree is great.There is a wonderful sense of movement in this one and the colors are great too.

Wed December 2, 2015 at 1:11 am

clockwinder
"very nice..but"
I really like the contrast of bright green and the autumn colors. but on dual screen the poor tree is cut in half. I love the dual screens when you place the feature object, area or item offset so it will be on one screen.

Sun November 1, 2015 at 7:59 pm

Joshua
"Beautiful"
I love it when you solo out a singular item like this tree. You have a knack for beautifying anything!

Sun October 18, 2015 at 8:55 am

She T.
"I forgot..."
...how much your work pops. It's like looking at Blu Ray instead of standard DVD format. Been following you since the 90's =) Better late than never?

Tue October 13, 2015 at 4:30 pm

Misten
"Perfect for October"
Just the right mix of color, depth, changing landscapes, everything that symbolizes October - One of my all time favorites! Thank you!

Sat October 10, 2015 at 8:09 am

Lester D
"Nice "
This one is really good. But it would be nice if the sky was lighter... more dawn/dusky and less cloudy. A pickle jar render maybe?

Tue October 6, 2015 at 7:43 pm

scwtte
"love the lighting"
I don't think I've ever commented before but this one's pretty awesome. The haze and the shadows in the background complete it. Fine work!

Mon October 5, 2015 at 9:47 pm

Mark
"Beautiful!"
I really like this one, particularly the bright saturated colors. It's autumn-y, but not dreary. It looks absolutely spectacular on 3 monitors! I'm continually amazed at how you surpass yourself with each new piece. Bravo!

Sun October 4, 2015 at 9:25 pm

James
"Looks awesome!"
This reminds me of Red and Gold which has been hanging in my living room for 4 to 5 years now. Maybe I can put this one on another wall if it ever becomes available as a poster.

Sun October 4, 2015 at 3:03 am

Bella
"Gorgeous"
A true testament to Autumn

Sat October 3, 2015 at 8:59 am

Jenanne
"Excellent"
Wow, three new images for my favorite season! All are great, but this one really rocks. Love the colors -- it looks fabulous on my screen. Thanks, Ryan!

Sat October 3, 2015 at 7:57 am

Mario Carini
"Shades of Autumn"
A fantasy with a riot of vibrant colors. Perhaps Bilbo Baggins likes the Shire so much! Well done!

Sat October 3, 2015 at 0:11 am

MezzoToscano
"Not just a walk down Memory Lane..."
...while inspired from "Red and Gold", it is also new and original.



Colours appear a bit over-saturated (?) but still I like it a lot!

Fri October 2, 2015 at 3:11 pm

Russ
""Beauty Clark!""
Love the outdoor scenes and I love fall...Homerun!

Fri October 2, 2015 at 3:06 pm

Elaine
"10"
Wow, another winner! I love this! It makes me feel like I'm in the moments before a storm. Straight onto my dual monitors!

Fri October 2, 2015 at 2:41 pm

jjlem01
"Nice render but Need Portrait resolution 1200x1920"
This is a nice render but I have two vertical Portrait monitors on each side of my horizontal Landscape monitor. It would be nice to have all renders with a Portrait resolution 1200x1920.

My setup looks something like this:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1543300

Here are some portrait desktop backgrounds:

https://www.flickr.com/search/?tags=1200x1920

Fri October 2, 2015 at 2:31 pm

Tyler
"Here we go"
I'll be honest I haven't liked the last few renders. However, having been a decade member I know better. Eventually one grabs my eye and more importantly my emotions. The lush green and foreboding background are compelling to look at. I tip my hat to this one.

Fri October 2, 2015 at 2:07 pm

Zach
"WOW!"
This my be my favourite of the year from you, Ryan. I love it! The colours are bold, the scene is majestic, and it's simply remarkable! Thank you again for your outstanding work!

Fri October 2, 2015 at 2:07 pm

Deanna
"Shades of Autumn (2015)"
I love this!! Beautiful Autumn color. I like the fog and dark behind the tree and grass because it really makes them pop. This immediately went to my desktop.

Fri October 2, 2015 at 2:04 pm

weathertop
"shades of Red and Gold"
first thought was: "wow, love the update to Red and Gold", a little closer inspection made me realize it's not the same tree.



but i do really like it. i think it's going to replace my red and gold currently on my background!

Fri October 2, 2015 at 1:59 pm

Littlemom
"Love it!!!"
This is a really beautiful render. It's sure to be one of my seasonal favorites!!!

Fri October 2, 2015 at 1:47 pm

Eloise
"Wow!"
I absolutely LOVE it! The color and light contrasts are exquisite! The approaching winter-ish background is wonderful.

Fri October 2, 2015 at 1:39 pm

Phil C
"Green and Gold, Red and Gold, now Shades of Autumn"
Autumn is my favorite time of year - football, Halloween, perfect temperatures, and the best DigitalBlasphemy pics. Keep up the great work!

Fri October 2, 2015 at 1:39 pm

Gary
"Love the color"
But... it's too dark behind the tree.

Fri October 2, 2015 at 1:24 pm

Chris C
"Too much fog on single screen"
While it looks nice in the multi-screen versions, the fog behind the center tree looks a little overwhelming on just the single screen version. Otherwise, pretty cool update. Hope we get seasonal variants of this one too.

Fri October 2, 2015 at 1:16 pm

Laura
"AWESOME UPDATE"
Red and Gold is one of my favorites (printed and hung in my living room) - but this is a GREAT update! Really nice, the grass is a great touch.

Fri October 2, 2015 at 12:49 pm

Ben
"Great Job"
@Robert, I disagree the area around my house is in full autumn mode and the grass is still as green as a midsummer's day.

Fri October 2, 2015 at 12:47 pm

Robert (RO)
"Great, but the grass"
It's great, and I love your nature stuff, but the colour of the grass seems a bit vivid for autumn

Fri October 2, 2015 at 12:33 pm

KrisP
"Very Cool"
I love how the entire back is a foreshadow of winter yet fall is still fighting to hang on. Well done.

Fri October 2, 2015 at 12:19 pm

KrisP
"Very Cool"
I love how the entire back is a foreshadow of winter yet fall is still fighting to hang on. Well done.

Fri October 2, 2015 at 12:19 pm

Kelton
"Love it"
Great looking! FB size?

Fri October 2, 2015 at 12:12 pm

BobC
"Light!"
This is really nice and great fun! I think the "magic light" aspect is a little over the top, though, and I would look over my left shoulder for the arrival of the Mothership....

Fri October 2, 2015 at 12:01 pm

Multiple Monitors?
DB Recommends DisplayFusion

Multiscreen Downloads (Members Only)

Dualscreen:

Triple-screen:

Digital Blasphemy 2018 Wall Calendar

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play Get it on Windows 10

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2017 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy