Dreams of Avarice

Free Downloads:

Single-Screen Downloads (Members Only)

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)


Random DB

Jolly Roger
"Jolly Roger"

7.30/10 rating
(110 Members Voted)

Learning to use my own geometry in "The Plant Factory" and how to texture gemstones in Lightwave. I hope it's not too chaotic to use as a wallpaper!

Member Comments

Ben K
"I gave 10/10"
I dunno what it is about this one, but I totally LOVE it. The crystals and just beautiful. I run this on my tri-screen setup all the time. Personal preference but I think it is awesome.

Tue April 25, 2017 at 9:44 am

tecbuddy1
"dreams of avarice"
Pretty busy...I keep looking to find something hidden

Sat March 4, 2017 at 3:40 pm

Rick M.
"Dreams of Avarice"
Howdy _ creative, and busy _ thinking there ought to be more emphasis on the gemstones _ perhaps 3D the gemstones to show depth and their connection to the plant _ otherwise keep trudging on Ryan _ looking forward to this work \Horseman LR

Mon January 23, 2017 at 11:02 am

Rick M.
"Dreams of Avarice"
Howdy _ creative, and busy _ thinking there ought to be more emphasis on the gemstones _ perhaps 3D the gemstones to show depth and their connection to the plant _ otherwise keep trudging on Ryan _ looking forward to this work \Horseman LR

Mon January 23, 2017 at 11:02 am

Rodewaryer
"Never a dull moment"
Busy doesn't begin to describe the thoughts inspired by this one but dreaming would very well take an image and bend it this way. I find bits of it seem out of focus but it could just be me. Vivid imagination couldn't hardly conjure this kind of an image, well done.

Mon January 23, 2017 at 7:30 am

Jason
"One of your best abstracts yet!"
I've been a fan of your abstracts for a long time, and this is one of my favorites. The detail and contrast are amazing, and I love the name too.



On an only-marginally-related note, I see your site now has the ability to detect resolutions of multiple monitors. Thanks for adding that!

Fri January 20, 2017 at 12:09 pm

Bo
"Avarice"
One of your best works to date! The detail is amazing!

Wed January 18, 2017 at 6:18 pm

Telaria
"Intense"
The more I look at this one, the more I like it. However, with all the serpentine forms, I keep looking (and hoping) for a Chinese dragon or two to pop its head out from under a jewel cluster.

Thu January 12, 2017 at 0:19 am

Mike
"Re Dreams of Avarice"
This may be one of the most detail-dense renderings I've ever seen. It's weird, it's fascinating, it's incredibly intricate, and it's definitely a keeper. And with a little bit of herb, it gets even MORE interesting.



Very nice piece of work!

Wed January 11, 2017 at 5:52 pm

Paddy
"Absorbing imagery"
I really liked this. In fact it's one of my favourite DB renders for some time. Now adorning my Thunderbolt display and my MacBook Pro. I love the textures, metallic sheen and holographic highlights. Great work.

Wed January 11, 2017 at 12:23 pm

Jim Blaine
"Great Detail"
I really like the (see title above!) I feel that M.C. Escher and "Where's Waldo" conspired to influence you on this one. I think it is one of your best.

Wed January 11, 2017 at 11:18 am

bjn
"Blurry"
I like this a lot, and grabbed the 2xUHD version. Sadly the vast majority of it looks really blurry. Could there be a version without the depth of field, or at least where there is something in focus in all areas of the image?

Wed January 11, 2017 at 1:53 am

Zach
"Intricate!"
As someone who doesn't use desktop icons (or toolbars or anything like that, for that matter), I find this wallpaper to be really cool! I just keep seeing new things in it. :)

Tue January 10, 2017 at 11:15 am

John
"cool pic"
I agree with the others, I love all the fine detail on the blown-up version but desktop icons just don't have enough contrast with it to show clearly.

Tue January 10, 2017 at 10:38 am

Susan
"Different"
When I first saw the small version I didn't like it, but when I put it on the big screen more detail came through and I changed my mind to a certain degree.



I would like to see a touch more colour in it - there is a bit too much silver/grey

Tue January 10, 2017 at 0:27 am

kherhrivya
"Beauty in Chaos"
This has just enough chaos to catch your (or anyone who happens to be walking by) attention before quickly noticing the beauty within it. Of course I'm curious to see what, if any become available, a pickle jar variation will look like. Either way, I have found my new wallpaper.

Mon January 9, 2017 at 9:01 pm

Glenn
"Outstanding"
This is definitely in my top 5 of [all of] your works. It has just the right amount of metal, color, beauty, and danger. So much awesome. ;)

Mon January 9, 2017 at 2:25 pm

Lisa
"Excellent"
I love this one; going to make it my default background. My only quibble is that I would have preferred the jewels to be another color -- I don't like red with silver, would rather have blue or purple. I do like the prismatic thingies.

Mon January 9, 2017 at 10:45 am

bradpurdue
"neat but..."
Super intense, cool to look at it, but I don't think I can use it as a desktop background, and yes very hard to find icons

Mon January 9, 2017 at 9:44 am

bradpurdue
"neat but..."
Super intense, cool to look at it, but I don't think I can use it as a desktop background, and yes very hard to find icons

Mon January 9, 2017 at 9:44 am

Saiph
"Dragon Vine"
We have found the first clue to the dragons' wealth of old. A plant bred to fulfill their greatest desires. A vine that produces gemstones as flowers, but also grows into a thick bramble covered in razor sharp scales of precious metals to defend their great value from the pathetic little humans. Ryan, I urge you to keep looking for other species of this truly amazing plant.

Mon January 9, 2017 at 9:34 am

aslan
"Amazing image..."
Can't find my icons now !!!

Mon January 9, 2017 at 9:33 am

Ryan
"@Chris"
I recommend you download one of the higher resolution versions and zoom in on an interesting spot. That's what I did on my phone.

Mon January 9, 2017 at 9:31 am

Chris
"busy for my phone"
interesting to look at, but when i downloaded it as wallpaper, i can't see my icons.

Mon January 9, 2017 at 9:25 am

Erik
"The BORG and Kudzu went on a date..."
This looks awesome, can't wait for the dual screen to come out. This also answered the age old question, what happens when the BORG assimilate a plant species.

Mon January 9, 2017 at 8:51 am

Amanda
"Organic/inorganic complexity"
This is usually the kind of design I dislike. It reminds me a little of Gaudi's designs for the Sagrada Familia, which I don't like much. But this has redeeming features! ;-) it has gems and metallic textures and is not creepy in the same way. I certainly don't think it is too chaotic for a desktop, it is not confusing, just complex. Perfect for the times when one wants to distract the eyes whilst using the brain for another task!

Mon January 9, 2017 at 8:12 am

Ozaawaagosh
"Where??"
This is so cool, it's like a close up of some alien planet's soil and all you see is Gem's growing, where is this planet, I just want to pick a few, not much I promise,,,,

Mon January 9, 2017 at 5:17 am

DB Recommends DisplayFusion

Multiscreen Downloads (Members Only)

Dualscreen:

Triple-screen:

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?
avarice-nodof
8.50/10 rating (2 votes)

avarice0
6.00/10 rating (1 votes)
Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play Get it on Windows 10

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2017 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy