Hard to believe that it's been ten years since I last updated my "Campfires" series. I've tried to capture a bit of the aurora around the poles with this latest version, which I rendered using Lightwave 11. I hope you all have a wonderful 2013 in whichever part of our globe you call home!


8.43/10 rating (143 votes)
44 Comments

Dualscreen:
Triscreen:
Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

campfires2k131europe
8.80/10 rating (10 votes)

campfires2k131asia
8.71/10 rating (7 votes)

Member Comments

Roboto
"3 screen for Asia"
Hope you can do a triscreen for the Asia version.

Thu April 23, 2015 at 8:14 pm

Alan C
"Missing star field / Glitch"
7680 x 1600 (triple 16:10) has a square on the right side that is missing stars. Very noticeable and distracting from an otherwise fantastic picture. Please fix!

Wed February 19, 2014 at 6:21 pm

Karen
"One of the best!"
I rotate between backgrounds on my dual-screen work pc, however this is the one that I keep returning to. I love that the edges are simple, allowing icons to be easily read, and the planet just looks amazing. Best of all I get tons of compliments and refer everyone here!

Fri September 6, 2013 at 10:32 am

Anduan
"Campfires 5760x1080"
What Joe said:

"5760x1080 version, on the right side of the picture, there's a section that seems out of place. There's a noticeable set of lines and a resolution change."

The wallpaper seems unfinished...

Mon May 20, 2013 at 9:26 pm

Yanthor
"Space background by itself?"
Ryan, I have always loved your space wallpapers and this one is no exception. I do have one request for the pickle jar. Any chance you could make version of this for the pickle jar which does not have the planet and is just the background?



I know that seems like an odd request, but I would love such a wallpaper. I understand you're busy, but I had to ask. :-)

Mon April 29, 2013 at 3:22 pm

Joe
"Issue with triple-screen version"
5760x1080 version, on the right side of the picture, there's a section that seems out of place. There's a noticeable set of lines and a resolution change.

Thu February 21, 2013 at 7:53 pm

Ryan
"@The Guru"
I am not seeing the corruption when I download the 1080p file. Perhaps reload the image?

Fri February 8, 2013 at 9:02 am

The Guru
"Corrupted File?"
1920x1080 is loading the bottom half of the picture with inverted colour and inverted left-to-right.

Thu February 7, 2013 at 1:39 pm

thursday
"campfires"
I love that you actually went through and did multiple versions for different continents.

Fri February 1, 2013 at 1:50 pm

Joe
"Campfires triple screen"
I love this one, and am currently using it on my triple monitor setup but it's another one where the 5760x1080 triscreen version has the bottom cut off. Same with Valinor. Why is this?

Fri January 25, 2013 at 8:54 pm

Dustin
"Glitch on 5760x1080 on the right side..."
There's a glitch on the right side of this size: http://digitalblasphemy.com/content/jpgs/3x/campfires2k1313x1080p.jpg



Looks like a crop of some clouds got inserted in the upper right corner :(

Tue January 22, 2013 at 9:44 pm

Lidia
"Puerto Rico!"
I love how bright my little Puerto Rico appears!

Tue January 22, 2013 at 1:45 pm

Rob L
"10"
I really like this one :) I mean, at first I thought it was continents on FIRE and was like OH NO! But then I actually read the description, and all was well :) I never have a problem re-subbing every year



p.s. the link to original campfires links to lost password?

Wed January 16, 2013 at 1:16 am

Ross H.
"10/10"
This one is simply sublime.

Tue January 15, 2013 at 8:06 am

Chris
"9.8"
Love this one, especially as a dual citizen, I love having the Europe one. I used to live in Australia, and kind of wish there was one featuring down under a little bit more, but all three you've made are absolutely brilliant!

Sat January 5, 2013 at 10:20 am

Chris
"9.8"
Love this one, especially as a dual citizen, I love having the Europe one. I used to live in Australia, and kind of wish there was one featuring down under a little bit more, but all three you've made are absolutely brilliant!

Sat January 5, 2013 at 10:20 am

Eric
"9.5 out of 10, one of my favorites"
Been using your wallpapers for over a decade and this is top 3 for space scenes, The triple screens have a square cloud on the right screen though, thought you should know. 1/2/2013



Eric

Wed January 2, 2013 at 10:33 pm

Rob C.
"9"
Love the Europe and Asia versions!

We all continue to enjoy your work, Ryan!

All the best in the New Year!

Wed January 2, 2013 at 12:08 am

BenC
"Multiscreen Europe"
Hi Ryan,

Is there any chance of getting multiscreens for the pickle jar versions?

I tried to splice it with the existing multiscreen but it didn't go.

Thanks!

PS: Will we be returning to the Highlands in 2013?!

Wed January 2, 2013 at 11:04 am

Rankin
"8/10"
Excellent work sir. Your space themed collection of art has always captivated me and your newest delivery is true to your form. Keep up the good work.

Tue January 1, 2013 at 2:52 pm

Mangoman
"Ten"
Oh Em Gee. How could you have ever ended the year with anything better than this? This one is my all-thyme favorite, yes.... it's much spicier than anything else you've come up with. Can you imagine travelling in space, and seeing a sight such as this? Who wouldn't want to stop in, and have a cheeseburger and a Coke? I am so thankful to God for putting his hand of blessing on your life, and very thankful to you for seeing it, realizing it for what it is, and utilizing it to the best of your ability. I'm thankful also for finding your site and getting that lifetime subscription. Your work is always inspiring. God Bless, as you already know he has, and have a great New Year!

Mon December 31, 2012 at 5:57 pm

Michael
"HNY"
Happy New Year Ryan...

Mon December 31, 2012 at 4:34 pm

Sylar
"Dust"
Still seems to be probs with the dust cloud on the right a straight line down its side?

Sun December 30, 2012 at 6:49 pm

Icaarus
"Campfires 2012"
Where Is the iPad HD file?

Sun December 30, 2012 at 3:18 pm

Hoverwolf1
"campfires"
Love it. A cool update to a great original.

Sun December 30, 2012 at 10:02 am

david
"10"
Love it! Awesome, awesome, awesome...now to take it and my other favs of The Gardener or overseer and drop this as the background image of those...hope thats not considered blasphemy! Keep up the great work Ryan! Happy New Year!

Sat December 29, 2012 at 8:28 pm

Roboto
"@Ryan"
More like Mystic Halo. In Google play. :)))

Sat December 29, 2012 at 9:34 am

Daron
"10"
The Borealis are an awesome touch. Nice work!

Sat December 29, 2012 at 1:54 am

Brandi U.
"10/10"
What an amazing update to one of my all-time favorite wallpapers! Love the alternates!

Sat December 29, 2012 at 0:22 am

Ryan
"@Roboto"
By Live Wallpaper do you mean like the animation I have on my movies page?

Fri December 28, 2012 at 8:56 pm

Roboto
"Live Wallpaper"
If this could be made a live wallpaper for phones, it would be AWESOME.

Fri December 28, 2012 at 8:49 pm

Ryan
"@Sean and James"
Thanks for the heads up! I have uploaded new triscreens which should fix the issue. My monitor runs a little dark though so hopefully I took care of the entire problem!

Fri December 28, 2012 at 8:48 pm

Sean
"8"
I love it!



There is an issue with the triscreen version, though, as James said. There are a couple of spots where the image was not spliced together quite seamlessly, and it's pretty obvious on the right, where there's a seam running right through a dust cloud.

Fri December 28, 2012 at 8:17 pm

Sylar
"10"
Amazing, but I must second the above comment, I love your work but the edge of the cloud on the right on 5760*1080 seems very straight not sure if this was the intent Ryan? Almost seems like a rendering glitch far be it from me to question if this straight cloud was artistic licence?

Fri December 28, 2012 at 8:01 pm

James
"8/10"
Gorgeous wallpaper. I use the 5760x1080 variation, but one thing I found to be off is the image that is on the right monitor. In the middle of the image is a line that goes vertical.



Hope you get what I mean.

Fri December 28, 2012 at 6:22 pm

bruceam
"10"
Gorgeous!!! I would love to see a widescreen animated version of this one like you did the original "Campfires".

Fri December 28, 2012 at 12:49 am

Russ
"10"
I am not one that usually enjoys planetscape. However, this one is awesome! I agree that a UK version would be nice for our friends across the pond. Maybe the night is just starting it's journey across the Atlantic and in the background the sun could be shining on a mostly hidden North America. Just a crzy thought!

Fri December 28, 2012 at 8:39 am

Randall
"10 of 10!"
Another great planetscape, Ryan! Thanks--just made it my wallpaper!

Fri December 28, 2012 at 8:10 am

Doug
"11/10"
Sweet way to start off a new lifetime subscription. I can't wait for the multi-monitor views

Fri December 28, 2012 at 7:59 am

suab
"2 questions"
Hi Ryan, great picture as always :) However I have two questions:



(1) what happened to 1600x1200 resolution?

(2) what it be to much work to also create a "europe" version of this pic?



Thanks.

Fri December 28, 2012 at 6:24 am

Hunter
"Wow!"
Look at the detail on this! It's amazing!



Excellent job as always Ryan. I'd quite like to see a Europe version too (UK), but it's not necessary :)

Fri December 28, 2012 at 4:04 am

Simon
"Uhm, wow."
Gorgeous.

Love that you have put in some "Aurora Borealis".



Not to be nitpicking, but I don't think that it is possible to have it on both sides of the planet simultaneously.



Not that I mind, it is as I said; Gorgeous.

Fri December 28, 2012 at 1:23 am

Rachael
"Love it"
Love the new version, looking forward to the multiscreen versions! Keep up the amazing work!

Thu December 27, 2012 at 11:58 pm

Ryan
"Multiscreen"
The multiscreen version should be up in the morning.

Thu December 27, 2012 at 11:19 pm

All new and renewing Members will receive
a "Thank You" card hand-signed by myself and my family.

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)

THANKS TO:

Recent Guardians:
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
  • Glenn Crouch -- (7/18/15)
  • Kevin T -- (06/10/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Martin Pilot -- (9/1/15)
  • Dean Mills -- (9/1/15)
  • Natalia Najder -- (8/30/15)
  • Guy Sturdevant -- (8/27/15)
  • AJ Decker -- (8/24/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!



"Sunspire by Night (2004)"
Only 14 Downloads!


digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy

Android apps on Google Play