8.47/10 rating (199 votes)


Member Comments

Chris S
I find it so hard to rate your pictures; there's so many and so magnificent. In this one, I thought it'd be cool if there was a kayak pulled up on the shore near the person.

Tue May 21, 2013 at 3:40 pm

"Cosmic Shoals"
Really like this one. To me it just looks 'right'. Wish I had triple screens !

Wed February 22, 2012 at 5:30 am


Tue December 13, 2011 at 8:09 am

I have an iMac running Windoze and when I right-click, I don't get 'Set as Wallpaper' as an option. I know I've done this before, but now can't remember what to do...

Tue December 13, 2011 at 4:29 am

as always, i love the work, i just though the contrast could use a little boost, it seems just a tad washed out.

Sat October 15, 2011 at 1:09 am

"Original link"

The link to the original "Cosmic Shoals" is off. You have http://digitalblasphemy.com/preview.shtml?shoals when it should be http://digitalblasphemy.com/preview.shtml?i=shoals.

Just a heads up.

On a side note, I love your stellar(space) works like this. It's always enjoyable to see what the universe looks like in your head! :) I do find the person slightly distracting, but it's not going to kill my enjoyment of the overall scene.


Wed October 12, 2011 at 4:36 pm

Thanks buddy!

worked out well :)

appreciate it very much :)

Fri October 7, 2011 at 7:46 pm

"For you Bryce"
Hey Brice,

Left click on the size of wallpaper that fits your screen. Once the image comes up on your browser, right click on the image, then left click save image as, then save it like anyother file.

Fri October 7, 2011 at 7:09 am

I have payed for membership on this sight but i have no idea how to download these beautiful wallpapers xD

Any help would be apprieciated

Fri October 7, 2011 at 3:05 am

This picture blows my mind every time

Sun September 11, 2011 at 0:37 am

Are you looking for a 800 wide by 480 tall image (landscape) or 800 tall by 480 wide (portrait )?

Sun August 28, 2011 at 11:19 am

"Moble Resolution"
ANy chance you will be making a 800x480 moble version anytime soon? Just wondering have a great new phone but no backgrounds for it.

Sun August 28, 2011 at 11:00 am

"[Edit] 5120x1600 and lossless"
Edit on previous comment, I meant 5120x1600 =)

Also I mentioned this on another image, but can we get multiscreen lossless? Particularly you are providing 2560x1600 single screen lossless, I have two of those screens thus 5120x1600 and would really like a lossless PNG for them..


Sun August 21, 2011 at 4:03 pm

"5120x1200 please"
Just out of curiosity, I've seen this go missing a lot lately, do you not have a script to upload all the known sizes to your website? Seems like doing it manually will continue to miss things.

Sun August 21, 2011 at 4:01 pm

"too grey"
sorry, but looks boring to me :p

Thu August 18, 2011 at 3:56 am

"Another Awesome Piece"
I really enjoy viewing updated renditions of your older projects. I can understand where some people are not happy with the person in the picture and on some instances, I would agree. I feel I’m now sharing my view with some “stranger” when all I want is my space to view, relax and reflect.

Wed August 17, 2011 at 5:54 am

"Personless Version?"
I really like this, but for this picture for some reason the person feels out of place. I think I would enjoy it even more if you provided a version without the person in it. Keep up the great work!

Wed August 17, 2011 at 1:46 am

"Cosmic Shoals"
I love it....so original

Tue August 16, 2011 at 10:55 pm

fyi, the new blackberry 9900 uses 640x480.

p.s. love the new pic :)

Tue August 16, 2011 at 8:56 am

Thanks for the heads up. I've added the 1600 x 900 resolution this morning.

Tue August 16, 2011 at 8:52 am

"Greate piece - missing 1600x900"
This is one of you best wallpapers - I miss the resolution 1600x900

Tue August 16, 2011 at 0:45 am

"Fantastic update to one of my favorites!"
Cosmic Shoals is one of my all-time favorite wallpapers. Love this "update"!

I like the person. The extra life in this scene is subtle, but also a change from the original.

Mon August 15, 2011 at 3:23 pm

"Overall, love the idea"
This is definitely going to be a classic render for me. I couple of thoughts that I had on it, though include:

I think the person is out of place. I know you like to provide some perspective of size, and in general I agree.

However, I just envision this specific world as devoid of all life, and so a person on the beach kind of breaks that illusion.

The other thing I am not sure about is the circular cloud bank -- just strikes me as odd. I don't have any specific reason for this though.

Mon August 15, 2011 at 11:28 am

"Dual 16:10 resolutions"
I love this image, particularly the rock formations, but I notice that the Dual 16:10 image with a height of 1600px is missing from the multiscreen renders. I have an odd setup with four monitors in portrait/landscape, with a bounding rectangle of 5060x1680px, so the 1600 high 16:10 image was always the largest, and closest image in aspect ratio. I'm happy cutting the triple 16:10 to fit, but wondered if the omission was deliberate.

If anyone else with strange monitor configurations is interested, I have a script to cut the image to size and rearrange subrectangles of it so that it appears correctly if your primary monitor isn't the leftmost (windows only).

Mon August 15, 2011 at 4:31 am

Really love this wallpaper, think it's one of the best ones you've done in a while. I am also astrophysicist, but have changed careers and am now working as a data analyst instead. This feels a bit like coming home... :) Thanks for another great image.

Mon August 15, 2011 at 3:54 am

"Cosmic Shoals"
I like this image a lot. There is one thing I would like you to put into your thinking when you make the multiple monitor versions of this and all of your future images: The monitor boundries. The dual screen Cosmic Shoals is a good example of what happens when the main subject of the image straddles the monitor boundries. Please consider moving the main subject of your compositions a bit to the right or to the left. This will allow the main focus of the view to avoid the spaces between the monitors. This is usually not a problem with the triple monitor versions, becasue the center of the image is right in the middle of the center monitor.

Once again, this is a great image. Please keep up the great work.


Sun August 14, 2011 at 1:44 pm

"Great Scene"
I love the "terrestrial" aspects of this piece. The clouds along the horizon, slight mist, rocky outcrops, and water reflection all look fantastic. The cluster looks too close and thus appears like a much smaller object, perhaps a planetary collision or something. I think if the core were not as bright overall (and showed more stars) and the dust cloud around it has less definition the cluster would appear further away and more cosmic in size. FWIW, the original Cosmic Shoals has been one of my favorite pieces.

Sat August 13, 2011 at 2:26 pm

"Nice space peace"
Another fantastic piece, Ryan! I can't wait to download the multi-screen version. :)

Sat August 13, 2011 at 11:05 am

Thanks Kody. Sounds like maybe you are using a Android phone. Please see here for some tips on downloading to your Droid.

Sat August 13, 2011 at 8:14 am

Heu ryan, keep up the great work! This one is amazing! One thing tho. I'm having problems downloading images to my phone straight from the site. Any ideas on how to fix it?

Sat August 13, 2011 at 1:43 am

"me likey likey!"
Top stuff mate! Love it. Like some others said,maybe a version with a spacecraft or ship to give the figure some more context perhaps. You could do it for the pickle jar.

Fri August 12, 2011 at 4:19 pm

Incredible picture! I prefer such landscapes without figures as I can then imagine myself into them more easily, but that is the tiniest issue with a wonderful image. Thank you, again.

Fri August 12, 2011 at 3:21 pm

"Cosmic Shoals"
A top ten if there ever was! A perfect blend of primordial violence with a peaceful almost serene after glow to it. I Love It!

Fri August 12, 2011 at 1:58 pm

"Saw a similar painting"
FYI I have beside my desk a painting I bought at a Science-fiction convention. A night scene, foreground is a rocky cove, calm water with a yacht floating, lit windows in the yacht, no human (or otherwise) figures visible. The view is apparently from a beach, because in the upper corners of the frame are some overhanging leaves, silhouetted against the sky. Horizon (with mountains) is about 1/3 of the way up the frame... from there upward is a view of the sky, which holds a beautiful galaxy, viewed at an angle but close to face-on, core and spiral arms fully visible. The artist has put initials in the corner, STK 03. Evidently a view from a planet a ways outside the main galaxy, perhaps in an orbiting dwarf galaxy.

Fri August 12, 2011 at 1:15 pm

"Something Different"
Ryan, your space oriented pieces have always been my favorite. You noted that you messed around with vegetation, yet it didnt look right. Ive noticed most of your pieces focus on the planetary scale i think it would be very interesting to see something more focused, like the surface of an alien planet with odd fauna etc. I hope you give the idea a though

Fri August 12, 2011 at 12:36 am

I like this one as is. The person in the foreground really does give this a sense of exploration. In keeping with that, and if you feel you absolutely MUST change something, then I would change the rocks in the water on the left to a ship, possibly crashed. Still, I like this one.

If you feel like re-doing another classic, may I suggest "Digital Blasphemy HQ?" I'm sure that with your new rig, you could make an incredible image.

Fri August 12, 2011 at 10:40 am

The picture is very nice Ryan, however, it feels as if it was slightly tilted to one side. I know this is (probably) just an optical illusion created by the sea and the beach at the bottom of the picture, but it still feels distracting to me...

Should you ever consider creating another version, you might want to keep this in mind and change the bottom of the picture a little bit...

Fri August 12, 2011 at 7:41 am

"Guy on bottom"
Nice job as usual. This one's going on the desktop. However I think the person might be a tad too close to the bottom of the image, at least for lower resolutions - my Windows taskbar on my 1366x768 laptop cuts him off at the knees.

Fri August 12, 2011 at 4:12 am

"Please create a version without the person standing on the beach"
I really love most DB pictures but please create a triple screen version without the person standing on the beach. For me, the person is disturbing this otherwise beautiful wallpaper.

Fri August 12, 2011 at 1:35 am

It looks, to me, more like an exploding star, than a "cluster". I'd love to see something like this, but with a... I guess a "smoother" look? More like the Milky Way.

Either way, beautiful piece. :D

Thu August 11, 2011 at 11:01 pm

Ross H.
This is absolutely amazing! Awesome work, Ryan!

Thu August 11, 2011 at 10:48 pm

I stand corrected :-)

interesting points you said, and that does make sense. very cool that you're an astrophysicist, that's a fascinating field of science.

Thu August 11, 2011 at 10:31 pm

"Those rocks"
I really love those rocks in the picture. For some reason, my eye is drawn right to them. Its an exceptional view and I really like it. Its going straight to my screen. :) (along with Circumpolar, which has been on for a while :).)

Thu August 11, 2011 at 10:28 pm

"Space view vs planet view"
I'm always wondering whether a space view or a planet view is better, and I think this one I would prefer to see only the cluster. I think it may be the odd texture on the rocks putting me off.

Thu August 11, 2011 at 9:46 pm

I rated it one too low, it's a 9. Dragons would be epic, I agree. I'm sure you'll fiddle with it but it's pretty great as is.

Thu August 11, 2011 at 9:14 pm

"Very Pretty"
This is a very pretty planetscape. I love it. I agree with Jesse it does remind me of some of your earlier work, but that is a compliment it's amazing Ryan

Thu August 11, 2011 at 8:58 pm

Oooooooh ! Just fabulous !

Thu August 11, 2011 at 8:25 pm

Oooooooh ! Just fabulous !

Thu August 11, 2011 at 8:24 pm

Daniel B
Funny thing, last night I was reading about the Sagittarius Dwarf Elliptical Galaxy in Wikipedia... it is in a polar orbit around the Milky Way, and is about 50k light years away (compared to our 100k wide galaxy). Considering that at times it would be face on due to the polar orbit, I was thinking the view would from there would amazing.

Then less than 24 hours later you post this. Well done sir.

As for the person, I think it is a little out of place by itself... perhaps an identifiable alien, or a human + spacecraft. This image screams exploration to me.

Thu August 11, 2011 at 5:41 pm

"I love it"
I really enjoy your landscapes like these. I am glad to be a lifetime member and am waiting for the dual screen render. :)

Thu August 11, 2011 at 4:53 pm

"You know what would make this image better?"

Thu August 11, 2011 at 3:56 pm

I like the nifty scoured rocks that look like they've taken a few meteor hits.

Thu August 11, 2011 at 3:51 pm

Ah, much better, thank you.

And you're welcome. =)

Thu August 11, 2011 at 3:26 pm

Yes, the stars being cut off was an error on my part. That's what I get for doing my final edits in a bright sunlit room! I've re-uploaded a fixed version (all resolutions) that should correct the issue. Thanks for the heads up (and for your scientific analysis!).

Thu August 11, 2011 at 3:17 pm


Actually, stars in a globular cluster are mostly the same temperature and age so they look similar. Only a smattering of stars are blue, for instance, which Ryan has faithfully depicted. Also, in highly concentrated clusters like M75, you can't really see the core at all. The dust looks fine to me as well. In short, as an astrophysicist, I approve of this wallpaper. =)

(I do agree that the stars look almost painted when you zoom in, but I kind of like that. I guess I'm too familiar with the real thing and just want something slightly different. =P)

Thu August 11, 2011 at 2:51 pm

I enjoy this render, Ryan. I feel as if the individual could be used differently, he (or she) seems to be a little out of place. Aside from that, I love the astrological possibility you explore here.

Thu August 11, 2011 at 2:37 pm

I think the stars could have a little more variety in their color, as real stars appear in different colors based of their temperature and age. The cluster looks more like something out of a painting than something real in outer space (for example, the space dust in the clouds don't look very realistic...also, you can't see much of the "core" of the cluster). The clouds near the ground, however, look amazing. And I think the person was a great idea. It really seems to demonstrate how the heart of man craves exploration :-)

Thu August 11, 2011 at 2:28 pm

"Nice revisit!"
Even though you didn't intend for it to be one. =P

I like the person in the foreground. Gives the whole scene a sense of scale. I especially like the rock formations--sharp and forbidden looking. The clouds are a nice touch as well.

One little quibble: In the upper left corner, there's an invisible line where the stars just stop. Is that intentional?

Thu August 11, 2011 at 2:22 pm

@Trifid: Well, why not? On earth, there are also places without vegetation, and still you sometimes see people there ;-) Just imagine, a few hundred meters in the back there are plants^^

Thu August 11, 2011 at 2:14 pm

"person seems out of place"
Love the new render Ryan. Along the lines of your own comment around the lack of vegetation, the person seems out of place.

Thu August 11, 2011 at 2:12 pm

Wow, I love the interesting forms of rocks and clouds! It's great without vegetation, I think. Not everywhere must grow something :-)

I find, the cluster looks as it were very near, but that can't be as it has an enormous size. Maybe it's just my imagination^^

Thu August 11, 2011 at 2:11 pm

All new and renewing Members will receive
a signed "Thank You" postcard.

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓


Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)


Recent Guardians:
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons:
  • Eric Eidson -- (9/30/15)
  • Tim Honkalammi -- (09/22/15)
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Jeanne Dowd -- (9/30/15)
  • Ryan Oldaker -- (9/30/15)
  • Claire Fairbank -- (9/29/15)
  • Arwyn Roberts -- (9/28/15)
  • Matthew Pounsett -- (9/23/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!

"White Magic (2001)"
Only 196 Downloads!

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy