7.25/10 rating (397 votes)
45 Comments

Dualscreen:
Triscreen:

Member Comments

Vivian
"Woah!!!"
This reminds me of Cocoon?! Or some sort of embryo type. Or The Abyss. Hehe... It's fabulous! I love the intricacy of the work. The tiny details for all the little lines. Almost like being on drugs. I can stare at this for hours! Thank you again for coming through with great work!

August 9, 2008

Joss
"Diamond in the Rough"
Hey, I'm usually not a fan of these so much, and the other two in this set don't do much for me (that said they are your work, and in their own way, they are great!)

But..that aside, this one...is just amazing. I'm using the Tri screen version, and I think it looks better than some of the 3D landscape images!



Nice job, and keep up the good work.



P.S. Make sure you do take some time to do these every now and then, they are certainly worth it!

August 4, 2008

ojonasar
"Great Work"
Kinda reminds me of some the Star Trek movies when you see the Enterprise flying through a nebula or mysterious region of space.



Keep up the great work.

August 1, 2008

C Burke
"Fantastic"
Wow, it's great to see you go back to these. They're some of my favorite stuff from you. Hope you'll come back to them soon!

August 1, 2008

Marley
"alternate colors...."
I just wonder what others might look like in this one. love it

July 31, 2008

Griffin
"WOW"
I love it keep it up your abstracts are always my favorites

July 31, 2008

pokey
"Good Times"
I just got email at my work place so I can send the desktops to work, I now enjoy your work while I am spending my day at work! VERY EXCITING!!!



Thank you and keep up the great work!

July 31, 2008

bart
"nice"
absolutely wonderful. this and Genesis are instant favourites.



(here is my usual request for Tendrils*3)

July 31, 2008

Mirage
"3 wonderful pieces"
I've loved fractal art ever since my sister (the family math wiz) turned me onto them.



All three pieces are equisite, in my opinion, but I think this one, "Ephemera", the best. I think it's a combination of the colors and the 'texture' of the piece.



By all means, especially if you're able to whip them out fairly quickly (compared to normal scenic renders), keep making these :) (though I always look forward to your planet/space scapes as well).



-Mirage

July 31, 2008

Dave
"Excellent !!!"
I have seen some really nice fractal images using Apophysis, but this is my favorite use of it - randomness :) Keep up the good work, and do a few more of these from time to time !

July 31, 2008

Rob
"Nice Colors"
I love the color scheme!



People tend to like everything oversatured these days, like a pop video look.



More isn't always better!

July 31, 2008

Pat
"Abstracts and Ratings"
You've talked about your works' ratings periodically during your updates, especially regarding the abstracts. I've got to say the 1 - 10 rating system has always seemed weird to me. When I look at a picture, it's more of a yes/no situation. Either I like it enough to stare at it for more than 30 seconds, or it doesn't interest me and I move on.



Also, it's tough to rate any piece a 10 for a lot of people. "What if I like something better? Do I have to rate it an 11!?"



Obviously you've found the system you're using to be more effective. I just could never see myself rating anything in between a 1 and a 9.



I guess I don't think it makes much sense to mix numbers with art.... Oh and by the way, I've stared at this one for more than 30 seconds.

July 31, 2008

Agni451
"Great work"
Very soothing colors.



Have you tried Apophysis 3D? Check out http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=127736 and look to the "Apophysis 3D" download section for Apophysis206_3DHack.exe. It's truly amazing what you can do with it!

July 31, 2008

Mark
"Abstracts"
You gotta do these abstracts more often!! Wow!

July 31, 2008

Mark
"Abstracts"
You gotta do these abstracts more often!! Wow!

July 31, 2008

Dan
"Space!"
I would love more space images! I like when you do those. I can't wait to see what you are stirring up! I'd love to see some starts, planets, the moon, maybe even a space station?!

July 31, 2008

Daniel
"Truly Amazing!"
Keep up the great work. I love it.



Maybe next in a silver/blue or silver/red version? Instead of gold/green.

July 30, 2008

Nate F
"Wow"
I like it this time.

July 30, 2008

Sly V.
"In response to b0bb1ns' post"
I think the haziness makes the picture. It adds to it in my opinion.

July 30, 2008

Sly V.
"Looks good"
I especially like the color theme, I'm also glad to here that your next one will be a 3d planetscape, those are my favorites.

July 30, 2008

PeterS
"Wasn't fan of Resonance, but this...."
Best in a month of two of pictures. Great job!



Remember the key to abstract is that it's abstract, there's no need to think of resembling anything. ;)





This is the first desktop in awhile where I've just gone and said, "that has to be on my desktop" Thanks!



Looking forward to 3d, planetscapes are my favorite of the genre.

July 30, 2008

John A
"Much better"
This is much better than the last one. It looks a lot like Aurulence from 2005.



I like this much more than the last one. The colour contrasts are more subtle, and the brighter points stand out nicely.



BTW please note I my criticism of the last image was constructive as I could make it :)

July 30, 2008

wnmnkh
"Ephemera"
Hmmm, this is much less muddy than the last one, with good fashion as well.



9/10.

July 30, 2008

David M
"Almost converted me to being an abstract fan"
I've tinkered with Apophysis and don't get anything like this. You have an artistic gift. Anyway, I'll keep practicing and learning and coming to DB for inspiration. While I'm not a fan of most abstracts, your abstracts almost convert me to an abstract fan, and this particular one is very captivating for some reason (though I agree with the "purple folk" - would love to see something like this with purples in it).



Anyway, I am very very much looking forward to the space journeys coming up!

July 30, 2008

Patrick
"Better"
I like this one much more then the last one. I have to agree with Benson with the Space idea ^_^ but keep up the abstracts to :)

July 30, 2008

Benson
"Space... here we come!"
Absolutely up for some space.



Both these abstracts are quite nice, but... I'm just not as fond of the swirly things. They're both nice enough to earn a brief wallpaper period, though. (Between the two, I think I like resonance just a touch better.)

July 30, 2008

Tom
"Fantastic Wallpapers"
I think this, as well as Resonance, makes a fantastic wallpaper. The photo realistic pieces are brilliant in terms of artistic qualities, but I find some of them a bit distracting as desktop wallpapers. These abstracts however are perfect!



Looking forward to mixture of both varieties in the future!



Keep up the great work...

July 30, 2008

Collossus
"Great Abstract"
I Like this one but I am really anticipating the next space scene. i think this would work well as some form of nebula effect.

July 30, 2008

Todd
"Space Abstract"
I'd like to see another image like this, but with a moon or planet in the background. It would be like sitting inside a gas cloud.

July 30, 2008

Ted
"Ephemera - In defense of variety"
Very nice. Maybe this is one that you could do in several different color schemes. I like this one but a red/purple/blue would look cool too.



Personally, I think it would be a mistake to focus on just the most popular types of images. A very narrow focus may make a segment of your fans very happy for a period of time, but I think you'd burn out and so would they. Keep changing it up. Keep exploring. I've found it very interesting to watch your work evolve over the years.

July 30, 2008

Rob
"If I had a bowling ball..."
It looks like an extreme close-up of the surface of a bowling ball. I like this piece, thought not my favorite, and I like your abstracts as well as your 3-D landscapes. Your artwork has made my desktop look awesome.

July 30, 2008

Robert
"Nebula"
I think it'd be neat if you took some of these fractal effects and used them as nebulae in your space images.



(or did you do that already and I didn't notice....)

July 30, 2008

Phillip D
"haziness"
It looks so great..I tried it as wallpaper which I normally dont post abstracts on my screen, it looks great, I suggest a small postwork, increase the contrast of the image to make it less hazy-looking...which it also shoud appear a little brighter...



What a surprise to see two new images on your site in one week...which I usually go to your site once weekly during the times my images are rendering.



Interesting to see how these abstract will look in 'animated' version as colors fade in and out...kinda like dispersion image you had ??

July 30, 2008

Stephen
"More Purples!!!"
I love these designs but I wish there were more purple versions, the palette in Starbirth was a good start. Very nice work, I'm so glad I found this site.

July 30, 2008

Mike
"Ephemera"
Fantastic. Peaceful, yet exciting. Add some deep black for spacey-type contrast and as others have noted, the gold is welcome but the haze is distracting. I look forward to watching these fractal types evolve.

July 30, 2008

Jakeline
"Hooray for more abstracts!"
I have always really liked your abstracts more than your 3-d work, and this is no exception. As someone else said, it's really nice because it lets each viewer decide what they are looking at. (As for myself, it looks like what I'd imagine a piece of marble or opal would look like through a microscope.) What I really like about this is the overall golden glow. Really nice job!

July 30, 2008

Myles7701
"Interesting...but..."
I love the "fractal" type images, but the gold doesn't work for me. Would love to see a blue and green image...



Other than that, NICE!!!

July 30, 2008

b0bb1ns
"Hazy"
I like it a lot but I think I'd prefer it if it didn't look quite so hazy - it feels a bit washed out on a laptop lcd screen. Otherwise great stuff and good to see some abstracts popping up again.

July 30, 2008

Gabe
"Ephemera Surprise - 5 out of 5 stars"
Wow! I have to say, as far as quick renders go this is a welcome surprise!



This also reminds me of what a Nebula might look like up close at some point.



5 out of 5 stars, with one star for surprise timeliness rendering. ;)



I hope we can see some more of this type of work in the future!

July 30, 2008

Nate
"Pleasant Surprise"
I was downloading a couple backgrounds to save for future use and was pleasantly surprised to see this background appear when I hit the back button.



It looks to me like you took a paint brush, dipped it in molten gold and emeralds and painted a beautiful piece. Thank you for this surprise!

July 30, 2008

Colin
"great work in a short time"
I like this one a lot. It has a more "natural" feel than any of the prior fractals, giving the impression that it could be something that was photographed in the physical world.

July 30, 2008

Link33
"Pleasant Piece"
I like this a bit better than Resonance. I do think it's a little cloudy like it's in a fluid or dull or something. I would like to see the closer elements sharper maybe but overall I like it.

July 30, 2008

PPZT
"Colors"
Nice contrast to the previous one, first complementary colours then a more harmonious colour pallet. Can't wait to see how the pendulum swings next...

July 30, 2008

Terry
"Ephemra"
Hi Ryan,



Too be honest I didn't like the nuclear image but this is good. It has a lot of depth and interesting detail which is what I want from a desktop. The other good thing baout abstracts is how they let the user imagine what they are seeing. Keep up the good work,





T.

July 30, 2008

Gary
"First Comments"
I'm honored to make the first comment.



This reminds me of some of the Star Trek movies where they come upon a nebula or something strange in space that they have never seen before... maybe adding a couple strings of red would brighten this up a little, but I might be wrong... I do like this... keep up the good work.

July 30, 2008

All new and renewing Members will receive
a "Thank You" card hand-signed by myself and my family.

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)

THANKS TO:

Recent Guardians:
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
  • Glenn Crouch -- (7/18/15)
  • Kevin T -- (06/10/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Martin Pilot -- (9/1/15)
  • Dean Mills -- (9/1/15)
  • Natalia Najder -- (8/30/15)
  • Guy Sturdevant -- (8/27/15)
  • AJ Decker -- (8/24/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!



"California Poppies (2004)"
Only 6 Downloads!


digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy

Android apps on Google Play