8.09/10 rating (120 votes)

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

7.00/10 rating (26 votes)

7.29/10 rating (35 votes)

6.92/10 rating (12 votes)

Member Comments

Any chance of a re-render of this in 2880x1800?

Tue July 10, 2012 at 6:38 pm

Any chance of a re-render of this in 2880x1800?

Tue July 10, 2012 at 6:38 pm

"@Ryan; Regarding Reply to GPH"
You mean there was a 'typ-o'... Glitches exist only in The Matrix. :D

Wed March 14, 2012 at 8:22 am

Yes, there was a glitch in the filename when I uploaded it and it didn't show up in the list. It's there now. Thanks for the heads up!

Mon March 12, 2012 at 11:33 pm

Are you going to do a 2048 by 2048 of this for the iPad too?

Mon March 12, 2012 at 10:42 pm

Out of farm! Right arm! Very cool! I wish there were a diving board rigged up on our monitors so we could just go head first into that very clear, beautiful, cool, inviting water. Thank you again on another 9+, if not a 10, and an evident yet very obvious example of your prodigious talent. You are blessed by God. Thank you for sharing it. He's blessed that you're doing so, and yes, you should profit from it. III John 2. Have a great week.

Tue February 21, 2012 at 4:02 pm

My favorite of them all! Great work, Ryan, and thanks!

Fri February 17, 2012 at 8:24 pm

"Tri-Screen Versions"
I think all three have unqiue merits which would suit well for someones personallity or the time of the day. I do hope you make tri-screen "5760x1200" versions for all of them :D

Fri February 17, 2012 at 11:09 am

I was ignoring this until now. Pleasant surprise.

Fri February 17, 2012 at 5:20 am

"Final Version"
I agree as well the final version is the best. The orange light just wasnt working for me.

Thu February 16, 2012 at 8:29 pm

"Final Version"
This last version is great! Definitely the best of the twilight versions by far!

I really enjoyed the pictures of your dad's artwork too; thank you for sharing.

Thu February 16, 2012 at 6:06 pm

Henry V.
"Love the final version"
This version flows very nicely! I love it!

Thu February 16, 2012 at 3:19 pm

"Amazing Revision"
I honestly loved the previous versions but this is perhaps perfection. The orange hue was subjective but there is no denying this one. I'd say you knocked it clean out of the park. Great work Mr. Bliss.

Thu February 16, 2012 at 3:07 pm

This is by far the best version. This color combo is so much better than the orange.

Thu February 16, 2012 at 1:03 pm

This one is for sure the best out of all the twilight versions. The dark and green go so well together and it just looks amazing.

Thu February 16, 2012 at 12:25 am

Brandi U.
"Like this final version"
Haven't liked any of the other versions. The coloring just hasn't worked, in my opinion. Really like this 4th one. Colors flow and compliment each other.

Thu February 16, 2012 at 10:49 am

Perhaps I linked them incorrectly. Try this link and let me know if it works for you.

Thu February 16, 2012 at 10:46 am

"Facebook required?"
I'd love to see your dad's work, but Facebook won't let me unless I make an account. Can you post them on the public internet someplace? Even unlocking them on Facebook would work I think.

Thu February 16, 2012 at 10:43 am

Ryan, first, I want to express my heartfelt condolences on the passing of your father. There is no greater joy for a son then to be able to share his life with his dad. I love your final version of The Floating Garden. You have integrated the blues and greens so well; it reminds me of one of the many scenes in Avatar. Just beautiful. Keep doing special things.

Thu February 16, 2012 at 10:36 am

"My favorite of the color combinations"
I really like the new blue/green combination. It feels very cool and evening-like. I wasn't really a fan of the orange versions, but this one is awesome!

Thu February 16, 2012 at 10:17 am

"Final Version"
I've added one final version of "The Floating Garden (Twilight)" this morning. I've replaced the orange sunlight with moonlight and brought back the green water. It's quite a bit darker than the Pickle Jar versions (all with orange/pink sunlight) but I think it fits better with the original.

What do you think?

Thu February 16, 2012 at 9:16 am

Matt P
"This is my favorite you have done in years (orange/blue ver.)"
Ryan, this wallpaper is beautiful. There are certain things that I feel make a good wallpaper beyond whether the picture itself is good.. a certain positioning of the viewer that either makes you feel confined on your desktop, or at ease and relaxed... this has all of the latter plus amazing color choices and the ethereal quality that defines your work.. thank you so much for what you do, I have been a fan for 10+ years, your wallpapers are as good as family photos to remind me of times past and have made a lasting impression on my life. Thank you!

Thu February 16, 2012 at 2:22 am

Chris B
"Hummmm Choices"
Personally I like the day one the best and as usual I like all 3 versions for different reasons. As Robert said, there is static in the 3rd version, not sure if it is intentional or not, but in combination of the blue lights it looks radioactive to me...so I expect ill tempered mutated super dolphins with friggen laser-beams attached to their friggen heads.

Tue February 14, 2012 at 8:24 pm

In the third version, on 2560x1440, something about the simulation makes the lower middle water area look like blue and red static. I like the colors and would prefer this one except for that... but it's bad enough I'm going back to green. The green one doesn't have enough of it for me to notice.

Tue February 14, 2012 at 10:48 am

Now I need Dual screen versions of all 3 please. :)

TY Ryan you rock.

Tue February 14, 2012 at 3:07 am

"Floating Garden"
Morning Ryan, Just a quick message to say our thoughts are with you and your family. Really like this it reminds me a little of them old point and click games like Myst and Riven for some reason.

Tue February 14, 2012 at 2:41 am

I like the new version very much... I like much more the red-blue glow than the green one

Tue February 14, 2012 at 1:36 am

The Guru
"Very nice!"
If I didn't know any better, I'd think you had tailored this one to the requests in my previous post. I still like the daytime one best, but this latest version of the twilight rendering is, in my opinion, the best one yet. I'd be interested to see this one in an autumn render.

Mon February 13, 2012 at 8:16 pm

That is not entirely unintentional.

Mon February 13, 2012 at 3:14 pm

"Floating Garden v3"
The blue glow looks like Cherenkov radiation from a nuclear fuel pool.

Mon February 13, 2012 at 3:12 pm

"Latest version FTW"
You've done it Ryan. There's no question your dad is proud of you and all of the beautiful art you've made. As always you take the extra time to tweak an image until it's perfect.

Mon February 13, 2012 at 3:08 pm

"yeah, looks great!"
when the dual screen versions come out, this thing is going to be my background ;-)

your family will be kept in my prayers. I'm so sorry for your loss.

Mon February 13, 2012 at 1:56 pm

I've added a third version of "The Floating Garden (Twilight)" this morning.

I've cut back on the sunlight a bit and turned back on some of the lights in the water. I haven't, of course, had a whole lot of time for artwork these past couple of weeks. Things should get back to "normal" now however.

Mon February 13, 2012 at 1:42 pm

I like everything about the newer twilight with the blue better, but the daylight is better than both. The whole thing isn't your best IMO, I'd be more interested to see a knew scene than improvements on this :)

Mon February 13, 2012 at 11:18 am

"As a huge fan of sunsets....I like this one!"
I like them all too but this one has the edge for me. beautiful colours. I'm wondering what's just out of screen.

The blue glow makes me think there could be some aquatic creatures rising to the surface. (The Abyss perhaps?!) Or maybe that's just me?!

Mon February 13, 2012 at 2:02 am

"Like both twilights"
I like both of the twilight versions, but I have to say that I like the greenish (first) one a little better. Both are beautiful, though.

Sun February 12, 2012 at 6:57 pm

The Guru
"Not my favourite."
The daytime version is, in my opinion, one of the best wallpapers you have ever made. The second one with the green lights I thought was quite good but a little too sci-fi with the green underwater light. I loved the level of sunlight and the number of underwater lights though. This latest one seems to hit me in the face with ORANGE with a seemingly random blue light added in almost as an afterthought. What I would like to see is something similar to the first twilight version but rather than green lights, perhaps just white ones. Let any colour in the light come from the water itself. Not from the lights.

Sun February 12, 2012 at 11:25 am

"Pickle Jar version"
I like the sunset scene on the ALT version, but if you got rid of the green and maybe put in some bioluminescence instead? The underwater lights make me want to wait for the little aliens to show up

Sun February 12, 2012 at 7:20 am

"Alt version"
I like the Alt version more. The reds seem to overwhelm me in this one.

Sat February 11, 2012 at 3:57 pm

"The Floating Garden (Twilight)"
I like both of the twilight versions for different reasons.

I like the green lights in the first one (and the fact that there are more of them). I would really like to see a version of this one that was all out night time instead of dusk.

The second image has more of a sunset feel to it. The blue light I'm not crazy about; I think the green light suits this particular image much better.

Sat February 11, 2012 at 3:48 pm

"Love this version"
Of the two twilight versions, I think this is the best, although I like both. But in this one, there's more detail and I like the color scheme. I'd recommend this as the gallery version instead, IMHO.

Sat February 11, 2012 at 3:36 pm

All new and renewing Members will receive
a signed "Thank You" postcard.

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓


Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)


Recent Guardians:
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons:
  • Eric Eidson -- (9/30/15)
  • Tim Honkalammi -- (09/22/15)
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Jeanne Dowd -- (9/30/15)
  • Ryan Oldaker -- (9/30/15)
  • Claire Fairbank -- (9/29/15)
  • Arwyn Roberts -- (9/28/15)
  • Matthew Pounsett -- (9/23/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!

"Xenotron (2007)"
Only 172 Downloads!

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy