7.15/10 rating (118 votes)
58 Comments

Dualscreen:
Triscreen:
Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

helios2
7.68/10 rating (19 votes)

helios1
7.75/10 rating (32 votes)

Member Comments

Romarch
"Mandelbrot Canyon!"
I love slot canyons and am having a *lot* of fun imagining the water flows that might have created this one. *g*

Thu October 16, 2014 at 10:31 pm

Ben K
"AMAZING"
You can almost touch it! This one's in my top 10 for sure.

Sun August 19, 2012 at 11:14 pm

Krueger
"AWESOMENESS"
Love the "textures"

Mon June 11, 2012 at 8:53 am

Tom B
"Way cool, miss the DoF"
I really love this fractal stuff, just wish the picklejar variations had more DoF like the original :)

Thu January 5, 2012 at 0:21 am

Jeremy
"Truly incredible that fractals can produce this"
This has a ton of potential for lava rock and other cave formation / rock formation situations. This is a great display of the raw capability of a new tool.

Sat December 31, 2011 at 6:43 pm

Paul
"Go wild"
Way to stretch, Ryan. Disgusting to some, beautiful to others. Perfect. Keep pushing your own creative boundaries.

Sun December 18, 2011 at 1:40 pm

Jenanne
"@ Gilvan: Everyone is intitled to their opinion..."
...but "Some things are best left at the toilet"? Really? So you didn't like it. You couldn't have put it more constructively for Ryan's sake? You are a member; he must do some renders you like.

Sat December 3, 2011 at 4:43 pm

Gilvan
"Some things are best left at the toilet..."
Some things are best left at the toilet...

Sat December 3, 2011 at 4:23 pm

Jason
"Gorgeous abstract"
And I like Ian's way of thinking! ;-)

Fri December 2, 2011 at 8:35 am

Spike
"OMG"
Wow. Just wow... moved immediately to one of my favorites alongside the redo of Borealis and the original Phraxis!

Sat November 26, 2011 at 2:04 pm

Alex
"Incredible detail"
Very impressive and detailed fractal work. Maybe you already have this for Mandelbulber, but if not, a GPU rendering plugin to make things go faster: http://xyrus-worx.org/content.php?page=tacitus



FIY- the 5120x1440 dual 16:9 is linking to the 7680x1440 triple 16:9.

Wed November 23, 2011 at 6:25 am

YooperJeff
"Awesome"
Great Job Ryan, This is probably my favorite one yet! I'm a big fan of Fractals.

Tue November 22, 2011 at 5:39 pm

sigmaman
"fun"
Looks like someone has taken up some sort of freeform knitting or crochet.lol.

Tue November 22, 2011 at 3:43 pm

sigmaman
"fun"
Looks like someone has taken up some sort of freeform knitting or crochet.lol.

Tue November 22, 2011 at 3:42 pm

Chris B
"Good choice"
Both the single and multi screens look amazing. Like how the blue & reds come together in the milti screens... just need more monitors myself lol

Tue November 22, 2011 at 3:05 pm

Fumigator
"Very interesting.. I think I love it"
I'm glad to see one more abstract before the year is out, and this one is pretty impressive. 2 thumbs up

Tue November 22, 2011 at 8:54 am

Terry
"Multiscreen"
Can't wait for the multiscreen of Octopus Garden Ryan its flawless.

Tue November 22, 2011 at 7:27 am

Dan
"Stunning!"
Fractals are fascinating and beautiful, and this one ranks as one of my favorite DB wallpapers. I would love to see other versions with a different color palate.

Sun November 20, 2011 at 9:03 pm

Granpuff
"Missing Dual Resolution"
Where's the 3840X1200 version?

Sun November 20, 2011 at 6:51 pm

Granpuff
"Missing Dual Resolution"
Where's the 3840X1200 version?

Sun November 20, 2011 at 6:50 pm

Greg
"Missing Multiscreen?"
Ryan, I see that one of the multiscreens is missing: "3840 x 1200 (dual 16:10)". Is this intended or an error in your PS action or something else?

Sun November 20, 2011 at 1:43 pm

Ryan
"@Chris:"

Sun November 20, 2011 at 11:21 am

Chris B
"Any angle is a good one"
with Fractals :)

trying to figure out where it was taken from.

Sat November 19, 2011 at 1:28 am

Lidia
"Helios 3"
I think I like this new version/perspective even better. Very nice!

Fri November 18, 2011 at 5:12 pm

Ben
"surprisingly low score"
Surprised this is scoring low right now, it's immediately one of my all time favorites. Then again, I prefer the abstracts, and love the colorful stuff, so maybe just my own bias.

Fri November 18, 2011 at 12:32 am

Nathan
"New Mobile Resolution"
Hey Ryan, I have been using your images as the background for my Motorola Droid for awhile now. I recently upgraded to the new Droid Razr (qHD screen 960x540). I was wondering if you could start coming out with new 1080x960 wallpapers for this phone? Possibly render some of your old images in this resolution as well? Thanks and keep up the great work.

Fri November 18, 2011 at 8:56 am

KireK
"mehhh"
I know lots of folks like this one, but it's a little dark for me. I honestly prefer more upbeat wallpaper. Normally I love fractals.. but some how this one doesn't do it for me.

Fri November 18, 2011 at 7:32 am

Ryan
"@CG"
Yes I hope to have the multiscreens finished soon!

Thu November 17, 2011 at 3:03 pm

CG
"Dual Screen?"
Will you be putting out a multi-screen version of this and Octopus Garden?

Thu November 17, 2011 at 12:02 am

Mars
"Bring Out the Christmas stuff!! :)"
:) were ready

Thu November 17, 2011 at 11:52 am

JDD
"Better"
I like this view better. nice

Thu November 17, 2011 at 10:41 am

jlpilkin
"Winner"
Now this one is wallpaper-worthy :) The extra red and slight DOF blur does it for me.

Thu November 17, 2011 at 9:41 am

Ryan
"v.3"
I've added one more (probably final) version this morning. I wasn't entirely comfortable with the "Sarlaac" aspect of this piece so I've moved the camera in for a tight close-up. Since this is a fractal, more details become evident the closer you get.

Thu November 17, 2011 at 8:45 am

celmendo
"Both great"
The colors in the alternate are wonderful but the main version with the light and blurring make it have so much depth I love them both.

Wed November 16, 2011 at 11:31 pm

Chris B
"Crazy Fractal!"
Love it, both of them. I love how just a shift in brightness and a swap out of a color totally changes the feeling of the pic. Feel free to keep playing. The shapes & patterns are perfect though ;)

Wed November 16, 2011 at 9:00 pm

Brian
"Crazy Cool"
It looks like this new program is going to take your abstract work to the next level.

Wed November 16, 2011 at 1:45 pm

Eric
"Shadows and Light"
Love the depth of Shadows and Light. Bravo!

Wed November 16, 2011 at 1:03 pm

Scott
"Helios"
Eh...looks a bit random...but I'm looking forward to seeing what else you can do with this program.

Wed November 16, 2011 at 9:04 am

Patrick
"Wow!"
I'm not often a fan of abstracts, but this is by far my favorite work of the year! Way to go!

Wed November 16, 2011 at 8:51 am

Terry
"Ok...."
Not a great fan of abstracts - this looks interesting - almost like a slice of coral or something. Looking forward to your Christmas work :)

Wed November 16, 2011 at 3:07 am

Jenanne
"Umm...."
But why is there a link to Pickle Jar Variations? I don't see any PJs for this one. At least, not yet. :)

Wed November 16, 2011 at 0:37 am

Jenanne
"Super!"
I love your abstracts, and I love fractals. Wow!

Wed November 16, 2011 at 0:35 am

David
"@Ryan"
Thanks Ryan, I can confirm this has been fixed on Red Harbinger and the Red/Blue String theory, ones that still need fixing:



-Elegy (Winter/Night)

-Grand Design (both zoom levels/versions)

-String Theory (yellow, blue)



Thanks,

David

Tue November 15, 2011 at 11:19 pm

Betsey
"helios"
staring at it makes me dizzy--not ditsy--I LOVE IT!!!

Tue November 15, 2011 at 7:32 pm

Lidia
"Helios"
Very Nice!!



I agree with Ian that it's somewhat reminiscent of a Sarlacc, except it's beautiful instead of scary.

Tue November 15, 2011 at 7:30 pm

Alvaro
"Love it"
Glad you're doing fractals again, and in 3D no less.

Tue November 15, 2011 at 6:38 pm

Travis M.
"Intriguing"
A stunning piece of work to be sure, but to me it is also somehow... frightening? Disturbing? Both perhaps.

Tue November 15, 2011 at 4:04 pm

Andrew S
"Agreed.."
.. Sarlaac :)

Tue November 15, 2011 at 4:01 pm

John D
"Nice change of pace"
Nice fractal for a change of pace... Love the Monty Python reference...:0)

Tue November 15, 2011 at 2:47 pm

MPR
"Robot Overlord"
This *needs* to be an iPhone skin. Just sayin.

Tue November 15, 2011 at 2:14 pm

Chandler
"What the H"
what is that. ive never seen something like that from you. cool

Tue November 15, 2011 at 1:56 pm

Ryan
"@David"
Sorry about that. I've updated most of the files. Looks like my PS action to resize the multiscreens went haywire.



Need to locate my source file for String Theory though...

Tue November 15, 2011 at 1:01 pm

David
"5120x1600 Image links wrong"
Hi Ryan-



I noticed the 5120x1600 image is really 5120x1440 on the following images, and haven't been resolved yet:



-Elegy (Winter/Night)

-Grand Design (both zoom levels/versions)

-Red Harbinger

-String Theory (yellow, red/blue, and blue versions)

Tue November 15, 2011 at 12:21 am

dmackoy
"Trippy"
Trying to focus on one area just draws my attention to another, its pretty wild.

Tue November 15, 2011 at 12:09 am

Brandi U.
"Way Cool!"
You churn out some really amazing things with just a couple of hours learning software. ;)



And as an amateur artist, I'm going to check out Mandlebulber myself!

Tue November 15, 2011 at 11:55 am

Eric
"A MAY ZING"
I say keep that machine. It performs magic. Or more correctly, Ryan, you create the magic that it produces. WOW, there just aren't enough word to glorify this piece. Way to go ... again! Cheers!

Tue November 15, 2011 at 11:29 am

Dan
"SHA-WHAT!!!"
This is so awesome!!! Unlike anything you've done in the past!! Good work my friend.

Tue November 15, 2011 at 11:11 am

Lucas
"A beautiful pandemonium..."
A beautiful pandemonium... That's how I see it! Epic Ryan! This is one goes straight to favorites! Just grand!

Tue November 15, 2011 at 11:11 am

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)

THANKS TO:

Recent Guardians:
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
  • Glenn Crouch -- (7/18/15)
  • Kevin T -- (06/10/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Martin Pilot -- (9/1/15)
  • Dean Mills -- (9/1/15)
  • Natalia Najder -- (8/30/15)
  • Guy Sturdevant -- (8/27/15)
  • AJ Decker -- (8/24/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!



"California Poppies (2004)"
Only 19 Downloads!


digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy

Android apps on Google Play