9.25/10 rating (1100 votes)
237 Comments

Dualscreen:
Triscreen:

Member Comments

Jenanne
"Sunset and/or night versions?"
Ryan, what do you think about a sunset version and/or a night version of this render? They would be terrific, IMHO, and we can see if they come close to the popularity enjoyed by this original. :)



Too, I agree with previous comments -- I'd love to see an autumn version to complete this fabulous series (Highland Spring, Highland Summer, Highland Winter, and Highland Yule). Trees dressed in autumn splendor interspersed among the pines would be fantastic!

Mon August 3, 2015 at 2:40 am

OMeyers
"10"
I've always enjoyed these scenes. Just peaceful.

Thu April 16, 2015 at 3:49 pm

Holger
"10/10"
next to Poseidon's garden this is my all-time favourite, it works beautifully and lets the monitors work like a windshield in a plane, one wishes to go walking somewhere in the picture You are a great artist, keep going !

Thu May 15, 2014 at 4:17 am

Wayne
"10"
3 years later this is still one of my all time favorites. Given the additional rendering power available, the ability to save to less lossy formats (this was 2010, there is a fair amount of compression artifact in the image), could you be convinced to revisit and do both spring and a pickle jar 'autumn' version?

Tue April 1, 2014 at 9:55 am

Eliott
"Amazing detail 10/10"
I held off downloading this wallpaper for a while because I prefer your space/planet renders more.

Only after I set this as my wallpaper across two monitors did I actually take a good look at it. The level of detail is incredible, the trees, the reflections in the water, and that bird... damn!

Let's just say I have new found respect for all your artworks now, I'm going through some of my favourites of yours and just zooming in to look at the tiny details I missed.



Keep being awesome!

Thu February 21, 2013 at 1:05 am

Charlie
"9/10"
It is a beautiful piece, Ryan.

Sun February 10, 2013 at 8:00 am

Chris
"10/10"
The viewpoint, the details, the breadth, the mountains, and the fact that you just created a counterpoint scene in "Sierra" is faaaaantastic. You are an artist.

Tue September 25, 2012 at 3:27 pm

Kerem
"This is blasphemy ..."
This is indeed blasphemy Ryan.



I printed it on a 24x36 poster, and I hung it on a wall in my living room,

I salute this picture day in and day out.



Thank you,

You deserve all our support.


Thu August 2, 2012 at 6:23 pm

Alex H
"Still mega keen for an Autumn render"
It would be sweet to see the valley covered in red.

Sat February 25, 2012 at 4:52 pm

Vicky
"So many compliments..."
This is my absolute favourite image on your site, I have had it on my desktop for months and months - I cannot seem to change it as I love it so much! During that time I have had so many different people compliment the 'photograph' on my screen.. (of course I had to tell them the truth and direct them to your website!) This image is something special - more like this! :)

Fri December 16, 2011 at 6:35 am

Ali
"great on 47" TV - not washed out at all !!"
Hey guys, I think I wrote this to Ryan personally, but I'd like to share it with you, too. I had said earlier that this image looked washed out, well that was only on my monitor. When I set it as background to my bright 47" lcd tv, it looked amazing. It makes for a great romantic dinner image.

Sat August 13, 2011 at 1:13 pm

Aaron
"Best Dual Screen Image on the website!"
This is my favorite dual screen image and truly reminds me of Alaska. I just went on a great black bear hunt out of Homer, Alaska and this image perfectly captures the wild and majestic nature of that beautiful place. Ryan, please continue creating art at this calibur. Simply breathtaking!

Thu June 16, 2011 at 6:29 pm

Travis
"Time Lapse Video @ 01:55 Looks like this scene"
http://vimeo.com/22439234



Ryan, a friend sent me this link and I was blown away at about 01:55 in the video. The time lapse sequence looks very similar to Highland Spring! Check it out.

Wed April 27, 2011 at 5:33 pm

Gregor
"Awesome! "
this picture just came up on my desktop, and i caught myself looking at it for a couple of minutes... it really makes you dream about that place. this piece of art is so much more than "just" a wallpaper! absolutely fantasting! if there weren't so many other great pictures to cycle through as wallpapers, i guess i'd be stuck on this one!

Mon March 28, 2011 at 1:57 pm

Jeff R.E.
"Simply Immaculate"
This one's practically a little glimpse of heaven!

Tue January 4, 2011 at 10:53 am

jachamp
"Everyone loves this on my desktop"
I'm an amateur photographer and oddly most of my coworkers ask if I took this shot and where can they find this locale. I have to show them this site and this image here. It's flattering because I do do good photography but I'm not good enough with the software tools to enhance the images like Ryan can.

Sun December 26, 2010 at 10:56 pm

Lecheman
"Familiarity"
I agree with Medea Jade. There is definitely something about the picture. I normally change my desktop pics after a while but cannot with this one - I feel ....hmmmm ~

Thu September 30, 2010 at 7:42 pm

Sebastian
"photorealistic"
This is (along with Enshrouded) one of the most photorealistic images ever to be created!

Fri September 3, 2010 at 5:23 pm

Medea Jade
"Fantastical"
Love this picture SO much. Reminds me of... something. Not sure what, but it just pulls at something. Like it should be familiar.

Mon August 16, 2010 at 9:18 pm

S.S
"Hmmn"
I like it alot, but i agree with the earlier post about the forest looking more realistic, not saying its bad believe me its not buuuut theres always small things you can do to reach perfection :)



keep up the good work mate!

Sat August 7, 2010 at 7:39 am

Michael
"Beautiful but could be better"
I love the foreground of this image back to about the middle but the background is too bright and blown out for my taste.

Wed August 4, 2010 at 11:26 am

Fandeboris
"Highland Spring 2010"
Breathtaking, awesome, probably one of the best you have done in quite a while. The first time I put it up I thought there was something on my monitor, but it was a bird. Nice touch!!I have given you 10's before but his one rates a 10+

Wed July 7, 2010 at 8:44 am

Kempeth
"Breathtaking!"
I've finally ordered me some posters. This was the first one I knew I just had to get.



This is simply one of the very best ones EVER.

Tue July 6, 2010 at 7:51 am

Glenn
"Must agree: Wow!"
Simply gorgeous. I can't wait for the winter version.

Tue June 29, 2010 at 9:15 pm

Maneesh
"Stunning"
This reminds of the video game 'Halo'. Awe-inspiring beauty, you have to be there to experience it. That eagle flying in the center of it really completes the image in every respect.

Mon June 14, 2010 at 3:01 pm

Ash
"beautiful"
I love this, reminds me of the Tetons & Glacier National Park. I think the tree is a pit out of place though. One's eyes want to naturally follow the carved out gorge down the steep slopes of the mountains into the water. Then one's eyes focus on the tree and the plummet down the gorge into the water stops. I think the picture would be more intense without the tree on the outcrop.

Thu June 10, 2010 at 2:02 am

Christy
"Just...wow."
This is my favorite image that you've done, by far. The second runner up is Summerwood (Night). But this one is definitely a feel-good image, as someone already said.

Tue June 1, 2010 at 2:17 pm

Dan
"Simply Breath Taking"
One word: Incredible.

Dude this picture is awe-inspiring.

I get happy just looking at it.

It makes me feel like I'm actually there.

Tue June 1, 2010 at 12:05 am

Brad
"Epic!"
I said it once and I'll say it again: Epic!!

Mon May 31, 2010 at 7:48 am

Michael
"Amazing"
If I look at it long enough I almost feel like I'm there. I love it.

Tue May 4, 2010 at 7:24 pm

DiaMair
"It's dreams that make life tolerable"
Thanks so much for this one Ryan! It is truly magnificent in both scope and beauty! Dreaming of roaming this valley makes the long hours here at work much easier. :)

Tue April 13, 2010 at 12:52 am

MarkB
"Where's that?"
Where's that? New Zealand?

Is the question I was asked twice just yesterday at work. That's how real this image is to the unenlightened in the world.

Excellent image. I wish it was real. I think most people would love to be sat under the tree watching the world go by.

Sat April 10, 2010 at 8:12 am

Terry
"A Complaint..."
I'm struggling to work today because I am so absorbed in this piece of work. I actually wish I could spend the afternoon walking from that tree down through the valley to the ocean instead of being at work!

Fri April 9, 2010 at 5:06 am

Tom
"Tweak?"
Really well done I was wondering if it is worthy of two tweaks? The clouds seem to cry out to be bit more 3 dimensional and should there be a small viking ship coming in? Couple of thoughts, nicely done

Sun April 4, 2010 at 7:33 am

Luccio
"Something Special"
The detail and scale of this work blows me away. As a long time viewer, this particular piece is the first to inspire me to post, and became an instant desktop!



That said, I do have a few minor criticisms:

- On the peninsula just to the lower right of the larger island, it looks as though there are a few trees growing out of the water

- The two small clouds just above and slightly to the right of the same peninsula seem to lack any depth (they are pure white), unlike the other clouds which are slightly shadowed.



Again, on the whole, it's a wonderful piece that is capable of transporting me to another world, just like so many of your other jaw-dropping artworks. I love your vision and imagination. Thank you for all of your work!

Fri April 2, 2010 at 4:21 pm

Lee
"All it needs"
All it needs is a little viking ship down in the water

Tue March 30, 2010 at 11:09 pm

S Drown
"Defect-Artifact"
I love this screen but there seems to be a black "U" line in the right center.

Tue March 30, 2010 at 10:41 am

Chris
"Excellent"
Words can't describe how brilliant this looks on my new setup at home (24in tv output connected to a laptop) and the wallpaper looks absolutely stunning. It almost stops me from playing on FF13 as the graphics on that are no match for this!

Sat March 27, 2010 at 6:07 pm

Chris
"Excellent"
Words can't describe how brilliant this looks on my new setup at home (24in tv output connected to a laptop) and the wallpaper looks absolutely stunning. It almost stops me from playing on FF13 as the graphics on that are no match for this!

Sat March 27, 2010 at 6:07 pm

Chris
"Excellent"
Words can't describe how brilliant this looks on my new setup at home (24in tv output connected to a laptop) and the wallpaper looks absolutely stunning. It almost stops me from playing on FF13 as the graphics on that are no match for this!

Sat March 27, 2010 at 6:07 pm

Brian F.
"A Hike I Will Love to Do"
Ryan, your work continues to amaze me. If this place existed, I would love to hike to it everyday. Incredible job!

Fri March 26, 2010 at 11:45 pm

Alex R
"Not your masterpiece..."
Just a sign of even better things to come!!

I still think the mountains and forest could be a little more realistic, but the outcropping with the tree is absolutely perfect, and the view is spectacular. Definitely one of my favorites.

Fri March 26, 2010 at 3:57 pm

Scarr
"Beyond an image"
Now I don't look at my monitor... I look through a portal to another world.



Well done.

Fri March 26, 2010 at 2:53 am

Terry
"Highland Spring"
Without a doubt your best work to date Ryan.

Thu March 25, 2010 at 9:28 am

Justin
"Just Gotta Say.."
Wow, I set this as my wallpaper at work and I have been asked countless times "wow where was that taken?".



This is soo real, what a masterpiece, keep up the great work.

Wed March 24, 2010 at 2:25 am

Chris B
"The Only Thing Missing is..."
Me lounging under the little tree enjoying the view. Great job, it's awesome having part so close and everything else incredibly far away. truly awesome.

Tue March 23, 2010 at 10:16 pm

DigitalPix
"Like It!"
I normally do not comments on pics, but have to on this one. Why? My wife is actually jealous of my background! She is not a computer generated fan, but is astounded by this view! Nice work!

Tue March 23, 2010 at 8:45 am

dejerdejer
"I'm with John A"
I usually only comment once on a pic, but this one deserves to be recognized again. I agree with John A I think this is your masterpiece. I change backgrounds from DB a lot. I like variety. This said, I keep coming back to this pic. Highland Springs is I think by far your best work. I would be surprised to see something as good as this again this year, or ever again. This should be your poster child. I will probably be ordering the poster of this. It is amazing!! As a lifetime member I have been waiting for something like this for the last 2 years. I knew you had it in you. This work of ART just blows me away. Thanks!

Sun March 21, 2010 at 9:00 am

John A
"This is your masterpiece"
Previously I've always only ever posted criticism because I don't think you get enough of it.



I just saw your two most recent works and they are really something. This one in particular is absolutely freaking mind-blowing. I mean seriously that looks like it must have taken fricking ages!!



And it almost finally in my mind illustrates the place of computer-generated art vs a photoshopped photo in providing novelty and realism with a resolution you don't get with photos. The more you look at the photo the more details you see, like the emeralds by the tree.



Really brilliant.

Sun March 21, 2010 at 0:05 am

Jeff K
"Still one of the best"
Now, how about a view up the valley from the larger of the two islands?

Fri March 19, 2010 at 9:40 pm

Jeff K
"Still one of the best"
Now, how about a view up the valley from the larger of the two islands?

Fri March 19, 2010 at 9:40 pm

Archaon604
"convinced"
this image is the straw that broke my back, and convinced me i need 2 monitors with the same resolution, rather than 2 with different resolutions. so good, keep it up

Fri March 19, 2010 at 6:34 pm

Reuben
"Subtle Differences"
I can't believe that you made this image even better. The light is crisper and looks even more realistic.

Awesome job

Thu March 18, 2010 at 9:13 pm

celmendo
"Thank you!"
That totally fixed my issue with it. You're the best.

Thu March 18, 2010 at 8:43 pm

celmendo
"Thank you!"
That totally fixed my issue with it. You're the best.

Thu March 18, 2010 at 8:43 pm

Rich A
"Cropping"
@Aras:

>> How would we edit the tri-screen? Like, crop it ourself?



That's the idea. I'm kinda partial to jpegcrop. It's free, simple enough to use, and doesn't put the bits through a decompress/recompress cycle, which can reduce the image quality. You can find it at jpegclub.org.

Thu March 18, 2010 at 9:22 am

Liam
"Absolutely Beautiful"
Ryan, this wallpaper is absolutely stunning and utterly beautiful. Great job!

Mon March 15, 2010 at 10:34 pm

Katie
"Picture perfect"
I set this as my desktop on my laptop and my mother-in-law saw it and said, "Oh that's a lovely photo, where was that taken?" She was so surprised when I told her it was digitally rendered! It looks wonderful!

Mon March 15, 2010 at 4:36 pm

Aras
"How?"
How would we edit the tri-screen? Like, crop it ourself?

Mon March 15, 2010 at 10:55 am

Ryan
"Dual Screen Split"
Aras: Lately I have been centering my dual-screens and having folks edit the triple-screen if they want a different cropping option. Hope this helps!

Mon March 15, 2010 at 9:39 am

Aras
"But..."
It's good, but... the dualscreen has the water right in the center of the 2 screens and therefore doesn't come out nearly as well.

Mon March 15, 2010 at 8:53 am

Kris G
"Wonderful!"
This one reminds me of Norway's Fjords. Absolutely wonderful. I could get lost in this one for hours. Great work, Ryan!

Sun March 14, 2010 at 5:42 pm

Miguell026
"Highland Spring (2010)"
have to agree with others..



this scenario is epic.. hope you have more in mind..



ohh yes...



keep it up! nice job!!

Sun March 14, 2010 at 4:16 pm

Andrew
"Your best work in my opinion"
This is in my opinion the best piece you've ever created. The level of detail is outstanding, but the landscape and feel is relaxing and subtle enough to make a perfect computer background for both my desktop and blackberry. Keep up the amazing work!

Sun March 14, 2010 at 3:48 pm

Andrew
"Your best work in my opinion"
This is in my opinion the best piece you've ever created. The level of detail is outstanding, but the landscape and feel is relaxing and subtle enough to make a perfect computer background for both my desktop and blackberry. Keep up the amazing work!

Sun March 14, 2010 at 3:48 pm

suab
"10/10"
Ryan,



this is one of your best pictures ever and its definitely 10/10, but there are 2 minor things that bother me:



- the color of the land (in the middle of the picture) seems too bright for me. It keeps me wondering, what is it supposed to be? (light grass, sand)?



the trees on the right seem to go too far up the mountain in my opinion i.e. it seems little unrealistic to me...



but still... 10/10



buying my membership a year agao was the BEST SPENT MONEY EVER

Sun March 14, 2010 at 7:30 am

James
"Fantasy"
Right now I am in the middle of Final Fantasy 13 and this picture reminds me of the great scenery in the game. Great Work and Great job.

Sat March 13, 2010 at 4:06 pm

Brian
"If Anything Deserves a 10, This Does!!"
To put it simply, this is my favorite image on DB by a wide margin. Well done sir.



On a side note, filling up 13 GB of RAM is damn impressive. I work with some memory intensive software (not rendering software though) and I have never even come close to that. Sorry, the nerd in me smiled when I saw that.

Fri March 12, 2010 at 3:33 pm

Ronnie B
"Like a vista from my dreams"
Ryan, you've done something that I couldn't have done myself: paint the vista from my dreams. Thank you for this, it's one of your grandest achievements!

Fri March 12, 2010 at 7:42 am

Andrew
"Amazing"
I agree with you "gunslinger." I've been raiding the free gallery since 2002 and I finally had to get a membership after seeing this new image. I think of it as a early college graduation present that keeps on giving every time I turn on my computer.

Fri March 12, 2010 at 0:29 am

Andy
"Epic!"
Exactly what I've been waiting for! Nice job Ryan!

Thu March 11, 2010 at 10:14 pm

Melissa
"WoW"
Love it!!



Great work Ryan!!

Thu March 11, 2010 at 9:43 pm

Craig
"Morning/Evening Version?"
This one is absolutely beautiful! Can you make a morning or late afternoon version?

Thu March 11, 2010 at 7:32 am

gunslinger
"time for a membership"
I am a fan of digitalblasphemy for years and I joined all of your free gallery images. With this image I had to become a member!!

Absolutely fantastic!

Thu March 11, 2010 at 3:27 am

John B.
"640 x 480"
I hope 640x480 isn't being dropped. Believe it or not, it's still useful as the native background res for many HTC Android devices.

Wed March 10, 2010 at 3:58 pm

Tyler
"@Patrick"
Spring is referring to the season and not a body of water. In Ryan's words, "As the name implies I may revisit this scene during different seasons."

Wed March 10, 2010 at 3:34 pm

Patrick
"More a fjord than a spring"
My only criticism is that it's more a fjord than a spring. It's definitely a 10 though.



A wonderful image.

Wed March 10, 2010 at 2:24 pm

Brian
"One Suggestion..."
I agree with BenC. I'm a tough grader too. I gave this a 9 only because 10 is well, a 10. I'm saving it.



Love the tri-screen render. Makes we want to spend the $ on the hardware just to properly display this pic. You should sell digitalblasphemy certified display hardware on the side! :^)

Wed March 10, 2010 at 10:31 am

BenC
"One suggestion..."
Ryan, if you are going to continue to produce work of this calibre then you're going to have to add a few more points to your rating scale either 11 and above or decimal places after 9. I originally gave this a 9 as I'm of the opinion that absolute perfection is not possible but the more i look at highland spring and notice new details the more i think its worth more than a mere 9.



Absolutely fantastic.

Wed March 10, 2010 at 10:07 am

Tammy
"Wow !"
That's whay I love your work... it has the ability of making total strangers walk past my computer monitor, stop and say 'Wow'. Thank you Ryan :)

Wed March 10, 2010 at 4:55 am

AlexH
"Win"
Drooling at the new 7680 x 1600 multiscreen version. Too bad it costs as much as a car for me to get that amount of screen real estate where I live :P Awesome pic and I've always loved your seasonal variation pictures, please bring on the winter spring and summer! :D Also, wtfwtfwtf your box = want. It'd be like programming a super computer with that many cores and that much RAM. :P

Wed March 10, 2010 at 1:23 am

woodrow
"pic"
bitchen

Tue March 9, 2010 at 6:18 pm

Phat
"Just Outta Curosity..."
But what did your machine cost to build?

Tue March 9, 2010 at 5:40 pm

lindepg
"Emperor of the Universe"
This one really rocks, Ryan! Keep it up.

Tue March 9, 2010 at 4:32 pm

Clayton
"Definitely the best one so far..."
First time I've placed a comment here, but felt this image was worth it.



Ryan, great job, gave this one a 10 !





Well done.

Tue March 9, 2010 at 3:08 pm

Hunter
"Put it this way..."
From now on, ALL of your wallpapers should require 13gb of RAM and contain over 25 billion polygons...



I look forward to the day that this wallpaper is bested.

Tue March 9, 2010 at 1:23 pm

Wraith
"Zee oh em gee"
3 words: I love it.



^_^

Tue March 9, 2010 at 12:07 am

Pastor B
"Wow!"
This is incredible. It makes me want to be there right now. What a sense of scale and depth. Truly amazing. Well done.



-Pastor B

Tue March 9, 2010 at 11:21 am

Smithd132
"Ryan youve topped yourself again mate!!..."
This pic is amazing... i've got it on my pc background on a 24" benq and my ps3 background on a 46" full hd 1920x1080 samsung... you can imagine how it looks, its just pure amazing on the tv.



I was thinking today, a shot like this of something like the grand canyon would look stunning aswell, or a big snowy mountain slope, or something along those lines :)..



I also love how this pic became your number 1 pic of all time within hours of you posting it up... amazing stuff..



Cheers, Keep up the always amazing work..



From

Daniel

In

Sydney

Australia

Tue March 9, 2010 at 6:55 am

Matthew
"WOW!"
This is why I love your work! By far one of your best!!

Tue March 9, 2010 at 0:10 am

Michael
"Got to be One of your best."
Ok Ryan, I dont leave many comments but after seeing this I had to. I've been watching you for the better part of a decade. and reciently became a lifetime member. I have to say this is one of your best renders ever. Thanks for the dual screen..



Michael..

Mon March 8, 2010 at 11:25 pm

Deanna
"I want to live here!!"
I take a teensy mini-vacation every time I look at this picture. :-) It hasn't left my desktop since you put it up. Thank you for this beautiful wallpaper!

Mon March 8, 2010 at 10:57 pm

Reuben
"Poster"
I would love to see a poster of this awesome wallpaper, I haven't got one before, but if there was one for this, it would make me change my mind, because it is so good. Reminds me a lot of New Zealand.

Mon March 8, 2010 at 7:44 pm

Fizzrate
"NEW FAVORITE!!!!"
Just Beautiful!!!!!! mind blowing! almost makes me feel like im flying

Mon March 8, 2010 at 6:55 pm

Sovereign
"Nice!"
I'm a complete nerd--my computer's desktop changes with the season. I was annoyed with my boring usual "Spring" wallpaper. DB to the rescue!

Mon March 8, 2010 at 6:29 pm

Max
"32 gigs of ram..."
Just 16 is insane but double that is mind blowing. Technology is advancing so rapidly!

Mon March 8, 2010 at 5:26 pm

Reuben
"New Favourite"
That says it all, easily a 10 in my book

Mon March 8, 2010 at 4:52 pm

LauraS
"@Eric B- Kings Canyon!"
Having spent my summers growing up at Hume Lake, which hangs on the edge of Kings Canyon, I kind of thought the same thing. It doesn't remind me so much of the canyon itself, but of some of the areas in the Kings Canyon (and Sequoia) National Forest.



Ryan, if you ever need inspirations for another canyon scene, I'd highly recommend the Waimea Canyon on the Hawaiian island of Kauai. There's lots of beautiful reds and greens in that canyon and every time I drove by it when I was vacationing on Kauai, there would be a rainbow hanging out somewhere in the canyon. Some of my favorite pictures from trip came from that location.



Now if you excuse me I'm going to put the dual screen render on my monitors and enjoy the view for the rest of the day. This scene really made my day. :)

Mon March 8, 2010 at 4:30 pm

Empressgot
"Highland Spring"
You knew I needed This!

Mon March 8, 2010 at 4:23 pm

JK
"LOL!"
That was quick! Saw it before I saw your reply. I chuckled. :)

Mon March 8, 2010 at 3:07 pm

Ryan
"@JK"
That was a typo on my part. Sorry for the confusion!

Mon March 8, 2010 at 3:04 pm

GreatWhite
"Into the Light"
Great to see a nice bright background! I've been a follower of the site for years and a member for only several months and after seeing this new background I had to take ryan up on his discount and go for the lifetime membership. I check the site religiously and find myself anxiously waiting for new creations to light up my HDTV set up where I can full appreciate them on a 46" screen. The work is such an everyday part of my life that i'm sure it has an effect on my mood so seeing this new bright and breathtaking background im sure will have me in high spirits for the time being. As always, can't wait to see whats up next.

Mon March 8, 2010 at 3:00 pm

JK
"Confused?"
The thumbnail for this on the main page says "updated 01/25/10". How did I miss this? It looks from my POV it landed here in the last week or so (this post is 3/8/2010).

Mon March 8, 2010 at 2:59 pm

Jon H
"Marvelous"
This view reminds me of Yosemite National Park

Mon March 8, 2010 at 2:48 pm

Andrew Kil
"Beautiful"
Subtle, believable, epic, gorgeous. I usually go for darker backgrounds, but this one is so good...

Mon March 8, 2010 at 2:29 pm

Matt Beyer
"Perfect for my setup"
This one is beautiful and I think I have a new favorite! I really like the perspective and having the focus in the center makes my dual-monitors feel like a window and not just screens. Great job as always!

Mon March 8, 2010 at 2:15 pm

RIch
"Windows"
Sheer*



not "sheet"

Mon March 8, 2010 at 1:47 pm

Rich
"Window"
The sheet volume of another world you have created here makes my 50 inch plasma look like a god damn window in the room.

Mon March 8, 2010 at 1:46 pm

DPrescott
"Highland Spring"
One of your best!!!!

Mon March 8, 2010 at 1:24 pm

dmackoy
"I Finally signed up"
Gotta say, after several years of visiting this site I finally broke down and purchased a membership. I was in college for most of the time so money was tight but now here I am. What an amazing image. Im so happy I joined the site.

Mon March 8, 2010 at 12:47 am

Brian
"This is what I'm talking about!"
Grand and sweeping. As you mentioned unlimited of future possibilities. Fall, winter, glaciers, tidal wave, water fall, etc.



Saw the bird. Love the bird. How about a boat? Fortress island? Temple island? Ancient ruins? How about that LOST island statue? ;^)

Mon March 8, 2010 at 12:17 am

Heather
"love it"
I love this one! BTW, I also love the scenes with lightning in them... don't know what you are talking about, LauraS. :)

Mon March 8, 2010 at 11:33 am

dujeon
"DUUUUDE"
This is the best picture you have done, its unbelievable, took my breath away, fantastic good job man

Mon March 8, 2010 at 11:02 am

Eric B
"Great!"
Beautiful image, reminds me of Kings Canyon National Park. This is one of the best images this year. Two small comments: the foreground grass is slightly out of focus and the small clouds hanging in the background have no definition, just white thresholded. Other than those small things, a truly impressive piece of work!

Mon March 8, 2010 at 10:52 am

LauraS
"This is what I love!"
First of all, yay for no lightning, lol (though I can certainly forgive you Ryan for sticking lightning into a scene every once in a while).



Scenes like this are what convinced me to buy a membership. The whole scene is beautiful and the grassy hill is especially exquisite. Just WOW. I am now eagerly yet patiently awaiting the dual screen so I can stare at this at work.

Mon March 8, 2010 at 10:44 am

RG
"beautiful"
this one is beautiful. can't wait for the dual version!

Mon March 8, 2010 at 10:44 am

Brian
"Wow"
This one is simply amazing. Cannot wait for the dual screen version. Great job!

Mon March 8, 2010 at 9:30 am

sheldon
"nnnnniiiiiccccceeeee....."
i can almost smell the fresh air ...

Very good work.

Mon March 8, 2010 at 8:43 am

GeneralB
"Just to make my last post more clear."
By 'contemporary' I was mixing up words when I was trying to say "instead of doing autumn/winter versions (if you were planning on doing them), do something more interesting with the scene".



Not sure how much work either of my suggestions would involve, but it makes any 'remakes' you may decide to do of it more interesting.



Also, I would have loved an edit button right about now. >_>

Mon March 8, 2010 at 8:34 am

GeneralB
"You need a Mount Doom Style"
It really is beautiful, but why go contemporary when you could make a volcanic eruption feeding streams of lava into the sea, sending out huge gouts of steam (no need to make it a wasteland, but lava entering an ocean makes one hell of a spectacle).



Failing that, glaciers!

Mon March 8, 2010 at 8:30 am

Chad
"Love it!"
Reminds me of a valley that I spent most of my summers in as a kid. Well done! Can't wait to get it in the dual or triple screen format, but I suspect those take longer to render :)



Cheers!

Mon March 8, 2010 at 6:51 am

Brian
"Something about this makes me go wow"
I can't put my finger on any one aspect....but this is a wow. IT is my favorite at this time. I've put it as my droid wallpaper also, and everytime I look at my phone I just think how awesome it is. Thank you.

Mon March 8, 2010 at 6:34 am

Weigraf
"Duel Screen render?"
I love this new image, when will it be available in double screen format?!!

Mon March 8, 2010 at 6:06 am

Aaron M
"Striking"
A truly striking and beautiful wallpaper. Ryan, your talent and dedication continue to produce amazing artwork.

Mon March 8, 2010 at 5:52 am

Nhaleen
"Awesome!"
This is a breathtaking wallpaper! I absolutely love it!! Fantastic work Ryan!

Mon March 8, 2010 at 4:37 am

BenC
"Amazing"
The best by far, can't wait for the multi monitor resolutions to be posted so i can get it on my work machine!

Mon March 8, 2010 at 3:10 am

NikB
"Awesome"
I originally gave this 9/10 but I wish I could now go back and change it to a 10. This is simply a stunning image, and as someone whose hobby is landscape photography I can really appreciate all the details: the light (and angle of the sun), the depth and all the points of interest that draw my eye around the image. Well done, Ryan. I look forward to the remaining 3 seasonal versions...

Mon March 8, 2010 at 2:37 am

Mike
"Stunning"
Simply breathtaking.

Mon March 8, 2010 at 1:09 am

Jeff
"Scotland Forever!"
This is my new desktop. Hands down, this is my new desktop.

Mon March 8, 2010 at 1:01 am

Dan M
"Wow"
Another impressive image! Definitely in line with your best. I love the detail of the grass, or moss in the foreground. Really looking forward to a Summer, Fall, and Winter versions of this one!

Mon March 8, 2010 at 0:03 am

@simon
"Bird"
I do believe that that is a bird, swooping over the valley.

Sun March 7, 2010 at 8:36 pm

Simon
"Really awesome... but..."
It's definately my favourite of all time!! Astonishing without comparison! There's only one thing that keeps distracting my eyes, that little black something just to the right of the center of the picture (in the woods to the right of the sand). Is it a flaw? Or what is it supposed to look like??

Sun March 7, 2010 at 7:38 pm

John
"Am I Dreaming??"
This is so beautiful... I can't believe it. This literally took by breath away when I saw it. Simply amazing. Great comeback! I haven't loved a wallpaper this much since... well... never! Thank you!

Sun March 7, 2010 at 5:30 pm

Riju
"The Master Returns"
Ryan, this wallpaper reminds me why I am a lifetime member. Your last three works were not up to your usual breathtaking par, good but not amazing. But this is most definitely stunning. Instant classic.

Sun March 7, 2010 at 4:24 pm

Geoff
"amazing"
This is fantastic! Reminds me of Waimea Canyon in Hawaii.

Sun March 7, 2010 at 1:13 pm

Ali
"distance"
>>I wish the distance was less/not washed out though.



Agree. The distance doesn't look misty and beautiful, it looks washed out, like some of the bad photos I used to take facing the sun.



The peaks of the rocks are usually tilted toward the side of the picture, which is something I've been noticing for a long time. I guess it's perspective distortion that stems from the software.



I love the composition, but with these colors this one doesn't belong in the top 10.

Sun March 7, 2010 at 12:58 am

quietmtn
"Truly a 'high' land spring."
Once again you have created a breathtaking piece of art. You often approach perfection and would have been even closer this time had there been at least some faded color in the far background. One's eye is pulled to light that seems too intense for the scene. Great work, Ryan...as always.

Sun March 7, 2010 at 11:41 am

Pritesh
"Nothing less than BRILLIANT!"
Most people who are members of this site will appreciate stunning nature vistas. This is a classic example of such a vista. Timeless shot that will impress forever. Nicely rendered and i cant pick any faults at all!!! Excellent work Ryan! 10/10!!!

Sun March 7, 2010 at 11:17 am

Rare1
"Holy Sh*#"
Amazing, this is def one of my top favorites.

Sun March 7, 2010 at 8:05 am

Aaron
"gasp"
I believe this m orn when I logged on it took my breath away.

Sun March 7, 2010 at 8:00 am

Mister M
"WOW"
This is not normal, what a wallpaper, in one word fantastic, it shows your mood. Amazing, keep up making this kind of wallpapers

Sun March 7, 2010 at 5:37 am

Pin
"Astonishing"
One of your most breathtaking work!

Sun March 7, 2010 at 4:56 am

Hunter
"Perfection !"
Everything is amazing! It not only looks great, but the wallpaper doesn't suffer at all from graininess, bad looking clouds, and the usual problems that most of us our able to ignore... but it's so nice to see a brilliant wallpaper that isn't plagued with those problems - you really notice it!



I can't wait for the dualscreen!!

Sun March 7, 2010 at 4:20 am

Jim
"Incredible"
This one is amazing, knocks most of the rest of your recent work way out of the park. You've set a new high bar for yourself, looking forward to more like this!

Sat March 6, 2010 at 11:46 pm

Luke
"Awesomeness. "
It's outstanding. I'm hanging out now for a variant of this image, so I can have one per monitor.

Sat March 6, 2010 at 11:32 pm

Trifid
"scotch moss!"
I love the texture of the scotch moss in the foreground - Very Cool!



I wish the distance was less/not washed out though.

Sat March 6, 2010 at 11:15 pm

MUZIKMAN57
"HIGHLAND SPRING (2010)"
I, TOO AGREE WITH MANY OTHERS BUT,....IT IS NOT YOU'RE BEST--IT IS IN MY TOP 10 THOU--MY FAVORITES ARE YOUR SUNSET SCENES--HOWEVER, WITH THIS WINTER BEING TOUGH ON JUST ABOUT EVERYBODY, IT IS A PLEASANT SIGHT--BEAUTIFUL, JUST BEAUTIFUL!! BESIDES RYAN, YOU HAVEN'T BEEN IN THE BEST OF HEALTH ANYWAY!! THANKS FOR YOUR WEBSITE.....

Sat March 6, 2010 at 9:54 pm

MUZIKMAN57
"HIGHLAND SPRING (2010)"
I, TOO AGREE WITH MANY OTHERS BUT,....IT IS NOT YOU'RE BEST--IT IS IN MY TOP 10 THOU--MY FAVORITES ARE YOUR SUNSET SCENES--HOWEVER, WITH THIS WINTER BEING TOUGH ON JUST ABOUT EVERYBODY, IT IS A PLEASANT SIGHT--BEAUTIFUL, JUST BEAUTIFUL!! BESIDES RYAN, YOU HAVEN'T BEEN IN THE BEST OF HEALTH ANYWAY!! THANKS FOR YOUR WEBSITE.....

Sat March 6, 2010 at 9:53 pm

Silver
"NICE!"
I'll agree with many others .. one of your best one is a while. Can't wait for Tri-screen version!

Sat March 6, 2010 at 9:25 pm

Evan
"Wow..."
This is your best work in a while, this image actually made me do a double-take. There is something about the detail and spring-life like quality of that tree in the foreground. This is someplace that I want to get lost in!



Thanks!

Sat March 6, 2010 at 7:39 pm

Will
"awesome!"
looks awesome Ryan, it reminds me of coming down Big Bear Pass

Sat March 6, 2010 at 6:50 pm

Will
"awesome!"
looks awesome Ryan, it reminds me of coming down Big Bear Pass

Sat March 6, 2010 at 6:50 pm

Ryan
"The tree"
Thanks Guys. @Philip D: The tree was modeled in Onyxtree. I don't have any World Builder software installed any more :(

Sat March 6, 2010 at 6:44 pm

Phillip D
"great"
thanks, I need to feel spring, as where I am at it is still "winter" One of your best landscapes up to date. I bet that single tree was imported from Worldbuilder?

Sat March 6, 2010 at 6:10 pm

Littlemom
"Amazingly Beautiful"
Oh this is one of your best. I love the mountains and the water and the lone tree. I agree with others who have said they could just see themselves just sitting by that tree looking down at the water. I think this is your best render to date. Your landcapes have always been my favorites and is why I became a member in the first place. Great job!!!!

Sat March 6, 2010 at 6:02 pm

Mark
"is it real?"
Ryan, I thought this was a photograph!

Sat March 6, 2010 at 5:39 pm

Robert
"Oh My Gosh!"
The moment I made this my wp and cleared the desktop I was there. I felt I had suddenly risen many feet off the ground and was gazing in wonder. Beautiful!

Sat March 6, 2010 at 5:27 pm

Shane
"A Gem from DB"
I enjoy all your wallpapers but every once in a while I'm blown away by the work you do. This is one of the those times.

Sat March 6, 2010 at 5:18 pm

Alex
"Amazing"
Beyond a doubt, your best landscape yet. I love the tree and cliff in the foreground. I'd love to sit there for an hour and just look out and ponder the mysteries of life...



Your work over the last year or two has just become so brilliant. I can't wait to see the other seasons!

Sat March 6, 2010 at 5:17 pm

Gandalf
"GREAT WORK"
Fantastic work Ryan! Nice change from the creations of the last year. I love all your work. I don't complain if they are dark to brite. I see your work as a scene in your mind. You are the artist and create that way. I would think if you see a dark, moody piece, thats what you create. Nice start to a new year. p.s. Loved Citadel too.

Sat March 6, 2010 at 4:09 pm

Mike
"Success"
I've always been a fan of your work, I think this is your first real standout wallpaper of 2010, couldn't wait to put it on my desktop, as always, enjoying this one, and looking forward to the next

Sat March 6, 2010 at 3:54 pm

Thom
"Incredible"
So calming and fantastic!

After the last few lackluster renders, this one reminded me why I pay for your marvelous work.

Keep it up!

Sat March 6, 2010 at 3:33 pm

Steve
"This is awesome"
Absolutely amazing

Sat March 6, 2010 at 3:11 pm

Miguell026
"Highland Spring (2010)"
Ryan you did it again! great masterpiece!!



Awesome! marvelous!



this wallpaper is gonna look splendid on my 30" HD display!

Sat March 6, 2010 at 2:58 pm

Miguell026
"Highland Spring (2010)"
Ryan you did it again! great masterpiece!!



Awesome! marvelous!



this wallpaper is gonna look splendid on my 30" HD display!

Sat March 6, 2010 at 2:57 pm

Pete
"Wow!"
I love this. I absolutely love this. Now, I want to know where you went to take a picture of this, because I refuse to believe this is CG. Beautiful, Ryan!

Sat March 6, 2010 at 2:45 pm

celmendo
"Ahhh"
Def. among your best! The only thing that bugs me is the trees at the base of the mountain on the left. Maybe because of the added grain, but they look like you added rows of trees and forgot to add the detail so just a green tree shape is there. But it is amazing and I couldn't wait to download it when I saw the email.

Sat March 6, 2010 at 2:41 pm

Kana
"Gorgeous"
It looks like you brought a camera to that spot and snapped a photo. Incredible. However, the water could use a bit more detail and the bird looks a bit too small - for my liking, at least. There definitely is some pixelation on the left side cliffs... but beautiful, absolutely beautiful. Keep up the awesome work!

Sat March 6, 2010 at 2:05 pm

Kana
"Gorgeous"
It looks like you brought a camera to that spot and snapped a photo. Incredible. However, the water could use a bit more detail and the bird looks a bit too small - for my liking, at least. There definitely is some pixelation on the left side cliffs... but beautiful, absolutely beautiful. Keep up the awesome work!

Sat March 6, 2010 at 2:04 pm

Tardis
"good but......"
wonderful, but I feel that the flying bird looks like an ink spot and spoils the overall view

Sat March 6, 2010 at 1:36 pm

Lee
"Interested......"
in seeing the seasonal versions of this. The detail is amazing.

Sat March 6, 2010 at 1:03 pm

Scott
"Well done!"
Just in time for today's warm weather... Forest Citadel was starting to get gloomy. Very nice job!

Sat March 6, 2010 at 12:46 am

Walo
"Awesome."
This is a "10" one for me.

Sat March 6, 2010 at 12:46 am

Josh
"Wow"
Wow, just absolutely amazing...



Can't wait for the dual monitor version!

Sat March 6, 2010 at 12:31 am

TwoWolves
"The Grass"
That grass in the foreground is quite something. Well done.

Sat March 6, 2010 at 12:20 am

Sly
"Highland Spring is in the air"
Very nicely done. To me it seems like a painting style. It almost provokes feelings of flying over the Highland valley. I think the trees towards the bottoms seem a bit jumbled to me but it doesn't bother me at all, just figure I would mention it. All together, very nicely done.

Sat March 6, 2010 at 12:09 am

Paul
"Fantastic"
This is instantly one of my favorite wallpapers of yours. Absolutely amazing!

Sat March 6, 2010 at 11:52 am

Toetenel
"stunning"
it's hard to describe the most beautiful wallpaper you've seen in the last 23 years



i think vue 8 is really something, thanks to you i'm trying stuff with the PLE, very lifelike, so much better than vue 7

Sat March 6, 2010 at 11:41 am

Timmo
"EPIC!"
Awesome & Breathtaking

Sat March 6, 2010 at 11:29 am

Lidia
"Highland Spring"
It's a bit too sunny for me. I never like it when there's such a sharp contrast between the places the sun is hitting and the places the sun is not hitting. I prefer scenes that look a little more like a slightly cloudy day; brightly lit, but a bit more uniformly...

Sat March 6, 2010 at 11:09 am

Mithun
"Brilliant!!!!"
Amazing work Ryan!!! Truly breath taking..

Sat March 6, 2010 at 11:07 am

Kevin
"Love It!"
Great job Ryan! This is fantastic and puts me in the mood for Spring. We're really tired of the snow here in Ohio.

Sat March 6, 2010 at 10:48 am

Isaac
"Nice Grass..."
The flow and the definition on every blade of grass on the closest hill in the foreground is pristine. I'm curious if anything can be done to the pixelation of the furthest cathedral ledge in the background on the left. Some really really fine work!

Sat March 6, 2010 at 9:31 am

Jason
"Nifty"
As usual, a spectacular image.

Sat March 6, 2010 at 9:28 am

dejerdejer
"Amazing"
Yes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You have a high bar to live up to for your next creation. this pic. is great!!! I gave it a 10. I don't give many 10's but this deserves it.

Sat March 6, 2010 at 8:51 am

T7
"Awesome."
Can't wait for the dual-screen version. :)

Sat March 6, 2010 at 8:27 am

Jason
"WOW!!!!"
been with you for a couple of years now and you never fail to amaze me keep it up!!!

Sat March 6, 2010 at 3:09 am

mozza444
"Amazing"
I've been a member for several years, and whilst i always love your work, this is the first time i just had to comment. Excellent work, this one truly is amazing, and well worth the wait!

Sat March 6, 2010 at 2:02 am

Bradley
"Simply wow!"
I can't believe that technology anlong with artists have advanced that far! I looked at the picture and simply thought "wow". You have raised the bar for any digital artist!

Sat March 6, 2010 at 1:56 am

kellzilla
"Epic"
This is probably my favorite landscape you've done so far.

Sat March 6, 2010 at 1:22 am

Brian
"Raising the Bar"
As many others have stated, this has to be your best yet! The sense of depth here is incredible!

Sat March 6, 2010 at 0:52 am

Justin
"awesome scenery"
You said you'd bring a brighter one than the last one, and you sure did! Although I liked the darker one as well, the brightness for this setting is perfect, and I like how you made it foggy the more you go to show distance? I don't know how to describe it, but it looks great!

Fri March 5, 2010 at 10:53 pm

Ari
"DB pwns all :)"
Awesome output, as always. ^_^



I'd be interested to see a night version of this one, perhaps with a full moon low and bouncing off the water.

Fri March 5, 2010 at 10:01 pm

Gage
"Marvelous"
Truly Epic in my opinion. I always love ur landscapes best, and I look forward to ur next underwater scape, cause posiden is my current favorite. However, I think that lone tree over looking the trees of the valley is missing like a hawk or something. maybe change the flying bird to be perched overlooking the Lush valley? not my picture, and just my opinion

Fri March 5, 2010 at 9:54 pm

Will
"I love it! -10-"
I love it! I love the perspective. I love the content. I love landscapes! They always make me feel small and at awe with the environment.



Ok here comes the standard negative after someone gives you a compliment. I find the clouds at the focal point to make the mountain look like it is hanging. I guess it is a cloud in front of the mountain but looks suspended when I guess it shouldn't be.



Either way a 10 in my book!



Thanks Ryan!

Fri March 5, 2010 at 9:44 pm

Ryan
"@The Guru"
Good eye. I struggled a bit with the trees on the right. Everything I tried came out like a distraction and interrupted my eye tracking down the valley. In the end I decided that uniformity on the sides would better frame the center. Perfect? Maybe not, but the only perfect art is a blank canvas right?

Fri March 5, 2010 at 8:17 pm

nate j
"Maybe best ever?"
this one is just unreal. it brings some of the best elements from of your other great works. It's perfect for March with all the green, but those steep textured mountain slopes and the tree. I've always loved most of your work but this one is a step up from anything i've seen. Wow!

Fri March 5, 2010 at 8:12 pm

nate j
"Maybe best ever?"
this one is just unreal. it brings some of the best elements from of your other great works. It's perfect for March with all the green, but those steep textured mountain slopes and the tree. I've always loved most of your work but this one is a step up from anything i've seen. Wow!

Fri March 5, 2010 at 8:11 pm

Jesse
"Phenomenal"
I'm truly impressed with this one. You've made some jaw-droppingly amazing backgrounds but this takes it to a whole new level. Thank you for sharing your talent with the world!

Fri March 5, 2010 at 8:04 pm

The Guru
"So close to truly epic..."
First things first. It looks great. I love the layout and the concept but thought that a couple things fell a little short. The rocks on the left seem almost as if they're made of wet clay rather than rock. I think it's the texture. Also, the small and numerous trees on the right seem a little... repetative. They seem too perfect in their uniformity. I don't know if putting some gaps and ridges in there would fix it or not. Despite my issues, I still think it looks absolutely fabulous. Good work!

Fri March 5, 2010 at 8:01 pm

Mike R.
"one of the best"
This really can't get a whole lot better. There's something I'm not completely satisfied with where the visibility fades in the distance, but hey, this is absolutely gorgeous. 9/10

Fri March 5, 2010 at 7:42 pm

JD
"NICE"
the first wallpaper with sunlight in quite a while.

Spring is comming!

Fri March 5, 2010 at 7:12 pm

pete
"Forest Citadel"
Foreground is stunningly beautiful! Something about the distance elements aren't working for me though. Not sure if it is the lack of sharpness or the lack of transparency of the fog...



To add, I've never like the added elements, like the single bird here, (or single human or wolf)... Just my feeling, I know every artist has their own thing. (Would love a copy without though...)



Of course that's the critical comments :) Still looks great, if it didn't, it wouldn't be on my desktop!

Fri March 5, 2010 at 6:51 pm

TomasM
"Vidunderlig!"
Joining the chorus. With a big smile on my face! I'm from Norway, so an appreciation of mountains, valleys and fjords is in my genes. Highland Spring is not just a wallpaper; it's a true work of art! It's the reason why I purchased a lifetime membership. Thank you!

Fri March 5, 2010 at 6:45 pm

scott wray
"my kinda BG"
cant wait to use it. dual wide screens!

Fri March 5, 2010 at 6:33 pm

Mark
"Wow."
That is staggeringly good! Nice job! Got an autumn one coming? After all, while you lot up north are going into spring, us in the south are going into autumn...

Fri March 5, 2010 at 6:28 pm

Matt
"Astonished,,,"
This is head,shoulders, knees, toes, mountains, and planets above all of your other work. Hands down. Thank you Ryan!

Fri March 5, 2010 at 6:27 pm

Nick
"Awesome work"
Looks amazing. I can't wait to see the other seasons. I'm also hoping for some multi-screen shots of this too.

Fri March 5, 2010 at 6:26 pm

Kyle
"I agree with Jenanne"
Having the ledge and small tree there makes this wallpaper feel like you're standing at the edge of this massive valley. I love it!! 10/10 for sure!

Fri March 5, 2010 at 6:22 pm

Jenanne
"Didn't mean to repeat myself..."
oops, sorry!

Fri March 5, 2010 at 6:04 pm

Jenanne
"Keep the tree! "
It gives perspective and balance to the scene. It makes the image special; without it the awesome valley is just a mere valley. Block the tree with your hand and you'll see what I mean. Not to mention it would take a very long render to change. :)

Fri March 5, 2010 at 6:00 pm

Jenanne
"Keep the tree! "
It gives perspective and balance to the scene. It makes the image special; without it the awesome valley is just a mere valley. Block the tree with your hand and you'll see what I mean. Not to mention it would take a very long render to change. :)

Fri March 5, 2010 at 5:59 pm

Samuel
"Sweet, but"
do we really need the little tree?

Can we just have the AWESOME valley below?

Fri March 5, 2010 at 5:43 pm

Jenanne
"Worth the Wait!"
This is outstanding, dazzling, impressive, eye-popping, fulgurous... and all those other adjectives that mean GREAT! I particularly like the lone tree and the soaring bird. A definite 10, Ryan!

Fri March 5, 2010 at 5:43 pm

Tim H
"Incredible"
Absolutely amazing, well done !

Fri March 5, 2010 at 5:42 pm

Valwit
"OMG."
dude, you redefinig the word awesome for me every time. this is so great. i just want to get there. :)

Fri March 5, 2010 at 5:41 pm

Ray
"(insert jaw-dropping adjective here)"
Brilliant! I dont know how you manage to come up with stuff like this, but hope your imagination never runs dry...Thank you!

Fri March 5, 2010 at 5:32 pm

Mairead
"Highland Spring"
This is absolutely stunning. The little detail of the eagle in the midground just makes the entire image come together for me

Fri March 5, 2010 at 5:22 pm

easone
"Mist / haze"
Love the light-scattering effect in the far field. It adds a sense of 3-dimensionality and a sense of scale.

Fri March 5, 2010 at 5:21 pm

Joe
"Perfect"
Great and amazing. Wonderful work on this one! Not too dark. ;-)

Fri March 5, 2010 at 5:17 pm

Tyler
"Insano..."
Dear Ryan,

It's funny the dramatic contrast between this and last image. I love them both. Obviously this one is completely off the hinge... The sense of scale you accomplished here is outrageous. Yours and my favorite my friend.

Fri March 5, 2010 at 5:08 pm

Travis L.
"Greeeeaaat Stuff. 4 Thumbs Up!!!"
I love it. It even gained an awe-inspired comment from my cube-mate who is an avid photographer of all things epic and natural! He gives it two thumbs up, as do I!

Fri March 5, 2010 at 5:08 pm

Travis L.
"Greeeeaaat Stuff. 4 Thumbs Up!!!"
I love it. It even gained an awe-inspired comment from my cube-mate who is an avid photographer of all things epic and natural! He gives it two thumbs up, as do I!

Fri March 5, 2010 at 5:08 pm

Ben
"Great work"
You really outdid yourself on this one!

Fri March 5, 2010 at 4:57 pm

Ryan
"Stunning"
Easily a 10/10

Fri March 5, 2010 at 4:56 pm

Pim V
"Absolutely Incredible"
9/10

Unbelievably stunning - the grass and flowers in the foreground are incredibly rendered. The only issue I had with it was the clouds and mountains (on the right) looked a little grainy? But after it rendered for so long I'm not sure you'd want to wait and try again ;)

Fri March 5, 2010 at 4:48 pm

Ezra
"Whoa."
My new favorite!

Fri March 5, 2010 at 4:46 pm

Tim Morris
"Stunning."
Your best yet. Seriously.

Fri March 5, 2010 at 4:22 pm

Rachael F
"WOW"
All I can say is WOW!!!

Fri March 5, 2010 at 4:21 pm

Psyclone
"Holy..."
Good Lord, Ryan. No wonder this thing took so long to render....

Fri March 5, 2010 at 4:20 pm

Nate F
"Love it"
Makes me think of a less fantasy like version of at world's edge. Since the valley and lake are viewable below. Really great image, thanks

Fri March 5, 2010 at 4:18 pm

John
"Sweet"
The grass on the rocks in the foreground looks absolutely terrific!

Fri March 5, 2010 at 4:13 pm

Greg in CA
"Now THAT'S better!"
Awesome!

Fri March 5, 2010 at 4:12 pm

Kev
"Beautiful!"
Didn't take long for this image to get set as my background.



I can only image how amazing this scene would like in the Fall...

Fri March 5, 2010 at 4:09 pm

Jeff K
"All I can say is...."
Wow.

Fri March 5, 2010 at 4:06 pm

Mike
"Wow..."
Ryan, my God dude...



This one took my breath away. Incredible!

Fri March 5, 2010 at 4:05 pm

Ryan S
"Breathtaking"
Your work is almost always incredible. This is one of those pieces that makes me wish I was there.

Fri March 5, 2010 at 3:56 pm

All new and renewing Members will receive
a signed "Thank You" postcard.

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)

THANKS TO:

Recent Guardians:
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
  • Glenn Crouch -- (7/18/15)
  • Kevin T -- (06/10/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Martin Pilot -- (9/1/15)
  • Dean Mills -- (9/1/15)
  • Natalia Najder -- (8/30/15)
  • Guy Sturdevant -- (8/27/15)
  • AJ Decker -- (8/24/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!



"Tropic of Capricorn (1999)"
Only 8 Downloads!


digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy

Android apps on Google Play