9.16/10 rating (25 votes)

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

8.79/10 rating (80 votes)

8.42/10 rating (129 votes)

Member Comments

"Very Nice!"
I like the creativity and mixture of texture and colors. This is my first visit as a member. I am downloading this one.

Mon February 9, 2015 at 7:47 pm

Any chance you could do a Facebook Timeline version of this one?

Wed November 20, 2013 at 8:30 pm

1024 x 768 (4:3) is damaged. The bottom quarter of the image is messed up.

Sun October 27, 2013 at 10:49 pm

"Wide Pickles"
Could you please make dual screen of the original darker version? It's the best one!

Mon September 9, 2013 at 1:18 pm

The link for the 2560 x 1024 dual screen isn't working.

Mon September 9, 2013 at 10:09 am

There seems to be a problem with the 7680x1440 version. Love the multiscreen versions.

Mon September 9, 2013 at 8:00 am

"V3 WOW"
My most preferred version is the v3, it feels the most alive!

Sun September 8, 2013 at 5:07 pm

"V2 Multi-monitor?"
I think it's pretty well agreed that a lot of people like version two the best. Dual and triple screens of that would be great!

Sat September 7, 2013 at 5:25 pm

I just started the multiscreens rendering this morning. Sorry I got a bit sidetracked with my new version of "Moonlit Oasis"!

Sat September 7, 2013 at 8:49 am

I very much like, if the scene looks mysterious and outworldish. I would very much like to have a triple screen version of this. Are you planning to provide one?

Sat September 7, 2013 at 8:32 am

Will you offer multi-screen versions?

Fri September 6, 2013 at 8:49 am

"V2 is still my favorite"
I like the lightning in Version 3; it reminds me of the "power plant" in the Matrix. I also like the idea that the hive mind is using energy bolts to communicate. However, the lightning does make V3 a little too busy. I do like it, but just not as much as V2.

Thu September 5, 2013 at 10:00 pm

"V2 best"
The lightning detracts from the image. It draws your eyes to focus on the electricity which doesn't seem to fit the imagery.

V2 added depth to the original image and the lighting/coloring was beautiful. It had better harmony than V3.

Thu September 5, 2013 at 7:11 pm

"Prefer No Lightning"
Echoing the sentiment earlier: my personal preference is sans lightning - please do multiscreens with and without! :)

Thu September 5, 2013 at 12:20 pm

I really like this one. I can agree with some regarding the darkness in V1 adding to the mystery of the scene, but the sparks in V3 really set this version off for me. Slightly distracting to me is the detail that the hexagonal texture on the grey borders of the larger hexagons are not aligned to the larger shapes. The mis-alignment seems to increase further to the right side. It's just a distraction, I still love the over-all image.

Thu September 5, 2013 at 12:07 pm

"9/10, 6/10, 10/10"
Barring any more additions to the Hivemind family, the first one got a 9/10, second a 6/10, and the last, a perfect 10.

I didn't honestly think that the image could get better from the first one, and was quite disappointed with the second. However, the third just blew me away, and I am super-duper looking forward to the multiscreen renders.

Thu September 5, 2013 at 10:39 am

For some reason, v1 is still my favorite, the darkness in the background just amplifies a sense of mystery and stillness for me. I like that it's less 'perfect' than v2 and v3 brings more action to the scene but ... I like the stillness of v1. Thanks Ryan for all 3 choices.

Thu September 5, 2013 at 10:31 am

V2 is my favorite. I think the lightning detracts overall from the scene. That said, I can see why some people like V3. Any chance, when you get the multiscreens complete that you can do multiscreens of V2 as well?

Thu September 5, 2013 at 8:39 am

"Great look"
I really like the electricity. IT is like it has come alive. ITS ALIVE!!!

Thu September 5, 2013 at 8:18 am

"7.5 of 10"
I really liked v1. Then v2 came out and it was even better. But then v3 came out, and I am still using v2. Don't get me wrong, I like v3, I just prefer v2. Still really need the Twitter header version.

Thu September 5, 2013 at 7:31 am

Doug B.
"7 of 10"
I have to give this one a lower rating than the original....sometimes less is more, and I think this is one of those times.

Thu September 5, 2013 at 7:12 am

I think I like it better without lightening. It kinda feels a bit gratuitous or out of place somehow. Perhaps if it were toned down a bit, though? Or if the electrical arcs followed the geometry a bit more?

Thu September 5, 2013 at 1:12 am

"Even better than version one..."
...and that's saying a lot. I didn't see how you could possibly improve on the first version. Boy, did you ever prove me wrong. This is GREAT!

Wed September 4, 2013 at 7:38 pm

I really like this type of wallpaper.

The geometric shapes appeal to me.

Will keep this for a while.....

Wed September 4, 2013 at 12:31 pm

I meant to tell you that I'd love to see the Queen Bee of this colony.

Wed September 4, 2013 at 7:43 am

I'm one who usually loves the distant planets and suns and moons of all your art but I LOVE this "abstract" one. When I keep it up as my wallpaper on my 'puter constantly, I know it's one that I love... and I've done that with Hivemind.

Wed September 4, 2013 at 7:41 am

Doug B.
""Haze" with updated lighting"
To me the updated lighting seems to have added an overall "haze", I think it would look better with a lighting level somewhere between the initial version and this one, just my $0.02

Wed September 4, 2013 at 7:14 am

I liked the original, especially because it is so thematically similar to my favourite computer game.

I thought the original was about a 7. Then this one came out and...

Wed September 4, 2013 at 2:37 am

You read my mind ;-)

Tue September 3, 2013 at 8:30 pm

Matt Reed
"Look like Hexalite"
This one with the new lighting reminds me a lot of another of my favorites, hexalite.

Tue September 3, 2013 at 5:05 pm

I really like both the old and the new versions - could you do multi-screens of both?

Tue September 3, 2013 at 4:25 pm

"Less lighting!"
The added lighting makes the image look noisier. I prefer the darker.

Tue September 3, 2013 at 1:23 pm

This is a really awesome piece, and I really like the new version. This is one of the best pieces I have seen from you recently - keep up the good work!

Tue September 3, 2013 at 11:54 am

This is a really awesome piece, and I really like the new version. This is one of the best pieces I have seen from you recently - keep up the good work!

Tue September 3, 2013 at 11:54 am

Wow... I was going to comment that v1 needed the background lightening up to see the hex columns in the distance, but you're one step ahead, the new v2 is stunning.

I love the rapid fire series of abstracts that have been appearing recently!

Tue September 3, 2013 at 11:12 am

"Sparks "
I like it. Think it would be cool to have some electric sparks in there too. I like the lighting better in V.2.

Tue September 3, 2013 at 11:07 am

Lovely colors! Very honey-ish...

Tue September 3, 2013 at 9:44 am

Added an update to "Hivemind" in the Members Gallery this morning. I've done quite a bit of tweaking on this one over the past few days but this is my first render which I felt was an improvement over the first version (which will remain in the Pickle Jar).

Tue September 3, 2013 at 9:16 am

"Missing mobile solutions"
I've installed this on every device because it's one of your. Best pieces. But unfortunately I can't find the renders for Twitter header and for the BlackBerry 10 (720 x something). Will you upload the missing resolutions too?

Mon September 2, 2013 at 11:16 pm

Tim H
Absolutely love it. Digital grand canyon. Fantastic !

Mon September 2, 2013 at 7:14 pm

This is an AMAZING piece! I love it, it would look beautiful across my tri-screen at 5770x1080, let us know if it's possible.

Mon September 2, 2013 at 3:52 am

"Do it for Dual screens!!"
It's awesomeness should be larger!

Sun September 1, 2013 at 1:28 pm

"Giant's Causeway"
This reminds me of a Tron version of Giant's Causeway, a rock formation in Northern Ireland that has a hexagonal lattice structure to it.

Sun September 1, 2013 at 1:21 pm

Love it. Great job!!!

Sat August 31, 2013 at 10:01 pm

I have hexaline on every device including a custom theme on my chrome browser - replacing them all with this beauty as soon as the dual-screen versions are up


Sat August 31, 2013 at 7:57 pm

Can't wait to see this in triple wide resolutions! Keep up the good work, as always!

Sat August 31, 2013 at 1:32 pm

Brilliant, keep up the outstanding work Ryan. THIS is why I am a lifetime member!

Sat August 31, 2013 at 11:07 am


Fri August 30, 2013 at 4:45 pm

Fantastic! I also love these mysterious, disorienting "techno-abstract" pieces ("Where are we?" "What is this?") This one is super evocative and, as I look at it, keeps shifting scale.

Fri August 30, 2013 at 9:32 am

Mike W
Love it!

Thu August 29, 2013 at 7:36 pm

"Simply great"
Like some others have said, I too am reminded of some former works. I always found Latticework and The Comb beautiful, and this one combines these two and adds even more. I also feel a little bit of Hexaline in it. And this is only in-progress yet...? Well, I am really excited for the final version then, but this one deserves a 10 already.

Thu August 29, 2013 at 5:17 pm

Justin B
"Great colors."
I'm not normally an abstract guy, but this one instantly became my new background. I can't tell you exactly why I like it so well... it just works. Awesome.

Thu August 29, 2013 at 4:52 pm

Love these new Lightwave 11 pieces Ryan. This reminds me of something awesome I saw/read/played that I can't put my finger on.

Thu August 29, 2013 at 3:55 pm

The blue and gold colors, the lighting, the way it draws my eyes in deeper and deeper--everything about this one is great! This and Waveform (in all its variations) are instant favorites for me. Is it too much to hope that you've got even more techno-themed abstracts in the works?

Thu August 29, 2013 at 9:04 am

nothing like a glowish wallpaper!

very good one Ryan! perfect Hive!

i miss the night glowish wallpapaers :D

Thu August 29, 2013 at 8:37 am

"love it. "
Fantastic. :D

Thu August 29, 2013 at 8:20 am

"Inner Glow"
Love this. Gorgeous. I would love to see it with more of a light inner glow towards the back. This is really beautiful.

Thu August 29, 2013 at 7:28 am

Doug B.
Reminds me of somewhat of 'V GER' from 'Star Trek The Motion Picture', but with more detail.

Thu August 29, 2013 at 6:47 am

Reminds me of both Hexaline and Azula, two of my favourites.

Thu August 29, 2013 at 3:10 am

Would really go well with Deus Ex: Human Evolution fans..

Wed August 28, 2013 at 7:27 pm

Try it now!

Wed August 28, 2013 at 6:59 pm

"Whats wrong witht he 1080x1920 ?"
I like this 9/10 but whats wrong with the 1080x1920 res? half of it is discolored PLEASE FIX !!

Wed August 28, 2013 at 6:00 pm

I like the blue light in the background, opposite the gold. Also like the charcoal color in the foreground. Nice touch there. My only suggestion would be to brighten the background just a bit, not so much blackness. Excellent work, Ryan.

Wed August 28, 2013 at 5:38 pm

Turn the blue to a green? Maybe a pickle jar version? Very nicely done. Like the geometry configurations. Can hardly go wrong with that.

Wed August 28, 2013 at 1:36 pm

I'm not too much into this kind of imagery, but I tend to like this one, not sure why. I gave it a nine only because you seem to always go back and make things better.

Wed August 28, 2013 at 12:45 pm

Stunning, I love the way my eyes search out the detail and follow the fissures through the hive. I especially like the promise of what may be located even deeper in the "Hive". Good work !!

Wed August 28, 2013 at 12:39 pm

"Splendid! 10/10"
An instant classic and favorite. Love the title, too. I agree with Doug B.; you're really on a roll with these techno-abstracts. This is right up there with Automata and Waveform.

Wed August 28, 2013 at 11:52 am

I like the recent abstract bend you've been on lately. This is a wonderful piece of art. Can't wait for the multi screen version.

Wed August 28, 2013 at 11:06 am

Absolutely stunning! Really loving all these new abstract ones.

Wed August 28, 2013 at 10:29 am

This looks amazing. Has a slight cyberpunk feel to it. Can't wait to see the final version!

Wed August 28, 2013 at 10:12 am

"so, so good"
this one resonates with me strongly. love it. seriously love it.

Wed August 28, 2013 at 9:57 am

Enough said. Some color variations would be fun. An ominous red would be sweet.

Wed August 28, 2013 at 9:29 am

Doug B.
"11 of 10"
Talk about being on a roll.....from Waveform to Hivemind...two immediate favorites.

Wed August 28, 2013 at 9:15 am

"1440p png"
1440p png doesn't load all the way

Wed August 28, 2013 at 9:03 am

Reasoning ? Because I could not click 11. This is an instant classic DB wallpaper, if I ever saw one.

Wed August 28, 2013 at 9:00 am

Digital Blasphemy 2016 Wall Calendar

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓


Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)


Recent Guardians:
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons:
  • Eric Eidson -- (9/30/15)
  • Tim Honkalammi -- (09/22/15)
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Jeanne Dowd -- (9/30/15)
  • Ryan Oldaker -- (9/30/15)
  • Claire Fairbank -- (9/29/15)
  • Arwyn Roberts -- (9/28/15)
  • Matthew Pounsett -- (9/23/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!

"Sunspire by Night (2004)"
Only 232 Downloads!

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy