So is it really a pointless exercise to gild a rose, if there was no rose to begin with?

7.40/10 rating (70 votes)

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

8.20/10 rating (15 votes)

8.47/10 rating (15 votes)

7.12/10 rating (25 votes)

7.85/10 rating (20 votes)

Member Comments

my brain is telling me stretch a 1366x768....but that's wrong.....

Tue August 5, 2014 at 10:42 am

my brain is telling me stretch a 1366x768....

Tue August 5, 2014 at 10:40 am

"@J re: Oops!"
Sorry about that. After looking at these resolution numbers for so many years I sometimes forget to look as closely as I should. I haven't heard of that resolution before. Is it a smartphone or tablet? Does it allow you to scale/crop larger images to fit?

Mon August 4, 2014 at 6:06 pm

They are both available at 1440 x 900 in the Pickle Jar!

Mon August 4, 2014 at 6:04 pm

"Frost or trans variant for WP?"
If I could see one of these two pickle jar variants at 1480x800, I would be a happy woman.

Mon August 4, 2014 at 3:48 pm

Is it bad that this looks like dry-type earwax under a microscpe to me?

Mon August 4, 2014 at 4:59 am

I have to agree with Foz. The first thought that came to mind was "cereal flakes".

Fri August 1, 2014 at 10:39 am

Oh yes, now THIS looks like gold. I like! I think you nailed the color and I'm loving the lacey edges.

Wed July 30, 2014 at 10:05 pm

This has been an interesting (and sometimes frustrating) project to work on. Gold is a tough substance to render!

Either way, I am enjoying learning the fundamentals of Lightwave's Instancing tools. I can see so many cool applications...

Wed July 30, 2014 at 5:06 pm

"Beautiful but busy"
Beautiful, and the featured version is definitely my favorite. Sadly I think this will end up being a bit busy on the edges to end up on my desktop though.

Wed July 30, 2014 at 3:16 pm

"Not gold..."
Hmmm I'm afraid this reminds me more of a brown bran breakfast cereal - branflakes specifically.

The brighter variant one looks more like gold.

Tue July 29, 2014 at 9:54 am

"Another Grainy One 5/10"
I really like it... except for the grain. Every time I see another one of your renders, I get excited, then almost right away, I get disappointed as usually only about 10% of the render is actually clear. There's none of your top 10 renders that have been obliterated with grain like this one, and maybe some people like it, but for me it's just a disappointment.

Tue July 29, 2014 at 9:13 am

Hybrid 2002 is one of my all-time favorites, so I was delighted to see these remakes. I like all the renders you've done so far, even the first (it's grown on me), and I love the second's splendid colors. But the two gilded renders are fantastic, Ryan, particularly the last. My only quibble is that the DOF is a little shallow. The upper left corner is too blurry and doesn't add to the overall effect, IMHO. Can't wait for the final!

Tue July 29, 2014 at 3:43 am

Looks like someone took the time to gold fold each petal. Fantastic version in my opinion. You always do amazing work.

Tue July 29, 2014 at 0:14 am

Penny D.
it looks as if you took Gold Leaf and created roses from it, then took the picture. Absolutely Stunning work Ryan.

Mon July 28, 2014 at 10:36 pm

"A bit off"
Texture looks off to me, more like a waffle cone or a chip than the smooth velvet of a rose petal. The purple version in the pickle jar looks more true to an actual rose.

Mon July 28, 2014 at 8:03 pm

Maria B
I love shiny things!

Mon July 28, 2014 at 11:02 am

don't ask me to 'em all....

Mon July 28, 2014 at 10:38 am

All new and renewing Members will receive
a signed "Thank You" postcard.

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓


Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)


Recent Guardians:
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons:
  • Eric Eidson -- (9/30/15)
  • Tim Honkalammi -- (09/22/15)
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Jeanne Dowd -- (9/30/15)
  • Ryan Oldaker -- (9/30/15)
  • Claire Fairbank -- (9/29/15)
  • Arwyn Roberts -- (9/28/15)
  • Matthew Pounsett -- (9/23/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!

"Xenotron (2007)"
Only 179 Downloads!

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy