Members Login to See the Full Images

Experimenting with E-onsoftware's The Plant Factory here, exploring possibilities beyond greenery. Rendered using Lightwave 11.6.

7.99/10 rating (92 votes)

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

7.90/10 rating (39 votes)

8.39/10 rating (18 votes)

8.14/10 rating (28 votes)

8.29/10 rating (17 votes)

7.75/10 rating (32 votes)

Member Comments

"Outstandingly awesome"
I have been a long term fan of the Fluorescence blue mushroom wallpapers, this one may just be my favourite now.

Sat June 14, 2014 at 4:43 pm

"Looks familiar?"
This reminds me a lot of "Aftermath (2014)", actually... I like it!

Mon June 2, 2014 at 1:51 pm

"10+ (again)"
Your best yet! Absolutely, V.6 is the final final. :)

A humble request, since you're doing remakes. Your "At World's Edge" is my all-time favorite series, and you have spring, fall, winter, and Christmas -- but no summer. Is it possible? Oh pretty please?

Sun June 1, 2014 at 4:54 am

I know I rated the last version a 10, but now I wish I'd saved the top rating for this one, since it's even better. I agree with Tyler - it lives. Terrific, Ryan!

Thu May 29, 2014 at 4:22 pm

"Favorite So Far"
Love the sparks, and faint signs of sparks in the background. It lives!

Thu May 29, 2014 at 9:41 am

"RE: v.5"
Definitely my favorite so far. There's still a little noise in the farthest lights but it's barely noticeable compared to the noise "everywhere" in the previous renders. I really like the darkness with "pockets" of light.

Thu May 29, 2014 at 1:05 am

I removed the transparency/refractions for this latest version. Mainly I am seeking to render the scene in under 12 hours while also cleaning up the noise from the earlier versions. Let me know what you think!

Wed May 28, 2014 at 3:31 pm

Splendid, Ryan, thank you. Purple is my favorite color.

Tue May 27, 2014 at 8:15 pm

'Inner Space' from Tranzworld 4 is now playing in my head. Thanks Ryan.

I really like some of your darker ones like this.. It makes night time computing a little more pleasing on the eyes.

Now we just need a dual screen render.

Tue May 27, 2014 at 1:02 pm

I like the pickle jar versions much better than the final render. the purple just does nothing for me so I just chose one of the other renders instead.

Tue May 27, 2014 at 12:13 pm

"@Michael T"
They should be showing up now. Thanks!

Tue May 27, 2014 at 11:28 am

Michael T
Where are the pickle jar renders ?

Tue May 27, 2014 at 11:24 am

Personally I like the graininess. It gives the scene the feeling of being an organic nanostructure being viewed optically in realtime using subwavelength imaging (a technique seeing use today to observe biological activity inside live cells, with the ability to image structures/interactions smaller than 200nm).

Tue May 27, 2014 at 10:49 am

In the past I've used a 3rd party renderer called "Fprime" to produce my Lightwave scenes. Unfortunately it doesn't work for this scene because I am using Lightwave's new "Instancing". This means I am struggling to find the proper DOF settings in Lightwave's very complicated (and slower) native renderer.

I will try to have one last, cleaner, render.

Tue May 27, 2014 at 9:03 am

I much prefer the version without lightning. The foreground lightning makes it really hard to see what's going on and obscures the interesting twisted structures that are really the defining part of the image. Also it seems to have added some green sections to the blurred background which don't really fit?

Both versions really suffer with the grain.

Tue May 27, 2014 at 7:48 am

Love it, but seems a bit grainy..

Tue May 27, 2014 at 4:40 am

I really want to like this piece, but the grain is too overwhelming.


Mon May 26, 2014 at 10:21 pm

As promised, v.4 (nearly final) delivers a "shocking" addition. I thought some purple would help break up all of the orange. I'd also never tried "lightning" with DOF before. Let me know what you think!

Mon May 26, 2014 at 10:20 pm

I really like the feel of this one with the glowing orbs of orange and complementary blue set against the contrasting black. The twisting structures are also very interesting. I think the grainy issue is much more bearable now in the distance, but I think it still really detracts from the quality of the image in the foreground.

Mon May 26, 2014 at 4:26 pm

The final version will have a rather shocking twist...

Mon May 26, 2014 at 3:56 pm

Super, Ryan!

Mon May 26, 2014 at 3:06 pm

love the added colors, although it's still just a bit grainy. Could you render an iPhone 5 version?

Mon May 26, 2014 at 10:39 am

Much improved, and I bet v.3 will earn a 10. I love your abstracts! Have an excellent Memorial Day, Ryan and family, and the same to all my fellow DB fans.

Sat May 24, 2014 at 3:07 pm

I decided to post v.2 while I was waiting for v.3 to render. Using a volumetric light for the 3rd version so it's taking a bit longer than the previous 2. Should be ready tomorrow!

Fri May 23, 2014 at 4:21 pm

"very nice!!"
Nice and dark, moody. Great color blend. Love to see this in shades of blues or purples!

Wed May 21, 2014 at 1:44 pm

Like it, but agree about the grain. This reminds me of a combination of String Theory (2011) and Cradle (2003). Very nice!

Tue May 20, 2014 at 12:52 pm

"Fun and biologicalish"
Enjoying the blatantly orange bit, made me think of amyloid beta plaque formation, granted that doesn't glow. Good abstract =)

Tue May 20, 2014 at 10:38 am

"Re: Grain"
Agreed about the grain. Unfortunately F2 doesn't work with Lightwave's built-in instancer so I had to use Lightwave's native renderer. What could have been a 1 hour render with F2 balloons to over 12 hours at 4k. I will work on shortening that and cleaning it up for the final version.

Tue May 20, 2014 at 10:09 am

never mind....found it.....on the 1024 4x3 anyway....

Tue May 20, 2014 at 10:08 am

love it, although it seems a bit grainy ...

Tue May 20, 2014 at 10:07 am

love it....but the reason I gave it a 9 is because I couldn't find a signature on it....maybe I'm tired....

Tue May 20, 2014 at 10:05 am

"I love abstracts"
Or closeups that appear to be abstracts. I want to turn off the lights in the office so that I can see this in more detail.

Tue May 20, 2014 at 9:51 am

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓


Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)


Recent Guardians:

  • Kevin Lynch ('Crimmy') -- (11/2/15)
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)

Recent Sponsors:

  • Jonathan Stanley -- (11/1/15)
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)

Recent Patrons:

  • Richard Month -- (11/1/15)
  • Cliff Bloom -- (10/25/15)
  • Michael Swanson -- (10/16/15)
  • Eric Eidson -- (9/30/15)
  • Tim Honkalammi -- (09/22/15)

Recent Donors:

  • De Beers -- (11/19/15)
  • Alisa McKeehan -- (11/7/15)
  • Patrick Biggs -- (11/6/15)
  • Dean Andrews -- (11/5/15)
  • Technovation Design -- (11/4/15)

Digital Blasphemy 2016 Wall Calendar

On Sale!! 60% off if you use coupon code "PREP4HOLIDAY"!

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy