8.24/10 rating (150 votes)

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

8.03/10 rating (29 votes)

7.70/10 rating (46 votes)

Member Comments

I have reuploaded the triple-split file Zip. Please let me know if you are still having trouble with it!

Tue September 27, 2011 at 8:48 am

"Tri-monitor split files .zip file is damaged - the third file is not retrievable"
The subject says it all.

The message I get is

file #3: bad zipfile offset (local header sig): 1152150

After 5 downloads of the zip file (from diff. machines running diff. different operating systems, i'd say its the file

Mon September 26, 2011 at 11:57 pm

"The Last Throes (Alternate Version) 2011"
This last Aug. 14 I turned 66 and acknowledge the work you're doing as a favored ongoing gift. My imagination searches for some way to leverage what's considered real into what's possible. Your art consistently draws a bridge for my spirit to step from the confines of concept into unexpected invitation. Thanks, I pray you good health and continued success.


Sat September 3, 2011 at 6:52 pm

"Highland Mural"
that highland Mural is amazing! i've been looking for a frame for my bedroom!

would be awesome on my bed room behind my bed!

uau! amazing!

Mon August 29, 2011 at 8:47 am

"2560 x 1440 Version 1"
The link to the 2560 x 1440 v.1. is now working properly. Thanks for the heads up!

Sun August 28, 2011 at 9:13 am

"Wrong Link"
The 2560 x 1440 (HDTV) version of lastthroes1 and lastthroes2 both lead to the same image in the Picklejar.

Sun August 28, 2011 at 1:11 am

"Dark Science Fiction..."
I've been watching the progress of this piece of art from the very start, and after 3 versions you truly nailed it Ryan! This is fantastic man! I'm a big a sci-fi fan, especially of Alastair Reynolds, and this particular wallpaper reminds me of his "dark science fiction" worlds! Beautiful madness! Cheers!

Sat August 27, 2011 at 5:42 am

"Adore them all!"
This is my favorite kind of your work, Ryan, and I love that I have three choices (I've been alternating). But I think my first choice is Last Throes 2 because of the clean look, although I do understand the viewpoint of the folks who think the planet juts too far into the colorful aura. Versions 1 and 3 are both fine work and the dust may be realistic, but IMHO it's not as aesthetic as it might be otherwise.

Oh, another heads up: 2560x1440 (HDTV) of Last Throes1 is missing; 2560x1440 (HDTV) of Last Throes1 has the image of 2560x1440 (HDTV) of Last Throes2 in its place.

Fri August 26, 2011 at 2:26 am

Just awesome, I really enjoy the dual screen version of this. I love these type of renders.

Thu August 25, 2011 at 8:49 pm

"Works well for those late nights"
Great job on the latest version! It definitely looks much better without the dust. This image is perfect for my "Midnight" time period.

Thu August 25, 2011 at 4:01 pm

I always wonder at people rating images like this (or really, any of your work) at a 3/10, 5/10, 1/10 are just doing so to mess with the ratings, are blind, are retarded, or very well are just pessimistic jerks. I just don't get it, nothing in your gallery should be rated below a 5, including your old work...whatever, I just want to see your good work be recognized for what it really is.

By the way, LOVING this on my dual 24" widescreens at work. THANK YOU RYAN AND KEEP IT UP. 10/10 from me :p

Thu August 25, 2011 at 2:01 pm

Trust an astrophysicist to spot the "space anomaly". I've updated the files (again).

Thu August 25, 2011 at 8:02 am

I just set this as my desktop wallpaper on my duel screen and it looks flippin awesome! I very much enjoy what you've done with this one!

Thu August 25, 2011 at 2:37 am

"The return of the cursed line..."
It has come back to haunt the multiscreen versions. o.O

Wed August 24, 2011 at 10:19 pm

"@Bryan and @Ryan"
thanks for the links! Well shut my mouth about my cloud comments, Ryan, sorry. You did a great job!! still V3 the best

Wed August 24, 2011 at 8:37 pm

"the last throes"
Nice to view planets from a perspective NOT in an orbit around a star. The star's corona's appear north-south while the orbs are east-west. Nice.

Wed August 24, 2011 at 6:29 pm

"more thoughts"
What I like about the third version is the way the eye is drawn around the nebula, without a planet shoved in my face to disrupt the flow.

Wed August 24, 2011 at 3:30 pm

I would say that the "Dusty Iris" nebula photo you posted was the initial inspiration for this one (along with watching "Wonders of the Universe" on Discovery).

Wed August 24, 2011 at 2:38 pm

"Multiscreen Versions"
The version for multiple monitors is rendering now!

Wed August 24, 2011 at 2:37 pm

"Much Better"
I love the latest version. I can think of several intergalactic photos that this resembles and as such it has the feel of being in one of those solar systems.

For example here is a NASA image called

“A Dusty Iris Nebula” http://apod.nasa.gov/apod/ap110804.html

or “Sisters of the Dusty Sky” http://apod.nasa.gov/apod/ap101118.html

The reality of the Universe is always surprising.

Thank you again!!

Wed August 24, 2011 at 9:19 am

"Much Better"
I love the latest version. I can think of several intergalactic photos that this resembles and as such it has the feel of being in one of those solar systems.

For example here is a NASA image called

“A Dusty Iris Nebula” http://apod.nasa.gov/apod/ap110804.html

or “Sisters of the Dusty Sky” http://apod.nasa.gov/apod/ap101118.html

The reality of the Universe is always surprising.

Thank you again!!

Wed August 24, 2011 at 9:18 am

"Much Better"
I love the latest version. I can think of several intergalactic photos that this resembles and as such it has the feel of being in one of those solar systems.

For example here is a NASA image called

“A Dusty Iris Nebula” http://apod.nasa.gov/apod/ap110804.html

or “Sisters of the Dusty Sky” http://apod.nasa.gov/apod/ap101118.html

The reality of the Universe is always surprising.

Thank you again!!

Wed August 24, 2011 at 9:18 am

"Love the second one"
Great space sceens as always/

Wed August 24, 2011 at 8:17 am

"The Last Throes (2011)"
Not really for me, prefer images with more colour & brightness :)

Wed August 24, 2011 at 3:07 am

I'm personally not a fan of the dust still, in my opinion there seems to be a disjoint between it and the rest of the scene.

I do however love version 2, it is quite close to what I wished for earlier. Sadly I feel that the images best characteristic, its vast uncluttered scale, has been lost completely by the growth of the ringed planet. Therefore I would love if there could be either a dustless version of vers. 3 or a large planet-less version of vers. 2.

(What follows is only my opinion and I hope you can consider it positive criticism rather than blind complaining)

Perhaps it is my own more minimalistic viewpoint coming up at odds but I feel (as you have had the programs and computing horsepower to express those scenes previously impossible) that your images are becoming overly "busy". For example 'Dødenfell' has a complex mountain scape, lightning, multiple layers and colours of clouds, an eruption and a very densely star filled sky. I would maintain that your best images are those that have only one main focus with a near uninterrupted view of it (in the space genre see 'Hidden Forces' and 'Crucible Planet') and that the number of such images has dropped. I'll take two examples: my favourite images are still 'Dispersion' and 'Highland Spring'. Both these have the possibility of adding more, such as more chemical equipment or fires and flocks of birds but their cleanness is what will always attract me to them (say over the rest of the Highland series). I hope from this rambling "critique" you might be able to take away a feeling that certainly some of us believe in the "less is more" belief.

I want to say I am always glad when another piece arrives, thank you.

Wed August 24, 2011 at 0:14 am

The more episodes of "Wonders of the Universe" I watch, the more this image resonates...

Tue August 23, 2011 at 9:12 pm

"colors :/"
I think I like version 3 best--but on all of them the colors just seem kind of... putrid? Maybe it's just me, but I'm kind of turned off by it. Otherwise, it's a really interesting image.

Tue August 23, 2011 at 5:59 pm

"V3 - BEST"
After having version 3 on desktop all day, ive gotta say its sticking with me. Its crisp and defined with plenty of action going on. I think this one will stay for a while. Thanks Ryan.

Tue August 23, 2011 at 4:31 pm

I like the v3 version. It gives a sense of the solar system being blown away. Awesome!

Tue August 23, 2011 at 3:55 pm

I've re-uploaded the hi-res files and these should fix the "line" issue. I'm still not sure what caused that!

Tue August 23, 2011 at 2:23 pm

"There's a line in the image!"
I know I sound like a broken record here, but that line across the lower right corner is bugging me to no end. I just hope it's fixed before the multiscreen renders get started...

Tue August 23, 2011 at 1:52 pm

"It's a Miss"
I have been a member here for at least 7 years and I have to say this is not a good picture. I don't like any of the versions. Just my opinion.

Tue August 23, 2011 at 9:16 am

Thanks for the heads up. Actually that link is supposed to bring up a directory listing (and moving up will allow you to browse the directory structure of the Pickle Jar). There isn't a security issue because only Members can browse the PJ.

That said, I really need to write a script to display the PJ contents in a prettier format...

Tue August 23, 2011 at 9:12 am

"heads up"
Clicking on "all resolutions" is getting me FTP listings, and I can navigate up to your picklejar folder on your web server. probably not a good thing security-wise.

Tue August 23, 2011 at 8:42 am

"v.3 Thoughts"
The rings of the largest planet in v.3 are almost completely obscured by the cloud mass in front in front of them. My preference in 1 vs. 3 is 1 as a clear winner, but 1 vs. 2 is a little closer as I feel they are differently appealing and compliment each other somewhat. Perhaps the multi-screen renders could marry the two imaginings of the larger planet around a single dying star

If I may be so presumptuous, now might be a good time for your long-posted wisdom from Leonardo, "Art is never completed, only abandoned."

Tue August 23, 2011 at 8:39 am

"v3 is the best..."
I think you've got it!

Tue August 23, 2011 at 8:29 am

""The Last Throes v3"
this is so much better than the first two, you perfected it. Great job Ryan.

Tue August 23, 2011 at 8:29 am

"Stick to version 1"
Version 3 is OK, but the dark dust in the bottom left corner looks as if it had been photographed while turning the camera! These blurry and perfectly parallel edges are not my taste.

But OK, now everyone has a version he's happy with :-)

Tue August 23, 2011 at 6:58 am

I like it, but there is maybe a bit too much red around the star...

Tue August 23, 2011 at 4:54 am

"i prefer the original"
The 2nd and 3rd version are really nice, but i definately prefer the original.

The dust is more realistic and the small foreground planet provides some scale for the size of the nebula.

Tue August 23, 2011 at 2:44 am

"Version 3"
Liking Version 1 & 3. I didn't like the pov of V2. I really liked V1 on my smartphone, but agreed with others that larger sizes didn't have enough color and seemed "dull".

Version 3 has more color and better "action". Not sure how I feel about the new dust method. Still seems like it needs work, but I like the overall look to Version 3. Love your space scenes.

Tue August 23, 2011 at 0:07 am

"Version 3"
Yep, this one. Smaller planets with a much improved dust cloud. Fabulous. You'll multi-screen this one? (Please!)

Mon August 22, 2011 at 9:09 pm

Awesome work, as always! :)

Mon August 22, 2011 at 8:58 pm

"Third time's a charm"
I love how the dust in the foreground looks like it's about to fly out of the screen. The smaller planet is much better too. But that blasted line is still in the lower right corner! It bugs me.


Ringed planets are quite common actually. The rings usually aren't like Saturn's though. More like Jupiter and Uranus where you don't really see the rings until you get close.

Mon August 22, 2011 at 7:08 pm

"third time's ..."
This is a huge improvement! The added contrast and color are great. I still think it looks too much like regular clouds but they are no longer distracting and I especially like the ones in the upper left that are lighter. This one gets my vote.

Mon August 22, 2011 at 6:36 pm

Chris B
"Fast Dust"
v.3 is awesome, it's just like i was picturing it :)

Mon August 22, 2011 at 6:04 pm

"Love the third one"
I am definitely liking the third one the most so far. The position of the elements, including the dust, work for me.

Mon August 22, 2011 at 5:19 pm

I think the dust on the third one is better; it's the best version of the three.

Mon August 22, 2011 at 5:17 pm

I worked a bit more on my Vue d'Esprit "space dust" process today and I've posted a third version of "The Last Throes" this afternoon. I feel a lot better about this one than the first version. Hope you like it!

Mon August 22, 2011 at 4:59 pm

"Prefer the 2nd rendering so far "
I like the 2nd one so far due to the arrangement of the planet and the nebula. The planet looks better coming into view from the left side. I really like the "solar" flair rings around the nebula. Stars above left of the planet may be too dense, but still one of my favs in recent history. Keep up the awesome work!

Mon August 22, 2011 at 4:41 pm

"ringed planet"
Shrink the ringed planet by about 1/3, add in your new dust and I think you'll have another winner in my book.

Mon August 22, 2011 at 1:06 pm

Henry V.
"Rings need a little attention"
Ryan, the rings seem a bit off. Portions of them should be illuminated. This is another chance to get some more color in the image. I know you're not trying to take away too much from the star and the dust.

Mon August 22, 2011 at 9:49 am

"New Clouds"
Thanks for all the great feedback! I've been working in Vue this morning to improve my space dust. The next version should be clearer (like the second version) but the dust lanes should look much better.

Mon August 22, 2011 at 9:35 am

"Both good but"
Ultimately I think I prefer the first version. They're both great though as my favorites are always planetscapes, so I'll happily take two. More please!

Mon August 22, 2011 at 8:42 am

"Nice but..."
...I do prefer the original. The planet now is taking all the attention away from the lovely nebula. I liked the dust in the original but if you don't think it looked right, keep working at it, I think it is a neat idea. Maybe get rid of the ringed planet entirely, too be honest they almost seem like a cliche (are they common in reality? I don't know.)

Mon August 22, 2011 at 8:28 am

I dont mind the dust so much. The environment seems more believable but it wouldnt hurt to cut back a little. The smaller planet and other mooms appeal much more than the large circle in the other one. Maybe a bit more attention to the planet for some highlights or color could help spruce it up.

Over all prefer the first.

Mon August 22, 2011 at 7:57 am

"The first I think"
I prefer the first version as well. The huge planet in the second is too ehhh flat and big.

Mon August 22, 2011 at 7:44 am

"Prefer the first version"
Admittedly, I was in the camp that liked the dust, but I prefer the first one but largely because the planets were smaller and thus more balanced with the stellar formation/anomaly.

In the second version, the foreground planet is too large for my liking, which is mostly relevant because the planet is largely dark, so it just ends up being a dark patch on an otherwise interesting starfield.

Mon August 22, 2011 at 5:08 am

"The original"
Both versions are good, but I prefer the original. I prefer the perspective on the first one above the second one. I also like the dust, though it would maybe be even better if the dust is al little less dense (if that's correct English)

Do you realize btw that your 480x320 crop is actually at 480x450 (not only in this image but for quite some time now)

Mon August 22, 2011 at 3:10 am

Chris B
I agree with RC, the perspective on the first one is perfect, the 2nd is more the norm and i like the extra color in the planet.

The dust does seem a little too opaque as others have said they fell like cleaning their screen lol. I think if you thinned it out, added some color reflecting from the white dwarf, and put more "motion" in the dust (if that's possible) it would make it look better. The dust along the right bottom corner looks like it is being blown away from the newly formed white dwarf. The rest just doesn't have the sense of motion. I could see where that would be hard to do with the dust coming towards the screen, but then you've done some amazing things :)

Sun August 21, 2011 at 9:40 pm

RC Davison
"Version 2 versus version 1"
Both images are great in their own right. I really like the perspective in the first version, which shows the planet and its moons from a distance. The dust is clunky, but I think it would work if it was either more diaphanous or more opaque and distributed more linearly about the image as opposed to the clumps.

Keep up the great work.

Sun August 21, 2011 at 8:36 pm

Tony K
"The Original"
Space isn't perfect by any means. The dust in the first one made it seem more gritty and real, to me. Either way, both are great. Your space scenes are always phenomenal.

Sun August 21, 2011 at 8:35 pm

"Second nitpick..."
Is there a second light source? The terminator (line between light and dark) on the largest foreground planet doesn't look right. It looks like it's caused by two light sources but we only see one.

Sun August 21, 2011 at 7:29 pm

"V2 > V1"
I like the second version much better than the first one. Although there's a line across the lower right corner of V2 that bothers me considerably. =P

Sun August 21, 2011 at 7:01 pm

"Second Version"
The second version is much better in my opinion. True it is much more 'ordinary', but I found that the first one really just wasn't something I would want on my computer. Like someone else said it just kept making me want to clean it off.

Sun August 21, 2011 at 6:15 pm

"Definitely the Dust"
I definitely prefer the version with dust. It was one of the more interesting aspects of the first picture for me. I also prefer the way the planet was positioned in the pickle jar version. This one is too up close and feels a bit off for some reason to me. I wish I could figure out why exactly it bugs me. Maybe since it's so much closer to the foreground of the picture, it feels as though it needs more detail that is lacking, whereas the distance the planet is in the first rendition didn't need as much.

Sun August 21, 2011 at 5:24 pm

Jeff K
Personally, I think the first version with the dust was better. But thats just me. Both version are great.

Sun August 21, 2011 at 5:00 pm

"All good!"
All good man, keep up the good work!

There is no end to creativity (and you've got lots of it). Continue!

Sun August 21, 2011 at 4:15 pm

""The Last Throes""
Here's a second, more "conventional" version of "The Last Throes", without the "dust experimentation" that some thought muddied the scene. The original version will staying the Pickle Jar. Which do you prefer?

Sun August 21, 2011 at 2:26 pm

A few brighter stars in the background might add just what you need to this image (say, a main sequence star or two that's 1 to 5 light years away). However, even if you dont, i love this! Excellent work, ryan. I'm thrilled with your amazing work as always. Space scenes are definitely my favorite type of wallpaper. Needless to say, this is already the wallpaper on my laptop, and when the multi-screens are released i'll be putting it on my desktop as well :-)

Sun August 21, 2011 at 1:29 pm

"Larger view adds depth and subtlety"
I was all set to jump on the band wagon for the add a little interest/color point of view. Then I viewed it at the full screen resolution and the difference is amazing. The greys of the background between the stars become closer to a navy blue and the speckles of the stars go from being more or less a uniform white to varied with other single stars of different hues.

Good Job Ryan Glad I took a closer look!

Sun August 21, 2011 at 11:00 am

"Like it!"
This one could use a little color in the planets, but otherwise this is great.

Sun August 21, 2011 at 10:57 am

"This has potential"
I love the overall idea (a dying star) - however, I think this image would look much better if there was less gray and more black. That would help bring out the star and the planets.

Sat August 20, 2011 at 7:04 pm

"All Time Favorites"
Ryan, I LOVE this new image. "experimental" and incredible in the depth, the layering, and the composition. In my opinion, this image is a success and I would love to see you play around with this layering technique more. Keep up the great work, this is one of my all time favorites.

Sat August 20, 2011 at 6:51 pm

"space dust"
It is a different perspective from seeing the dark side of the planet. I am wondering whether you can add any light refraction in the space dust.

Sat August 20, 2011 at 11:36 am

"space dust"
It is a different perspective from seeing the dark side of the planet. I am wondering whether you can add any light refraction in the space dust.

Sat August 20, 2011 at 11:36 am

Henry V.
"Impressive! Needs a little color on the planets"
I would love to see some more color, especially on the rings of the largest planet. The planets just look too muted. Adding some color will bring a little more life into the piece of art imo. Otherwise I love it!

Sat August 20, 2011 at 11:29 am

It's okay, but I have some issues with the composition, in that the only interesting, colorful thing going on is in one spot well off-center from the frame, drawing the eye to it. I think I agree with Spike below, that the colors for everything except the single star are pale and gray. Even the planets are all just silhouettes. In short, the only 'action' place in the picture is that one spot; everything else feels static.

And I say this as someone who has loaded ChronoWall with nearly all of your dual-screen planetscapes.

Sat August 20, 2011 at 11:17 am

This image certainly pays homage to the older space art. Despite what others are saying. You should definitely do more stuff like this. Keep up what your doing.

Sat August 20, 2011 at 10:09 am

This one is awesome! I can't wait for the multiscreen!

Sat August 20, 2011 at 9:19 am

"I like the composition, but not so much the colors"
Overall, I think it's an interesting composition... though the colors are generally pale and sickly, in a sense. Perhaps less realistic, but ofttimes your stellar works are quite vivid and colorful, and I usually find them quite beautiful. From an artistic perspective, the prevalence of pale, wan colors in an image of a dying star feels appropriate - though it doesn't make me want to set this image as a wallpaper, either.

Sat August 20, 2011 at 9:05 am

"Too smokey"
The dust isn't clumpy enough to be realistic. It looks too smokey which isn't how dust behaves in space. And the foreground dust looks too much like ink in water, again, not how dust behaves in space.


Sat August 20, 2011 at 9:03 am

"I really like it."
Reminds me of your old "Iris Nebula" image, which is one of my all-time favorites. Only criticism might be the ring planet draws too much attention. Maybe make it about half the size and take off the rings?

Sat August 20, 2011 at 8:53 am

I think that this has some interesting prospects, however (and its a huge however) I don't feel this works. The "dust" looks like huge smudges on the screen, they appear to have lost all depth both within themselves and with respect to the scene. You can mostly only tell where they are in space when there is something directly in front of them and then this can leave the object (top left planet) with a "cut out and stuck back on" feel.

I would love a version with out any dust at all. I think the effects on the sun and the rest of the planet scene are brilliant. If the star-y background was clean it would give an amazing sense of loneliness to this one system 'as it collapse into itself all alone in the vastness'.

Sat August 20, 2011 at 8:25 am

David M
"A Dying Star"
Ryan - I think this looks great. It is cool to see this new work of yours this morning as I just visited a planetarium yesterday. I like the coloration of the dust radiating from the star. If I may - I think the planet in the foreground is a bit too large. Also what would you think of adding a brighter star or two in the background, or say, a small star cluster?

Sat August 20, 2011 at 8:23 am

Lovely image! Can't wait for tri-screen!

Sat August 20, 2011 at 6:56 am

"Technically interesting, but..."
this one just makes me want to clean my monitor screen.

Sat August 20, 2011 at 6:37 am

"Mysterious and Majestic"
I always prefer the "in space" version of your planetscapes and this one is no exception. If you get chance, I'd love a dual-screen version.

Sat August 20, 2011 at 6:26 am

"Realistic indeed"
I also find the dust here more realistic than in previous works. But then, your other works were great, too, despite being not so realistic (or maybe just because of that)...

This dying star or whatever looks great! Maybe you could make it a bit larger so that the dust doesn't dominate the scene too much.

After all, I would accept this as a real new wallpaper, not just "experimental".

Sat August 20, 2011 at 3:39 am

I'm good with everything but the foreground layer. It looks too much like regular clouds and just detracts from the whole. The focal point, the "phenomena", is diminished and it lacks harmony. I just want to get that out of my way. Maybe more translucent or loose particulate matter would be better? Great piece otherwise and thanks for letting us share in your experiments!

Sat August 20, 2011 at 0:49 am

"Last throes"
A dying star... indeed, a dying solar system. Chances are any life has long since vanished from the star's time as a red giant. The lifeless effect comes through. I like it a lot.

Well, people want shiny pictures for wallpaper, though, right? Hmmm. Could waves of stellar matter be ripping at planets, smearing the largest one's rings? Maybe it's pre-nova, collapsing, and though not necessarily true to physics, it starts pulling in its planetary children?

Fri August 19, 2011 at 10:41 pm

"White dwarf?"
I'm assuming that is suppose to be a white dwarf?

Fri August 19, 2011 at 10:08 pm

"Very Realistic"
I've worked in a planetarium for quite some time, and am a huge astronomy fan (one of the reasons I love your work so much!) This is very realistic, and one of my favorites. Keep it up, Ryan!

Fri August 19, 2011 at 9:45 pm

"Cosmic Eye?"
It kinda looks like a giant cosmic eye, but I really like this image.

Fri August 19, 2011 at 9:39 pm

I think the areas around the edges where the stars show the brightest should be clearer from dust to add contrast. It does lack a little in color also. Other than that it looks great.

Fri August 19, 2011 at 8:21 pm

""The Last Throes "
this has way to much grey in it. Just not up to par with your usual work.

Fri August 19, 2011 at 7:41 pm

John N.
"To JK"
LastPass does still work. I log into the site all the time with it (including this time). As far as The Last Throes goes, seems like the dust should "sparkle" more. I think the surrounding planets could use a little color as well. They look too much like silhouettes.

Fri August 19, 2011 at 7:25 pm

"very realistic"
AS a long time fan of both Ryan's work and the Astromony Picture of the Day Archive provided by NASA, I can safely say that is one of your most realistic space scenes ever!

It's beautiful :)

Fri August 19, 2011 at 7:19 pm

"Tired of logging in"
Why doesn't Lastpass work here anymore?

Fri August 19, 2011 at 7:04 pm

"Agree with Ted"
I think Ted put his finger on it. It does look good, but more contrast with dustless space and colors would enhance it overall.

Fri August 19, 2011 at 5:58 pm

I like it, as a start, but it looks rather 2-dimensional.

Fri August 19, 2011 at 5:00 pm

"Planetscape FTW"
Experiment or not, I couldn't be happier to see you working on what I believe to be your strongest suit - planetscapes! Those and abstracts are why I joined, and why I will continue to come back. Do me proud Ryan!

Fri August 19, 2011 at 4:21 pm

"Nice Experiment"
I think this one turned out quite well. You get the feeling of the close up dust from the planets and the distant dust, which is what I imagine you were going for.

Fri August 19, 2011 at 3:08 pm

"A little too dusty"
Compare with your other space scenes where regions of clarity shine through (Agni has red space dust but it does not cover the entire image). Must make some of the beauty of the singularity colors pierce the dust.

Fri August 19, 2011 at 3:07 pm

All new and renewing Members will receive
a signed "Thank You" postcard.

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓


Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)


Recent Guardians:
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons:
  • Eric Eidson -- (9/30/15)
  • Tim Honkalammi -- (09/22/15)
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Jeanne Dowd -- (9/30/15)
  • Ryan Oldaker -- (9/30/15)
  • Claire Fairbank -- (9/29/15)
  • Arwyn Roberts -- (9/28/15)
  • Matthew Pounsett -- (9/23/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!

"Idyll (2004)"
Only 111 Downloads!

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy