Minimal Surfaces

Free Downloads:

Single-Screen Downloads (Members Only)

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)


8.10/10 rating
(126 Members Voted)

Print Available!

Experimenting with "Scherk" Minimal Surfaces here. I know it's a simplistic looking render, but it makes a nice counterpoint to my last abstract :-)

Member Comments

Ben
"Tri-screen Pickles"
I love them all, would it be possible for triple screen for all the pickles?

Tue February 28, 2017 at 10:23 am

Joe
"Flashback"
I love this one, Ryan. It reminds me strongly of some old DB favourites, "Singularity" and "Something Blue". That crisp, unbusy quality is definitely a good thing and something I wouldn't mind seeing in your future work!

Thu January 26, 2017 at 7:07 pm

Rodewaryer
"Purity"
An exercise in clarity and focus, no pun intended but it is very cool!

Mon January 23, 2017 at 7:21 am

Chris
"Variety!"
Gotta say, I'm more partial to the original blue, the green, the red, and especially the black. The purple and yellow I could take or leave. I also love the swirl design; for some reason, it makes me think of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (the Tim Burton version). Keep up the good work!

Sat January 21, 2017 at 11:41 pm

Charlie
"Beautimus"
I doubt that's an art term but it looks really great on my monitor. Speaking of which I have one small request, would you please make a 3440x1440 version of the red? Maybe I'm blind but couldn't see it. I want all of the colors!

Sat January 21, 2017 at 9:38 am

Ben
"Minimal colors"
I've always liked blues, but thave to admit I loke the purple and red as well.

Thu January 19, 2017 at 3:00 pm

Todd
"Even Better with Color Variations"
If I had to pick just one it would have to be black right now but the purple you just added is 1/2 a point lower. I agree with Len a silver would give a brushed stainless look.

Thu January 19, 2017 at 7:26 am

Len
"Sometimes Simpler is Better"
Ryan, don't sell yourself short on minimalism. It's a nice change to some of the busier renders, and may likely appeal to some folks who haven't yet seen your work.



All pop (except maybe the yellow). If I had to pick, green or purple would win. I can't help thinking that if you tried silver, you might get a nice "brushed nickel" quality. Excellent work as usual!

Wed January 18, 2017 at 1:27 pm

cmmnoble
"Colors!"
My favorites of the new colors are the green and the purple--but they are all wonderful. I like how each color enhances different details from the swirl. :-)

Wed January 18, 2017 at 1:17 pm

Richard H.
"Love the variety"
I *really* like all the different coloured versions, and can't pick any favourites; they all work really well. Maybe yellow is the least successful, but I like all of them very much.

In fact, at the risk of being tiresome, I wonder if you might even be willing to do a few more colours? I can visualise the following working well: Orange; Cyan; White; Silver (silver being a sort of mid-grey, about halfway between black and the proposed white).

Wed January 18, 2017 at 8:45 am

Ozaawaagosh
"Love all"
But if I were forced to pick just 2, it would be the Green and Purple

Wed January 18, 2017 at 5:56 am

Ageless Word
"Slips n Falls"
Sometimes when the ground below us is less stable then we perceive. We slip on the most precarious of falls. Beautiful work Brother.

Tue January 17, 2017 at 10:58 pm

macolva
"Love them all"
Some of my favorite works are your abstracts that work with so many color options. (Thinking back of Azula (rainbow), Latticework (green), and The Comb (red)... all so good!) currently, I have the original Minimal Surfaces at my work computer and red on my personal. But they are all beautiful!

Tue January 17, 2017 at 2:46 pm

Momcat
"Beautiful on Many Levels"
All of them are gorgeous, but in answer to your question, it's the Purple for me. I put it up as my Desktop Background as soon as I saw it. Vibrationally, it's amazing and its beauty has shown the the Rabbit Hole in a more positive light.

Tue January 17, 2017 at 1:28 pm

Jo C
"Awesome"
Loved the blue. Loved the black. Went "wow!" at the purple. New favourite.

Tue January 17, 2017 at 12:23 pm

Ozaawaagosh
"Love it"
I really love the purple colour you've added, Great job

Tue January 17, 2017 at 10:40 am

Josh
"Great abstract!"
I'm not usually a fan of abstracts, but this one made me go "wow!". Especially the pickle jar versions, I love how they're the same thing, but different colors. 10/10!

Mon January 16, 2017 at 6:00 pm

David w
"minimalistic beauty"
Wow! I love it! I really hope you do more minimalistic type art more often!

Mon January 16, 2017 at 10:50 am

Brian
"Love"
I use your simple pieces when need to be in the code zone and want minimal distractions. Thank you for another piece to add to deep thoughts directory. :)

Sun January 15, 2017 at 9:42 pm

Sam
"Nice change"
I like it. It does indeed make a nice change and I'd like to see more of this style.

Sun January 15, 2017 at 4:34 pm

Sam
"Nice change"
I like it. It does indeed make a nice change and I'd like to see more of this style.

Sun January 15, 2017 at 4:34 pm

docster
"At first sight..."
...I thought, "What's this? A Möbius strip on acid?" Seriously, though, Ryan, I dig this. The texture reminds me of the twisted cables of a suspension bridge (a few days ago, I happened to view a documentary on the construction of the Mackinac Bridge). I also like how it appears chaotic at the periphery, but, as I burrow down through the center, more sedate and serene. A core of peace.... Nicely done!

Sun January 15, 2017 at 11:28 am

Jenanne
"Great Abstract!"
So simple and yet so compelling -- I love your abstracts, Ryan. I'm particularly fond of the red and black, but all the colors work. Great!

Sun January 15, 2017 at 1:08 am

Ozaawaagos
"AWESOME"
Yes, Thank you so very much for letting us see the other colours, there all bloody AWESOME.

Sat January 14, 2017 at 7:00 am

Carysta
"I love this..."
But the green one from the pickle jar is my very favourite render on this one. Thank you for letting us see the different ones :) They are all pretty awesome.

Sat January 14, 2017 at 1:42 am

Jock
"One more colour?"
My son says it would be cool to see it in purple.

Sat January 14, 2017 at 1:13 am

Ozaawaagosh
"Great Colour"
I love the colour, it would be cool to see it in a variety of colours. Beside the great colour, the less is more simplicity is just eye catching, another Great job.

Fri January 13, 2017 at 7:29 am

Susan
"Love the colours"
One of the nicest ones I have seen for a while. The colours are great and I really like the swirls. Can we have more like this please???

Fri January 13, 2017 at 2:01 am

Scott
"Love it"
This is a really great one. Like others have mentioned, I would love to see the same thing in a whole series of colors.

Thu January 12, 2017 at 2:13 pm

Telaria
"Interesting!"
This is definitely different and a nice change of pace! I love the colors, and the way that it appears to be metallic in nature. Nice!!

Thu January 12, 2017 at 0:16 am

Patrick
"Beauty in simplicity"
Love this one, and I imagine rendering this in other colours is not too CPU-intensive. Could we have a slightly darker blue please?

Thu January 12, 2017 at 0:11 am

Ryan
"Nice!"
There's beauty in simplicity, keep experimenting with this theme.

Wed January 11, 2017 at 9:44 pm

Chris
"Awesome....as always"
Will there be different colors made? I'm partial to Mountain Dew green. :)

Wed January 11, 2017 at 9:11 pm

Bryan Carmody
"Sometimes Less is Really More"
Ryan, Just wanted to say I love this latest wallpaper - when you blow it across a 24 inch display its mezmorizing - there is a serenity and satisfaction from the curves and symmetry that is really refreshing! LOVE IT!

Wed January 11, 2017 at 8:20 pm

Mario Carini
"Minimal Surfaces"
One lovely looking fractal. Or perhaps it's whirlpool to draw the eye into it.

Wed January 11, 2017 at 7:46 pm

Glynne
"Minimal Surfaces"
Serene but at the same time there's a hint of danger as if at any moment the aperture will open and its inhabitant, or the coil itself, will pounce.

Wed January 11, 2017 at 6:06 pm

Cheli
"Trippy and mesmerizing"
The design swirls and makes me dizzy looking at it if I stare too long. Blue is good--very good and my favorite--that's what I liked about your work when I first came across it--all the blue stuff! Although like others suggested, it'd be cool in another color. I'd love it in purple or some other rich jewel tone). :)

Wed January 11, 2017 at 4:20 pm

SethEden
"PERFECT!!"
Ohhh I love this one!!! :-D Perfect! Don't change a thing!!

Wed January 11, 2017 at 1:13 pm

Xetal
"Love the simplicity"
A nice contrast with the (IMHO) too-fussy Avarice. It takes all sorts and you provide them. Thanks, Ryan!

Wed January 11, 2017 at 1:01 pm

Xyverz
"Brighter than I like, but I like it anyway!"
It's definitely brighter than I normally like, but I like it anyway.



Any chance of this in a couple of different color schemes? Maybe an Orange or Purple version?

Wed January 11, 2017 at 12:24 pm

Lynn Marzinski
"Minimal Surfaces"
Ooooohhhh! Cool!!! How about other colors?

Wed January 11, 2017 at 11:24 am

Tracy
"Minimal"
Awesome! Made better by color choice!

Wed January 11, 2017 at 11:01 am

Lisa
"Beautiful"
Gorgeous image, and my favorite color scheme. The texturing is a nice touch.

Wed January 11, 2017 at 10:59 am

mph66
"So great!"
I love your designs that reveal intricate detail in simple lines. Some of your macro views of flowers are among the best. I live the texture that jumps off the page, here. More like this, please.

Wed January 11, 2017 at 10:30 am

Roita
"minimalistic"
Love it!

Wed January 11, 2017 at 10:23 am

Zach
"Love minimalistic abstracts"
Ryan, I really love this wallpaper, and hope that you continue to release ones like this in the future. As I mentioned on my review of "Dreams of Avarice", I don't use any desktop icons (or even a desktop environment). So, I really enjoy the more minimal approach! Thanks for this one! :)

Wed January 11, 2017 at 10:19 am

James
"Excellent"
A lovely change of pace. I really enjoy these types of wallpapers.

Wed January 11, 2017 at 10:13 am

Timmo
"10/10"
Perfect

Wed January 11, 2017 at 8:41 am

Todd
"Much Much Cleaner"
I like this a lot better than the last one. The last one was way too busy, it was very hard to see icons on my desktop. I second the request for different colors and shades. It has a brush metal texture so grayish/blackish color would be great too! Thanks Again!!

Wed January 11, 2017 at 8:37 am

NikB
"Nice"
Perfect wallpaper for my phone!

Wed January 11, 2017 at 0:52 am

Carysta
"Wow!"
I like this! I don't know what it is about it but I think it's lovely. :) Can it be done in other colours too? Like a bright red or deep green? For the pickle jar, n all :)

Wed January 11, 2017 at 0:35 am

Multiscreen Downloads (Members Only)

DB Recommends DisplayFusion

Dualscreen:

Triscreen:

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?
minimal-green1
9.13/10 rating (15 votes)

minimal-purple1
9.00/10 rating (14 votes)

minimal-black1
8.64/10 rating (14 votes)

minimal-red1
8.67/10 rating (12 votes)

minimal-yellow1
7.45/10 rating (11 votes)
Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play Get it on Windows 10

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2017 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy