8.02/10 rating (169 votes)
82 Comments

Dualscreen:
Triscreen:
Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

mistveilmountain1
8.53/10 rating (99 votes)

Member Comments

Theo
"Original is still great"
The original Mistveil Mountain is really good. It just popped up on my desktop and I didn't recognize it in comparison to it's more colorful counterpart. It really reminds me of Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim. All it needs is a dragon perched atop the mountain :)

Thu November 14, 2013 at 8:10 am

Theo
"Original is still great"
The original Mistveil Mountain is really good. It just popped up on my desktop and I didn't recognize it in comparison to it's more colorful counterpart. It really reminds me of Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim. All it needs is a dragon perched atop the mountain :)

Thu November 14, 2013 at 8:10 am

keeblerUT
"3840x1200 Please...."
I would really love this image in that size, the colors in this version are much more enjoyable late at night then the hues of the original. Thank you very much!!

Thu October 24, 2013 at 0:16 am

Jean Aspen
"Mistveil Mountain"
I so value your inspiring visions. I keep them before me as I write. They remind me to stay awake to mystery, joy, compassion, possibility, play

.

Wed October 16, 2013 at 11:13 pm

Jean Aspen
"Mistveil Mountain"
I so value your inspiring visions. I keep them before me as I write. They remind me to stay awake to mystery, joy, compassion, possibility, play

.

Wed October 16, 2013 at 11:12 pm

Jean Aspen
"Mistveil Mountain"
I so value your inspiring visions. I keep them before me as I write. They remind me to stay awake to mystery, joy, compassion, possibility, play. Thank you!

.

Wed October 16, 2013 at 11:00 pm

Gene
"MY PREVIOUS."
Sorry everyone -- I have no idea how or why my last comment tripled itself...

Tue May 14, 2013 at 7:47 pm

Gene
"8/10"
I like this one. I'd have given it a 10, but the texture of the rock face on the upper left of the image doesn't look right to me -- distractingly so. It looks like glare ice instead of raw rock. But hey, I still love it. Thanks again Ryan.

Tue May 14, 2013 at 7:46 pm

Gene
"8/10"
I like this one. I'd have given it a 10, but the texture of the rock face on the upper left of the image doesn't look right to me -- distractingly so. It looks like glare ice instead of raw rock. But hey, I still love it. Thanks again Ryan.

Tue May 14, 2013 at 7:46 pm

Gene
"8/10"
I like this one. I'd have given it a 10, but the texture of the rock face on the upper left of the image doesn't look right to me -- distractingly so. It looks like glare ice instead of raw rock. But hey, I still love it. Thanks again Ryan.

Tue May 14, 2013 at 7:45 pm

HolyGrail
"Tri-Screen???"
Love this version much more.....really would like a tri-screen of this.



Please! Please! Please!

Tue October 16, 2012 at 5:10 am

wfrazee
"Dual Screen of this One?"
really like this variation. Would it be possible to beg our way into a dual screen version?

Wed September 12, 2012 at 12:27 am

keeblerUT
"Dual screen of this blue one please"
the more I see this blue one the more I want to have it. 3840x1200 would work fabulous.

Wed September 12, 2012 at 10:16 am

David
"Crisp and Cool"
Growing up in the mountains the shads in this version make me feel those crisp clear nights. I am sure we will see more resolutions of this one!

Tue August 28, 2012 at 11:16 pm

courtney
"dual of the blue please"
I actually like this one better than the 'official' red one and would love to see it in dual screen, until then it's hanging out as my laptop background

Tue August 7, 2012 at 12:28 am

sixpach71
"dual version, please"
Ryan - I love this piece and would really love having a version for dual monitors.

Fri July 27, 2012 at 4:11 pm

Ryan
"@shirty"
Can I ask what browser you are using? You should only have to enter your login info once per visit.

Fri July 20, 2012 at 8:53 am

shirty
"website"
i continue to love these wallpapers on all my devices year after year, but ive had enough of this web layout. can't i just sign in once per visit? isn't is lax security to have user/ pass sent across the net over and over again. i think it's meant to be ssl also

Fri July 20, 2012 at 7:27 am

Ryan
"@revolut10n"
Thanks for renewing. Here's the 3360 x 1050 file.

Sat July 14, 2012 at 3:11 pm

revolut10n
"DualScreen resolutions"
Love this and renewed my membership on account of it. Unfortunately, there are no dual-screen renderings of this. I have 3360x1050.

Sat July 14, 2012 at 1:25 pm

Psyclone
"iPad HD?"
Is there an iPad HD render forthcoming for the new version?

Sat July 14, 2012 at 0:19 am

Jim
"best of both worlds?"
I'd actually like to see the blue version combined with the red version's aurora, since it's more colorful and would add the touch of contrast the blue version lacks.

Thu July 12, 2012 at 9:59 am

Tony
"Awsome!"
Dear Mr. Ryan, it's simply superb for my new desktop picture! Trully hope some day you'll make some more Aurora Borealis on the night sky. Stay well! Greetings from Slovenia. :)

Wed July 11, 2012 at 12:50 am

John N.
"Both versions look good!"
I really like both versions. They both stand out in their own way. Two 10 ratings here!

Wed July 11, 2012 at 9:14 am

rupietupe
"I love this!"
Both the red and blue are gorgeous, but the red is my favorite because of the pod and the aurora stand out more. I still have both downloaded, of course! Thanks so much; your art takes me to wonderful places!

Mon July 9, 2012 at 2:28 pm

Brian
"Blue Multiscreen"
Both versions are excellent on their own merits. Could you please render the blue version for multiscreen as well?

Mon July 9, 2012 at 9:25 am

Chris J
"Going Back in Time"
I like the blues and greens from the early version. The triple monitor render turned out pretty well in red. I noticed a lot of trees and water this past year. Time to mix it up with some fantasy stuff? Can I come over for table tennis?

Sat July 7, 2012 at 4:59 pm

Ryan
"@JK"
Weird things happen at the sides when I get into extreme camera angles. I would rather crop the top and bottom a little bit than add anything negative.

Sat July 7, 2012 at 3:08 pm

JK
"Wow, multi crops"
Shame it's so zoomed you can hardly see the sky or big mountain to the left.

Sat July 7, 2012 at 10:41 am

Rob E.
"RED!"
Loved the blue untill the red took my heart. The updated scene (Skyrim!) has greater depth. Really comes to life. Much more atmospheric.

Sat July 7, 2012 at 9:49 am

Coleman
"Blue is Better"
While both are great I prefer the blue over the red. Please render the dual and triple screen versions of the blue.

Sat July 7, 2012 at 8:22 am

Nelson
"Mixture :-)"
After playing a bit in GIMP, I decided to stick with a blended mixture of both scenes. So now I got a general blue landscape, but with a more colorful sky. :-P

Thu July 5, 2012 at 12:29 am

Rob
"More Resolutions Please!"
Could we get a 1600x900 version of this?

It's lovely :)

Wed July 4, 2012 at 7:00 pm

Markus
"Mountain Fix...or not?"
I might be alone in this, but I personally think the mountain on the right hand side in the first image looks correct. It forces you to look closely to see the contours, but it looks much more realistic once you focus on it. The red image, in contrast, makes the mountain look pastel-like in my opinion..makes the image look more fantastical.

Wed July 4, 2012 at 12:35 am

Jenanne
"Mosaics?"
At one time you posted info about several mosaics you'd done, but I can't seem to find the post about them anymore. One was for Portals; I can't remember the others. Could you please repost the info? Thank you!

Tue July 3, 2012 at 6:25 pm

cmmnoble
"Blue for me"
Both versions are quite nice. In the pink, the colors of the aurora really pop, and the mountain to the right has more contrast. But I think I like the blue version of this scene best because it is a little more subtle, and I definitely prefer the white flowers among the rocks in the foreground.

Tue July 3, 2012 at 10:39 am

David M.
"Love the Aurora"
Ryan, I like this one better than the first because I think the Aurora adds a critical element of color here. The addition of the whales is a nice touch. All-in-all it has a much warmer feeling than the first one. Great job!

Tue July 3, 2012 at 8:51 am

Billy
"Both are amazing!"
Once again you have created beautiful images that seem so real people ask me where they were taken when they see them on my phone.

Mon July 2, 2012 at 9:46 pm

Don
"Awesome pics both"
I like the original better, but I'm partial to blues

Mon July 2, 2012 at 5:11 pm

Fandeboris
"Awesome"
You have outdone yourself with this one!! 5 stars, A++ "10" even

Sun July 1, 2012 at 11:41 pm

Momcat
"Much Better!"
Were the mountains in both upper corners fixed in the red version? Could they be fixed in the blue, as well? I think that's one of the reasons I do prefer the red version because the mountains in the blue were always "wrong."

And I do prefer the white flowers; the red look like coals thrown up by some unseen volcano.

Sun July 1, 2012 at 8:10 pm

Joe
"Stunning"
I much prefer the pink version to the blue one.

Sun July 1, 2012 at 6:53 pm

Jason
"Impressive"
I really loved and appreciated the original, but the second version really spoke to me. Definitely hard to choose a favorite, but kudos either way.

Sun July 1, 2012 at 12:00 am

Jenanne
"Really!"
I voted high on the blue version, then wished I'd left the highest vating for the second version. I voted the same for both but prefer the second. The blue version just isn't colorful enough for me, perhaps because it's summer.



And oh! Are we ever going to get a summer version of "At World's Edge"? We have Autumn, Winter, and Spring -- how about summer?

Sun July 1, 2012 at 10:42 am

Ryan
"Really?"
People are saying the second version but voting for the first. Mmmm...

Sat June 30, 2012 at 10:42 pm

celmendo
"both...kind of"
I love the blue because I just find that to be a more pleasing color but the mountain on the right was off. The red version fixes that and is overall improved but I really don't like the fins. They don't seem to fit into the body of water the picture evokes in my mind at all and I also liked the flowers more white. Also the whole thing is hazy red to the point of almost being monochrome.

For my personal use, I reduced the red a bit, increased the contrast a bit, added a touch of blue (all which made the aurora pop a bit more and still left it very red) and took out the fins. But those are my personal nitpicky issues and overall the red version is superior. They are both beautiful, thanks!

Fri June 29, 2012 at 7:29 pm

Timmo
"Breathtaking"
Ryan, this new version is awesome. I loved the first one but the new one just draws my eyes into it even deeper. Thank you.

Fri June 29, 2012 at 5:41 pm

Ryan
"Re: Pod"
I usually do groups of three animals in my scenes but I chose four this time. Two adults and two little ones.

Fri June 29, 2012 at 4:52 pm

armadillo
"Color!"
New version is best, imho.

Fri June 29, 2012 at 4:43 pm

Todd
"Familiy"
Oh, to answer the family question, yes center of frame, lower third bar in the water. Almost looks like a pod of dolphin dorsal fins, until you zoom in.

Fri June 29, 2012 at 4:43 pm

Ryan
"Re: Aurora"
They both have the same aurora but the colors seem to pop more in the second version.

Fri June 29, 2012 at 3:37 pm

Tatiana
"Is it too much to ask for both?"
I honestly can't pick which one I like better. I like the first one for its coldness and feeling of isolation. I like the second one for the awesome aurora. Both are 10s for me.

Fri June 29, 2012 at 3:36 pm

Todd
"Blue"
I have to agree with the blue fans, I liked the blue better than the purple.



Being a Coloradoan, any chance for a fire tribute version? The firefighters out here are working their tails off trying to keep us safe!

Fri June 29, 2012 at 2:08 pm

PaulXX
"Blue is it!"
I really like the blue version. Mainly I am not a fan of the new color in general, but the other changes with texture are wonderful. I love your landscapes! Keep up the good work!

Fri June 29, 2012 at 1:11 pm

Dale
"Hmmm......"
I loved the first version because of the starkness and subject matter. I love being in the woods after a snowfall at night when it's all quiet and pristine. And seeing this type of image for the mountains is just beautiful. I'd really, really, really like to see it in a multiscreen.



The second image is intriguing in its own right. The colors are fantastic, and the aurora really sets things off. This one definitely deserves miltiscreen treatment too.



As a matter of fact, I think I'd like to get a wide poster made of the first image once the multiscreen is done.

Fri June 29, 2012 at 1:04 pm

gumboot
"New Color - Hands Down!"
Go with the new one. Love the improvements - all of them ;)

Fri June 29, 2012 at 11:19 am

Travis
"New Colors Are Amazing!"
Love the aurora borealis effects you added to the sky--this image really does it for me now. Even more haunting, yet majestic feel.

Fri June 29, 2012 at 11:11 am

Myles77
"Awesome wallpaper!"
This wallpaper is great! I'd personally like to see a little bit more.. I don't know... color? around the bottom coast, but this one will adorn my screen for quite awhile!

Fri June 29, 2012 at 10:49 am

Amaryllis
"A 10 from me"
I love this image, and the monochrome is haunting. So many ways to lose yourself in this one; exceptional, magnificent escapism for a moment during a work day.

Wed June 27, 2012 at 1:12 pm

Markus
"Unknown Kadath?"
All the weird sci-fi readers will know what I'm referring to by my title - the sheer height of the mountains and the mostly bleak / cold setting reminds me of HP Lovecraft's "The Dream quest of unknown kadath" where the outer gods rule over earth. This image is exactly how I pictured Kadath to look like in my imagination. Excellent render!

Tue June 26, 2012 at 3:42 pm

Gary
"Fantastic"
This looks fantastic on my Droid Razr Maxx... I did have to use a larger image and crop it myself, but it's something I have to do on a regular basis... it's too much to ask you to make wallpaper for every mobile device.

Tue June 26, 2012 at 8:21 am

Trav
"Top 10"
We should vote this as one of his top ten!

Mon June 25, 2012 at 7:26 pm

Russ
"Skyrim, LOTR, its all good"
That is the beauty with art. It can lend itself to inspiration and the creation of many splendid things. If you liked Skyrim then pick up "The Witcher 2". Just don't play it while the kids are around ;-)

Mon June 25, 2012 at 4:17 pm

Candy
"another cool image!"
I am really liking this image. I do agree with a couple of the other comments made. The clouds in the sky reminded me of the northern lights and I though how cool it would be if they were enhaced with a little more color. Also, the flowers in the foreground could use a little more color as well so they are more visible. One final thing, the mountain in the back on the right seems like it could use a little more detail. All in all it still is a very cool image!

Mon June 25, 2012 at 3:04 pm

Skyweir
"Monolith"
The image of the mountain on the right also recalls your earlier work, "Monolith". The two larger mountains help to frame the more detailed, closer central mountain while keeping the eyes moving over the entire image. Good composition!

Mon June 25, 2012 at 10:25 am

Chris B
"The biggest isn't always the most inspiring"
I love everything about this image except for the Left Mountain, I think you are going for snow covered, but I think it needs a little more detail or contrast to make it not seem so washed out. otherwise awesome!


Sun June 24, 2012 at 10:11 pm

Khyren
"Another favorite "
Kind of reminds me of Devil's Tower in Wyoming. But that could also be because I was recently there. Should be spectacular in Tri-screen.

Sun June 24, 2012 at 3:39 pm

Dan
"Snow on the right?"
Could be something on my end since no one has mentioned it yet, but the mountain on the right seems to have some shading errors. Looks like maybe snow not rendering right?



Great scene though!

Sun June 24, 2012 at 10:39 am

Ryan
"@Afya"
I was playing Skyrim back in January and this piece is definitely inspired by that game. I never finished the game though after my Dad's accident.

Sun June 24, 2012 at 9:53 am

Afya
"Mmm"
Have you been playing Skyrim? ;)

Beautiful.

Sun June 24, 2012 at 7:24 am

Anton
"Misty XD"
I love it :D nice render to showcase your new rig.

Sat June 23, 2012 at 9:44 pm

Wraith
"Excellent."
I love serene nature scenes like this. Your mountain scenes have quite literally been AWEsome. I'd love to see a sunrise/set version of this.

Sat June 23, 2012 at 8:50 pm

Trav
"Wow!!"
I cant wait for the multi-screens! It will be my new wallpaper the moment you post those. VERY good job! I am in awe of this incredible piece of art.

Sat June 23, 2012 at 7:43 pm

Hunter
"Very Lord of the Rings-esque"
...And that's a good thing!

Sat June 23, 2012 at 5:24 pm

Chris
"Fair game for improvement"
I hate to always be the critic of things, but I usually try to provide helpful feedback, and not just say "looks nice dude" and leave it at that. I felt it didn't make much sense to have the mountain in the middle be the focus of the picture, while both the mountains on the side of it were actually taller than the middle peak. It kinda takes away from the majesty of the main mountain. Also, I thought the ice on the other two peaks could be trimmed a bit. Other than that I like the idea. 2012 has produced some significantly improved images from the past two years, and I really like the variety you provide. Keep it up Ryan.

Sat June 23, 2012 at 4:43 pm

rupietupe
"Great, as always!"
I really like the feel of the cold with the flowers giving the promise of spring (maybe add a little color to the flowers to help them stand out a bit?). You mentioned the clouds; I thought they might be aurora, which would be awesome if they were colored just a little more. I agree with the right mountain having great placement but needing something. However, it is gorgeous even in the first rendering! It makes my day to see a new image of yours! :-)

Sat June 23, 2012 at 2:41 pm

dujeon
"Beautiful"
This is another beautiful image, i love this one, it has a touch of an ethereal feel to it which is awesome

Sat June 23, 2012 at 1:39 pm

Betsey
"TEN PLUS!!!!!"
if I could give it a higher number I would!!!!

Sat June 23, 2012 at 1:37 pm

anna_writr
"Almost..."
This is a spiffy image except for the far mountain on the right, which looks oddly undetailed, as if it were a bleached out photo. I dunno if the lighting will do it, but it could use a bit of contrast in the texture of the ice/snow.

Sat June 23, 2012 at 1:33 pm

Kana
"ooooooo...."
I like!

Sat June 23, 2012 at 1:25 pm

DCarver
"Wow!"
That looks awesome!

Sat June 23, 2012 at 12:43 am

Chris H
"Love Mountains!"
I love the idea of this new piece. Nothing more majestic than a mountain range. Especially in winter. I reside in Oregon and as I head in to Portland I can often see Mt. Hood off in the distance. Even in the summer its snow capped and gorgeous.



One small thing that could very well be just my eyes. The foreground detail looks almost out of place due to its crispness compared to the mountains that have an almost photo grain look due to the mist.



Don't get me wrong I think that its placement is perfect for the overall image. Just something about its detail seems odd. Can't really explain it better than that.



Overall its still beautiful and already added to my rotating landscape background.

Sat June 23, 2012 at 12:33 am

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)

THANKS TO:

Recent Guardians:
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
  • Glenn Crouch -- (7/18/15)
  • Kevin T -- (06/10/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Martin Pilot -- (9/1/15)
  • Dean Mills -- (9/1/15)
  • Natalia Najder -- (8/30/15)
  • Guy Sturdevant -- (8/27/15)
  • AJ Decker -- (8/24/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!



"California Poppies (2004)"
Only 23 Downloads!


digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy

Android apps on Google Play