A Member asked recently why I hadn't made an Easter picture since 2003 and I didn't have an answer. I guess I thought I had made as good an Easter Egg picture with the original Ostereier as I could possibly do.

Anyway, I recently tried to open up my 2003 scene file (to do a higher res render) and was horrified to see that some of my egg objects were missing. As I looked at the incomplete scene I started playing with a few of the eggs that were left and after a while I guess I had redone them all.

The resulting render is a little on the trippy side, but it is 4/20 after all...

Hope you like it!


8.02/10 rating (195 votes)
49 Comments

Dualscreen:
Triscreen:
Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

ostereier2k112
8.33/10 rating (3 votes)

Member Comments

Michelle
"Awesome"
I love the nod to the ancient Celts here.

Sat June 14, 2014 at 3:02 pm

Anne
"Magical Aviary"
These elegant eggs rest in the warm light until baby birds from a magical world emerge.

Wed December 19, 2012 at 8:37 am

Ryan
"@Mike D"

Wed April 4, 2012 at 10:19 pm

Mike D
"Love this"
Can you make for new iPad? For the holiday? Thanks.

Wed April 4, 2012 at 9:51 pm

OtherMike
"inverted Colors."
I've inverted the colors on my computer and boy does this look cool!

Thu December 15, 2011 at 2:43 pm

Ben
"The tight shot is good"
I like the shot, the desire to show more detail on individual eggs is where you stand out. Love the detail!

Wed April 27, 2011 at 2:59 pm

Ryan
"@Ralf"
Thanks for the feedback! I wanted to zoom in so I could add some DOF to the image.

Wed April 27, 2011 at 9:38 am

Ralf
"More Eggs?"
Very pretty, but I would have liked to see more eggs, as in your original. Keep up the good work!

Wed April 27, 2011 at 8:33 am

Dee
"A definite favourite"
I love this image- I have a dual screen set-up and it is such a delight to just look at the curves, colours and textures. I'm not sure why, but it reminds me of your images 'rocks 1' and 'rocks 2'- the light, the shapes?? Not sure, but, as always, I am in awe of your talent :)

Tue April 26, 2011 at 0:39 am

Logan
"@DAVdaBRAV"
I'm trying to think up a witty comeback to yours but all that's coming to mind is Humpty Dumpty. Oh well I guess it's not all it's cracked up to be.

Sun April 24, 2011 at 11:34 pm

Ryan
"Playbook"
It would seem that any device with an accelerometer to keep track of the orientation (iPad, Playbook, Xoom(?)) is going to require a square image.

Sun April 24, 2011 at 8:04 pm

cw
"Playbook"
1024x1024 fixes the problem :) ty

Sun April 24, 2011 at 6:30 pm

Terry
"Easter"
Happy Easter Ryan, hope you and you're family are enjoying it. Reallyl ike this, there are some cool texture effects in here.



T

Sun April 24, 2011 at 11:36 am

Terry
"Easter"
Happy Easter Ryan, hope you and you're family are enjoying it. Reallyl ike this, there are some cool texture effects in here.



T

Sun April 24, 2011 at 11:35 am

Ryan
"Playbook Res"
Then I should add the Playbook label to the 1024 x 1024 images. Thanks for the info!

Sat April 23, 2011 at 10:45 pm

DAVdaBRAV
"@cw, @Ryan"
Dang it! I was so focused on my yokes that I totally forgot to include happy Easter wishes! Better do another post...



"1024 x 1024 is the correct resolution, there are multiple places that discuss the screen rotation as the reason for this size. Hopefully this helps you, there is already a great wallpaper thread going with some great contributions from the community."



Yes, 1024x600 is the correct resolution for the screen at any given time, but it seems like the Playbook does the same thing as the Droid X and just stretches the wallpaper out to all possible areas on the "virtual" screen resolution.



I got the info from two forum posts (below). Hope this helps! :-D Happy Easter Everybody!



Sources:

http://forums.crackberry.com/showthread.php?t=607732

http://forums.crackberry.com/showthread.php?t=606529

Sat April 23, 2011 at 9:05 pm

cw
"re:ryan"
I wish I could tell you what the resolution is. everything i find says the same, but when i use a 1024X600 pic, it shows it at 100% and chops off 1/3 to 1/2 the pic..



The core pictures work fine, but i have no way of accessing them on my computer so can't see the resolution.



Sry.



Trial and error?

Sat April 23, 2011 at 8:30 pm

Ryan
"To the punsters..."
Very funny. Yolk yolk yolk!

Sat April 23, 2011 at 1:40 pm

DAVdaBRAV
"I can't resist..."
Eggcellent work once again Ryan! Although I like the original a little better, this is to dye for! Maybe it's because the first one's colors were more on the sunny side, or because there were more eggs. Alas, with only one monitor most of the new eggs are hidden off-screen! I know you could make it better if you had more time and wanted to work on it, but it's not like you've got all your eggs in one basket with Tropic of Thesis and Dolmen on the way--I can't find anything wrong this one anyway. I hope it wasn't over-easy for you. But, Ggee it looks shell! Easter anything you can't do?



wiew... >:)

Sat April 23, 2011 at 1:18 pm

The Guru
"@Brandi"
I can't believe you're letting Logan egg you on in this battle of puns...



BuDUM PSHH!



Ryan, I have to say that I like this one. I'll probably only have it up on Easter Sunday but it's a good one.

Sat April 23, 2011 at 12:18 am

Ryan
"re:Playbook"
I read the RIM Playbook had a 1024 x 600 screen size. Do you have a link to the correct size?

Sat April 23, 2011 at 7:47 am

cw
"playbook"
1024x600 is not the res of the playbook fyi, it is much smaller. i look forward to true size images as there are no sizing options for wallpaper on the playbook.



still love the art :)

Sat April 23, 2011 at 6:17 am

Roland
"Happy Easter!"
To you and your Family! Keep up the great work as always.

My laptop has all your wallpapers exclusively set as my screen saver.

Fri April 22, 2011 at 7:08 pm

David
"Focus"
Hi for some reason the eggs at full resolution seem really out of focus, or at least there is no single focus point in the image? The closest focus point I can tell is the top of the yellow/purple egg to the left, but that seems weird. I'm using the dual screen 5120x1600, but it looked similar in the 2560x1600. When fully zoomed out its not as noticeable. Anyone notice this as well?



If the focus could be fixed so these are sharper it would be amazing :)

Fri April 22, 2011 at 1:07 pm

Brandi
"@Logan"
Hahaha. I must have had scrambled brains when I posted that!

Fri April 22, 2011 at 10:42 am

Adi
"Dragon Eggs?"
Would love to see some cool dragon eggs in there. It /is/ Game of Thrones time after all!

Fri April 22, 2011 at 10:41 am

Adi
"Dragon Eggs?"
Would love to see some cool dragon eggs in there. It /is/ Game of Thrones time after all!

Fri April 22, 2011 at 10:41 am

Hunter
"Nice detail!"
While the style of this wallpaper doesn't really belond on my desktop, it does look amazing... the detail is immense! It looks like a photograph!

Fri April 22, 2011 at 5:05 am

Miguell026
"Ostereier (2011)"
Nice Ryan!



Very stylish.. EGGS!



Not bad at all!

tho i know for sure that if you really wanted to... you could do much much better! =)



cheers! happy EASTER!

Thu April 21, 2011 at 8:41 pm

Jeff
"Very Nice, Indeed!"
I actually prefer this one since the colors are not so....loud? I guess that's the best way I can describe it. Although, I prefer my backgrounds dark (i.e. Hidden Forces & Phraxis), so consider my review a bit biased in that regard.



Otherwise, like Logan said: "egg-cellent" :)

Thu April 21, 2011 at 7:19 pm

Lidia
"Ostereier 2011"
This is nice, but I actually like the original better; it looks more colorful.

Thu April 21, 2011 at 6:36 pm

Paul M
"Ostereier (2011)"
Ryan, Great Easter desktop wallpaper! I look foward to your next work of art!

Thu April 21, 2011 at 5:57 pm

Tim H
"Very Nice !"
Exactly what I was looking for ! Well done ryan, Happy Easter to you and your family !

Thu April 21, 2011 at 4:50 pm

Wraith
"Yay update!"
Never thought about an update for this since the original is still really good, but an update is always welcome! :D Pretty. :)

Thu April 21, 2011 at 4:16 pm

Ryan
"@Dyanne"
That is the highest of praise. Children are my biggest competition!

Thu April 21, 2011 at 12:04 am

Dyanne
"!"
Whoa! My wallpaper just went from a beautiful photo of my daughter to funky colored eggs! lol :) great job, Ryan!

Thu April 21, 2011 at 11:45 am

Logan
"@Brandi"
Don't you mean "egg-cellent"?



I crack myself up...

Thu April 21, 2011 at 11:45 am

Ryan
"@Mike"
Ooops! The links in the dropdown were wrong. They are fixed now. Apologies!

Thu April 21, 2011 at 10:45 am

Mike
"Oops..."
Put me down as having the same problem as Adamtrons - tried both the 1680x1050 and 1920x1200 link for the wallpaper and was taken to the fisherman link.

Thu April 21, 2011 at 10:21 am

Scott
"Even better"
I didn't think you could get any better than the earlier version either, but this one looks even more realistic! I especially like the swirly orange one that's sitting up toward the right.

Thu April 21, 2011 at 8:43 am

Jason B
"Very Cool"
Can't wait to see the dual-screen!

Thu April 21, 2011 at 7:44 am

Tina
"Nice!"
I love the change but I still love the original too. (:

Thu April 21, 2011 at 7:01 am

Matt
"@Links need to be fixed"
I think it's fixed now :) Or i'm just lucky :)

Thu April 21, 2011 at 5:57 am

Adamtrons
"Links need to be fixed."
For some reason when I click the 1920 X 1080 link, it's going to the fisherman11080p.jpg (wrong one). I tried it from two different PC's and the same thing happened. :(

Thu April 21, 2011 at 2:59 am

YBNorml
"Very nice!"
Gotta love the little innuendo to 4/20

Thu April 21, 2011 at 1:15 am

Brandi
"Love it!"
Nice update to the excellent original.

Wed April 20, 2011 at 11:00 pm

Ettawen
"Very cool!"
Those eggs are awesome! ^^

Wed April 20, 2011 at 10:56 pm

John
"Good job"
The colors all look good and I like the designs on the eggs as well. Makes me wish I could do that to my eggs.

Wed April 20, 2011 at 10:02 pm

Palumbo
"Love It"
I love this one, a resolution that nicely fits my screen(1366 x 768). Colours are awesome, not crazy at all.

Wed April 20, 2011 at 9:52 pm

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)

THANKS TO:

Recent Guardians:
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
  • Glenn Crouch -- (7/18/15)
  • Kevin T -- (06/10/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Martin Pilot -- (9/1/15)
  • Dean Mills -- (9/1/15)
  • Natalia Najder -- (8/30/15)
  • Guy Sturdevant -- (8/27/15)
  • AJ Decker -- (8/24/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!



"Waveform (2013)"
Only 1 Downloads!


digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy

Android apps on Google Play