9.14/10 rating (557 votes)

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

7.00/10 rating (8 votes)

Member Comments

jona(h) li
illusions of shifting shapes - art impressions = overwhelming

Fri May 15, 2015 at 5:12 am

"Wonderful and Amazing Piece"
I just wanted to let you know Ryan, that this is one of my favorite pieces that you have done, and it was actually the inspiration for the Pathfinder Campaign that I am running on Roll20 right now called "The World Pillars". Thank you so much for allowing this wonderful piece of art to be my muse and continue to do what you do, because I know it inspires a lot more people to do a lot more things.

Sat April 25, 2015 at 9:47 pm

"Two Thumbs Up"
I like how this piece brings back memories of the games, Myst, Riven, and Uru. Many choices, only one outcome.

Thu February 12, 2015 at 2:25 am

Life has many crossroads, some treacherous, some well known, and some, like this picture, are are truly breathtaking.

Wed September 24, 2014 at 2:09 pm

I love this piece! I too have to echo the request to see the front figure in focus, but I'm also curious if there is a way to maybe brighten up the background a little, so that the detail of the way the portals hang is a little easier to see. I missed that until I turned my brightness all the way up, and I think a little tweak there would go a long way! Otherwise, 9.9/10.

Tue July 29, 2014 at 3:39 pm

I've loved the ones with a lone figure standing before a celestial vista ever since Overseer. And now here's a lone figure standing before six vistas at once.

Wed March 12, 2014 at 9:43 pm

Truly magnificent

Fri October 4, 2013 at 3:30 pm

if only the places were really real.. they are beautiful Ryan. To be able to just step through.

Wed August 7, 2013 at 0:17 am

Great piece Ryan! It's as if he has "windows" into altered worlds of Digital Blasphemy. How neat would it be if this were a "living" wallpaper that allowed you to interact it with each image... maybe pulling it up for full screen view?

Thu July 11, 2013 at 10:20 pm

This is the Pièce de résistance. Much like my cats when I secretly sprinkle catnip on a random area of a carpet somewhere, Ryan has succeeded in surreptitiously luring me back. With this absolutely brilliant piece of work (and many others since then; I have a lot of catching up to do!) I'm proud to say that I'm now back as a pay member - supporting Ryan, a fantastic artist, in what he repeatedly does so well.

Congratulations on this work, Ryan :-)

Wed June 5, 2013 at 10:18 pm

I would love to see something similar to this at some point in the future with updated works. It's a really beautiful design that showcases pieces of your hard work.

Thanks Ryan!

Wed May 29, 2013 at 12:43 am

Fantasy is not my thing, but I am a sucker for color palettes.

Sun February 10, 2013 at 8:02 am

margaret t
i think this picture is absalutly fantastic it seems as if your in another world lovely thks

Mon January 14, 2013 at 0:30 am

"This is my favorite of all time"

Wed July 18, 2012 at 11:04 am

Chris K
It is amazing that you can get such an accurate representation of Portals using just thumbnails from your own work. Awesome!

Sun June 24, 2012 at 1:13 pm

":D "
I am in awh!!!!!!!!!!!!



Fri June 22, 2012 at 3:30 pm

"Would love to see an animated version of this."
Perhaps similar to Dispersion, or with ripples going through the portals. This wallpaper seems perfect for an addition to the animated gallery.

Tue June 12, 2012 at 5:19 am

"My All Time Fav"
I've been a member for a very, very long time and this is my favorite Digital Blasphemy wallpaper. I am using it everywhere I can put a wallpaper; iPhone, iPad, MyFordTouch, work laptops, home laptop, and my Facebook cover photo. Great work!

Wed May 30, 2012 at 5:07 am

"Love it - suggestions for a V2?"
Hey Ryan,

I've never commented on these before, but had a few thoughts that's been bouncing around in my head. Feel free to use, or ignore, but I felt like if I shared them then maybe it'll stop bugging me :)

First, I really like this a lot. Not only did it remind me of "All our Yesterdays" but also a TNG episode, I think it was "Pen Pals" for some reason. I think this render tells a great story and hope to see more like it in the future.

As for the suggestions, here goes: What if the camera from a wide(r) lens was shifted to the left, and perhaps a bit higher? Perhaps in the corner of the room, or where there would be a corner if the room isn't oval shaped? Also, what if the subject in the room was a child.. as if he had stumbled into Dad's portal chamber and was a bit overwhelmed.. maybe even with a blanket or teddy in tow? I know.. lol.. silly but a thought. Also, maybe on the portals themselves there was a bit of a haze around the edges where the portal image met the frame of the portal?

I'm likely going to do a larger print of this on canvas some time in the future, but if you have any interest in a version2 like I described, let me know and I'll definitely want to wait to see how they turn out. And if not, well, thanks for reading! :)

Mon May 14, 2012 at 7:17 am

Nice, but #3 All-Time? No way. Shouldn't be anywhere near the top 10.

Wed April 25, 2012 at 0:58 am

"The Dark Tower"
I love this scene. It is on my Facebook timeline. This scene makes me think of Stephen King's Dark Tower. The view from the tower that was at the nexus of it all. Love it!!

Mon April 23, 2012 at 11:20 pm

Just love this one. It makes me feel like a member of the Stargate Program... Or a grand creator.. looking out on his worlds. Great stuff.

Thu April 19, 2012 at 9:53 pm

I would like a "double rainbow" type version for the pickle jar with a second row above/below the first.

Thu April 12, 2012 at 9:32 pm

I too would love to see a pickle jar version without the guy. This one is fantastic! Well worth the paid membership! :-)

Mon April 9, 2012 at 8:09 pm

Absolutely my favorite Ryan!! Awesome

Fri April 6, 2012 at 4:35 pm

Chris B
"I like the little guy"
it would just be awesome if he were in focus :)

Fri April 6, 2012 at 3:55 pm

"Pickle Jar version?"
I have to agree with Aaron, a pickle jar version without the person would look perfect, especially for dual-screen, since that tends to split him down the middle.

Fri April 6, 2012 at 2:17 pm

"Great stuff"
Very nice wallpaper. A pickle Jar version with out the guy standing there in front would be great.

Fri April 6, 2012 at 7:43 am

Haven't commented in a long time. This is great Ryan. Glad you had a nice holiday. DB was mentioned a few weeks ago by Leo Laporte on the TwiT network. He is a lifetime member, but forgot about you for a long time. Gave a nice plug for the site.

Thanks, as always, for your work.

Tue April 3, 2012 at 1:54 pm

Absolutely stunning... 2012 is going to be a wonderful year if you can keep this pace up. =)

Thu March 29, 2012 at 3:15 pm

Only one word needed to describe this: Impressive

Wed March 28, 2012 at 4:25 am

"Very Cool. "
Nice Job

Tue March 27, 2012 at 8:25 am

David M.
"Great Color Contrast"
Ryan - I set this as my current desktop background and I love it because of the color contrast of the various portals with the dark background. It's really sharp!

Mon March 26, 2012 at 6:31 pm

"Love it"
Love this wallpaper, I can see it being my background for a LONG time however I want to second Extstgleft this man in the middle on my dual screens does not look right... (I am considering upgrading to tri-screens due to this tho ;P )

Sat March 24, 2012 at 4:28 pm

Alex H
"Top rated"
Considering this is essentially a showcase of some of your best work framed in an interesting context, I think it's so appropriate that this has become your top rated wallpaper.

Sat March 24, 2012 at 3:55 am

Remarkable you would say that Steve. Please read my entry for 3/16 on my homepage.

Fri March 23, 2012 at 9:09 pm

One of the best!!!!

Fri March 23, 2012 at 5:40 pm

"Calling Mr. Atoz"
Reminded me of the Star Trek episode "All our Yesterdays" with Mr. Atoz, the Atavachron and the lovely Zarabeth....

Fri March 23, 2012 at 2:51 pm

"important part with duals..."
Please remember that with dual screen renders, the most important part of the image cannot be left in the middle. The middle is where the actual screens separate and mess it all up. This image on my dual screens actually cut the person in half.

Fri March 23, 2012 at 11:42 am

"important part with duals..."
Please remember that with dual screen renders, the most important part of the image cannot be left in the middle. The middle is where the actual screens separate and mess it all up. This image on my dual screens actually cut the person in half.

Fri March 23, 2012 at 11:42 am

I didn't even notice the shift of colors at first... but it looks great. I love the idea of creating an image out of images... Still, a little thing to nag about: I think that the background could do with a bit more detail. Nothing that distracts the focus too much, but maybe a clear night sky to indicate that the portals are on the top of a tower... and the columns look a little weird to me. Like isolators plotted onto a smooth surface... I'd love to see them enhanced a little in shape and texture!

Fri March 23, 2012 at 7:48 am

I like that the figure is blurred, makes it look like he's starting to move towards one of the portals, but the viewer isn't sure which.

Fri March 23, 2012 at 0:47 am

Unbelievable Ryan! I've been coming to this site since 2002, and this has to be my favorite wallpaper! Keep up the great work!

Any chance that you could include renders for the Galaxy Nexus phones? It would look fantastic on that 1280 x 720 resolution!

Thu March 22, 2012 at 10:50 pm

"Dual screen split files (3200 x 1200)"
Ryan, it looks like the split files for the dual screen are actually the left and centre panes of the triple screen split files (as of 23 March).

Thu March 22, 2012 at 10:35 pm

"Great for a lock screen"
I love David's idea, down the page, of using this for a lock screen then rotating the "destinations" on the desktop. I don't have 7 Ultimate, so I can't change the lock screen, but I think I'll be putting this on my iPhone lock screen next month instead. The iPhone version shows only four portals (sadly), so each one will get a week on my home screen.

Thu March 22, 2012 at 0:41 am

"WOW!! awesome job! :)"
first comment I ever posted,but just had to..fantastic.how about a small video version?where the pictures change randomly?

Wed March 21, 2012 at 7:55 pm

"10/10 - Suggestions"
Before I say anything I want to point out that this is the first wallpaper that I gave 10/10 to. That being said, here are my suggestions. The ripples on the blue portal are too defined. There should be less, or possibly a different opacity. The purple portal has the clouds over the entire picture. Maybe move that overlay to just the border and let the rest be clean. The green portal looks great; however the green doesn’t seem to fit with the vibrancy of the other portals. If it was a more “true” green color (think green crayon), I think it would pop very nicely.

Best wishes

Wed March 21, 2012 at 5:13 pm

Yet another home run Ryan !!! Love, love, love it !!!!

Wed March 21, 2012 at 5:10 pm

"Love it!"
Ryan: Truly inspired. Feels like a combination of Stargate Universe and Star Trek.

And Re: Focus. The character in front of the portals needs to be in focus. If you were to photograph this room, unless you had a very shallow/short focus depth, both he and the wall of portals would all be in focus. You would have been far enough back to capture the shear scale of the room, so the figure should still be sharp. Thoughts? I'll be looking in the pickle jar! :)

Wed March 21, 2012 at 5:02 pm

"New Favorite"
I originally became a member because of the scenes you show in the portal. Now this is my wallpaper. Keep it up

Wed March 21, 2012 at 12:35 am

The only thing better than one of your wallpapers is one that displays 7 at once.

Wed March 21, 2012 at 10:33 am

"Love it!"
Looks excellent on my dual setup at work :)

Wed March 21, 2012 at 9:10 am

This is absolutely amazing. I love it!

Wed March 21, 2012 at 9:02 am

"Fully Sick!"
Love it, wouldn't mind seeing the figure removed and replaced with splaces of water on the ground that reflect the portals.

Wed March 21, 2012 at 6:11 am

"Excllent, but...."
First, I LOVE this image! Except for one thing: The figure seems rather blurred on the 3840x1080 duel image. Is it supposed to be? I loaded up a couple of the others from different resolutions and they seem less blurred.

Wed March 21, 2012 at 1:33 am

All my favorites in one image! I think you did this one just for me! (Clearly I'm not the only one who feels that way, lol!) I SO want to be the guy in front of the portals! Beautiful composition, absolutely awesome!

Tue March 20, 2012 at 9:48 pm

Ryan, Truly a winner. I love it. Excellent job.

Tue March 20, 2012 at 8:51 pm

"Alignment on dual-screen 3840x1200"
Really cool wallpaper, Ryan, but it doesn't line up very well on the dual-screen 3840x1200. The yellow portal splits in between my two screens. What a cool concept though!

Tue March 20, 2012 at 8:07 pm

"Very nice Star Trek homage"
"All Our Yesterdays" was indeed a good episode, even though it tried a little too hard to be Spock's "City on the Edge of Forever." (It did spawn two good Trek novels, though.) For me, this image more closely evokes the TNG second season episode "Contagion" and the Iconian gateways that allowed instantaneous travel to any planet in the galaxy. God, I'm such a Trekkie... :-)

Tue March 20, 2012 at 2:50 pm

"best yet"
this definitely shot to the top of my all time favorite db wallpapers

Tue March 20, 2012 at 12:54 am

"What a showcase!"
What a brilliant idea Ryan! What better wallpaper than one that showcases some of you're best wallpapers! I love it! Absolutely awesome!

Tue March 20, 2012 at 11:24 am

Great idea!

Tue March 20, 2012 at 8:45 am

Love it.

Tue March 20, 2012 at 8:44 am

I like this one so much I made it my login wallpaper. Thanks.

Tue March 20, 2012 at 8:36 am

"Animate it!"
I'd just love to see the ripples moving in the reflection pool. And maybe the effects layer in each portal (especially Thetis)...

Mon March 19, 2012 at 8:29 pm

"Follower for 10 years. Overall BEST piece ever. "
Great Job. I could write a book about this piece. In my opinion, best piece ever. AWESOME. Looovvveee IT!

Mon March 19, 2012 at 8:06 pm

"Follower for 10 years. Overall BEST piece ever. "
Great Job. I could write a book about this piece. In my opinion, best piece ever. AWESOME. Looovvveee IT!

Mon March 19, 2012 at 8:06 pm

Heh just realized this image looks really cool from different angles of a labtop screen. I was viewing it at an angle and it darkened it alot so that the pillars are like shadows and the colors off the floor really stand out even more.

Mon March 19, 2012 at 6:51 pm

Impossible not to love this. It's like Dispersion on steroids! Brilliant idea and execution. Will go down as one of your finest Mr. Bliss.

Mon March 19, 2012 at 4:55 pm

"Instant Favorite"
This is definitely my favorite wallpaper from you. Great job!

Mon March 19, 2012 at 3:47 pm

"Books from yesterday"
This reminds me of a book I read called Challenge of the Magi. The opening describes your character walking into a corridor with portals to other worlds which I felt were coloured the colours of the magic that was strongest in them. That was about 25 years ago!!! Thanks for the memories.

Mon March 19, 2012 at 12:49 am

I changed my window7 lock/password screen from the default light blue to this image and have the 6 backgrounds on this image rotating as desktop backgrounds once I log on!

very nice.

Mon March 19, 2012 at 9:48 am

"Absolutely fantastic..."
I love it and immediately made it my background...

Excellent composotion, keep up your extremly nice work, Ryan.

Kind regards from Germany!

Mon March 19, 2012 at 4:49 am

That's fucking awesome a portal to some of the best drawings LOL

Mon March 19, 2012 at 2:21 am

This is amazing!!! The colors are beautiful!!!!

Great Job Ryan!!!!

Thank u

Sun March 18, 2012 at 11:56 pm

"Great wallpaper!"
This is so cool! I really love the colors!

Sun March 18, 2012 at 9:17 pm

Yes I read those a long time ago. I guess it's all still in there ;)

Sun March 18, 2012 at 6:53 pm

"Jaw Dropping, Astounding"
Hold on, let me pick myself up off the ground, and then gotta reattach the jaw as well.....

Absolutely, Astoundingly, Amazing+! (in case ya missed it, that was a triple A+)

Just yet another image that pushes the boundaries, and proves why you're the best Ryan!

Sun March 18, 2012 at 6:51 pm

Exactly. I thought of the mirrors in Mordant's Need. Donaldson rocks.

Sun March 18, 2012 at 6:47 pm

This just went on my desktop, replacing the Highland Spring wall paper (one of my all-time favorites you've done). Absolutely impressive way to re-visit some of your best works. This is why I pay to subscribe to this site.

Sun March 18, 2012 at 6:40 pm

This image is so lush, it is full of story and draws you in like you want to know everything that led the character up to this point. It reminds me of awesome video games such as Might and Magic and the original Dungeon Master artwork. So cool man, totally belongs on the frontpage, a Masterpiece.

Sun March 18, 2012 at 5:42 pm

"Multi-monitor versions"
Could you do a multi-monitor version where the gap between the 3rd and 4th panel (or the 2nd and 3rd and the 4th and 5th) are a bit wider? I get a cut rim on the third on my dual setup.

Sun March 18, 2012 at 5:20 pm

"No character version?"
This one looks quite mind-blowing.

However, the character is a bit off.

Any chance for a pickle jar version, without the character in the room?

I'd love it to look like it's ME in front of those portals, no some other person.

Sun March 18, 2012 at 4:57 pm

This one is great on every level. Colors. Detail. Dark background makes it good for a desktop and allows the colorful portals to pop out. Thank you thank you thank you!!!!

One question--I've been trying to rate it (10/10!) but I can't seem to figure out how to get my rating to stick. I feel like I must be missing something obvious.... after selecting a rating level from the pulldown menu, is there a second step I'm just not seeing? (Apologies for the stupid question, but I really truly can't figure it out.)

Sun March 18, 2012 at 4:05 pm

"Ever read Mordant's Need?"
Hey Ryan! Have you ever read the two books in the "Mordant's Need" series by Stephen Donaldson (The Mirror of her Dreams and A Man Rides Through), which use mirrors as portals to other places in the world, or other worlds. This wonderful image reminded me of those books.

Sun March 18, 2012 at 3:41 pm

Love this one

Sun March 18, 2012 at 3:18 pm

This piece literally left me speechless from it's sheer beauty (and awesome-ness).

Sun March 18, 2012 at 2:52 pm

"A truly wonderful image"
IMHO, possibly the best thing you have ever done. As JT said, I was immediately struck by the colours looking like those in 'Dispersion'.

No more to say than that really.

Keep on pushing the boundaries Ryan.

Sun March 18, 2012 at 2:01 pm

"Thank you!"
Absolutely the best image so far. And thank you for making it available through Zazzle.com. I'm definitely ordering this for my office! Your work always amazes me and my colleagues, it's always raising the bar.

Sun March 18, 2012 at 12:53 am

Yay! Poster ordered.

Sun March 18, 2012 at 12:09 am

*** Major amounts of Applause ***

Sun March 18, 2012 at 12:08 am

Here's a mousepad version sourced from my "square" Retina iPad render...

Sun March 18, 2012 at 11:48 am

"Way awesome"
Like getting Dispersion and all of my other favorite wallpapers at the same time. It can't possibly get any better than this, can it?

Sun March 18, 2012 at 11:29 am

"No man"
Could you do one without the man? Or just render that part so we could paste it on the actual wallpaper? The man is weird and looks like a action figure. Otherwise, everything else is great!

Sun March 18, 2012 at 10:55 am

"Poster Version"
I rendered a massive 7680 x 4800 version yesterday and added it to my Zazzle gallery as a poster...

The images I used in a portals themselves are extremely high resolution themselves so they will look great printed large.


Sun March 18, 2012 at 9:56 am

"Re: Focus"
Idk, I added the blur near the end of the process to give the scene a bit of depth. I didn't want the individual in the front to be "in the same plane". Perhaps I will post an "all-in-focus" version in the Pickle Jar.

Sun March 18, 2012 at 9:44 am

"Focus x4"
Agreed... I was so engaged in the individual images (each amongst my favorites), and the color spectrum effect, and the concept as a whole... I really did not notice it at first. Now that I have, it detracts. Still awesome... However let's go for awesomer!! :D

Sun March 18, 2012 at 9:25 am

Chris Shor
"Best Ever?"
This might be my all time favorite.

Sun March 18, 2012 at 9:22 am

"Focus x3"
I also agree that this image would look even better if the guy in front was more in focus.

Sun March 18, 2012 at 8:56 am

"Focus x2"
I agree, I think having the figure in front more in focus would make it look even more bad ass than it is.

Sun March 18, 2012 at 4:08 am

I do have one comment though, I really wish the man in the front was in focus! Is it possible to render this with increased simulated depth-of-field?

Sun March 18, 2012 at 1:33 am

"Absolutely Incredible"
Ryan, after many months, I come across this image that I must surely say must be among your best of all time. Absolutely stunning.

Sun March 18, 2012 at 1:31 am

Absolutely love this!

Sun March 18, 2012 at 0:44 am

Reminds me very much of a wallpaper I made myself a few years ago, a spectrum of wallpapers, mostly DB: http://www.peak15.org/misc/spectrum.jpg

Sat March 17, 2012 at 10:23 pm

Easily my favorite of all your images! Interestingly enough, several of my previous favorites are featured in this one. :-)

Sat March 17, 2012 at 9:52 pm

I love this one!!! Extremely clever use of old wall papers to make a new, so far unseen idea. Love the way you used a ROY G BIV color scheme to make things even more artistic. Possibly one of my favorites of all time.

Sat March 17, 2012 at 9:04 pm

All our yesterdays is a great episode! I was also thinking about TNG episode "Contagion." In that one, Picard, Data, and Worf explore ruins on a planet, and find a control room where they open portals to other planets.

Again, beautiful work, one of my favorites so far!

Sat March 17, 2012 at 8:53 pm

Tim W
"Good iPad wallpaper"
I use this as my lock screen and one of the planetary scenes as my regular wallpaper for my iPad. This is execellent!

Sat March 17, 2012 at 8:45 pm

"Cool but..."
The poser in front is blurry...I have the 16:9 PNG file. Very odd.

Sat March 17, 2012 at 5:19 pm

"Highest Rated"
Nice work, Ryan! 9.28 after only 50 ratings! And what a great idea to take a half dozen of your best works (and several of my own personal favorites) and combine them into this gallery of great art. You continue to astound me, my friend. Keep your creative momentum alive!

Sat March 17, 2012 at 4:41 pm

Wow, this is actually a really nice idea and looks great!

Sat March 17, 2012 at 4:25 pm

"Very Cool"
Neat idea, and the spectrum effect is really nice.

Sat March 17, 2012 at 4:03 pm

""Holy Mackinaw!""
Mr. Bowen's words describe my initial reaction to this piece rather well. The contrasts of the colours as well as the different paths from which to chose is remarkable. Well done.

Sat March 17, 2012 at 3:34 pm

This was a different spin on things. In stead of creating a world or scenic piece, it is a place designed to take you to such places. VERY neat idea that opens up the art to a grander scheme--a universe of possible places to go and see. It sparks the imagination for sure. Excellent idea.

Sat March 17, 2012 at 2:51 pm

What a neat and nerdy wallpaper! :-) It's so awesome that you had that many related images to create the spectrum effect, I love it!

Sat March 17, 2012 at 1:34 pm

"Live long and prosper, Ryan!"
"All Our Yesterdays" Rocks and so does Portals! This is going up right now. Thank you for your tribute to one of my all time favorite episodes of Star Trek. Weird; I was reading "The Nitpicker's Guide for Classic Trekkers" last night....

Sat March 17, 2012 at 1:23 pm

My favorite wallpaper for months! Keep on :-)

Sat March 17, 2012 at 1:09 pm

So when can I buy the poster?

Sat March 17, 2012 at 12:36 am

This is beautiful. I think my favorite of your work to date.

Sat March 17, 2012 at 12:18 am

"Good stuff"
nuff said,

Sat March 17, 2012 at 12:12 am

"Now THATis Wicked!!!!"
Instantly became my wallpaper... And while I usually change mine every day, I think this ones gonna be around for a while. And now I also have to see the Star Trek episode... Don't rememer if I saw it already.

Thank you so very much.

On another note... Might you be working on Quad renditions?? I've four monitors at work,and always go with your duals. My main monitor is #2; so #2 and #3 are dualed together; and I flip/flop #1 and #4. So on my left is monitor #4, showing the right half of your rendor, and monitor #1 is on my right, showing the left side of your renedor.

I know... I'm weird. But that's the way I like it. And you should take that also as a compliment, as coming across your work, made me put thought into how my monitors are set up specifically for using your wallpapaers. (And that's all I've got to say about that! :)

Sat March 17, 2012 at 11:35 am

"No Freaking way!"
Dude i loved how you did this because its like a huge flashback from other images you have done and also the way you arranged the colors made a great contribution.

Sat March 17, 2012 at 11:25 am

Simply amazing is all I can say.

Sat March 17, 2012 at 10:25 am

Dave the K
"You rock!"
One of your best, my man.....

Sat March 17, 2012 at 9:32 am

Brandi U.
"Wow. Just wow."
This has got to be one of your best ever. Love the idea and execution.

Sat March 17, 2012 at 9:24 am

Quite possibly your best EVER! This is simply stunning! And you get MAJOR bonus points for referencing "All Our Yesterday," one of my favorite Star Trek episodes of all time!

Sat March 17, 2012 at 9:18 am

I'm glad you recognized the Star Trek connection here. I almost wrote yesterday that the base inspiration for this piece was the original series episode "All Our Yesterdays".

Sat March 17, 2012 at 9:13 am

RC Davison
What a great idea to showcase multiple images! Now to make it an active wallpaper that would randomly cycle through all your images....

Keep up the great work, Ryan!


Sat March 17, 2012 at 8:57 am

Ryan, I LOVE it! This is so cool, and so creative. It reminds me of a Star Trek Next Generation episode about a long-dead race that used portals instead of space ships to colonize other worlds. Thank you!

Sat March 17, 2012 at 8:56 am

"Much better, thanks!"
New multiscreen is much more in keeping with the single screen. It's fortunate this image isn't one of those that takes a week to render!

Sat March 17, 2012 at 8:41 am

This is up there as being one of the all time greats in my opinion. It's so good I just returned as a paying member to access it. The last time one of your works had this impact on me it was Highland Spring. Congratulations on another masterpiece.

Sat March 17, 2012 at 8:38 am

I really like this wallpaper. You get 3 fabulous views in one. Spectacular!

Sat March 17, 2012 at 8:20 am


Sat March 17, 2012 at 1:16 am

Wow. That is all I have to say. Oh wait, let me say it again with more emphasis on my previous statement, WOW just Epic!!

Sat March 17, 2012 at 1:09 am

"PS Vita version?"
Is there a chance to see a PlayStation Vita-sized version of this wallpaper?

Sat March 17, 2012 at 0:23 am

This is such a wonderful idea and a wonderful wallpaper. Thank you, I absolutely love this one :)

Sat March 17, 2012 at 0:04 am

"Portals - 2010 Greatness!!"
Ryan you did a wonderful thing here!

who doesn't like mysterious portals? =D

Awesome work! very colorful and somewhat glows'ish


Fri March 16, 2012 at 11:18 pm

""Portals (2012)""
Awesome! I love this update to Login :D

Fri March 16, 2012 at 11:02 pm

""Portals (2012)""
Awesome! I love this update to Login :D

Fri March 16, 2012 at 11:02 pm

"New Multiscreens"
I've replaced the original multiscreens with a clearer render. The 3360 x 1050 and 1600 x 900 files are now included!

Fri March 16, 2012 at 10:46 pm

Very, very nice! I always love your colorful designs.

Fri March 16, 2012 at 10:35 pm

"Where is my 3360x1050?"
As mentioned, there is no 3360x105...? Also, no 1600x900 for my laptop

Fri March 16, 2012 at 9:56 pm

Jon W.
"Quad would be awesome..."
I love your work, and am always hoping that you'll dive into quad-screen as that's my layout at work. 4 1680x1050 screens... still looks awesome when I use the triple-screen version, tho.

Fri March 16, 2012 at 9:44 pm

"forgot x1050 dual"
Forgot the 3360 x 1050 dual screen again.

Fri March 16, 2012 at 9:04 pm

Combinations and Retreads. Nice Combinations and Retreads, but Combinations and Retreads non-the-less.

Fri March 16, 2012 at 8:25 pm

absotively posolutely !!!

Fri March 16, 2012 at 8:19 pm

"Simply Brilliant !"
Very Nicely Done !!!

Will there be any other Pickle Jar versions with different Portals ? :)


Fri March 16, 2012 at 7:53 pm

I am an old timer as in would love to see this on a black poster! LOL Hey this is great and love it! Thanks many times over!

Fri March 16, 2012 at 7:46 pm

Chris B
hehe maybe I'm a geek, but I like the spectrum. Was annoyed that the color ring stacker that my wife got for our baby had them the opposite, The biggest was purple and the smallest is red... Guess you could always say the more intense the energy the bigger?

I really like how these all went together and they all seem like somewhere you could actually portal to... Not sure if I'd risk "Beginning of the End" though. I like the textures added to the different portals except it seems to make extrasolar extra pixelated and the drops are cool on Tropical Moon but maybe make it look like they are hitting from an angle rather than straight down.

If you can, I think this would be a good image to keep the foreground and the portal master in focus as well as the portals. It looks kind of like a digital photo that is zoomed in way too far. You're magical places are better than photos soooo... :)

must my Nickle.

Fri March 16, 2012 at 7:20 pm

"@Nick R"

Fri March 16, 2012 at 6:58 pm

Nick R
"This should go on your front page"

Fri March 16, 2012 at 6:28 pm

"Pretty Wicked"
Lovin it.

Fri March 16, 2012 at 6:23 pm

"Need More"
I love this kind of thing, reminds of the 1998 gallery wall and the 1999 login that you did. I was disappointed that there was not more of these later on and would like to see more of maybe a yearly update or so of past images worked in cleverly like you did here.

Fri March 16, 2012 at 6:10 pm

A tribute to the imagination.

to boldly go where no one has gone before.

the choice is yours.

Fri March 16, 2012 at 5:49 pm

"Re: Multiscreen"
Yes, I think the blurring is a little too strong on the multiscreen. I'm going to render a new version and post it this evening.

Fri March 16, 2012 at 5:02 pm

zoo maven
This is simply an amazing wallpaper Ryan!!! I recognize some of the wallpapers you used. I really like this and will use this right away on my computer!

Fri March 16, 2012 at 4:55 pm

"Cool concept, but nasty blurring on dual screen"
I noticed this a little on the single screen, but on the dual screen it makes the image unusable for me. The entire foreground just looks like grainy mud to me. I love the concept of the piece and the colors though. If the foreground could be cleaned up, I'd say this is another multi-screen winner.

Fri March 16, 2012 at 4:53 pm

"something new"
good example of thinking outside the box. 'Like'

Fri March 16, 2012 at 4:17 pm

Love this. That is all.

Fri March 16, 2012 at 3:55 pm

"Wonderful Work!"
Ryan, I have been one of your subscribers for years now and I have many, many of your works on my computer, but I have to say, as far as my first impression goes, THIS IS MY MOST FAVORITE SO FAR!! Thank you for your labor.

Fri March 16, 2012 at 3:55 pm

Dennis M.
I like the concept a great deal, but the realism was a little dampened when I realized they were arranged by color! hehehe.

Fri March 16, 2012 at 3:42 pm

I love that the images really look like you could walk through them, complete with rain puddling on the surface of one. I can't wait to see the multiscreen render of this!

Fri March 16, 2012 at 3:36 pm

I love that the images really look like you could walk through them, complete with rain puddling on the surface of one. I can't wait to see the multiscreen render of this!

Fri March 16, 2012 at 3:36 pm

I can't wait to see the multiscreen render of this ...

Fri March 16, 2012 at 3:32 pm

I love it! Includes some of my favorite wallpapers plus gives an awesome sense of wonderment.

Fri March 16, 2012 at 3:26 pm

Digital Blasphemy 2016 Wall Calendar

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓


Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)


Recent Guardians:
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons:
  • Eric Eidson -- (9/30/15)
  • Tim Honkalammi -- (09/22/15)
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
Recent Donors:
  • William Stevens -- (10/8/15)
  • Jeanne Dowd -- (9/30/15)
  • Ryan Oldaker -- (9/30/15)
  • Claire Fairbank -- (9/29/15)
  • Arwyn Roberts -- (9/28/15)

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy