9.08/10 rating (225 votes)


Member Comments

Richard H.
@Ryan: I was pleased to notice the multi-screen 5K renders of this, but it's a shame that there's no single-screen 5K version. I've chopped out the middle third of the triple-screen 5K render for that purpose, but quite honestly it doesn't look as good as the dedicated single-screen versions you've provided. The depth of field seems a bit wrong; it's not as nice, clean and sharp as the single-screen render.

So could you please provide the missing single-screen 5K version? Thanks...!

Sat May 30, 2015 at 3:39 pm

"The reason I bought membership"
I saw it, and I realized that I needed it. Its perfect.

Sun September 28, 2014 at 6:05 pm

Frank M.
"Amazing play of colour and detailing"
The way the colouring is used to highlight the details, and add that flare to the rest of the main colour(s), this is just spectacular!

Wed July 9, 2014 at 11:08 pm

This is the reason I joined DB sir. This kind of unique artwork with the vibrant colors and gorgeous contrast....Great job and please keep up the good work.

Sat May 17, 2014 at 10:15 am

"Pot of Gold Night"
I got the app. Love it. I don't see pot of Gold Night on there. Is it going to be added?

Mon May 12, 2014 at 8:58 am

Thank you! Either try the Android App or follow these tips.

Mon May 12, 2014 at 7:56 am

"pot gold"
Love this one. Trying to download on my s4 and keeps saying unsuccessful. What am I doing wrong

Mon May 12, 2014 at 7:26 am

I love this. Absolute top marks.

My only complaint is that I wish I could see the other flowers in the fuzzy areas in the background. :) But I'm not gonna ask for that because of the obvious render times involved. ;)

Sat May 10, 2014 at 11:50 pm

I think Bryan was hoping I would create a day version using the scene I put together in Lightwave for the night. I will see what I can do but I will admit that I am ready to move on...

Fri May 9, 2014 at 7:37 am

"RE: Bryan"
There already is an updated day version:


Fri May 9, 2014 at 3:15 am

Would love to see a lantern scene with lots of these.

Thu May 8, 2014 at 10:22 am

"Awsome Finally a version to Love"
I love the night version. Finally the pads/leafs are a good size when contrasted with the flower. I like how the veins in the pads all have a glow to them that slowly builds as they are concentrated at the base of the leaf. Great colors!

Any Chance there will be a Day version with Pads/Leafs the same size as the night version?

Thu May 8, 2014 at 8:50 am

"brought back the "whoa" factor!"
the colors of luminescence, the ability to bring out the fantastic and surreal in nature is once more exemplified in this piece.

Tue May 6, 2014 at 10:52 pm

"8/10 - Fuzzy"
Between the glowing lights and darkness, it really seems that you lost a lot of the crisp, clean lines of the daytime render. I like the color and composition, but I am just really missing the hard edges of the flower that made the day one so spectacular.

Tue May 6, 2014 at 12:04 pm

"New Top 10"
I think one of the things that is shooting this up your list is the fact that it looks like it's a 'going back to your roots' image - back when your stuff was *just* outside reality, but looked real enough to be reality SOMEWHERE. This looks incredibly realistic, even if we would never, ever find it on Earth.

Tue May 6, 2014 at 12:03 pm

Nur ein Wort: Fantastisch

Tue May 6, 2014 at 12:00 pm

I have always liked the darker desktop pictures. I mainly use my pc at night so the brighter pics can be blinding. This is amazing. Any chance there will be a resolution for the galaxy S5?

Tue May 6, 2014 at 11:10 am

...only because I can't go higher in rating it! I really love your work, Ryan, but this truly is one of your absolute best works so far! There is nothing whatsoever to be improved upon in my humble opinion! @drow - right?!? :-)

Mon May 5, 2014 at 10:53 pm

Love this! The glow is amazing.

Mon May 5, 2014 at 2:00 pm

"Back to your roots"
Nice work, has that fantastical/surreal feel of your earlier works that we've always enjoyed. Thanks for it!

Mon May 5, 2014 at 1:42 pm

pandora, eat your heart out.

Mon May 5, 2014 at 12:06 pm

Wicked Awesome!I love the arrangement of the pads, and the way you made the water look is just short of amazing. Hear Hear!

Mon May 5, 2014 at 11:55 am

Personally, I would not die happy if Ryan never created another image, but I understand what you mean -- this one is REALLY special. Have a happy day! :)

Mon May 5, 2014 at 10:42 am

Wicked cool image, Ryan! Is it just me or are there DoF differences between some of the renders? For instance, I looked at the 1920x1200 single screen, and the 3840x1200 dual screen as a test. It looks like the DoF is much more narrow in the dual screen (I can see significantly more blur on the blue "petals" in the front).

Mon May 5, 2014 at 9:41 am

I always love your night images. This one is a ten!! I have water lilies in my pond at home. I wish they glowed like this!

Mon May 5, 2014 at 9:07 am

"My new favourite"
This one just leapt out at me when you posted it. I want to put it on my phone, my facebook page, my laptop AND my TV!! I will die a happy woman if you never create another thing :)

Mon May 5, 2014 at 7:43 am

I cannot say enough how beautiful this is! I think this shot right up to my favorite piece from the last couple years. The "awe-inspiring" kind of awesome.

Mon May 5, 2014 at 1:23 am

"Awesome - 10"
I love this - it is too great for words. Can we get a Facebook Timeline size of this please :)

Sun May 4, 2014 at 7:08 pm

"Love It! - 10"
What a great effect, and it looks fantastic on my desktop (and will also look great on my phone in the very near future)!

Sun May 4, 2014 at 6:55 pm

Stupendous! I like the solution to the glowing leaves much better than the Work-in-Progress sketch. Also, here the limited depth of field works really well. I'm in total agreement with the enthusiasm of my fellow DB members...

Sun May 4, 2014 at 4:44 pm

Ross H.
I love it! This is going to be my new background!

Sun May 4, 2014 at 2:35 pm

"10 times 10"
Very, very excellent work. It really captures the eye.

I really enjoy your dark, fluorescent images more than anything. I would urge you to develop more of those.

Sun May 4, 2014 at 1:42 pm

As someone who prefers dark backgrounds, I love your "night" versions. This is no exception. Thank you!

Sun May 4, 2014 at 1:36 pm

This is just magnificent, Ryan. Superb! And certainly worth the effort you put into it (IMHO). I love it and it's going up NOW!

Sun May 4, 2014 at 12:55 pm

This is so beautiful I absolutely love it. Your work is amazing thanks Ryan!!!

Sun May 4, 2014 at 12:03 pm

This is just stunning work, Ryan! I've always loved your glowing versions of nature scenes, but this is definitely one of the best you've ever done. The detail is astounding, and just visually outstanding. The depth of field is just right to the point where it feels photorealistic, yet totally alien at the same time. This may be one of my favorites of all time.

Sun May 4, 2014 at 11:55 am

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓


Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)


Recent Guardians:
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons:
  • Eric Eidson -- (9/30/15)
  • Tim Honkalammi -- (09/22/15)
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
Recent Donors:
  • William Stevens -- (10/8/15)
  • Jeanne Dowd -- (9/30/15)
  • Ryan Oldaker -- (9/30/15)
  • Claire Fairbank -- (9/29/15)
  • Arwyn Roberts -- (9/28/15)

Digital Blasphemy 2016 Wall Calendar

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy