8.31/10 rating (127 votes)
48 Comments

Dualscreen:
Triscreen:
Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

receptor1
8.38/10 rating (72 votes)

receptor2
8.75/10 rating (57 votes)

Member Comments

Mike
"1440p lossless?"
I think I like the contrast of V2 a little better, but the overall "flow" of the latest is the best. As a side note, the 2560x1440 lossless PNG seems to be missing.

Tue March 4, 2014 at 11:38 pm

Elaine
"8"
I'm one who liked the pickle jar 2 better but I understand why you re-rendered. I'm a little disappointed in the dual screen on the final version. When I put this up on two monitors, I'm not fond of the left-hand image because it has such an extreme perspective.

Mon February 10, 2014 at 10:49 am

Ken F.
"10"
@ Ryan: My daughter loves this render!

Wed February 5, 2014 at 10:56 pm

Eric
"10"
I love V3. It looks amazing on my 2 monitor setup, and I love that the focal point is far right rather than center or left. For some reason I don't know, I picture all of these pieces spinning into focus/position and then back out again in an animation.

Wed February 5, 2014 at 1:26 pm

Zach
"V2"
I also greatly prefer the stark contrast of V2. This version just seems a bit drab by comparison. That being said, still a very cool render.

Mon February 3, 2014 at 2:03 pm

pendrag
"10"
The coloring contrasts really make this pop. Full marks

Mon February 3, 2014 at 11:38 am

BobC
"V2"
I actually prefer V.2 because I find it more evocative. ("What IS that deep red glow? Where is it coming from? What's going on down there?" Also, the central beam stands out more.) Whether the render is less refined doesn't bother me.

Mon February 3, 2014 at 11:03 am

Andrew
"Pickle Jar Variation"
I like both the final rendering and the Pickle Jar versions. It shows a great contrast in colours and textures

Mon February 3, 2014 at 3:59 am

Tyler
"10"
V.3 is perfect. Perfect combination of color and clarity. The multiscreen is incredible. Love the abstracts and this one is as good as any. Thank you Mr. Bliss.

Sun February 2, 2014 at 5:43 pm

ZUL
"9/10"
Another amazing wallpaper.

Sun February 2, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Micro78
"10/10!"
Amazing! It almost looks real!

Sun February 2, 2014 at 3:58 pm

Jenanne
"11"
Magnificent!

Sun February 2, 2014 at 12:29 pm

Ryan
"Re: Ken F."
PS: I hope your daughter likes the new version!

Sun February 2, 2014 at 10:03 am

Ryan
""Final""
I've added my "final" version of "Receptor" this morning. Why did a change what was already a pretty good wallpaper (the second version was quite highly rated)? Well, I sort of cheated with v.2 and posted a Photoshop composite about about 3 different renders. I couldn't replicate those component pieces because I had saved over my files with every iteration. That means no multiscreen version and no print-res. Also v.2 had too much grain because I used renders that weren't as refined as they could have been.

Anyway, the second version will remain available in the Pickle Jar for folks who prefer it. I personally prefer this final version, but I would love to hear your thoughts!

Sun February 2, 2014 at 9:52 am

youngrama
"9"
This rendering just keeps on getting better and better every time I see it. Your use of colors is great and just enhances the depth of the piece. Great!

Sun February 2, 2014 at 2:21 am

Jenanne
"10"
Outstanding! Wow! I'm looking forward to the preview version, too.

Sat February 1, 2014 at 2:59 pm

BobC
"9.2"
This is stupendous! I never would have thought of handling the color like that. Having the red adds some kind of unidentifiable energy and brings out the blue beam. (I'm still ambivalent about the narrow depth of field, though...)

Fri January 31, 2014 at 8:09 pm

Kaaletram
"10"
Can't wait for the multi-screen!!

Fri January 31, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Bevin
"9"
Purple instead of red would be perfect.

Fri January 31, 2014 at 8:37 am

Stephan
"10"
Beautiful shape. Rich details. Wonderful contrast & Color. Spot on :) Original Tron is my favorite movie and this reminds me of it.

Fri January 31, 2014 at 1:23 am

Elaine
"9"
I like this version much better than the all blue. I'm not usually a fan of abstracts but this variant is subtle and interesting. It's headed for my desktop!

Thu January 30, 2014 at 7:08 pm

Ken F.
"8"
I love both versions but this version seems to pop a bit more. I can see a multitude of color variant possibilities for this wallpaper in our future. My 6 year old daughter wants to know when you’ll be doing one in purple hues.

Thu January 30, 2014 at 6:46 pm

Matt
"7"
Love the red! Great contrast. My main concern is how grainy it looks when you get away from the center; that really detracts from it.

Thu January 30, 2014 at 11:55 am

Scott
"8"
I like the contrast of V2 a lot - the colors and sharpness make it "pop" for me. Still seems to be a bit of grain int he reds especially, but I think that was how you rendered it?

I'm not a huge fan of abstracts, but I do like this one - it's headed to my desktop immediately :)

Thu January 30, 2014 at 11:20 am

Chris C.
"10"
I love the rich contrast on this one - Any chance of a dual screen 3360 x 1050 version for members, pls? :o) Cheers Chris C.

Thu January 30, 2014 at 11:20 am

Ryan
"V.2"
I thought I would add a bit more color and contrast to this one. The blue version will remain in the Pickle Jar. Let me know what you prefer!

Thu January 30, 2014 at 10:48 am

Josh
"7"
I think this piece has great potential, and I like the look on the single-screen, but the dual-screen (at least in the 1680x1050) has some crazy blur near the middle of the object; it's extremely distracting.

Thu January 30, 2014 at 8:38 am

Jenanne
"8.5"
Love the color, concept, and detail of this abstract, Ryan. I do agree that less blur would make it even more awesome, but it's pretty awesome as is. :)

Wed January 29, 2014 at 8:52 am

JoeB
"5"
I think this would be awesome, but I would have preferred it to not blur out on the sides in the triple head version. If it were sharp all the way across, I'd really like it. I like the design, and the color, but the blur keeps me on a previous one of your wallpapers. :-)

Tue January 28, 2014 at 6:18 pm

Yamanu
"9"
Love this one, I'm not usually a fan of abstract, but I love the shade of blue, and the detail.

Mon January 27, 2014 at 9:43 pm

D
"9"
Another great abstract Ryan.



I'm a huge fan of Dale's work and would love to see you attempt a render using his style as inspiration.

Mon January 27, 2014 at 5:03 pm

BobC
"8"
I like this one! As a HUGE fan of "Orthohedron," I had to put it on my desktop immediately. I'm so-so on how the depth-of-field is managed - in the abstracts that I'm so fond of (like Orthohedron) I can see them in whatever scale strikes me at that moment and that adds to the awesomeness and fun. With this one, I feel "locked" into a viewpoint of "really close to a really tiny thing."

Mon January 27, 2014 at 12:56 pm

drow
"10"
awesome!



my wife and i visited the chihuly garden when we were in seattle last year. it's quite an installation.

Mon January 27, 2014 at 12:36 pm

drow
"10"
awesome!



my wife and i visited the chihuly garden when we were in seattle last year. it's quite an installation.

Mon January 27, 2014 at 12:36 pm

darkuncle
"9"
@Adamtrons - that was exactly what came to mind for me as well! :) very TRON-esque. nice work, Ryan.

Mon January 27, 2014 at 10:35 am

Rob
"?"
3840x1200 appears to be missing.

Sun January 26, 2014 at 11:49 am

Ryan
"@Jacob"
I'm uploading a new render that I let go overnight. It should look a bit smoother. Try redownloading in about 45 minutes and let me know what you think!

Sun January 26, 2014 at 9:44 am

Jacob Klei
"7"
How about adding a Pickle Jar version that excludes the bump texture? I am not a fan of all that grain.

Sun January 26, 2014 at 9:28 am

Adamtrons
"9"
My immediate reaction was "Oh wow! That's cool". I really like the design and color of this one. I can imagine being inside a TRON style environment and this aperture opens to transmit data packets to the outside world or something. Agree that there's a little too much grain upon close inspection, but that's a minor issue. 9!

Sun January 26, 2014 at 0:44 am

Zero G
"9"
I love it... the symbolism of it is very beautiful... It reminds me of the clockwork of 2011. Just another confirmation of the level of artistry you can create...

Sat January 25, 2014 at 11:55 pm

pendrag
"9"
before it hits the blur points I really like the shadow texture that shows up.

alternate colors?

Sat January 25, 2014 at 9:00 pm

hurtzDonut
"8.6"
Like it.

Sat January 25, 2014 at 10:15 am

Ryan
"@Anup"
I added a bump texture to the give everything a bit of a "frosted glass" look. That's probably what is causing the noise in the out-of-focus areas.

Sat January 25, 2014 at 7:41 am

Anup
"9"
Is the grain (noise) in the out of focus portions of the image intentional?

Sat January 25, 2014 at 6:55 am

Tim
"10"
Beautiful

Sat January 25, 2014 at 3:05 am

Tyler
"10"
Yes

Fri January 24, 2014 at 11:43 pm

Molly W
"8"
I love your abstracts, and this one is cool!

Fri January 24, 2014 at 5:06 pm

Maria B
"10"
Love this one! The mazelike feel is great.

Fri January 24, 2014 at 4:46 pm

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)

THANKS TO:

Recent Guardians:
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
  • Glenn Crouch -- (7/18/15)
  • Kevin T -- (06/10/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Martin Pilot -- (9/1/15)
  • Dean Mills -- (9/1/15)
  • Natalia Najder -- (8/30/15)
  • Guy Sturdevant -- (8/27/15)
  • AJ Decker -- (8/24/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!



"Waveform (2013)"
Only 2 Downloads!


digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy

Android apps on Google Play