Members Login to See the Full Images

Lightwave 11's excellent new instancing tools put me in the mind to update one of my favorite space scenes, "Roche Limit". I last updated it in 2004 and I've been meaning to update it sooner.

If you are curious the "Roche Limit" is he minimum distance from a planet a moon can be before tidal forces crush it to smithereens (forming rings).

I hope you enjoy the update. Don't be surprised if I do a few different renders of this particular system.

8.77/10 rating (205 votes)

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

8.00/10 rating (5 votes)

Member Comments

Sean O
Great picture ... with the recent storm image raging on Saturn maybe had a storm to the plant ?

Sun June 30, 2013 at 10:33 am

Beautiful. Excellent subtlety in colorization with perfect colour matching, a painstakingly gorgeous attention to detail and great perspective on light and shadow.

Wed June 19, 2013 at 0:50 am

This is one of the best dual screen images you have made, if not the best. Thanks for this one.

Wed June 12, 2013 at 12:56 am

Speedy J
Greeting from Miami!

I love the face that you placed some Pink in this wallpaper. It makes it original. Keep up the good work Rayan ! :)

Fri June 7, 2013 at 8:51 am

Alex H
Brilliant reworking of the previous version. I'd appreciate it heaps if you could do a picklejar render with the planet slanting on the other diagonal, just like it was in the green roche limit.

Thu June 6, 2013 at 5:11 pm

Cause I asked Ryan for some space themed renders a while ago and this is awesome. Now just waiting for some spacecraft and I'll be smiling all day

Thu May 30, 2013 at 9:08 am

Shelly K.
@Kyle Thank you. :)

Sun May 26, 2013 at 11:35 pm

Thank you! Yes, I have received a few emails regarding the Ford My Touch system. I will see what I can do!

Fri May 24, 2013 at 9:09 am

Henry V.
"9 Love the colors"
Love the latest version!

Have you received my email regarding MFT resolution sizes?

Fri May 24, 2013 at 5:36 am

I find this one visually pleasing to the eye. I'm a big fan of the space themes anyway and this one tops them all in my opinion. Something peaceful about this one..

Wed May 22, 2013 at 9:38 am

I really like this render, even the purple color. One flaw exists in the multiscreen versions though. In the lower left area there is an odd vertical line, faint but noticeable none the less. Is it possible to correct?

Tue May 21, 2013 at 2:24 pm

Dennis M.
I am hoping one of those moons is habitable, and someone is over there, taking a picture of some old ruins....

Mon May 20, 2013 at 3:37 pm

Planetscapes are my absolute favorite from you and this one is on par with the best of them. That lush purple is hard to resist. Thanks Ryan for feeding us space guys' cravings.

Mon May 20, 2013 at 2:56 pm

"2560x1080 resolution"
Thank you, Ryan!

Sat May 18, 2013 at 3:18 pm

This image is gorgeous!!! The subject matter is something that has been near and dear to my heart for a long time. The colors are fantastic!, as is the composition. I have always loved your space images.

An image proposal if you don't mind. It occurred to me that this image could be successfully combined with one of my other favorites, Thetis Moon (2007). I imagine the Thetis Moon in orbit around this ringed planet, shown close enough to make out the seas and the land masses shown in 2007 Thetis Moon image, but from outside it's atmosphere with those gorgeous rings and the planet from Roche Limit 2013 in the background. It would be an interesting shift in perspective, don't you think?!

Sat May 18, 2013 at 3:05 pm

Ryan, this is absolutely perfect for my Windows lock-screen!

Thanks for all your hard work!

Fri May 17, 2013 at 12:33 am

"Good but..."
The picture is really good but honestly I hate the color shceme. Ryan, do you plan to make some color variations on this one?

Fri May 17, 2013 at 6:09 am

"2560x1080 resolution?"
Hi Ryan, have you eliminated the new 2560x1080 resolution? Neither Sakura Night nor Roche Limit is available in that size. Is this just a glitch, or do I need to go back to cutting down the 3840x1080s for my hubby's monitor?

Thu May 16, 2013 at 6:57 pm

"10/10 Phenomenal!"
This is a great update, Ryan. I've always loved the original and this is simply building on an already great work of art.

Thu May 16, 2013 at 2:55 pm

"@Shelly K."
Under the list of resolutions in the Pickle Jar there is a link for All Resolutions. Click on that and you can find other resolutions not listed. I think Ryan only lists the most popular on the Pickle Jar pages to save space.

Thu May 16, 2013 at 12:08 am

Shelly K.
"Roche Limit Dual"
Why does the 3360x1050 res dualscreens always disappear when they go to the Pickle Jar?

Thu May 16, 2013 at 11:53 am

I absolutely love your outer space themed pictures and this one is no different, this is a really good remake of the 2004 version, I love it :D

Wed May 15, 2013 at 8:01 pm

Props! The colours remind me of the CGA days of early IBM. Beautiful artwork as usual. Great job, Ryan.

Wed May 15, 2013 at 7:13 pm

"Thank you!"
Thanks! For a minute there I thought you were discontinuing the png version for those resolutions :P

Wed May 15, 2013 at 1:06 pm

They should be showing up now Ali. They've been uploaded for a couple of days now but for some reason my database was not updating.

Wed May 15, 2013 at 12:37 am

Still waiting for the png versions of the 1440 and 1600 resolutions. :\

Wed May 15, 2013 at 11:27 am

Love it! I had the 2004 version on but I'll be using this one now. I've always been a fan of the space scenes.

Wed May 15, 2013 at 9:39 am

I can not see one reason to change this at all... Simply fantastic!!! Keep up the great work!!!

Wed May 15, 2013 at 6:31 am

Simply gorgeous !

Tue May 14, 2013 at 11:54 pm


Tue May 14, 2013 at 11:19 pm

Another great one. I'd have given it a ten, but in my eyes, it does not have the emotional warmth that images like the recent Sakura has. But that's just me.

Tue May 14, 2013 at 7:50 pm

..and the 2560*1600 png?

Tue May 14, 2013 at 5:40 pm

Where is the 1440p png version?

Tue May 14, 2013 at 5:39 pm

Alex H

Tue May 14, 2013 at 4:17 pm


Tue May 14, 2013 at 3:23 pm

Oh thank you thank you thank you. The 2004 version was consistently one of my top favorites and has never left my Chronowall rotation.

Can't wait for whatever other renders you come up with, Ryan. The only downside I have now is I have to wait for the dual-screen version.

Tue May 14, 2013 at 12:18 am

Thanks for all you do. The original "Roche Limit" is still one of my favorites. I love the planet and the moons and the background space in this update. But the ring particles look like glowing cotton balls instead of rocks and dust. Normally a lack of realism doesn't bother me, but on this one I can't get past it. Any chance of a pickle jar version without the rings?

Tue May 14, 2013 at 11:15 am

Awesome concept. Can't wait for the multi monitor versions. Your space ideas are amazing. They are by far my favorites. Not to say that your other is stuff is any less amazing. I just have a thing for your sci fi-ish stuff.

Tue May 14, 2013 at 10:10 am

I LOVE Ryan's space wallpapers. This one is awesome!

Tue May 14, 2013 at 9:28 am

Your space and planetary images are one of the biggest reasons I became a member! This render is amazing, what else can I say but pure perfection and your talent at it's finest.

Tue May 14, 2013 at 9:05 am

W I C K E D !!!

L O V E I T !!!

Tue May 14, 2013 at 7:35 am

I became a DB life member because of images like these. Awesome work Ryan!

Tue May 14, 2013 at 5:40 am

Love it!!

Tue May 14, 2013 at 3:44 am

Epic! You've been making a lot of really great stuff these past couple weeks :)

Mon May 13, 2013 at 10:41 pm

Makes you want to be there!

Mon May 13, 2013 at 8:40 pm

Love it, can't wait to see the variations.

Mon May 13, 2013 at 7:33 pm

Put me in the mind of "Niflheim" when I first saw it (one of my all-time favorites), and I really like the new colors.

Mon May 13, 2013 at 7:13 pm

This is one of the best, if not the best, space piece I have seen from you. And given your normal excellent quality, that's saying a lot!

Mon May 13, 2013 at 6:43 pm

Loving this, and completely disagree with Chris below. I'm loving the colors on this.

Mon May 13, 2013 at 6:06 pm

Its cool but I'm leaving "Jelly" as my wallpaper for now. This one could stand to have the purple hue toned down a bit.

Mon May 13, 2013 at 4:53 pm

it would be nice to see some pickle jar variations on the color and if possible when were your flying by the planet looking out the windshield of a space ship would be cool...

Mon May 13, 2013 at 4:30 pm

only because, and i hope you'll take this request into consideration, that i'd love to see this or your interpretation of what would happen once it passed the roche limit. maybe do one like a broken planed around a celestial body. like a black hole, a sun, or just a moon around a plant. kind of like they did for the moon in the 2002 movie The Time Machine.

Mon May 13, 2013 at 4:19 pm

Really like it

Mon May 13, 2013 at 3:42 pm

Beautiful as always. A 'from the ground' view would almost certainly receive a 10/10. Love the details in the rings.

Mon May 13, 2013 at 3:36 pm

"10/10 - Fantastic!"
Roche Limit 2004 is one of my all-time favorites. But this is even better! I love the color scheme in this version.

Mon May 13, 2013 at 3:36 pm

Doug B.
Outstanding!!! I can't wait for a dual-screen version, this is an immediate favorite.

Mon May 13, 2013 at 3:34 pm

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓


Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)


Recent Guardians:

  • Kevin Lynch ('Crimmy') -- (11/2/15)
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)

Recent Sponsors:

  • Jonathan Stanley -- (11/1/15)
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)

Recent Patrons:

  • Richard Month -- (11/1/15)
  • Cliff Bloom -- (10/25/15)
  • Michael Swanson -- (10/16/15)
  • Eric Eidson -- (9/30/15)
  • Tim Honkalammi -- (09/22/15)

Recent Donors:

  • Jonathan P Man -- (11/27/15)
  • De Beers -- (11/19/15)
  • Alisa McKeehan -- (11/7/15)
  • Patrick Biggs -- (11/6/15)
  • Dean Andrews -- (11/5/15)
  • Technovation Design -- (11/4/15)

Digital Blasphemy 2016 Wall Calendar

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy