Around where I live we are still waiting impatiently for Spring to arrive. I've gotten so tired of the cold and gloom that I thought it would be therapeutic to create a new Spring wallpaper.

I've added "Sakura (2013)" to the Members Gallery this morning. I've wanted to update this piece for a long time, due to the fact that the cherry blossoms on the 2006 trees are actually 2D planes that lose detail closer to the camera.

Vue 11's new "360 Ecosystems" finally allows me to create a proper flowering tree using 3D blooms. I've used this tech so far to create Christmas lights and a few glowing blooms but this is my first attempt at Chery trees. This render itself is actually a "first draft" and there are a few aspects that I would still like to tweak, but I thought it came out nice enough to share while I render my revisions.

If you are curious, the scene contains over 98 billion polygons and took over 38 hours to render at 4096 x 2560. I'm hoping to cut down the render time for future versions.

Let me know what you think in the comments. I hope you like it!!


8.96/10 rating (275 votes)
88 Comments

Dualscreen:
Triscreen:
Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

sakura2k13blue
9.23/10 rating (39 votes)

Member Comments

Jen
"My New Favorite!"
I love this so much! Less in-your-face than the pink, but with the same softness, beauty and relaxation-inducing vibes. Love love love it! <3

Fri January 16, 2015 at 9:41 am

Janis
"lovely"
I particulary enjoy your treatment of the reflection. It makes me think of a type of tea I drink, Sakura Sencha (green with cheer blossoms) It makes me think of spring.

Mon August 11, 2014 at 7:07 pm

Chandler
"Astounding! 10/10"
Ever since the new Sakura came out I was mesmerized with it and loved it. This blue one has made it even better and it now is proudly displayed on my desktop!

Wed September 11, 2013 at 11:39 am

Docpixl
"didn't"
I like the original better. It is soothing, quiet, peaceful and contemplative. I know much more work went into the 2013 version, but the treatment of the 2006 version has more to do with a peaceful scene and quietly soothing my mind than this one. Some images just strike me as being 'right', Sakura 2006 is one of those.

Sun June 30, 2013 at 9:02 am

Docpixl
"didn't"
I like the original better. It is soothing, quiet, peaceful and contemplative. I know much more work went into the 2013 version, but the treatment of the 2006 version has more to do with a peaceful scene and quietly soothing my mind than this one. Some images just strike me as being 'right', Sakura 2006 is one of those.

Sun June 30, 2013 at 9:01 am

Romana
"A tranquil 10"
It's very soothing. A perfect centering point for a chaotic mind like mine.

Fri June 28, 2013 at 1:30 pm

Romana
"A tranquil 10"
It's very soothing. A perfect centering point for a chaotic mind like mine.

Fri June 28, 2013 at 1:28 pm

Billy D
"9"
This is another one that really strikes me. I usually like a variety of colors, but this one really does make me think of spring and being out in the shade with my family.

Tue May 28, 2013 at 9:44 pm

Dean
"Sakura (blue)"
Can we have this in dual and tri-screen? It really is my favorite but it's a dual screen repetition.

Mon May 27, 2013 at 10:39 pm

Mangoman23
"Oh, wow."
That's a ten!! Holy Shoot! Now I know why my favorite color is blue! What a gorgeous picture it is that sits on my 27" monitor. Thank you, again, so much, for your God-given talent, and for doing something about showing it to the world. My lifetime subscription was a smart investment!

Fri May 24, 2013 at 9:37 pm

Buddha
"10"
OMG I want more pictures like this! Love it!

Fri May 17, 2013 at 8:35 pm

Gene
"10/10"
Spectacular. Just makes me want to go there and never come back.

Tue May 14, 2013 at 7:52 pm

Marilyn T
"Proprietor - Artistically Yours"
Love it. Thanks for doing it in blue

Sun May 12, 2013 at 7:28 pm

Marian Jus
"Love this one"
I really love this...very nice

Wed May 8, 2013 at 2:10 pm

Moab
"Wonderful"
Best of the three. This type of work is why I'm a lifer. Good stuff, Ryan.

Fri May 3, 2013 at 2:49 pm

Littlemom
"9"
Love this one!!!

Fri May 3, 2013 at 10:41 am

Zak
"Awesome"
Still my favorite of the 3 versions (Day/Night Pink and Blue). Definitely worthy of being promoted out of the picklejar to it's own page. Any chance to get zips of the picklejar versions?

Fri May 3, 2013 at 10:26 am

Jeff
"Love the realism!"
Your best work is like this, when you take us to places we feel that we almost know and long to visit.

Fri May 3, 2013 at 7:07 am

NikB
"Much better than pink!"
This looks just like the Jacaranda trees that grow where I live (Sydney, Australia). In fact I have two large trees that look just like this image every November! Fantastic!

Thu May 2, 2013 at 11:57 pm

Eric
"Love it"
Love it one, then again blue is my favorite color. Would love to see the multiscreen renders.

Thu May 2, 2013 at 1:44 pm

Marcus
"Picklejar"
is there a link to see all of the picklejars? i usually have to go from picture to picture too see if there are any variations, is there a link to just go to the gallery of all the variations?

Thu May 2, 2013 at 10:46 am

Tina
"OMG!!!"
It's bluue! Thank you!!

Thu May 2, 2013 at 10:38 am

Adamtrons
"THANK YOU!!"
Ryan! Gratitude for taking the time to create this variation. It is a handsome periwinkle (that is a fun word to use) on my monitor and looks very majestic. Thank you for this wondrous work of art!! :D

Thu May 2, 2013 at 4:47 am

Justin
"Not to take up more of your time..."
Can't wait for the night version, but curious if a mix of the blue and pink blossoms might be pickle jar worthy?

Wed May 1, 2013 at 5:45 pm

Alex
"Multiscreen?"
Any chance there will be dual and triple screen renders of the blue version?

Wed May 1, 2013 at 4:58 pm

Jenanne
"Beautiful in Blue"
Very nice PJ version! I'm looking forward to the night version, too. Thanks, Ryan!

Wed May 1, 2013 at 2:18 pm

CheliNasr
"Nice! Love it! "
Of course, I'm partial to the blue and purple tones.



This is now up as my wallpaper at work, just in time for May Day. :o)



PS. Could you make a Facebook cover or this??? ;o)

Wed May 1, 2013 at 11:13 am

Ryan
"@Adamtrons"

Wed May 1, 2013 at 10:33 am

miles4
"Galaxy S4 and HTC One Resolutions "
Many new phones are offering screen resolutions of 1080x1920. It would be awesome if you could include these resolutions so we can have your amazing wallpapers on our HD phones!!

Mon April 29, 2013 at 5:35 pm

SnP
"Breathtaking 10"
I love cherry blossoms, even though we don't have 'em here, and well, spring's muttering about still being the season of choice (autumn? what autumn?). Case in point, we had one of our classic early-summer thunderstorms two days ago.



This...is a nice change in pace. The way life should be... It takes me back to simpler better times. Makes me want to spread out a picnic on those banks... If that's not a 10, I don't know what is.

Wed April 24, 2013 at 11:42 pm

Gina J.
"Breathtaking!! 10/10"
Ryan, this one is simply stunning! Kudos!

Wed April 24, 2013 at 8:54 pm

JT
"Perfecto"
What a wonderful delivery time for some peace and beauty in our lives. This immediately made my heart melt, in a great way. And yes, this will be on all of my monitors at work, for the chicks. ;) Thanks in advance for the convos to be had..

Tue April 23, 2013 at 10:42 pm

Ross H.
"Dude. 10/10"
Absolutely perfect! I love this one, Ryan!

Tue April 23, 2013 at 9:33 pm

fandeboris
"WOW!!"
Ryan, I think you outdid your self this time. The pink flowers over the swollen river is awesome. This one definitely rates a 10 on my Ryan-o-meter.

Mon April 22, 2013 at 8:18 pm

Nelson
"@jlpilkin"
Ryan wanted the river to be swollen. That's why the grass spreads into the water. It wouldn't be like that in the normal situation ;-)

Mon April 22, 2013 at 4:55 pm

jlpilkin
"9.5 / 10"
And this is what I meant by your next masterpiece.. well done! The only minor complaint (hence the 0.5 deduction) would be the grass going all the way to the shoreline. I actually had to rate this a 9/10 since there is no 0.5 increment.

Mon April 22, 2013 at 2:06 pm

Sundogvet
"10/10"
Oh, this is an improvement! I loved the original back in the day, but you could see how flat it could be when you looked at it up close. This is lovely. Nicely done.

Mon April 22, 2013 at 12:33 am

Germain
"10 of 10 "
"Sakura" is absolutely beautiful; I admit, I am a slut for the nature-oriented wallpaper.I believe you did a fantastic job on it, Mr Ryan. Thank you for this new addition :D

Mon April 22, 2013 at 12:24 am

Ryan
"@Nelson"
I've decided this one is pretty good as is so I don't think I will be making any changes. There certainly some things I could tweak (the shoreline, the background, the water) but I don't think any of those things would significantly improve the piece.

Besides, once people have seen a piece and I change more than one thing I invariably get complaints that some changes helped and others were negative.

So, I think I will move on to a new project now (unless I hear mass objections). I already have something in mind in fact.

As Monty Python would say: "And now for something completely different...".

Sun April 21, 2013 at 5:11 pm

Nelson
"10"
Fantastic. I really like the old Sakura. This update has a completely different, eh... "feel" for me, but that's OK, it's awesome nevertheless. I'm curious about the changes you wrote you would still like to do. When this is only a draft, how great will the final version be...?

Sun April 21, 2013 at 4:57 pm

Ryan
"@Angelique"
That will always be a problem when I change more than one aspect of a render. In this case I felt the multi-colored flowers (especially the yellow ones) really clashed and detracted from the scene. Sorry!

Sun April 21, 2013 at 7:44 am

Angelique
"10"
Well I didn'tthink there could be a way to improve this but I must say I really like the trees better in the updated version. However, now I think the flowers along the riverbank were better in the first version :( The colors were more complimentary for the scene. Could you possibly insert the new style trees with the first scene that had the better flowers at the riverbank?

Sat April 20, 2013 at 11:45 pm

Sylar
"9.5"
Opps I mean left left!

Sat April 20, 2013 at 7:47 pm

Sylar
"9.5"
I love it almost perfect running on a 5760x1080 res I can’t help thinking the trees on the bottom right the ones on the river bank look slightly out of focus in comparison to the other stuff (not sure if this is intentional) but lovely never the less my new wallpaper! I know there not around in autumn and don’t turn gold or anything but different coloured blossoms would be amazing!

Sat April 20, 2013 at 7:43 pm

Patrick
"10"
Was not expecting this at all. Gorgeous! 10/10.

Sat April 20, 2013 at 12:21 am

Nick
"9.5"
I loved the original Sakura, it was one of the first pieces I saw from your collection and was one of the reasons I joined your site. I'm glad to see it get an updated render.

Sat April 20, 2013 at 11:22 am

Jenanne
"@Ryan"
A BIT of an understatement! That's what keeps your fans coming back for more -- the veritable smorgasbord of visual delights. Although I do think us science fiction/fantasy fanatics get some special treatment. ;)

Sat April 20, 2013 at 10:58 am

anna_writr
"8"
The pictures is more advanced than the old one, gorgeous trees. I liked the distance look of the old picture, however.

Sat April 20, 2013 at 8:50 am

Ryan
"@Jenanne"
Thank you! I'd like to think I have a bit of range ;-)

Fri April 19, 2013 at 11:07 pm

Jenanne
"10/10"
So beautiful! Quite a change from the barren desert of Arrakeen; it's perfect for my spring wallpaper. Thanks, Ryan!

Fri April 19, 2013 at 7:17 pm

Dennis M.
"9/10"
The stream reminds me of spring, when the freshly melted snow overfills the banks. I used to have neighbors that would have a pond each spring until all the ice downstream melted, then one day the water would just go away.

Fri April 19, 2013 at 12:54 am

Dennis M.
"9/10"
The stream reminds me of spring, when the freshly melted snow overfills the banks. I used to have neighbors that would have a pond each spring until all the ice downstream melted, then one day the water would just go away.

Fri April 19, 2013 at 12:54 am

Joe
"8/10"
I really like the submerged grass in the left corner. Kind of wish it was more evident throughout the rest of the image that the ground is pretty well flooded, still nice though.

Fri April 19, 2013 at 12:15 am

Daniel
"10/10"
It's gorgeous, it's a beautiful springtime, and I love cherry blossoms. It does make me think of Japan.

Fri April 19, 2013 at 11:03 am

Kyle
"Not as strong as 2006"
While this piece is beautiful, I find myself less drawn to it than the 2006 version. On close inspection I think what I liked better about the old was the reflection of the treeline against the sky in the water giving a color gradient effect. Here below the blossoms everything is rather dark and muddled.

Fri April 19, 2013 at 11:02 am

brad
"10/10"
Beautiful. Just beautiful.

Fri April 19, 2013 at 9:43 am

Francesco
"10/10"
With this image you bring the spring on my ipad. Outstanding work Ryan! Greetings from Milan,Italy

Fri April 19, 2013 at 8:41 am

Celeborn
"10"
It's stunning. And Ryan, I must admit it's very true what you say about the ladies being attracted to the workstation. Ever since I use your backgrounds on my desktop at work, I've had several female colleagues asking me where I took that amazing photograph...some of them rather disappointed when I tell them it isn't a photo but a piece of art, others even more enthusiastic when I point them to your website. And I certainly don't mind the attention!

Fri April 19, 2013 at 8:02 am

Doug B.
"11/10"
Reminds me of the dogwoods we have blooming around town, although the blossoms aren't as dense.

Fri April 19, 2013 at 7:34 am

Ryan
"@Alec"
Thank you! I consider that to be part of my job.

Fri April 19, 2013 at 7:32 am

Alec
"10"
Absolutely amazing. The world needs a reminder of some of the beautiful things in life this week, and this certainly delivers.

Fri April 19, 2013 at 2:46 am

Ryan
"@Tarkan2467"
I thought they clashed myself. Sorry!



@Adamtrons: I've noticed the ladies seem to like this one and I am thrilled with that. You might find one or two attracted to your workstation if you had the right desktop and that certainly isn't against the code (is it?).

Thu April 18, 2013 at 8:53 pm

Tarkan2467
"10"
I like the new trees and grass but prefer the ground cover flowers from the first version. I thought the additional color was nice, though I also see how someone could say it clashed with the trees. Looks great either way.

Thu April 18, 2013 at 8:49 pm

Adamtrons
"9"
This is beautiful and I would not change a thing as far as the content but my code of masculinity prevents me from setting a pink tree as my desktop. Ha. Would be great to see a purple pickle jar variation of this although I don’t know if purple cherry blossom exits in reality.

Thu April 18, 2013 at 8:42 pm

Kevin
"10"
Geeze, I want this in my backyard. Any expert landscapers?

Thu April 18, 2013 at 8:25 pm

betsey
"9.5"
not to argue....but in the MidWest Spring when the water is high--the grass IS at the waterline!!!! takes it awhile to go down!!!

Thu April 18, 2013 at 6:07 pm

Jonathan
"10"
Beautiful!

Thu April 18, 2013 at 5:09 pm

Ryan
"@bruceam"
Thanks for the feedback! As I mentioned further down in the comments, I was going for the "swollen stream" look here as a little homage to all the rain we've been getting. I definitely know what you mean about stream banks though.

Thu April 18, 2013 at 3:34 pm

bruceam
"9"
I love the composition, the colors, and the subject matter. One thing that I have noticed on this and a few other of your images, "Grass does not grow all the way down to the waterline". There should be a little bit of bank or rock barrier showing at the interface between water and land. This is a gorgeous piece, and other than that one caveat, it is definitely one of the best you have produced!



Keep up the Great Work.

Thu April 18, 2013 at 3:24 pm

Angelique
"10"
WOW - I'm speechless! This one is absolutely gorgeous!! I can't imagine what you'd think would need further tweaking. I'm going to rate it 10/10 right now and put it up on the desktop :)

Thu April 18, 2013 at 2:38 pm

Deanna
"10/10"
Oh gosh, this makes me so happy. I have been hoping you would create an updated Sakura for quite a while now. I love it!!! Thank you. I have been to Japan and have seen the beautiful Sakura trees in all their glory, and this is exactly what I hoped for.

Thu April 18, 2013 at 1:19 pm

Tina
"10"
Fantastic reminder of spring after the last 24 hours of snow!

Thu April 18, 2013 at 12:58 am

Chris
"9/10"
I love this one! The color scheme and lighting almost makes it look like its not quite real; almost like its made out of candy or clay or something. Nonetheless its a great work and I'm glad to see that you're not making any more dark colored "minimalist" ones for now.

Thu April 18, 2013 at 12:31 am

Ted B.
"10"
Beautiful! I've been staring at it for the last 10 minutes. Oh, to be sitting on a blanket under one of those trees....

Thu April 18, 2013 at 12:00 am

Rob C.
"9"
Wow. Love it - definitely gets me pumped for spring. I will agree with JMK that the grass looks a little "more real than real," but it's still a great work.



Thanks again!

Thu April 18, 2013 at 11:50 am

Duane
"9/10"
Love it! This is a really, really nice render - very peaceful.



I would love to see some fallen blossoms floating along the river (a-la Haiku).

Thu April 18, 2013 at 11:17 am

FlareHeart
"9/10"
I love this one. I'm not usually a fan of anything pink, but the Sakura tree is one of my favorites and it has definitely been done justice here. I can't wait for the later revisions!

Thu April 18, 2013 at 11:14 am

Ryan
"@Terry"
Thanks! The branches in the upper left are about as close as I would want to get.

Thu April 18, 2013 at 10:45 am

Terry
"8"
I like this Ryan, the trees look amazing. Out of interest how close could you get to the trees before the details starts to fall - I reckon it would look impressive if you could have a shot looking up through the canopy with rays piercing through. Nice work - keep it up :)

Thu April 18, 2013 at 10:43 am

Scarr
"9"
This is one of the few pieces that look very Pixar-esqe. I feel like Shrek and Fiona could have a nice picnic under that tree.



Love it.

Thu April 18, 2013 at 10:27 am

Laura
"10"
I love sakura, and this is class DB! So realistic but also too perfect for words!

Thu April 18, 2013 at 10:15 am

Greg in CA
"9"
I prefer abstracts and space scenes, but this is awesome!

Thu April 18, 2013 at 10:09 am

Ryan
"@JMK"
That's a good idea. I wanted the water to look like a swollen stream however as a nod to the rainy weather we've been having lately.

Thu April 18, 2013 at 10:06 am

JMK in CT
"9"
Amazing. Love the trees! Not so hot on the grass. I know you can do better. How about a couple of rocks in the river for interest?

Thu April 18, 2013 at 10:02 am

Ben
"10"
Awesome job. Now I want some Sushi :D

Thu April 18, 2013 at 9:59 am

Chris C
" "
I liked the foreground tree in the original Sakura that was used as a framing device in the single monitor view. I think i see a little bit of that in the corner of the updated version. Perhaps we'll see more in the multi-screen render?

Thu April 18, 2013 at 9:58 am

Greg
"9"
All I have to say is this:

You, sir, are talented.

Thu April 18, 2013 at 9:36 am

cdp601
"8"
Very Cool!

Thu April 18, 2013 at 9:31 am

iOS Users Get My App!

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

Join the Membership!

A la carte purchases will be credited back if you purchase a Membership!

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)

THANKS TO:

Recent Guardians:

  • John Harrah -- (4/16/16)
  • Andrew McCormick -- (1/13/16)
  • Kevin Lynch ('Crimmy') -- (11/2/15)
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)

Recent Sponsors:

  • Jonathan Stanley -- (11/1/15)
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)

Recent Patrons:

  • The Gollub Family -- (4/15/16)
  • Patrick R Skelnar -- (12/24/15)
  • Richard Month -- (11/1/15)
  • Cliff Bloom -- (10/25/15)
  • Michael Swanson -- (10/16/15)

Recent Donors:

  • Jeff Jann (4/24/16)
  • James Lawson (4/21/16)
  • Marco Mattle (4/16/16)
  • Max Plank (4/16/16)
  • Eric Lowe (4/15/16)

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2016 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy