Shan shui refers to a style of landscape painting that originated in 5th century China. I've always been impressed by the ethereal qualities of these paintings and this wallpaper is my homage to the genre.


8.39/10 rating (152 votes)
87 Comments

Dualscreen:
Triscreen:
Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

shanshui1
8.12/10 rating (172 votes)

Member Comments

Matthias
"You cloudy landscapes are excellent..-"
...for use in the office. Which is where I need something calming and soothing that helps me concentrate on my work. Great work!

Fri July 27, 2012 at 11:21 am

Ed
"Changes"
I followed your work quite awhile back... it was good then.. it is truly marvelous now. Iam genuinely awed.



Ed Conrad (returning)

Fri December 24, 2010 at 10:03 pm

Scott Wray
"Zazzle.com"
Ryan,

I own the Size: Huge 52.5" x 32.81" of highland spring, which is hanging on the wall in my office. My friends come over and are always asking me, "where is this picture from?" It makes me giddy inside everytime when i get to tell them that it is the brain child of ryan bliss! No one believes me when i tell them its not a real picture.



I recieved an email from zazzle.com this morning alerting me of a 40% discount on all prints. I would LOVE to put shanshui in my dinning room, but for some reason zazzle is only offering Large: 34" x 22". Is there any reason for this? You can reach me via email scottwray1@gmail.com (email or google chat). I dont know how long this discount is going to last so im pretty anxious to hear from you!

Mon August 16, 2010 at 9:35 am

Nate
""With Morning Comes Mistfall""
ever read J.R.Martin's "With Morning Comes Mistfall"? it is a short story he wrote early in his career this looks just how he describes the planet in that story

Wed August 11, 2010 at 2:41 pm

felix
"love it! animated version please?"
I think this would look amazing with the clouds slowly rolling over the mountains. May have to be ridiculously long to make a seamless loop though, plus I don't know how hard it is to animate the clouds realistically

Sat July 24, 2010 at 7:09 am

Sander
"Nearly perfection"
This render is quite impressive and almost realistic, to bad the trees don't look all to real otherwise this would be indistinguishable from a real photo,



keep up the good work,



S.

Fri July 16, 2010 at 4:12 am

Jenanne
"Love it!"
I love the newest version! Bravo, Ryan!

Thu July 1, 2010 at 4:22 pm

Timelord
"Wrong Link"
The 3360x1050 link is not opening the correct image.

Thu July 1, 2010 at 10:59 am

Andy
"That's Better"
Looks the same as the change I did to it in Photoshop with the Lab settings. Nice update.

Thu July 1, 2010 at 3:16 am

Maelin
"3360x1050"
Hi Ryan, the 3360x1050 (dual 16:10) render is the wrong image, it's the same as the 5040x1050 image. Curiously, the watermark is in a slightly different position between the two.

Thu July 1, 2010 at 1:00 am

Zlynt
"Links"
The links for split files is busted

Wed June 30, 2010 at 10:19 am

Utoxin
"Wow... Love the update!"
I loved the original, but this one blows it away! Thanks for the update, Ryan!

Wed June 30, 2010 at 8:38 am

Walo
"update"
nice update, looks sharper now.

Wed June 30, 2010 at 7:49 am

Ryan
"16:9 files"
I am aware if the issues with the 16:9 files. I will post corrected files once my landline connection comes back up. It's been down for two hours.

Tue June 29, 2010 at 7:25 pm

Yeoman
"Shanshui 2, lousy resolution"
The 1920 x 1080 resolution is wrong, way too high and narrow. Don't know what I've got but a HDTV image it is not...

Tue June 29, 2010 at 6:46 pm

Geep
"Wrong resolution"
The 1366x768 one comes up as 1366x1093. Just to let you know. :)

I like the new look btw. It looks more vibrant. :)

Tue June 29, 2010 at 5:51 pm

Al
"Resolution"
Great pic. One thing though, the 1366*768, er, isn't. You've got another 300ish pixels on the height. Maybe that's intentional, and of course you can just fit to screen.

Tue June 29, 2010 at 5:27 pm

sirabbadon
"love the extra contrast"
I love the extra contrast with the dark mountain tops. Spectacular! Jaw dropping!

Tue June 29, 2010 at 4:58 pm

Chad
"Shanshui"
Simple, yet great!

Tue June 22, 2010 at 7:57 am

kellzilla
"typos"
Rather, "you have awesome enough monitors", because I don't think anyone on earth has a single monitor that has a native 7680x1600 resolution. :p

Tue June 22, 2010 at 0:37 am

kellzilla
"Shanshui"
I have a 1920x1080 screen, and I love bringing up the ginormous multi-monitor files and poking around at the details. This is probably my favorite part of being a member, being able to zoom into the details of the piece. Each piece is even more epic when viewed at two to four times the resolution as your monitor. (I feel "sorry" :p for those of you whose resolution don't allow you to do this... except I don't, because that means you have an awesome enough monitor to view it at full screen. :p )

Tue June 22, 2010 at 0:36 am

matt
":o"
love the multi screen. right now with the storm clouds above me when i look from the right angle it looks like i'm looking through my screen at the sky haha

(the right angle is sitting on the floor looking up) :/

Mon June 21, 2010 at 11:59 pm

Christian
"thanks =)"
it looks amazeing ^^

Mon June 21, 2010 at 9:30 am

Ryan
"@Christian"
I was uploading the multi-screen versions just as you made your post. I hope they work for you!

Mon June 21, 2010 at 9:16 am

Christian
"Nice!"
This is very nice, but i hope that you can make dual moditor versions. just love using this kind of pictures on my Desctops.

Mon June 21, 2010 at 9:05 am

rubbercake
"Slight discomfort"
Fantastic subject, no waterfall needed. Fantastic angle, great view. But I feel like the contrast is slightly off. i.e. Could be sharper and less 'hazy'. :) Keep up the good work, hope you're feeling better!!

Mon June 21, 2010 at 7:39 am

Joshin42
"great new direction"
I really love this style Ryan. I'd love to see what else you think you can do with it but it's already breathtaking! Can't wait for the Multiscreens! *itch itch*

Sun June 20, 2010 at 6:55 pm

ZG
"Shanshui "
I must say I prefer this one to the Highland Spring. One reason or another.

Sat June 19, 2010 at 10:34 am

Ali
"would make a great TV wallpaper"
This is going to look awesome on my LG 47SL8500, thanks to the USB port.

Sat June 19, 2010 at 8:38 am

Scarr
"World Cup"
Maybe something festive for the world cup as your next piece? Or something African?

Fri June 18, 2010 at 2:24 pm

Yeoman
"Shanshui"
Brilliant. Forget the snow idea, won't achieve anything at all. An alternative for the picklejar like you used in "Enshrouded" with the cloud layer a fair bit lower would be the go.

Fri June 18, 2010 at 4:58 am

Ali
"needs no additions"
Additions would take away from, not add to, the composition. Don't clutter this fantastic wallpaper.

Thu June 17, 2010 at 4:26 pm

Rob
"Water"
I defintely agree that some waterfalls would make this an even better piece than it is. Nice job tho.

Wed June 16, 2010 at 12:49 am

Toolsmith
"Definately a keeper"
It reminds me, quite a bit, of a photo taken by a friend of mine of a fog bank rolling out of the hills in Gaviota Pass California.

Wed June 16, 2010 at 11:09 am

sigmaman
"Nice!"
Pretty nice this one I reckon.

Wed June 16, 2010 at 5:04 am

anna_writr
"beautiful"
love it, but it needs a bit of snow on the tips of the mountains. It just looks that way. That might highlight the mountaintops.

Tue June 15, 2010 at 10:13 am

Will
"Why I joined..."
Absolutely amazing! Almost makes me dizzy looking at it.



Fantastic job!

Mon June 14, 2010 at 6:47 pm

Tyler
"Where is the water?"
I see the mountains... I really think this piece needs waterfalls. To me this too closely resembles Enshrouded (which I prefer). I think waterfalls would greatly improve the mystical potential IMHO. You could even make the waterfalls from the clouds...



See here: http://www.ling.hawaii.edu/~uhdoc/yimeng/Shan%20shui%20hua.bmp

Mon June 14, 2010 at 4:33 pm

Ben
"Love The Mountaintop Pics!"
The valley/clouds/mountaintop lines we've been seeing more of recently are just stunning; they're quickly becoming the ones I look forward to the most. This feels like early morning on a really good vacation to me.

Mon June 14, 2010 at 2:12 pm

Nate F
"Awesome!!"
Reminds me a bit of eyriepagoda. Great stuff

Mon June 14, 2010 at 2:10 pm

Sheldon
"Oh yeah."
Nice. I like it.

Mon June 14, 2010 at 8:21 am

RobRiv
"just one word or two"
Very very nice! like always Ryan!

Mon June 14, 2010 at 8:15 am

Alex
"ShanShui"
beautiful!... I love the landscape scenes like this that you do, all mist and trees and mountains... so serene... yay!

Sun June 13, 2010 at 8:41 pm

Miguell026
"Shanshui"
Cool landscape scenario! very nice!



maybe just a bit too cloudy..... but is awesome!



Nice work Ryan! as always!

Sun June 13, 2010 at 8:27 am

Michelle
"Tri-Screen"
Ryan always adds the dual and tri screens later as they take longer to render.

Sun June 13, 2010 at 6:09 am

Zach
"You Might Like This..."
This was an e-onsoftware spotlight that I found on their website, you might be interested.



http://www.e-onsoftware.com/showcase/projects/?page=10

Sun June 13, 2010 at 0:18 am

Rene
"No Tri screen?"
Hoping they will be added later??

Sat June 12, 2010 at 11:17 pm

Gandalf
"Shanshui"
Wonderous Magnificent! I vote 11

Sat June 12, 2010 at 5:14 pm

littlemom
"Shanshui"
As always a beautiful render. However I think it's a little dark in the gray tones of the mountains. Love the clouds though.




Sat June 12, 2010 at 3:56 pm

robk64
"Shanshui - Awesome"
Having seen scenes like this in real life, I'd have to say you nailed it. Throw in a few areas devoid of cloud cover and more shadows and I'd really be blown away. Not sure what you'd want to "fix" on this, though. Great job!

Sat June 12, 2010 at 2:40 pm

robk64
"Shanshui - Awesome"
Having seen scenes like this in real life, I'd have to say you nailed it. Throw in a few areas devoid of cloud cover and more shadows and I'd really be blown away. Not sure what you'd want to "fix" on this, though. Great job!

Sat June 12, 2010 at 2:40 pm

David W
"very nice!"
I like it alot! but I kind a wish you made some of the mountians snow capped. just a suggestion though... it looks good how it does now although it would be nice to see some snow! anyways....... love it! I think the Blue-green shan shui looks a little more interesting. but WORD!

Sat June 12, 2010 at 2:27 pm

Meng
"Lost"
Images like these just take my breath away. I get lost in a world free of care and simply enjoy nature and the respect it demands. Nature is so full of awe and wonder, but at the same time, it can be lethal. It is a very inspiring/spiritual piece. Well done.

Sat June 12, 2010 at 1:56 pm

Joe
"Epic"
Epic

Sat June 12, 2010 at 11:36 am

hEADcRASH
"Beautiful"
Reminds me of flying with my father over my hometown at dusk with low-clouds (in Wyoming). Really, really pretty.

Sat June 12, 2010 at 10:16 am

Phillip D
"Nice"
NIce volumetric clouds....it was frustrating to know that the render times are usually very long for those type of images, but looks like you did them successfully!


Sat June 12, 2010 at 2:35 am

Wraith
"WANT"
Awesome! I love the vista. ^_^

Sat June 12, 2010 at 0:12 am

Lireoec
"Like Enshrouded"
This reminds me of your beautiful and majestic piece, Enshrouded. I've always been a fan of clouds, being an avid cloud photographer (yes, I study and photograph different kinds of clouds). Australia's never disappointed me with its abundance of amazing natural scenes featuring brilliant colours created by natural light, clouds and special flora and fauna on offer here.



I like the bird's eye view, reminds me of the helicopter ride over Mount Kosciusko I took a few years ago. I like the perspective you took and how masterfully you used light to give your piece that grand and epic feel that every artist tries to capture, especially in this sort of work. Thank you for another awesome addition!

Fri June 11, 2010 at 11:13 pm

Mark
"Interesting"
I left this image open as a tab in my browser for ages wondering what to do with it. While I can see why the effect is the way it is, it's too 'grey' to be a lively desktop for me. Cue Photoshop and a few tweaks later and it looks much more spectacular.



Personally I'd like to see a more intense version of this, but if it's not the effect you're going for then hey, I'm alright with making the changes myself.

Fri June 11, 2010 at 10:49 pm

celmendo
" Like it as is"
Can't wait to see how you tweak it!

Fri June 11, 2010 at 9:38 pm

Ian
"Waves"
My instant thought on this scene was waves. I've seen a few movies of the beach with large rocks and the waves hitting them and leaving a frothy surface, much in the way the clouds do here.

Very inspiring. I understand the reference to the Shan Shui, although many of the paintings I have seen are far less defined towards the edges, they seem to "float" in the center of the canvas. On a painting such as this, the clouds would be used to fade the image out to nothing.

Fri June 11, 2010 at 9:18 pm

Andy
"Oooooo."
Very nice. I don't know if the colour settings on my monitor are wrong but this adjustment I did looks nicer to me.

http://img809.imageshack.us/img809/9774/20478402.jpg

Fri June 11, 2010 at 8:26 pm

byteful
"Multi-screens"
Yeah Yeah I know that this just arrived today, but please say that this is slated to be included as a Dual screen(split) Wall Paper.



As for my comments, I love China's old style of Art.



Thanks Ryan, and keep up the good work.

Fri June 11, 2010 at 7:25 pm

Michelle
"Just lovely"
For some reason it reminds me of a dream, you know, the lovely ones that fade just as you wake up and you aren't certain for a moment which is reality? Definitely a soul sighing favorite! Bravo!

Fri June 11, 2010 at 5:53 pm

Jenanne
"Spectacular!"
Just when I think it's not possible for you to outdo yourself again, Ryan, you manage to do it. If I didn't know better, I would swear I'm looking at an aerial photo. The detail is amazing, the clouds and light perfect. It's less colorful than most of your work, but if that's the style you're aiming for, then it's appropriate. And still the overall effect is breathtaking. Bravo!

Fri June 11, 2010 at 4:35 pm

matt
"Nice"
This looks pretty amazing when you remember it was made on a computer :S

Just the whole thing is pretty much the same :(, However it would be hard to change it considering on what you based it on and for it to still look natural. Still amazing


Fri June 11, 2010 at 4:25 pm

Jonathan L
"I love it!"
It's very creative. Very pleasant to look at, too.

Fabulous job, Ryan.

This is a 9.5 in my books!

Fri June 11, 2010 at 3:34 pm

Thom
"Nice"
Reminds me of Morning Mist (2006). :)

Fri June 11, 2010 at 3:11 pm

Julie G
"Shan Shui"
This is actually very typical of the style of Chinese painting you are speaking of. As I recall them, they are done with watered down inks and very loose paint brushes. Your piece calls that in mind with the muted colors and the ethereal atmosphere that you've created. While the view point is higher than that typically found in the classic Shan Shui paintings, all the other qualities are there.



I like this very much - I love those pieces showing panoramic landscapes, usually from a high mountain peak, that you have done. Currently your recent "Highland Spring" has been residing on my desktop monitor (usually I have it set to rotate between a selection of your wallpapers based on themes - spring, summer, fall, winter, desert, ocean/coastal, etc). I think Shan Shui will replace it for the summer.



Well done!

Fri June 11, 2010 at 2:54 pm

Julie G
"Shan Shui"
This is actually very typical of the style of Chinese painting you are speaking of. As I recall them, they are done with watered down inks and very loose paint brushes. Your piece calls that in mind with the muted colors and the ethereal atmosphere that you've created. While the view point is higher than that typically found in the classic Shan Shui paintings, all the other qualities are there.



I like this very much - I love those pieces showing panoramic landscapes, usually from a high mountain peak, that you have done. Currently your recent "Highland Spring" has been residing on my desktop monitor (usually I have it set to rotate between a selection of your wallpapers based on themes - spring, summer, fall, winter, desert, ocean/coastal, etc). I think Shan Shui will replace it for the summer.



Well done!

Fri June 11, 2010 at 2:54 pm

Dan - NE
"Clarity"
I did agree with Josh's comment about it appearing washed out but if thats the style of art, so be it. My only issue was having a little more clarity or sharpness to the picture. It just seems to loose so much luster. Thats my only complaint, other than that its great. Im looking forward to seeing any further changes to this work.

Fri June 11, 2010 at 2:22 pm

Patrick
"Thanks"
Hi Ryan,



Thanks for your reply. I think this is a "growing" image, it looks better on the desktop than on the site.



Sorry about the double post earlier. Something with the site threw me.

Fri June 11, 2010 at 2:00 pm

Ryan
"@Patrick"
The paths are the mountain tops. They lead to the sunrise (threshold) which is also the heart.

Fri June 11, 2010 at 1:52 pm

Patrick
"It's OK"
Hi Ryan,



I'm not really sold on this one, I'm sorry to say. It seems a bit too natural for Shan shui in my opinion. Maybe it's the viewpoint, which flattens the mountains. Maybe moving the viewpoint lower would elongate the mountains.



As a wallpaper, (just put it on my desktop) it works well. Maybe a touch more colour in the top right hand corner, to give the impression of a setting or rising sun?



I'm just looking at the link to Wiki you posted. How do you feel that your work incorporates the three basic components? (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shan_shui#Compositions)



I'm sorry I don't sound more enthusiastic, but I've tried to make my comments constructive.

Fri June 11, 2010 at 1:15 pm

Patrick
"It's OK"
Hi Ryan,



I'm not really sold on this one, I'm sorry to say. It seems a bit too natural for Shan shui in my opinion. Maybe it's the viewpoint, which flattens the mountains. Maybe moving the viewpoint lower would elongate the mountains.



As a wallpaper, (just put it on my desktop) it works well. Maybe a touch more colour in the top right hand corner, to give the impression of a setting or rising sun?



I'm just looking at the link to Wiki you posted. How do you feel that your work incorporates the three basic components? (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shan_shui#Compositions)



I'm sorry I don't sound more enthusiastic, but I've tried to make my comments constructive.

Fri June 11, 2010 at 1:15 pm

Walo
"A sea of clouds"
I'm looking at this, and I almost can see a time lapse video and hear a narrator going of saying: "Once upon a time..." lol. Great work

Fri June 11, 2010 at 12:18 am

John
"Meditation"
I like this one, it's like a place I would visit to meditate on a Koan.

Fri June 11, 2010 at 12:14 am

Yanli
"Breath taking!"
You never fail to amaze me Ryan :). I've always been a huge fan of wide landscape scenes and this one definitely takes the cake.

Fri June 11, 2010 at 11:56 am

Travis
"Gorgeous"
Oh my goodness, Ryan. You've done it again (your art in the last year has gone to a new level--and that's saying a lot since you already push the boundaries!) The scale, scope, emotional connection and feel of this piece are amazing. I really want to go to a Shaolin temple in the mountains or perhaps need to get on a flight through the mountains, because this is breathtaking. Thank you!

Fri June 11, 2010 at 11:33 am

Dan
"Wow!"
Very cool, I love the high mountains the and wispy clouds!

Fri June 11, 2010 at 11:32 am

William
"Astounding"
My favorite picks from your work are the images that contain this feel of sprawling power. Each time you render a new image like this one, it becomes an instant favorite!

Fri June 11, 2010 at 11:01 am

Ryan
"@Josh"

Fri June 11, 2010 at 10:54 am

Josh
"Re: Colors"
Ah, that makes sense. Shows how much I know about early Chinese artwork :P

Fri June 11, 2010 at 10:51 am

Ryan
"Colors"
Muted colors are a hallmark of Shan Shui.

Fri June 11, 2010 at 10:45 am

dejerdejer
"Cool!"
I like this I think it is really cool....reminds me of enshrouded.......this will probably get complaints about the lack of colors.....but at the scaled height of the picture it would probably loo exactly like this from an airplane....the mountains would look gray.....looks real to me....I wouldn't mess a lot with the color of the mountains even though people will probably have some complaints....I like it!...Thanks!

Fri June 11, 2010 at 10:37 am

Josh
"Washed-out?"
While I love the cloud cover in this one, the whole picture looks a little too desaturated and washed-out for my taste. I know you said you weren't 100% done with this one, so just wanted to get my initial impression out there :)

Fri June 11, 2010 at 10:36 am

DoctorJ
"Mysterious"
I've always enjoyed any of the art you create that includes low cloud cover. The mystery of what lies beneath always gets my imagination going. Is there a lake at the foot of the mountain, or perhaps a small Chinese village?



Thanks again!

Fri June 11, 2010 at 10:21 am

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)

THANKS TO:

Recent Guardians:
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
  • Glenn Crouch -- (7/18/15)
  • Kevin T -- (06/10/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Martin Pilot -- (9/1/15)
  • Dean Mills -- (9/1/15)
  • Natalia Najder -- (8/30/15)
  • Guy Sturdevant -- (8/27/15)
  • AJ Decker -- (8/24/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!



"Beginning of the End (2009)"
Only 1 Downloads!


digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy

Android apps on Google Play