I thought it would be interesting to render a view of "Aftermath" from the ground. The "incoming" are an alpha plane I rendered using the same Lightwave setup that I put together for "Starfall" but with a different camera position.
Lots of possibilities for alpha planes in Vue...

8.02/10 rating (109 votes)

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

8.06/10 rating (34 votes)

Member Comments

"Needs Triple 4K"
Would absolutely love this wallpaper if it was available in triple 4K. Please make! Thanks

Tue August 25, 2015 at 10:51 pm

5120 x 1440 dual?

Fri March 14, 2014 at 9:18 pm

I like the image overall. However,from a physics perspective, I don't understand why the stars are streaking. If a nearby moon explodes and the shock wave still hasn't hit the observer planet, there should be no relative motion to cause this effect. Unless of course the streaks are all debris, which raises the question: where are the background stars?

Fri March 14, 2014 at 1:12 pm

interesting piece. you could say this view is the last thing anyone on that moon or planet will ever see...

Fri March 14, 2014 at 10:41 am

This is very, very nice! The view from a planet or moon with atmosphere, clouds, and water makes for some great lighting effects. I love the colors!

Thu March 13, 2014 at 5:44 pm

"9 - Much better!"
Brightening the scene improves it quite a bit, in my opinion. Even without a reflection in the water, it now looks more like the light of the explosion is reflected in the landscape (more "realistic," if you will).

Wed March 12, 2014 at 9:32 pm

"Cool one!"
Do you also have a FB Cover one fot yhe Shattered Sky?

Wed March 12, 2014 at 3:39 pm

"Cool one!"
Do you also have a FB Cover one fot yhe Shattered Sky?

Wed March 12, 2014 at 3:39 pm

I like it a lot! The simple foreground is a really nice contrast to the explosion.

Wed March 12, 2014 at 2:54 pm

Love this, Ryan! Really enjoying the beautiful, pinky, translucent feel to it, and the few seconds of calm below, before all the chaos in the sky starts raining down.

Wed March 12, 2014 at 1:33 pm

I *personally* would have the space background slightly darker (for a bit more contrast), but other than that really small detail, I like this piece a lot!

Wed March 12, 2014 at 12:54 pm

I love the concept, and most of the scene, but I also agree with the lighting comments so far, it feels like it needs some pretty stark shadows from the trees if there's a planet exploding in the sky ... maybe some falling debris too, meteors and whatnot.

iPad HD and iPhone 5 renders would be nice too :)

Mon March 10, 2014 at 10:48 pm

"Re: Lighting"
Yes I agree that the explosion needs to light the surface a bit more. I'm going to do one more render overnight.

Mon March 10, 2014 at 7:08 pm

Eel River
I like this one better than Aftermath. Are you dropping support for 1024 x 600 (netbooks)?

Mon March 10, 2014 at 5:29 pm

Nice! I do agree, however, that the planet's explosion seems washed out and could use more contrast and color. Then it would offset the dark planet below even better.

Mon March 10, 2014 at 3:05 pm

Very cool as usual! But it only made an 8 for me because (and maybe my science is off here) it kept bugging me that the foreground isn't totally washed out bright from the intense light/heat of the explosion. It just didn't seem right to have the surface of the planet so dim with such a cataclysm. Since the light from the blast is visible, I think it should also be impacting the planet's surface more dramatically.

Mon March 10, 2014 at 12:38 pm

I love the on-planet view of Aftermath! Can't wait for dual screen.

Mon March 10, 2014 at 10:41 am

Great scene! I always like your space/sci-fi ones. I would be interested to see this scene "one hour later" when some very exciting stuff is happening on this otherwise peaceful planet...

Mon March 10, 2014 at 0:08 am

Looks cool, but everything above the horizon is too washed out. Recommend increasing contrast, for a better "pop"

Sun March 9, 2014 at 8:05 pm

"Re: Reflection"
Thanks for the feedback!

The explosion isn't reflected in the water because I "zoomed in" the "camera" so that I could create a multiscreen version with a "normal" FOV.

Sun March 9, 2014 at 5:28 pm

Thats either a very big planet a very long way away,or the photographer managed to send this pic before he died. Very nice Ryan,agree that water could use a reflection of the explosion.

Sun March 9, 2014 at 5:17 pm

Looks great, but shouldn't the water show some reflection of the explosion happening in the sky? Even some kind of bright glow, not necessarily a mirror of what's happening? Just a thought... :-)

Sun March 9, 2014 at 3:42 pm

Thanks! I've reuploaded the 4k.

Sun March 9, 2014 at 3:08 pm

Love it! However, the 4K render is messed up: http://digitalblasphemy.com/content/jpgs/4k/shatteredsky14k.jpg

Sun March 9, 2014 at 1:39 pm

"That's no moon..."

Sun March 9, 2014 at 11:52 am

All new and renewing Members will receive
a signed "Thank You" postcard.

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓


Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)


Recent Guardians:
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons:
  • Eric Eidson -- (9/30/15)
  • Tim Honkalammi -- (09/22/15)
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Jeanne Dowd -- (9/30/15)
  • Ryan Oldaker -- (9/30/15)
  • Claire Fairbank -- (9/29/15)
  • Arwyn Roberts -- (9/28/15)
  • Matthew Pounsett -- (9/23/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!

"Sunspire by Night (2004)"
Only 186 Downloads!

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy