Members Login to See the Full Images

A Member recently wrote...

"Would it be possible to do an abstract at some point that is more minimalist? Generally I love the incredible amount of detail that is everywhere in your work, but for some types of wallpapers (mobile mostly) I prefer things which are towards the minimalist side, and abstracts seem like the perfect place for that."

I decided to try it out so I put together something very quickly, very "minimally", in Lightwave. I only used Lightwave's "Textured Environment" for this piece, no geometry at all, and I previewed it for my Members a couple of days ago. The feedback was generally positive so I kept tinkering.

This "finished" version is a bit more complex than I had originally intended but the construction is still fairly minimalist. I added a single 2D plane and some volumetric lights so it is technically a "3D wallpaper".

All in all it was a fun exercise and nice to render something that only takes 30 min instead of 30 hours. I will try to have a multiscreen up shortly along with some of the early versions. Hope you enjoy it!!

7.24/10 rating (103 votes)

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

7.00/10 rating (5 votes)

7.20/10 rating (5 votes)

Member Comments

It really pops on my tablet and phone.

Mon April 8, 2013 at 9:32 am

The iPad HD link should be working now. Thanks!!

Sat April 6, 2013 at 9:07 am

I like the piece, and the minimal quality, but as mentioned earlier it does remind me more of my window with bullet holes in it :) not a bad thing, but detracts a little in my head at least! :)

Also -no iPad HD render? (2048x2048)

thanks as always for all your hard work!

Fri April 5, 2013 at 4:11 pm

Well, that's the fastest multiscreen render I've ever seen. :) I love H20 Weave, too. It's one of my all-time favorites, and I was sorry when my screen outgrew it. I'd love to see that one as a remake, or just some larger sizes. If you have the time for additional requests -- I'm sure everyone has some image they'd like bigger, or brighter, or darker, or in different colors.... :)

Fri April 5, 2013 at 10:44 am

This is currently my phone background. Its different than the vague idea I had in mind, but I like it a lot. Above and beyond that, it is incredible to me, and was an incredible experience for me, to be able to post a comment on a site with 18,000 current members and have the artist not only respond but actually create something along those lines. I am blown away and deeply gratified. Thank you.

Fri April 5, 2013 at 0:14 am

Hmm... :/

I think it's just the style that was chosen that I dislike, regardless of the amount of effort that was put into this piece.

For a simplistic image, I would rather have something less "spidery", like many of your early abstracts ("Flamedesk" and "H20 Weave" are good "simplistic" examples of what I like - though this is just my opinion).

Sorry that I had to give you a 1, but it is my honest opinion. Looking forward to your next masterpiece!

Thu April 4, 2013 at 7:27 pm

"Not appealing"
I really don't like this one, and not because it is "minimalist". I honestly think you could pull off a much more appealing minimalist image.

Thu April 4, 2013 at 4:23 pm

What a great name for this piece! I love the names you come up with, particularly for your abstract renders. I, too, think it looks like bullet holes in glass, but I like the effect very much. It has sort of a edgy feel to it, which is enhanced by the simplicity of the image. Terrific!

Thu April 4, 2013 at 10:28 am

Those are artifacts of the noise function applied to the individual "blasts". Echoes would be a good word for them. Sorry they are distracting!

Thu April 4, 2013 at 8:42 am

It's missing something...not sure what. But it does remind me that I need to get my windshield fixed. This is what it looks like at night when hit by oncoming headlights.

Thu April 4, 2013 at 5:18 am

Nice but for some reason it reminds me of bullet holes in a piece of glass.

Thu April 4, 2013 at 5:12 am

whats up with the writing in the picture like the "xj" or the "70s" in the medium blue color. it draws a way too much from the main image

Thu April 4, 2013 at 2:58 am

Really liked this one. Probably one of my favorite abstracts in a while, actually.

Thu April 4, 2013 at 0:30 am

Not a fan of minimalist,(or abstract, for that matter) but this is still cool. I don't know what sort of mobile the aforementioned member was complaining about, however. I prefer the details. Example, I have a Samsung Galaxy S2 with Phraxis (planet view) as the background. I don't have any issues with it cluttering up the screen. Maybe some of us are just better at sorting through "clutter". As far as this piece is concerned, I like the color juxtapostition. Although, I might suggest using a medium or dark green instead of red to oppose the blue. That way, they would complement eachother rather than contrast. But, that's just me spitballing. Maybe it would work; maybe not. I still think this one is cool, though.

Wed April 3, 2013 at 10:37 pm

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓


Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)


Recent Guardians:

  • Kevin Lynch ('Crimmy') -- (11/2/15)
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)

Recent Sponsors:

  • Jonathan Stanley -- (11/1/15)
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)

Recent Patrons:

  • Richard Month -- (11/1/15)
  • Cliff Bloom -- (10/25/15)
  • Michael Swanson -- (10/16/15)
  • Eric Eidson -- (9/30/15)
  • Tim Honkalammi -- (09/22/15)

Recent Donors:

  • De Beers -- (11/19/15)
  • Alisa McKeehan -- (11/7/15)
  • Patrick Biggs -- (11/6/15)
  • Dean Andrews -- (11/5/15)
  • Technovation Design -- (11/4/15)

Digital Blasphemy 2016 Wall Calendar

On Sale!! 60% off if you use coupon code "PREP4HOLIDAY"!

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy