Support My Work!

Not a Member?
Enter your email address
and be notified when
I post new artwork!

subscribe
unsubscribe


Free Downloads:

Single-Screen Downloads (Members Only)

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen Downloads (Members Only)

Dualscreen:

Triple-screen:

Slow the spread with
these DB face masks!

Flatten The Curve In Style!
Over 60 Designs Available!
En Español
Worldwide: CAN | DE | NZ | NL
AT | EU | BR | BE

Random DB

Isla
"Isla"

9.04/10 rating
(84 votes)

Print Available!
Ryan's TipJar

A company I follow called "Kitbash3D" recently released one of their object sets for free with the stipulation that the meshes be used to create optimistic artwork to bring hope to people in these uncertain times. I have never used their products but I thought it would be a good way to create something hopeful, optimistic artwork relatively quickly which seems to be what the current situation requires. For this reason I didn't really do much of any editing or changes to their meshes other than to apply my own window lights. They gave the meshes away for free (they normally cost $200) to spread maximum joy and in that spirit I am happy to offer a free version for everyone to download. That said, DB needs your support now more than ever. The nice folks at Kitbash also asked that everyone who uses the meshes include the hashtag #brightartdarktimes. How do you guys feel about me using their products in the future? I hope you enjoy it and stay safe, smart and healthy! ~Ryan
Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

Member Comments

Please Log In To Share Your Feedback!

Michael S
"Preview image"
It doesn't appear that the preview image https://digitalblasphemy.com/graphics/fb/skyline1fb.jpg has been updated with the 4/1 change.

Sun April 5, 2020 at 2:20 pm

Steve
"Awesome update"
Love the updated version, it really brings the city alive!!

Thu April 2, 2020 at 2:05 am

Ozaawaagosh
"Awesome"
Awesome, love both night and day versions, Best render hands down of a SyFy city, like the old time science fiction movies, but yet looks really modern, it makes you want to go there and explore, The Best Ryan!!!

Wed April 1, 2020 at 12:16 pm

Ryan
"@Nick"
Sorry for the confusion! The "MacOS" links are zip files with split up images for Mac users. The links with the resolution are single images that you can use on your PC.

Tue March 31, 2020 at 6:03 pm

Nick
"Just wish i could use it"
Do you only provide multi monitor displays for macOS? Ive been following ur stuff for years and love showing it off. Now i have 3x 1440P monitors with only single images. Still cool but ........

Tue March 31, 2020 at 5:01 pm

Eamonn
"Classic 70's SciFi Book Cover"
Love this. Reminds me of an old "Encyclopedia of Science Fiction" pictorial book I had as a kid.

Sun March 29, 2020 at 8:42 pm

Deirdre
"Skyline"
I came looking for a spring-themed wallpaper and saw this on the home page. Wow! Took my breath away! I love cityscapes and this is so unique and gorgeous. DB never ceases to amaze me!

Sun March 29, 2020 at 8:11 am

Doc
"Triple screen shows it off"
Very cool. The triple screen version really shows this image at it's best.

Always liked 'Metropolis' and 'Metropolis I-A' pickle jar versions too.

Sat March 28, 2020 at 0:01 am

Joe
"Nice, but off balance"
I'm running a triple-monitor setup, the left monitor looks very zoomed in compared to the rest of the photo. Otherwise it's awesome, keeping this one up for a while.

Fri March 27, 2020 at 4:14 pm

Ryan
"@greberty"
Just added the multiscreen version. Hope you like it!

Fri March 27, 2020 at 9:50 am

greberty
"Wonderful"
I just love this, and the color combo is great! Is multiscreen coming?

Fri March 27, 2020 at 4:51 am

Ellimist
"Amazing"
Amazing. I've always loved all your cityscapes, I still use the praxis series as well as metropolis to this day. Would love more along this same theme...perhaps some more detail about that hotspot on Praxis?

Thu March 26, 2020 at 5:02 pm

Ryan
"@Paul"
Thank you! I checked their site and you can use any 16:9 image so I would say there are lots of possibilities already in my gallery. There are a few looping animations too. Members are welcome to use any of my work for Zoom virtual backgrounds while working or schooling from home during the pandemic.

Thu March 26, 2020 at 12:41 pm

Paul
"Very cool"
Love it. And have you considered making some pieces intended as virtual backgrounds? We're all on Zoom now! ;-)

Thu March 26, 2020 at 12:02 pm

Drew
"Classic Ryan Bliss"
This feel like an older piece of work, but gorgeously rendered with the latest technology. I love it. There's such a dramatic atmosphere to the piece. You can imagine this city holds a million stories and I want to be immersed in all of them.

Thu March 26, 2020 at 9:34 am

Greg
"Awesome"
Reminds me of the New York skyline in The Expanse tv show.

Wed March 25, 2020 at 5:59 pm

Richard H
"City Scape"
This is beautiful! I'm a sucker for cityscapes.

Wed March 25, 2020 at 5:34 pm

David d.
"Like it-want more of Ryan in it..."
Awesome to see a skyline render- love some of the older ones you've done over the years... love to see what else you could do with more of your own unique style and fingerprint on it.


Wed March 25, 2020 at 5:14 pm

CynG
"Skyline"
I like the other-worldly yet also familiar feel of this piece. The warm coppery tones really appeal to me against the purpleish-gray night sky. I'd be interested to see more of what you can do with Kitbash's products.

Wed March 25, 2020 at 4:06 pm

Xetal
"It's been ages..."
...since you did a cityscape. Delightful

Wed March 25, 2020 at 4:04 pm

Michael
"A little departure from the usual"
It's been a while since the last cityscape. I mounted the UHD render on my 4k gaming screen (42" Sony Bravia) and the colors and definition really pop! I like the night time view as it keeps the brightness in the room more manageable. Well done!



Go Project Rochallor! Almost to the finish line!

Wed March 25, 2020 at 3:40 pm

Gene
"I really like it. "
It might have to do with the different monitors we all have, and that we use them under a variety of ambient conditions, but unlike the other member who commented, I didn't see the building color as "orange". To me it looks more "copper-ish," and I really like the warm effect I see in it. The color and the design, in about a 60/40 proportion, led me to mark this one a 10. Well done, as usual, Ryan!



On a lighter note, it seems that on this "obviously not inhabited by humans" planet, they must have much more effective zoning and urban development programs than we do. We could never achieve such harmonious, coordinated design! ;)

Wed March 25, 2020 at 2:42 pm

Joe
"Surreal, modest, but impactfully elegant"
I can only comment from my personal perspective. The color casting from the side evokes either sunrise or sunset; While the orderly estate of skyscrapers piercing into the sky with the backdrop of our planet and the forecast of calm waters make for a somber depiction of what is (or will be) in the moment.

Wed March 25, 2020 at 2:41 pm

Tyler
"Love"
I'm a cityscape fiend so highly biased here. Obviously all the Gotham stuff grabs me as well. Will take as much of this style as I can get.

Wed March 25, 2020 at 2:28 pm

Rodewaryer
"Uncommon"
A pickle jar version would be interesting with some color changes to the buildings, and I know what you said about leeway in doing changes. It just needs some alternate colors and/or lighting as suggested by others. Still a fairly refreshing scene honestly.

Wed March 25, 2020 at 2:18 pm

Clifton
"A Decent Night Shot"
I like this one, and at any other time that would be sufficient.



However, a day shot (with the moon slightly faded out) and the buildings in a blue or green shade might be more "optimistic" for me.

Wed March 25, 2020 at 1:10 pm

Rob
"Not restful"
Just a personal thing, unlike some other reviews I really dislike orange, generally find it jarring and not restful to look at. I'd love to see this with the orange replaced by some sleek blue/grey/silver instead

Wed March 25, 2020 at 12:44 pm

BobC
"Fun Image!"
I like the "Golden Age of SciFi" look and feel of this.

Not sure I completely understand how the Kitbash thing works, but I looked at their website and it appears that the "meshes" are sort of 3D outlines of objects (?) with endless creative possibilities. I'd love to see what you can get by exploring their use.

Wed March 25, 2020 at 12:36 pm

CBRRider1
"AWESOME!!!"
I love it. Instant background. All the lights on cause people are working from home. :)

Wed March 25, 2020 at 12:18 pm

Timhogs
"Sweet!"
I love the cityscapes!

Wed March 25, 2020 at 12:08 pm

Logan
"Doha at night"
Seems like a future, slightly more monochromatic image of the night skyline of Doha, Qatar.

Wed March 25, 2020 at 12:01 pm

DJ
"Also The Colors :)"
👍🏻👍🏻

Wed March 25, 2020 at 11:58 am

Eye popping
"Wow"
Ryan I LOVE this one. The orange hue catches the eye right away and gives so much more feeling to this city line. Changed my background immediately! 10/10

Wed March 25, 2020 at 11:55 am

DJ
"Nice!"
Has a fresh, pristine feel to it, with enough 'organic-ness' that it doesn't seem too plastic in spite of the very "clean" textures - I like it!

Wed March 25, 2020 at 11:55 am

Rick Raborn
"Dubai 2150"
Ryan,



I think you did great with it! What I like is the color palette. It looks like a desert city of the future hence my Dubai 2150 moniker.

Wed March 25, 2020 at 11:54 am

Ryan
"@Littlemom"
The folks at Kitbash made everything except the moon :-)

Wed March 25, 2020 at 11:53 am

Littlemom
"Eeh"
I'm not a huge fan of abstracts and this definitely looks like an abstract. The pillars or whatever they are almost look like letters. I do however love the moon/planet and the skyscrapers.

Wed March 25, 2020 at 11:48 am

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play Get it on Windows 10

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2020 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy