Members Login to See the Full Images

My first stab at using a pre-rendered background in World Builder. The aurora and stars were rendered in Lightwave first.

I created this piece from the memory of an occasion I had driving in northern Michigan during the mid-90s. It was the first time I had ever seen the Aurora and, due to our relatively southern latitude, the famous "ribbons" were below the horizon. The sky looked like a shimmering curtain beaming up from the horizon and I was transfixed. I've tried to approximate that effect with this render.

8.42/10 rating (794 votes)

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

7.26/10 rating (27 votes)

6.96/10 rating (26 votes)

7.69/10 rating (29 votes)

Member Comments

"Quintessential DB"
The image the turned me on to DB way back when, and to this day, I can still stare into that sky with absolute awe and wonder. Magic is real - and it exists in the Song of the Sky.

Tue December 2, 2014 at 8:39 am

Not the newest picture, but together with singularity still my favorite.

Tue December 3, 2013 at 8:02 pm

As for probably quite a few others, this was the image that made discover Digital Blasphemy. Got a lifetime subscription later on, and never regretted it.

Sat November 2, 2013 at 5:49 am

C. Miller
One of my all-time favorites, ever since it was new.

I'd give my right arm if you made a 1280x800 version. :3

Fri September 27, 2013 at 6:57 pm

I still come back to this image every so often - Still one of, if not my all time favorite. I'd love to see a "13 years later" remake of it.

Tue April 9, 2013 at 4:22 pm

"Reason to join"
Agreed with Terry, this wallpaper is the reason I joined DB. It looks a little primitive compared to recent work, but I still love it.

Thu June 30, 2011 at 7:11 am

"Song of the Sky"
This is your all time best work in my opinion, also the reason I joined up.

Thu June 30, 2011 at 5:49 am

"my all time favourite!"
these images are some of my all time DB favourites! my ultimate favourite from the song of sky series is the pickle jar version on the far right... it's the reason why I bought my first membership almost 10years and why I still have membership today :)

Thu June 30, 2011 at 2:15 am

"Gets better with age"
Even after 10 years, this wallpaper still rocks!

Wed December 29, 2010 at 2:43 pm

"Song of the Sky"
I just bought a Kindle and a Song of the Sky skin for it. WOW! What a wonderful look your work adds to a relatively plain looking device. I just love looking at it. What a great idea to expand your business. Kudos!

Tue November 9, 2010 at 10:21 am

"Song of the Sky 2560x1440"
This is my absolute favorite wallpaper image--I look at it every day. So peaceful and serene. A beautiful piece of art. Please consider releasing it in 2560x1440 format.

Thu June 3, 2010 at 5:11 pm

"Still my favorite!"
After a few years, I don't know why, this one still evokes the calm and blissfulness in a powerful way I cannot describe in words.

Tue December 15, 2009 at 11:25 am

This still remains one of my all-time favs. Just absolutely breathtaking.

November 24, 2008

"Aurora Web Page"
Hey Rich, would you mind posting the URL to the Aurora web page you mentioned? Thanks!

August 18, 2008

"saw it on the aurora web page wonderful !"
one of my favorites.

August 18, 2008

"Song of the Sky 2000"
Can you set this up for triple-monitor wallpapers, (3840 x 1024) format... Thanks for the cool trip papers...

July 4, 2008

"Top Ten"
I'm disappointed to see this ones been bumped off the top ten of all time. This is your classic and is is really magical.

April 30, 2008

"Song of the Sky"
Wow! This one is definitely one of your better old ones; it seems nearly untouched by the lower quality of the software of the time and shows your true skill as an artist. I love this one, great job!

March 5, 2008

"new renders"
I would also love to see new widescreen/multimonitor renders of this one, cheers!

September 17, 2007

"This image cost me $99"
After viewing this once a long time ago, there was no way I could justify not getting a lifetime membership. Glad to see it in the top 10 and that other people feel the same way.

September 16, 2007

Considering how highly rated this one is, I think making new versions of it with wide screen resolutions and those who use multiple monitors would be well worth your time and effort, Ryan.

August 19, 2007

"Favorite One"
Song of the Sky was one of images that made me decide to become a member.

Thank you for years of excelent, beauitful artwork.


August 2, 2007

Seth Eden
"Another All-time Fav. Classic!!"
Any chance of ever seeing this in triple screen?

I think the trees and auroa combined with the bold 3 screen would be totally amazing!



June 16, 2007

Any chance of a remake of this with 2007 technology? It has to be one of your all time greats this.

May 22, 2007

Possibly my all time favourite. This one rivals your today's work. Absolutely amazing. Really, really amazing.

Well well done!

May 22, 2007

Randy B
"Song of the Sky"
After 36 years in Alaska and witnessing countless displays of the "Lights" from throughout the state, I think I'm qualified to say that this image absolutely captures the silent chaos of a night sky come to life. Except for the pond, the view to the north from the back of our cabin in interior Alaska often looked very much like this. Only one question tho, how do you keep the pond from freezing?

May 18, 2007

"On the walls"
This is now on my wall. I like it most of all. And i agree with those who calls this one image best.

It will be very good if Ryan could render it at 2560x1600...

May 18, 2007

"This is the Song Of Soul!"
I was waiting for this moment since i first saw a small version of this work in November 2006. I was dreaming about to see it in a big size! AND THIS IS IT! If Ryan won't see my and your notes here, i will write him and ask him to render a bigger version of this work! I'm gonna put it on my room's wall as already done with Morning Mist(day scenery, november of 2006), Echoes(abstracts, 2006) and others.

This is not the Song of the Sky, this is the Song of the Soul!

January 5, 2007

"Dual Screen versions"
This is my favorite wallpaper as well. Will there ever be a version in dual screen or even tri screen? Would love to have it, since I now have dual monitors. Thanks

December 21, 2006

Jules Kain
"Song of the Sky"
I Love This Picture

And All The Picture Jar Versions

December 20, 2006

This scene reminds me of the northwoods of Minnesota. You did a magnificent job of capturing the celestial beauty of the northern lights. The perspective on the trees makes them appears as though they are reaching to the heavens to be nearer the lights. Definitely an all-time favorite of mine.

December 19, 2006

Andrew Robson
This is by far my favorite. The scene it depicts brought me to tears once. Amazing. =)

December 2, 2006

"Why I could look at this all day"
I love your artwork, and I'm not even going to say that this is my favorite piece (because choosing a favorite would be like picking your favorite child- it's not possible), but this piece has something special to it. It's not just the beautiful colors, or the amazing lights. It isn't the reflection on the water or the detail of the trees. Somehow, this piece captures the oh so real element of fantasy that exists in our everyday world. And that is why I can look at this all day.

October 12, 2006

Andy T.
"Song of the Sky"
Have you ever been to Northern Wisconsin? Justin B. needs to go. You have captured the essence, beauty and wonder of the northern light in winter.

October 10, 2006

Justin B.
I love almost all of your works of art, but I have never understood why this one is all the rage with so many others. It's not that it's horrible, but I was really blown away when you introduced the rankings and this wallpaper was number one all-time and is currently at the second spot. There are literally dozens of amazing wallpapers of yours that I much prefer to this one; I just feel this one is easily the most overrated by the voters.

October 4, 2006

One of my all-time favorites. I love the rich blue-green palette, the streaks of light, the trees, the realistic specks in the water...everything. This one goes up on my desktop at least once a week (and considering this is out of a library of almost 500 backgrounds, that's impressive :-)

The widescreen version of this picture was a disappointment for me, since it crops off part of the lake, and the luminous water is my favorite part of the picture. I think scaling works better than cropping for this one.

October 3, 2006

Jamie N.
"There's nothing to say about this image"
It speaks for itself.

October 2, 2006

"The Best"
This was one of the first images I saw on the site and remains my favourite even after all these years.

October 2, 2006

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓


Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)


Recent Guardians:

  • Kevin Lynch ('Crimmy') -- (11/2/15)
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)

Recent Sponsors:

  • Jonathan Stanley -- (11/1/15)
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)

Recent Patrons:

  • Richard Month -- (11/1/15)
  • Cliff Bloom -- (10/25/15)
  • Michael Swanson -- (10/16/15)
  • Eric Eidson -- (9/30/15)
  • Tim Honkalammi -- (09/22/15)

Recent Donors:

  • De Beers -- (11/19/15)
  • Alisa McKeehan -- (11/7/15)
  • Patrick Biggs -- (11/6/15)
  • Dean Andrews -- (11/5/15)
  • Technovation Design -- (11/4/15)

Digital Blasphemy 2016 Wall Calendar

On Sale!! 60% off if you use coupon code "PREP4HOLIDAY"!

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy