This was a hybrid Lightwave/World Builder image. The thunderhead and lightning were rendered using Lightwave hypervoxels and then the resultant image was loaded as a background plate in World Builder. Looking at this piece 8 years later I think the clouds look more like volcanic ash than a thunderstorm.

7.66/10 rating (128 votes)
14 Comments

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

springrite2
7.00/10 rating (6 votes)

springrite1
6.57/10 rating (7 votes)

Member Comments

Ian
"Brought me to you"
This was the image I first saw that drew me to your sight, I would love a newer version for my MAC and iPad......

Sat March 21, 2015 at 9:58 am

Kelton
"7"
I rate it at 7 because it has huge potential, would love to see an update with your modern software.

Wed July 31, 2013 at 3:48 pm

Gary
"@Ryan"
Ryan...I did not realize that you replied to my post 2 years ago and sincerely apologize!!! YES, an updated version would be acceptable as long as it shows this type of scenery with a simple lightning bolt. Please dont over do the lightning! This work reminds me of being in my Rocky Mountains of Montana when I was growing up and my dad sent me out all alone, over night, to alleviate my fear of the outdoors! This scene reminds me of that night and taking anything away would lose its effect. I just want this usable on my iPhone5, Facebook Timeline and New laptop that arrives next week. I love your scenery work but this one is my all time, forever favorite. Please email me if you have any questions at tristan.britton@gmail.com THANK YOU!

Tue November 27, 2012 at 11:24 am

Gary
"@Ryan"
Ryan...I did not realize that you replied to my post 2 years ago and sincerely apologize!!! YES, an updated version would be acceptable as long as it shows this type of scenery with a simple lightning bolt. Please dont over do the lightning! This work reminds me of being in my Rocky Mountains of Montana when I was growing up and my dad sent me out all alone, over night, to alleviate my fear of the outdoors! This scene reminds me of that night and taking anything away would lose its effect. I just want this usable on my iPhone5, Facebook Timeline and New laptop that arrives next week. I love your scenery work but this one is my all time, forever favorite. Please email me if you have any questions at tristan.britton@gmail.com THANK YOU!

Tue November 27, 2012 at 11:23 am

Ryan
"Ash"
This one looks more like a volcanic eruption than a thunderstorm to me now.

Fri May 28, 2010 at 9:01 pm

Gary
"@Gary"
How about I do an update with more modern software? I can surely make this better and, to be honest with you it has six or seven years since I've had World Builder installed. The developers abandoned the software and I moved on.



As for an iPhone version, did you know that you can save any of my files (as long as the vertical resolution is more than 480 px) and select the part you want to use as your wallpaper. You can use any image size for the iPhone wallpaper.

Fri May 28, 2010 at 8:48 pm

Gary
"PLEASE PLEASE Create DUAL and iPhone Version"
This is the most beautiful of all of your work and my total favorite of all. I have Dual Monitors and an iPhone and am very restricted on what I am able to do with this magnificent peace of art. If this is available to buy as a wall piece, I will purchase it and if you are able to create a dual 3840x1080, I will become a life member!!! Ryan, There is no way I can express how much I love this piece and hope to see it in other sizes that I can use...Thank You!!!

Fri May 28, 2010 at 2:43 pm

Greg
"flippin awesome! but..."
i love this one, i wish there was a 1680x1050 res!

Tue April 13, 2010 at 1:34 pm

Dale
"Wow"
I've been looking at all your old images, and I really like this one a lot.



Would it be possible for you to render this in the widescreen (1920x1200) and dualscreen (2560x1024)?

Thu August 27, 2009 at 7:47 am

Vivian
"1920 x 1200"
I was saddened when I saw that there was no larger sizes for this one. I love cloud, lightning and storm images. They are soo wonderful and it calms me when I see this.

September 25, 2008

SFC @rcher
"iPhone"
I use all of your wallpapers on my iPhone and this is one of my favorites...I would really love and appreciate to be able to have this one converted to the iPhone size so that I can add it to my folder...Thank You!!!

August 23, 2007

Shane
"Fabulous clouds"
I'm a big fan of all your outdoor scenes and I think this one has some of the best sky out of all of them.

June 17, 2007

Philip
"Awesome wallpaper"
I think you should redo this one with a closer view of the lightning strike and possibly a more detailed landscape. I'm a big fan of the ballet, also :p

June 15, 2007

Konstantin
"Rite of Spring"
Absolutely outstanding work!

Especially a version with 3D-clouds in the sky, looks more real in this way.

December 31, 2006

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

THANKS TO:

Recent Guardians:

  • Andrew McCormick (1/13/16)
  • Kevin Lynch ('Crimmy') -- (11/2/15)
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)

Recent Sponsors:

  • Jonathan Stanley -- (11/1/15)
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)

Recent Patrons:

  • Patrick R Skelnar -- (12/24/15)
  • Richard Month -- (11/1/15)
  • Cliff Bloom -- (10/25/15)
  • Michael Swanson -- (10/16/15)
  • Eric Eidson -- (9/30/15)

Recent Donors:

  • Anthony Fasy -- (1/29/16)
  • James Todd -- (12/6/15)
  • J. Harley Davidson -- (12/6/15)
  • Jonathan P Man -- (11/27/15)
  • De Beers -- (11/19/15)

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy