8.57/10 rating (210 votes)

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

9.03/10 rating (30 votes)

8.00/10 rating (3 votes)

8.00/10 rating (3 votes)

8.00/10 rating (8 votes)

Member Comments

"I'm An Old Fart"
I tend to like black and white photography, expecially artistic (human forms) and scenery (like mountains and streams, but I don't care for this one very much, but that's personal taste.

Wed August 28, 2013 at 12:49 pm

"which ones to Black out next"
You asked which ones you should black out next ... Dracul -- Happy Halloween 2011 and dodenfell ... I think the BW versions would add to the eeriness of each.

Wed August 28, 2013 at 11:58 am

Great Job, these backgrounds are fantastic and will look perfect on my phone! People keep bugging me for the website I found that one on.

Wed August 28, 2013 at 3:22 am

"monochrome = awesome"
Whilst not strictly monochrome, these new versions are wonderful and I love the crispness of the glass look. But then I have always been a fan of Ansel Adams. Composition and structure of the image is the key, and here it is used to great effect.

Tue August 27, 2013 at 1:21 am

Wonderful and uplifting

Wed March 13, 2013 at 1:02 pm

I like the glass look and the brilliant colors. It is the rare whimsical piece that catches my eye.

Sun February 10, 2013 at 7:53 am

This is an awesome wall paper.

I use the triple screen version at work and everyone who walks by my desk comments on how nice it looks.

Keep up the good work!

Mon January 7, 2013 at 9:37 am

I'm a suckered for bright colors and I love this Daisy!

Wed October 24, 2012 at 2:50 pm

Ryan, all of your stuff is amazing, but this one is absolutely mind blowing! I can't quit staring at it. The translucence and the depth of color. Holy Sh**balls! ;oD

Mon October 22, 2012 at 2:46 pm

I love the colors in this. There aren't a whole lot of pictures that have pink in them so when they do I fall in love instantly. These colors are so vibrant!

Mon October 22, 2012 at 11:55 am

I was in Seattle on a family vacation this summer. Near the space needle was a glass museum; unfortunately not enough time to go in, but we did look through many windows and through the outside garden. "Sunuburst Daisy" reminds me a lot of the beautiful pieces I saw this summer. Thanks for sharing your creativity Ryan, and your dedication of this piece to Jessica is very touching and sweet :)

Tue October 16, 2012 at 12:13 am

This work truly stands up to "Fluorescence". The solar prominence-like petals at 3 and 8 o'clock make for a strong Sunburst correlation, and the glassine petals are STUNNING! Well done, Ryan!

Sat October 13, 2012 at 9:49 am

Happy Anniversary, Ryan and Jessica!

Fri October 12, 2012 at 11:51 am

H King
If its available of course.

Sun October 7, 2012 at 10:37 am

H King
I think that the inverted version in the pickle jar is incredible. I think that I might have to make it my second ever purchased print this Christmas. It just so colourful and bright but with a strong contrast.

Keep it up.

Sun October 7, 2012 at 10:33 am


Sun October 7, 2012 at 8:14 am

Could we have a 2880x1800 version please!!!

Sun October 7, 2012 at 4:50 am

I set the 2048 x 2048 version as the Lock Screen on my new iPad and it looks fantastic. Thanks, dude for being a digital artistic genius!

Sat October 6, 2012 at 8:28 pm

I set the 2048 x 2048 version as the Lock Screen on my new iPad and it looks fantastic. Thanks, dude for being a digital artistic genius!

Sat October 6, 2012 at 8:28 pm

Like this one but I love the blue version in the pickle jar more. If possible can we get that one as a multi-screen.

Fri October 5, 2012 at 4:26 pm

Zero Gravi
I really love this and the original Cobalt Daisy. Do you think you are willing to do a new render of the Cobalt Daisy in all resolutions as well?

Fri October 5, 2012 at 9:06 am

Love the re-texture/render, as mentioned below a wider shot with some of the violet and black would look better IMO. Regardless, very nice!

Thu October 4, 2012 at 3:54 pm

"Can we get a picklejar zoomed out"
Hey Ryan,

Is there any way to get a picklejar version of the dual screen which is zoomed out? I would love to see more of the flower. If not, no big deal; thanks again for your work!



Thu October 4, 2012 at 9:51 am

I chose to feature a section of the daisy rather than try to capture the whole thing in the widened frame. If I hadn't zoomed in there would be huge empty black spaces on the left and right.

Thu October 4, 2012 at 8:08 am

Where did the bottom half go?????????????

Thu October 4, 2012 at 0:45 am

Where did the bottom half go????

Thu October 4, 2012 at 0:43 am

Where did the bottom half go????

Thu October 4, 2012 at 0:43 am

Love the single-screen, but too many of the beautiful colours are missing from the dual-screen. Wish the camera could have just zoomed out for the dual. Anyway, great work, as always!

Wed October 3, 2012 at 10:32 pm

"Wow... it's not blue but I still like!"
I really like this one. Even though it's not blue. Even better than the pickle jar version--which is blue. :o)

Wed October 3, 2012 at 10:22 am

Jim Wilson
"sunburst daisy AV"
These darker colors are FANTASTIC Its got the look of 3-D!!!

Wed October 3, 2012 at 9:33 am

I'm a big fan of the daisies - cobalt being a solid 10 for me but this one, just made me smile when I saw it. I subtracted a point because the center seems more stuck on than part of the flower. The petals are wonderfully done.

Wed October 3, 2012 at 7:59 am

"Sunburst Daisy"
Aww the colors!! Fabulous!!

Tue October 2, 2012 at 9:37 pm

"¡Feliz Aniversario!"
Happy Anniversary! Go do something fun.

Tue October 2, 2012 at 6:58 pm

I love the glossy and colorful style of the petals, too! What disturbs me a bit is the orange middle part. It looks too much like a sphere and is a bit too perfect, I think.

Having no background is OK for me. Many of your abstracts don't have a background and they don't need one. Maybe it would even be distractive.

Tue October 2, 2012 at 6:21 pm

I'm usually more of a landscape person, but this is absolutely beautiful. Definitely a 10!

Tue October 2, 2012 at 10:39 am

This is gorgeous! I love flowers and bright colors, and now I have both at the same time!

Oh, and Happy Anniversary :)

Tue October 2, 2012 at 9:57 am

Ann Reynol
its soooooo beautiful, thanks

Tue October 2, 2012 at 9:38 am

I love how the petals nearest the seeds seem almost transparent... nearly glass-like. I knocked it down a point simply because I don't personally like that much yellow. I knocked it down another point because there's nothing in the background. I understand that the flower is the subject and focus of the piece, but a bit of barely-discernable plant life in the background would move this from "look at a flower" to "look at this miracle that was found out there in the wild". 2¢

Tue October 2, 2012 at 9:09 am

This one takes my breath away!

Tue October 2, 2012 at 8:15 am

Beautiful! I don't usually like the flowers and abstracts, but the liquid/reflective qualities of the flower are so amazing.

Tue October 2, 2012 at 8:00 am

Absolutely gorgeous! Brings back memories of some of my favorites from the early days!

Tue October 2, 2012 at 7:57 am

Eel River
A Ten for a Tenth Anniversary! Nothing says "Te Amo" like a beautiful flower! Happy Anniversary! And many more to come.

Tue October 2, 2012 at 2:14 am

Jo Jo

Tue October 2, 2012 at 1:57 am

Big Dave
"This is why I'm a Digital Blasphemy Member!"
Love it, Ryan. As always, great work!

Tue October 2, 2012 at 1:00 am

I really love this one, the brightness of the yellow, almost makes my eyes burn. Great work Ryan.

Mon October 1, 2012 at 9:40 pm

Joe S.

I love this one most of all. It's fantastic. Give us more.

Mon October 1, 2012 at 7:56 pm

Absolutely beautiful. This is why you've been monopolizing my desktop for 14 years.

Mon October 1, 2012 at 6:36 pm

This"pops" out great! To me it as if I am looking at the sun clearly! and the other colors are great but Sunburst Daisy is my fav! Thanks!

Mon October 1, 2012 at 5:27 pm

My wife and I celebrated our 12th anniversary earlier this year. Congrats to you and your wife.

Side note: The "Name" field here only allows 9 characters. My username is 11. :(

Mon October 1, 2012 at 5:05 pm

Cant stop looking at it. The glow just grabs you and wont let go. Awesome.

Mon October 1, 2012 at 4:05 pm

"Beyond Rebirth"
This is just glorious, Ryan, and makes me very happy just to see it on my screen. Not just the glassy texture of the petals (thanks, Chris B) but the way they erupt and unfold, grow and fade.

Thank you, Ryan. And as always, thanks to Jessie for her continuing inspiration.

Mon October 1, 2012 at 3:49 pm

Mike D
This is awesome! Definitely one of the best you have done!!! Can't wait to see more of this clarity especially on my larger monitor! WOW!!!

Mon October 1, 2012 at 3:01 pm

"Oh me, oh my!!!"
Ryan! Holy shiz-monkey!! I honestly never thought I would come acroos one of your creations that my husband & I would want on our living room wall, but you have thankfully proved me wrong. Thanks for sharing with the world.

Mon October 1, 2012 at 1:43 pm

Cobalt Daisy is the image that led to me spending the last ten years looking at your work. I literally used it for *years* before I found something that I liked as much. Thank you so much for revisiting it!!

Mon October 1, 2012 at 12:41 am

Chris B
Wow Ryan, I posted that before i looked at the full rez version. The glass texture on it looks amazing. Both versions look great! The gallery version looks more like a flower, but the pickle jar looks really good as a "more" abstract piece.

Mon October 1, 2012 at 11:26 am

Chris B
now you just have to sneak it on her laptop :)

Mon October 1, 2012 at 11:22 am

"Love it!!!!!!"
I absolutely love this render, the blue tones are nice too but Love the yellow. Great job!!!!

Mon October 1, 2012 at 11:06 am

"For Jessie..."
You may have noticed the Da Vinci quote at the top of my Works-In-Progress page which reads "Art is never finished, only abandoned". Here is another render which proves this axiom.

I opened up my "Cobalt Daisy" scene file (created using Lightwave 7 back in 2002)in Lightwave 11 with the intention o rendering out the original in separate layers for an upcoming mobile project. When I had finished with that, however, I couldn't resist the temptation to tweak some of my textures. A few hours later this was the result...

I posted it on my Facebook Page last night and asked folks what I should do with it. The majority said I should post it in the gallery so here it is.

Dedicated to my wife Jessica. October 12, 2012 is our 10 year wedding anniversary and this piece was originally created 10 years ago. Te amo!

Mon October 1, 2012 at 10:19 am

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓


Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)


Recent Guardians:

  • Kevin Lynch ('Crimmy') -- (11/2/15)
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)

Recent Sponsors:

  • Jonathan Stanley -- (11/1/15)
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)

Recent Patrons:

  • Richard Month -- (11/1/15)
  • Cliff Bloom -- (10/25/15)
  • Michael Swanson -- (10/16/15)
  • Eric Eidson -- (9/30/15)
  • Tim Honkalammi -- (09/22/15)

Recent Donors:

  • De Beers -- (11/19/15)
  • Alisa McKeehan -- (11/7/15)
  • Patrick Biggs -- (11/6/15)
  • Dean Andrews -- (11/5/15)
  • Technovation Design -- (11/4/15)

Digital Blasphemy 2016 Wall Calendar

On Sale!! 60% off if you use coupon code "PREP4HOLIDAY"!

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy