Here's a little Valentine's Day bonus for my Members: When I first rendered "Take Two" a few years ago I learned that Eros (or Cupid in Latin) carried two varieties of arrows. A gold arrow would make anyone fall in love. A lead arrow had the opposite effect.

Here is a rendering of my heart arrows representing this duality. I will have a multi-screen render up shortly.

I hope you enjoy this render and have a wonderful Valentine's Day!

7.65/10 rating (108 votes)


Member Comments

Would love a pickle jar version from a further distance. i would like to see the whole bow on the iPad (portrait view).

Thu April 3, 2014 at 4:26 pm

This piece brought me to pay the $100 for a lifetime membership. I've been following the site for a while, using free ones when I can, but this one piece set me to buy it.

It's definitely worth it.

Sat February 15, 2014 at 5:28 pm

I like the concept and love the depth of field, but there's some weirdness with the arrows. If they're supposed to be made of elemental gold and lead, they don't look right. Solid lead should look greyer, the gold should be shinier (more specular highlighting and possibly reflect the environment more) and both of them should have less texture. The banding in the gold arrow head is especially odd. Their current form looks like plastic to me. I would also recommend wooden shafts, perhaps also in two shades.

With all that out of the way, thank you for the lovely Valentine's day present. We love you too, Ryan. :)

Sat February 15, 2014 at 1:52 pm

Love it. I feel like I'm in Westeros!

Fri February 14, 2014 at 5:12 pm

This is like the Dolce & Gabbana edition. At least that was my first thought. Very stylish.

Fri February 14, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Looks GREAT. Not really a fan of the depth-of-field blurring, though. But I absolutely love the fine detail at the bottom left of the piece. If the whole thing was that level of detail (with no depth blurring), it might look even better.

Fri February 14, 2014 at 4:29 pm

Wow, that made my day, thanks!

Fri February 14, 2014 at 4:10 pm

It's not the 'typical' Valentine's Day wallpaper.

The move to the Gold and Lead arrows give this picture more grounding within the mythology instead of just '2 red heart arrows'.

Not to detract from the original, which still stands on its own merit.

Fri February 14, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Jenanne is right. If you think it's a 10 please enter a rating! I appreciate the feedback though.

Fri February 14, 2014 at 2:48 pm

@Jen - if it's so 10-ish, why is there no rating of 10 voted as of yet? ;) But I agree this render is awesome.

Fri February 14, 2014 at 2:28 pm

Best holiday background ever!!!

Fri February 14, 2014 at 1:41 pm

Love the new colors of the arrows

Fri February 14, 2014 at 1:00 pm

Best holiday background ever!!!

Fri February 14, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Digital Blasphemy 2016 Wall Calendar

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓


Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)


Recent Guardians:
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons:
  • Eric Eidson -- (9/30/15)
  • Tim Honkalammi -- (09/22/15)
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Jeanne Dowd -- (9/30/15)
  • Ryan Oldaker -- (9/30/15)
  • Claire Fairbank -- (9/29/15)
  • Arwyn Roberts -- (9/28/15)
  • Matthew Pounsett -- (9/23/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!

"Sunspire by Night (2004)"
Only 221 Downloads!

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy