I recently came across an article about how sunsets on Mars have a blue tinge and was inspired to try it myself. Anyone have a model of the Curiosity Rover they would care to share...

V.2 I've brightened the second Martian moon a bit and added a tiny Earth/Moon above the Sun.

Rendered using Vue d'Esprit 10.5.

PS3 Dynamic Theme Available!



8.16/10 rating (137 votes)
46 Comments

Dualscreen:
Triscreen:
Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

tharsis1
8.28/10 rating (67 votes)

Member Comments

Lester D
"New Favourite"
Elevado is one of my favorites. But I'm starting to really appreciate this one.

Sun July 12, 2015 at 6:50 pm

Anthony
"10"
I dont know why, but this picture is so visually captivating, it must be something about the blue rays of light. Really nice!

Sun September 30, 2012 at 11:34 pm

Donna
"10"
So quiet and soft. I'd like to walk through it. Thanks!

Thu September 27, 2012 at 1:20 pm

Ryan
"@Joe"
Thanks for the kind words! I think you will like my next project...

Wed September 26, 2012 at 9:38 pm

Joe
"9"
I love this image. Sprawling, alien, and beautiful. The subtlety of it is what will make it a fixture of my desktop. Good time to retire 'Sierra' anyway since autumn has arrived and it suddenly feels out of place.

Wed September 26, 2012 at 7:17 pm

Colin
"8"
Very nice.

For comparison, here's an actual sunset from actual Mars:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:MarsSunset.jpg

Wed September 26, 2012 at 1:23 pm

Chris B
"Solid 9"
Awesome job on the changes! Oh to be a martian.

Wed September 26, 2012 at 6:15 am

Scott
"9"
Very cool picture - makes me think of all the cool pics yet to come in real life, and I'm waiting for the sunset to mirror yours.



Missing iPad HD resolution?

Mon September 24, 2012 at 11:42 pm

Kelton
"10"
Dual screen looks great sir! I just need enough screens around me for you to make a 360 degree version!

Mon September 24, 2012 at 1:32 pm

Ryan
"V.2"
I've added a new version of the single-screen render this morning along with uploading the multiscreen today. The changes in the new version are mostly in the sky. I've brightened the second Martian moon a bit more and I've added a pale blue dot (with a paler/smaller white one) near the sun.

The first version will stay available in the Pickle Jar.

Let me know what you think of the changes and the multiscreen!

Mon September 24, 2012 at 12:27 am

doc
"10"
Simple & elegant and when I first looked at it, I just got the feeling of "being there". Really good, really cool.

Mon September 24, 2012 at 6:24 am

Troy Lee A
"Simple Can Be Better"
Regardless of rather some people say there isn't enough going on in this piece.. most of the time I prefer a more simple wallpaper because it's supposed to be for a background, not as a foreground. I like the serene feeling of this one, maybe not as appealing as a print though. Great job overall Ryan.

Sun September 23, 2012 at 6:29 pm

Mangoman
"10"
Immediately after looking at it, I became relaxed. That's what this entire image exudes: calm. The beauty of the overall purple hue is in its wondrous quiescence you feel just seconds after gazing into the beautiful mist, the wispiness of the very few stringy clouds there are; it just sings to us to relax, lie back, and chill. A beautiful job, Ryan. Thank you very much. Once again, I'm so thankful for having purchased a lifetime membership. You're the best!

Sun September 23, 2012 at 6:22 pm

Chris B
"8.5 If I could so 8"
Love the simplicity of it though it doesn't seem simple to create I'm sure. The colors are awesome and I like the haze along the ground. I'm fine with the rocks, I like the texture :).

Unfortunately there is only one Moon visible on the 1080 version. You can see the other crescent moon to the Right & further up of the aura of the sun. It's very faint but you can see it on the 2560 version. It won't drastically improve the image, but maybe slightly brighten and bring the moon down more into view. Not worth doing a render just for that, but if you are rendering a new one anyway... ;)

Sun September 23, 2012 at 10:55 am

Robert_R
"Whoooaou! A sunrise on Mars"
In one word: Great.

Ryan the master of light, glow and lighting. :)

Sun September 23, 2012 at 9:06 am

Hunter
"Really good"
Another excellent piece Ryan, though in my opinion it doesn't quite reach the same standards as your 3 previous wallpapers.



It's amazing how you can fit so much detail in to such a dry, featureless planet.

Sun September 23, 2012 at 3:44 am

Ryan
"@John"
Maybe turn the brightness up on your monitor?

Sat September 22, 2012 at 10:56 pm

John N.
"6"
Sorry, but this is very lacking in details. It looks like a bunch of different colored silhouette's put together. Frankly, I coulda done this good myself in my art class in junior high. Now, it has the start of a good beginning if the details were filled in. As of now, it is incomplete.

Sat September 22, 2012 at 4:12 pm

Scott
"9.0"
this so reminds me of a backpacking trip into the Cascade Range in British Columbia in 1977..some great memories....you really hit it this time!!

Sat September 22, 2012 at 3:07 pm

DC
"10/10"
Bro, this is the reason I proudly look at my lifetime membership as one of the best investments I've ever made. Cheers!

Fri September 21, 2012 at 10:24 pm

Chris
"Beautiful"
I love it Ryan! This one looks really nice and I always love how your artwork is taking newer and more creative directions. The only constructive criticism I have is maybe to eliminate the clouds over the sun; I'm not sure if there is enough moisture on Mars to make clouds.

Fri September 21, 2012 at 2:50 pm

Hawk
"shades = nice"
Nice! For me, the clouds are a bit distracting. Love the color shading. Keep up the good work.

Fri September 21, 2012 at 2:41 pm

Mike
"One of those cases where less is more"
I like the subdued effect of this one. There's a lot of color, but it cooperates in a very understated way and strikes a perfect vibe.

Fri September 21, 2012 at 10:52 am

Patrick
"Inspired by Nicholas Roerich?"
I like this image. It looks like something Nicholas Roerich would have painted.

Fri September 21, 2012 at 10:06 am

Kelton
"Dual screens"
great looking work. Dual screen mode coming?

Fri September 21, 2012 at 9:05 am

Kasper
"To boring"
Sorry. It is just a bit to boring. There is to little going on in this picture. It is to hazed, so you can't really see a lot of details.

Fri September 21, 2012 at 7:54 am

Jared
"9"
Def awesome. Nice frosty evening on Mars. :-)



@Yvan: Mars has an atmosphere composed of 95% CO2



Not quite a 10 though, I think there are too many rocks for Mars. Most of what I have seen has a lot more sand/dust/rust powder than rocks. Also, you mention Deimos and Phobos, but I only see one moon in the image... was that intentional?

Fri September 21, 2012 at 7:46 am

Yvan
"very nice"
A nice alien place. But not Mars.



Mars has no atmosphere, so there is no haze possible.

Fri September 21, 2012 at 3:06 am

NikB
"9"
Fantastic - a very original piece here! My only reason for not giving it 10 is that I'd like to see just a little less haze and more detail in the foreground....

Fri September 21, 2012 at 1:27 am

Zach
"Another incredible piece"
This is really a spectacular vantage point, and I think I like your rendition of it more than the actual video. :) Maybe it's just my monitors, but it does seem a bit bright. I have to agree about the wisps of fog, though; really great!



Cheers,

Zach

Thu September 20, 2012 at 9:52 pm

celmendo
"really beautiful"
'nuff said

Thu September 20, 2012 at 6:25 pm

JK
"Awesome"
See title!

Thu September 20, 2012 at 5:48 pm

Eel River
"8"
I'm selfish. I want to see more of the Martian surface and in much greater detail.

Thu September 20, 2012 at 2:24 pm

Nico
"Moon"
Cool, Yea I can see when I pop up the res - also could see the second moon (Deimos?) about the 1 o'clock positioning which I could not see earlier. Thanks!

Thu September 20, 2012 at 12:59 am

Ryan
"@Nico"
I actually used photos of Phobos and Deimos of moons here. They are slightly irregular but you may need the very hi-res version to see it.

Thu September 20, 2012 at 12:04 am

Nico
"Moon"
Just a thought the moon(s) on mars are not cylindrical would it turn out as it did in this rendering? Is there anyway to make the shape irregular?

Thu September 20, 2012 at 12:02 am

Alan
"missing resolution"
Would you please add 1600x1200?

Thu September 20, 2012 at 12:02 am

Ryan
"Re: Resolutions"
Thanks for the heads up. I think something went wrong when I was uploading the files. They should all be there now but let me know if you see any missing.

Thu September 20, 2012 at 10:57 am

Carmen
"9"
?I don't know why people can't see the resolutions..they're working on mine

Thu September 20, 2012 at 10:56 am

Daniel
"10"
Great job. Alien landscapes are always inspiring.



But why aren't the 1366x768, 960x854 and 1024x600 resolutions available anymore? Is this a permanent move?

Thu September 20, 2012 at 10:54 am

Mo Moses
"Resolution size"
Will this be available in 1366 x 768 (16:9) ?

Thu September 20, 2012 at 10:50 am

Jim
"10/10"
Mars? Who cares! I just like it, GREAT job Ryan.

Thu September 20, 2012 at 10:50 am

cmmnoble
"Mars!"
Mars! Sunset! This is super cool! I second Ben's comment about the wisps of fog, that's a very nice touch. I also like how the sun is just barely above the horizon.

Thu September 20, 2012 at 10:37 am

Joe
"Beautiful"
And my lifetime membership pays for itself again. ;) Great job.

Thu September 20, 2012 at 10:33 am

Ben
"Captivating"
Great Work Ryan. It is truly a captivating piece. I especially like the contrast between the blue corona around the sun and the hints of red on the edges. The ground fog wisps are also a nice touch.

Thu September 20, 2012 at 10:23 am

Ryan
"9/10"
I recently came across an article about how sunsets on Mars have a blue tinge and was inspired to try it myself.

Anyone have a model of the Curiosity Rover they would care to share...

Thu September 20, 2012 at 10:04 am

All new and renewing Members will receive
a "Thank You" card hand-signed by myself and my family.

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)

THANKS TO:

Recent Guardians:
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
  • Glenn Crouch -- (7/18/15)
  • Kevin T -- (06/10/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Martin Pilot -- (9/1/15)
  • Dean Mills -- (9/1/15)
  • Natalia Najder -- (8/30/15)
  • Guy Sturdevant -- (8/27/15)
  • AJ Decker -- (8/24/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!



"California Poppies (2004)"
Only 6 Downloads!


digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy

Android apps on Google Play