8.11/10 rating (164 votes)
48 Comments

Dualscreen:
Triscreen:
Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

unchained2
9.00/10 rating (7 votes)

Member Comments

John
"Dragons"
I love that you have been doing more works with creatures in your renders. I'm partial to Dragons too. Keep up the great work.

Fri December 28, 2012 at 8:16 am

Rankin
"Not the best"
I don't know sir, I'm just not feeling this rendition. Your lighting is good and the clouds and planets in the background are so characteristic of your artistic skill, but the dragon itself isn't the best and the man in the bottom right I feel could have a more proportional axe. It just doesn't seem proportional. Also the grain texture in your rocks....it doesn't feel to real. Your a creative artist and I have all of your art, but this one isn't your best.

Wed December 26, 2012 at 2:43 pm

Joe
"5760x1080"
On the triple 16:9 (5760x1080), the bottom is cut off to the point where the guy with the axe is standing on nothing.



Otherwise, this looks awesome!

Sun December 16, 2012 at 10:18 pm

Thom
"Great"
Really awesome, love the fantasy theme. The dragon looks great. Why do rocks always look so bad in your renders? Limitation of the software? They're so grainy and flat looking.

Thu December 13, 2012 at 4:35 pm

scottt
"9.5"
Love your work that at times moves toward the SF or Fantasy genres, excellent imagery. Top notch!!!!!!

Thu December 13, 2012 at 10:27 am

scottt
"9.5"
Love your work that at times moves toward the SF or Fantasy genres, excellent imagery. Top notch!!!!!!

Thu December 13, 2012 at 10:27 am

Chris B
"10"
Love it, the lighting effects are awesome. I like the added color of the trees, but the composition with the clouds gives the scene that much more, like others have said, I picture this guy climbing a huge mountain to release the dragon and we can only guess his reasons.

Tue December 11, 2012 at 11:08 pm

Chris
"10/10"
I love the dragon subject matter. I feel like the first one is in a cave up in the mountains. The pickle jar version seems like a cave on the ground with the trees. I do like the added color in the pickle jar version but feel that it takes away from the "unchained" part of the image. Great Work!!

Tue December 11, 2012 at 11:46 am

Matt
"9/10"
Hi Ryan, Love the imagery here. Would be great to see a pickle jar version without the guy and dragon.



Thanks and keep it up!

Tue December 11, 2012 at 11:15 am

Chris
"pickle jar"
Love them both, but the color of the pickle jar version feels better ...

Mon December 10, 2012 at 10:06 pm

Ryan
"@robk4"
I thought about dirtying up the chain, but I was afraid it wouldn't stand out enough if I did.

Mon December 10, 2012 at 8:34 pm

robk4
"9/10"
Almost there... the chain needs tweaking. It seems a bit too shiny, unless the dragon was just chained and the captor had second thoughts. A rust finish, with specks of clean metal at the breaking points might do the trick. Just an opinion, though. The rest of the composition is awesome.

Mon December 10, 2012 at 8:30 pm

Scott
"Lava planet"
Anyone else notice a red smilie face looking down at the dragon? Maybe it's just me. But looks like the profile of a smilie face.

Mon December 10, 2012 at 5:22 pm

elharks
"Unchained 2012"
Glad you did it! Great sharpness and shade contrasts! It looks super at 2880x1800 on my retina MacBook Pro display. It's a 10.

Mon December 10, 2012 at 4:13 pm

Ryan
"@Kelton"
Thanks! The dragon in this scene was indeed set free.

Mon December 10, 2012 at 1:10 pm

Kelton
"Unchained 2012"
I too like the pickle jar version with more color. These are absolutely great. Great look, so.. did he leet it loose, or did it escape him..

Mon December 10, 2012 at 1:04 pm

Linda
"Unchained 2012 (pickle Jar version)"
I like it better with the added color. Nice job!

Mon December 10, 2012 at 12:16 am

Ryan
"Re: Multiscreen v.2"
Rendering the multiscreen now. I still prefer the first version myself though...

Mon December 10, 2012 at 12:07 am

Zach
"Great!"
This is a great image. I agree with Trav, though, that I would love the pickle jar variation in multiscreen.



Cheers,

Zach

Mon December 10, 2012 at 10:45 am

PMvanova
"10"
I agree with Brandi, it has more of a remote dragon cave feel to it. Trees are nice... but it closes in the view more and the idea is that you feel unchained, open and free. (Also brings to mind Dragonheart one of my favorite movies.)

Mon December 10, 2012 at 10:04 am

Brandi U.
"New is nice, but like the original because..."
The original has me imagining the man had to climbing really high to find the dragon and release him.

Mon December 10, 2012 at 9:50 am

Trav
"Wow!"
Please make the new render with the green multi-screen!

Mon December 10, 2012 at 9:31 am

Lizzy
"Love the green!"
I love the addition of the greenery to the scene, however I do think it takes away from the impact of the person with the raised ax.

Mon December 10, 2012 at 9:06 am

Brian
"8"
Very dynamic. Love the framing and perspective. The end of the broken chain in your face is great. The bad clouds in the lower left, not so much.

Mon December 10, 2012 at 8:37 am

Ryan
"@Marni"
Perhaps I should have titled it "TGIF!".

Sun December 9, 2012 at 11:20 am

Marni
"10"
This is exactly how I feel every Friday at 5pm! I quite like the muted tones, it's a nice counterpoint to the subject.

Sun December 9, 2012 at 10:27 am

grant
"more"
Good concept, but needs more...color, maybe? Like the sleeping dragon one. Composition is too basic (you've set the bar very high for yourself!)

Sun December 9, 2012 at 7:51 am

Cougs
"10"
Oh yes, yes, yes !!!!! I have been waiting for ages for one of your fantasy works. Just brilliant ! This is why I'm a lifetime member....

Sun December 9, 2012 at 6:28 am

Brandi U.
"WOW, Wow, Wow."
This one is especially amazing. Love, love, love the lighting. I also thought of Skyrim when I saw it.

Sat December 8, 2012 at 10:32 pm

kellzilla
"dragon"
Ignore all the idiots trying to force real world physics on a F*****G DRAGON. IT'S A DRAGON. It can use MAGIC to hold itself up! Shut up!





:p

Sat December 8, 2012 at 7:08 pm

SoulLifter
"10"
As an avid Skyrim player, I give this a 10! Great job Ryan. Gonna make this my desktop and boot up the game.

Sat December 8, 2012 at 6:48 pm

Ryan
"@Chris"
Those links are up now. Thanks!

Sat December 8, 2012 at 4:42 pm

Chris
"iPad"
Awesome. Wondering if the iPad mini / iPad 2 versions are in the works

Sat December 8, 2012 at 3:44 pm

Isaac
"Neat"
Ryan - Really cool wallpaper. Although it's probably unrelated, Van Halen was the first thing I thought of when I saw the title.



Chris & RC - You mean like a bee? (-:

Sat December 8, 2012 at 3:37 pm

Chris
"Nice break from seasonal"
I like it. Its a nice break from the early-starting seasonal wallpapers. One thing I might say though is certainly make the wigs bigger and the tail smaller or thinner. Being a budding zoologist, I can tell you this thing would never be able to fly based on its wing-to-body aspect ratio.

Sat December 8, 2012 at 1:25 pm

Littlemom
"9"
I love it, and it's totally different from anything else you've done. Love it Love it!!!

Sat December 8, 2012 at 1:04 pm

ccookman
"@Ryan"
Ryan - many thanks for tracking down the 480x800 pic! C.

Sat December 8, 2012 at 12:26 am

Yvan
"10"
Unchained



As everyone should be.

Sat December 8, 2012 at 11:07 am

Ryan
"@ccookman"
Not sure how that one went missing but it is there now. Sorry!

Sat December 8, 2012 at 10:37 am

ccookman
"480x800 missing :o("
Great picture. If a 480x800 mobile wallpaper could be done as well, that would be cool for my phone. In any event, I'll be waiting patiently for the dualscreen renders for my PC!

Sat December 8, 2012 at 10:26 am

Ryan
"@Nico"
I moved her closer to the edge (further from the camera.

Sat December 8, 2012 at 10:05 am

Nico
"Size"
Isn't the size of the "warrior" looking a little small against those big chains? But wow makes me want to explore this world. Thanks and another good job.

Sat December 8, 2012 at 9:57 am

RC
"Unchained"
The creatures wings seem too small for it to fly. Also wouldn't mind seeing a version without the characters.

Sat December 8, 2012 at 9:35 am

Ryan
"@Hoverwolf1"
Glad you like it! I doubt it I will remove the cavern however. I wanted to "frame" the scene.

Sat December 8, 2012 at 9:10 am

Hoverwolf1
"Cool"
Cool theme; evocative image; beautiful overall. But, will we see more of this planet, or the one overhead?

Sat December 8, 2012 at 7:08 am

Kevin
"Beautiful Scene"
I love how beautiful the sky is, it feels so majestic! Keep these awesome wallpapers coming!



Also, I was wondering if there will be a resolution for the Nexus 10, this would be a nice one to add!

Sat December 8, 2012 at 2:16 am

David
"10"
A lifetime member and fan since I found this place in 2002. I must say this is one of your best, and the sense of perspective it offers is draw-dropping.

Sat December 8, 2012 at 2:15 am

Scott
"9"
I really like it - love how crisp and sharp everything is, yet the shows as sheer yet powerful - very cool image!

No iPad resolution?

Sat December 8, 2012 at 1:42 am

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)

THANKS TO:

Recent Guardians:
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
  • Glenn Crouch -- (7/18/15)
  • Kevin T -- (06/10/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Martin Pilot -- (9/1/15)
  • Dean Mills -- (9/1/15)
  • Natalia Najder -- (8/30/15)
  • Guy Sturdevant -- (8/27/15)
  • AJ Decker -- (8/24/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!



"California Poppies (2004)"
Only 7 Downloads!


digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy

Android apps on Google Play