The Winter Rose

Free Downloads:

Single-Screen Downloads (Members Only)

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)


Random DB

Riverbend
"Riverbend"

8.23/10 rating
(123 votes)

Ryan's TipJar

You never know when inspiration might strike. I've been re-reading George R. R. Martin's "A Clash of Kings" recently. Daenerys Targaryen sees many visions in the "House of the Undying" including one that I thought would make an interesting wallpaper...

"A blue flower grew from a chink in a wall of ice, and filled the air with sweetness..."

Some think the flower symbolizes Jon Snow, and in his very next chapter he meets Ygritte who tells him the story of "The Winter Rose". Connected? Maybe.

I thought it would make a pretty cool wallpaper though and I hope you agree. Let me know what you think!

Here's a timelapse video showing how I created this piece...

Subscribe to my YouTube channel to see more!

Member Comments

Lecheman
""@tjdmiii""
Windows 10 has changed the way it performs some actions now. I have experienced no problems downloading the pictures to my desktop, in fact, it works much better than on previous versions of Windows (especially with the multi-screen process).

Wed February 3, 2016 at 9:27 pm

Rae
"Gorgeous!"
I absolutely adore this wallpaper! It's so gorgeous and it was so amazing to watch the timelapse.

Sun November 22, 2015 at 6:08 pm

Ryan
"@tjdmiii"
You shouldn't need the split image files for my images to work in Windows 10. Can you tell me exactly what is happening when you download my work and try to use it for your wallpaper? If there is an issue I want to fix it!

Sun August 30, 2015 at 1:39 pm

tjdmiii
"Does not unzip "
I have no idea what has happened to your multiple monitor downloads, but they do not work in Windows 10. You may want to repair this issue. Have been a long time member, but if this issue continues, I will have to cancel after many years. Very unfortunate that the site no longer works.

Sun August 30, 2015 at 1:21 pm

Jenanne
"Summer Rose"
Thank you for putting Summer Rose in the Picklejar!

Mon August 17, 2015 at 4:10 pm

Bart
"the winter rose"
looks really good,sadly I'm more a fan of really sharp images,so am hoping for focused version in picklejar,as the blurry outer leaves aren't my thing.

Sun August 16, 2015 at 7:52 am

Saranna
"Gorgeous"
Roses always have a special place in my heart. And love the timelapse - that is so neat to watch you work.

Fri August 14, 2015 at 2:26 am

Jim
"Just Awesome!"
Another great piece, wonderful colors and lighting. The bokeh is great and the composition is great although it must be difficult trying to render and follow the rule of thirds while creating a piece that works so well on multiple screen displays.

Thu August 13, 2015 at 4:50 pm

Faith Will
"one awesome creation"
I have to say...you are by far the cleverest person I've come across. How you create these amazing pictures is mind blowing.

Thu August 13, 2015 at 9:18 am

Eric
"Love the Timelapse"
I like this wallpaper but I really enjoyed the timelapse. Being a software guy, I know how long something like this can take to do. I couldn't help but think as I was watching that you might try 3D printing at some point. I love the wallpapers, but I always have 50 screens open covering it up. I'd buy something cool to put on my desk.

Wed August 12, 2015 at 4:57 pm

psiddons
"Winter rose 2015"
Nice work. It has a bit of mystery to it which brings along an additional sense of the abstract. I cam not sure what it is and I like things not always being obvious Norman Rockwell-ish.

I think it could be used for a nice background that would pull the viewer to the page yet not necessarily dominate an entire area. Words or another image in the foreground would demand to be read or taken seriously.

Nice work.

Wed August 12, 2015 at 2:18 pm

Littlemom
"Beautiful!!!"
This is absolutely beautiful!!!

Wed August 12, 2015 at 1:32 pm

Ryan
"Timelapse of full development..."
You can check out a timelapse view of the full development of this project on my YouTube Channel.

Here's a direct link...

Wed August 12, 2015 at 12:50 pm

Christina
"Cropping"
It's better cropped in the multiscreen versions, but the brightness/color is better in the single screen

Wed August 12, 2015 at 8:49 am

Tom
"Really???"
Not one of my favorites.

Wed August 12, 2015 at 4:33 am

Jenanne
"Outstanding"
Love the inspiration source of this one, Ryan, and particularly love the color scheme. Love almost everything about it, in fact, and rated it 10. I do think the rose is a bit small, at least in my desktop size. However, that's at least partly because I'd already downloaded the 2560x1440 preview. See what others think.



You're right -- Winter Rose is a better name than Night Bloom. :)

Wed August 12, 2015 at 0:57 am

Jonathan
"Totally Cool!"
On my dual 1080p, this thing looks almost 3D. The colors and textures truly POP. And just like a real photo, the angle, focus and lighting really make this one truly amazing!!

Wed August 12, 2015 at 0:37 am

Ryan
"The Winter Rose"
You never know when inspiration might strike. I've been re-reading George R. R. Martin's "A Clash of Kings" recently. Daenerys Targaryen sees many visions in the "House of the Undying" including one that I thought would make an interesting wallpaper...

"A blue flower grew from a chink in a wall of ice, and filled the air with sweetness..."

Some think the flower symbolizes Jon Snow, and in his very next chapter he meets Ygritte who tells him the story of "The Winter Rose". Connected? Maybe.

I thought it would make a pretty cool wallpaper though and I hope you agree. Let me know what you think!

Tue August 11, 2015 at 11:45 pm

Multiple Monitors?
DB Recommends DisplayFusion

Multiscreen Downloads (Members Only)

Dualscreen:

Triple-screen:

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?
summerrose1
8.67/10 rating (6 votes)

Digital Blasphemy 2018 Wall Calendar

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play Get it on Windows 10

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2017 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy